Sigh. Wildlife, 4; Humans, 0

Made a fool again.

White flag waved (with crossed fingers)…

Ready for next round.

~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-

Early Monday morning we discovered the wildlife had another crazy night of partying. Somehow, they are able to keep their rabblerousing down enough that we sleep through it; however it’s obvious we were the benefactors of the animal equivalent of toilet-papering a house. I have the “trashy” pictures to prove it:

At least dirty laundry wasn't aired...
At least dirty laundry wasn’t aired…

As my older son and I scooped up garbage donning very fashionable surgical gloves, neighbors slowed to stare as they drove by. One man stopped and rolled down his window.

“Ah, the javelina got ‘ya?” he asked.

I shrugged.

“This is what the javelina do,” he said with a nod.

“Well then, I guess our trash won’t go out until I hear the garbage truck.”

I should’ve known! I bet it was that javelina that gave me “the look” after her baby finally freed itself from our garden. I feared she wasn’t done with us and I was right.

10-6 javelina-edit

Arizona Game and Fish has pretty much tied our hands, as it unlawful to injure, kill or trap them. I don’t really want to hurt them anyway, but they aren’t taking the hint that they aren’t welcome around here. Since I’m not likely to lure a pack of coyotes as pets to patrol our land, I’ll have to do more research on all the things javelina hate and start doing more of that!

Stay tuned for our next failure 🙂

(It’s hard to show confidence when our efforts thus far make Elmer Fudd look competent!)

45 thoughts on “Sigh. Wildlife, 4; Humans, 0

  1. Timothy Price October 7, 2014 / 6:43 AM

    And I thought our raccoons and porcupine were pesky. Javelina are a lot more serious as pests, I would think.

    • jannatwrites October 9, 2014 / 12:44 AM

      Porcupines wouldn’t be fun at all. I did see a raccoon around here once, but choose to think it likes to hang around our neighbor’s house!

  2. philosophermouseofthehedge October 7, 2014 / 7:24 AM

    If you discover something that actually deters them – get a patent quick!
    (They must have been looking for appetizers? What manners. Simply ignored the dropped napkins.)
    They don’t even trap them? Groans (realistically, can you catch them as fast as they show up?)
    You were right. Mom noted the garden and the possibility of garbage cans.(and your attempt to capture her child….). Maybe a neighbor a few miles away will forget and offer more available food so they’ll wander that direction. Until then, good luck!

    • jannatwrites October 9, 2014 / 12:47 AM

      The problem with javelina is they can be quite determined. I encountered them twice on a walk this morning and it was a little disconcerting. A neighbor said she carries a blow horn when she walks. May have to put that on my weekend shopping list…

      Our trash can is stored inside a four-foot high fenced in area, so thankfully, it hasn’t been a problem. We’ve always put the can out the night before, but now we’ll not do that!

      • philosophermouseofthehedge October 9, 2014 / 5:58 AM

        There were javelinas where out farm was. Nasty and ill tempered. You don’t want to get between a momma and her baby – or startle one. Marine supply stores have really loud horns to carry.
        Sounds like trash can prevention for bears and javelinas are a great deal alike?

        • jannatwrites October 10, 2014 / 8:41 PM

          Oh, I’ve heard about the momma’s and babies, Phil. Not good… I do think trash can prevention is quite similar for all the animal pests.

  3. Leigh W. Smith October 7, 2014 / 8:04 AM

    Here’s something foolish to (I hope) make you smile, Janna. My friend visiting from Arizona good-naturedly laughed at me recently. Why? Oh, of course I called it a javelina (“javeleen” but with an “a”). Oops, forgetting the “h” influence. And I had no idea it was pronounced “La Hoya” either (I got it partly right with “La Holla”). Fun with language! D’Oh! … A nuisance, for sure, but could you keep the trash cans inside until the morning? Does your dog bark at them? Put dog hair piles outside (if there aren’t other piles, ha-ha). Wonder if any of that would help. Leave a quiet radio outside? Motion-triggered lights? ??? Good luck!

    • Widdershins October 7, 2014 / 8:27 AM

      … or a motion triggered fire alarm!

      • Leigh W. Smith October 7, 2014 / 8:30 AM

        Sound like a good plan, but not sure if Janna’s neighbors would like it! 🙂

        • Widdershins October 7, 2014 / 8:43 AM

          LOL, true … how about a motion triggered low-voltage tazer, or some sort of electrical shock thingy. It’d only take a couple of hits and the critter would get the message. Have to make sure it’s turned off before the garbologists arrive though.

        • jannatwrites October 9, 2014 / 1:10 AM

          The shock idea is kind of appealing, maybe around our garden. As for the trash, I think I’ll just take it out right before they pick up. I imagine they wouldn’t like being shocked! Thanks for the laugh, Widdershins 🙂

        • jannatwrites October 9, 2014 / 1:11 AM

          I imagine they wouldn’t be too fond of the noise, Leigh. (It’s bad enough we’ve got barking dogs and 2 very noisy boys!)

    • jannatwrites October 9, 2014 / 12:53 AM

      The h’s and j’s can be tricky, Leigh. I hadn’t really thought about it, I guess because the southwest has been my home most of my life so I just know it’s said “hah-vuh-lee-nuh”. We will be keeping the trash up until the truck comes now. Just another hassle 🙂 The dogs didn’t bark, but then we can barely see the street from the house, so maybe they didn’t see/hear them. I don’t know if the hair would work. I did read that someone had some success with mixing a solution of dog waste and water on the ground, but I just couldn’t bear to do that in the garden… gross! I’m still deciding if such a small area is worth re-fencing, or if I’m just going to make another larger fenced-in plot within our chain link fence (I’m just concerned that doing that would encourage them to root under the chain link fence…)

  4. suzicate October 7, 2014 / 9:19 AM

    I’ve never seen a javelina. I suppose every area has its share of pests. I know someone who just moved to Florida and found lizards in her cabinets and bed…I’d never have guessed that!

    • jannatwrites October 9, 2014 / 12:54 AM

      Haha, lizards are sneaky… we’ve had several in the house as well. (One of our cats, Lizzy, is the designated lizard catcher!)

  5. nrhatch October 7, 2014 / 9:52 AM

    I wonder if any of your neighbors have a suggestion. What do they do?

    • jannatwrites October 9, 2014 / 12:56 AM

      The neighbors I’ve talked to have tried to build fully enclosed gardens (elk can be a problem, too), coffee grounds (didn’t work), or they have just given up. I read that an electric barrier could work with one string ran about 8 to 10 inches high. I’m not sure if we’ll go that route or not.

  6. Debbie October 7, 2014 / 11:41 AM

    I Googled this and came up with coyote urine (http://www.shake-away.com/Javelinas.php?page=Javelinas). Sounds gross, but it’s completely organic, and the reasoning makes sense to me. Hey, it can’t hurt, right? Look at the mess those things left! By the way, tell Son #1 I love his shoes!!

    • jannatwrites October 9, 2014 / 12:58 AM

      You know, we tried the Shake Away fox urine for a rabbit problem we had in Phoenix. It worked okay for a while, but they seemed to get smart to it. The coyote version just might be worth a try. In the meantime, I’ve sprinkled some crushed hot peppers around the garden in hopes they don’t prefer spicy food.

  7. Carol Ann Hoel October 7, 2014 / 2:32 PM

    I’ve never seen javelina and I hope I never will. I thought alligators and raccoon were bad in Florida. Arizona has shown me scorpions. I’ve seen enough. I am cheering for your side. May the javelina lose this battle. May you win. Blessings to you, Janna…

    • jannatwrites October 9, 2014 / 1:00 AM

      I’ll take javelina over scorpions (shhh… don’t tell them that!) I’ve lived with both and scorpions are much scarier. I still tap shoes that have been sitting on the floor just to make sure one hasn’t crawled inside. Thankfully, in this house, I’ve only seen a couple scorpions and they’ve been outside, not near the house.

  8. diannegray October 7, 2014 / 2:55 PM

    I like Debbie’s idea of the coyote urine – it may smell a bit, but animals will usually stay away if they can smell their enemies. Best of luck!

    • jannatwrites October 9, 2014 / 1:00 AM

      Thanks, Dianne! I need all the luck I can manage, haha!

      • diannegray October 9, 2014 / 12:28 PM

        I tried my chilli concoction and (so far) it’s working! I think because they explore with their noses, they don’t like getting chilli in their nostrils! 😀

        • jannatwrites October 10, 2014 / 9:29 PM

          Hey, that’s good news, Dianne! Hope the deterrent lasts 🙂

  9. chlost October 7, 2014 / 3:56 PM

    A recording or a big dog barking? I kind of like the idea of the shock treatment. You’ve have to be sure no kids wander by, though. I guess I will stop complaining about mice and moles.

    • jannatwrites October 9, 2014 / 1:02 AM

      Hmmm… there are a couple neighborhood kids that the shock treatment may work on, too 🙂 (Ooops, did I write that?!) Seriously though, we may look into it if nothing else seems to work. They disappeared for a few weeks after I scared them out of our garden, so I may have pull some later nights on weekends so I can scare them more regularly.

  10. diannegray October 7, 2014 / 4:17 PM

    Also, this post gave me an idea about how I can stop the bandicoots digging up my corn. I googled it and found out they don’t like strong smells so I mixed some bird’s eye chilli with vinegar and am going to spray it around tonight. If it works for them it may work for your problem as well. I’ll let you know how I go.

    • jannatwrites October 9, 2014 / 1:04 AM

      That does sound smelly – I hope it works, Dianne! It seems every area has their pests and it’s just a matter of learning more about their habits, likes and dislikes. I’ve read that you can scare them off by spraying ammonia and water. I need to buy ammonia – that’s not something I keep on hand.

  11. joannesisco October 7, 2014 / 5:23 PM

    On a positive note, I’m willing to bet that unlike raccoons, javelinas don’t climb on your roof and tear holes around the vents trying to break in.

    You do however have my sympathies. Hope you can find a good deterrent soon!

    • jannatwrites October 9, 2014 / 1:06 AM

      No, they don’t get on the roof (they leave that to the squirrels, which are quite active. They have chewed through mesh we have over attic vents, so we do have to check that periodically!) Thanks for reading and for your encouragement as we prepare to do battle (I know, that’s soooo dramatic!)

      • joannesisco October 9, 2014 / 5:12 AM

        “Dramatic” is exactly what some of our battles with raccoons have been like in the past!! Hope you start to even out the score soon 🙂

        • jannatwrites October 10, 2014 / 8:35 PM

          Thanks, Joanne… I’m hoping the tide turns, too 🙂

  12. Kathy Combs (@KathyCombs16) October 8, 2014 / 10:29 AM

    How infuriating! I have never heard of javelinas. We don’t have those in our neck of the woods.

    • jannatwrites October 9, 2014 / 1:07 AM

      You’re lucky, Kathy! They make me nervous because they don’t see very well, so they could decide to charge if they see you as a threat. We have a peaceful, forest-y neighborhood, which seems to make night travel optimal for them.

  13. Sarah Ann October 8, 2014 / 12:15 PM

    I shouldn’t be laughing, but suggesting your efforts make Elmer Fudd look competent is hilarious. You’ll get there 🙂

    • jannatwrites October 9, 2014 / 1:08 AM

      Laugh away, Sarah Ann – our lame efforts are humorous in that we have failed so miserably so far!

  14. Imelda October 8, 2014 / 12:43 PM

    oh oh, how irritating and frustrating. I hope you find some way to ‘defeat’ the javelina.

    • jannatwrites October 9, 2014 / 1:08 AM

      Thanks, Imelda! We are going to give it our best try 🙂

  15. agjorgenson October 12, 2014 / 6:31 PM

    Nice Haiku! I didn’t know what a javelina was. We have to worry about racoons. In the summer I keep my garbage in a locked shed until garbage day or else every day is mess day!

    • jannatwrites October 13, 2014 / 9:56 PM

      Thanks, Allen! I saw a raccoon once around here. Locking up the trash is a good idea. I’m happy to report that I remembered to get the trash to the curb before the truck came and there wasn’t a trashy incident today.

  16. GodGirl October 15, 2014 / 8:24 PM

    How awful… I hope you haven’t had any more problems since then. Upended garbage is so dispiriting 😦

    • jannatwrites October 16, 2014 / 10:08 AM

      So far so good, GodGirl… I’ve given my garden over to them so I won’t even talk about that disaster!

  17. pattisj October 27, 2014 / 11:32 AM

    Sorry you have to deal with this. Hope you are able to find a solution to it.

    • jannatwrites October 27, 2014 / 10:19 PM

      We went for a walk this morning and I saw a neighbor’s trash can overturned. Luckily, ours has been fine (we’ve been waiting until the AM of trash day to take it to the street rather than doing it the night before.

Got an opinion? Share it!

