Haiku- Wildlife, 3; Humans, 0

Our humble garden-

Fencing breached by wild piggies.

Salad dreams trampled.

Sometimes it feels like we're being watched...
Sometimes it feels like we’re being watched…

~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-

Friday night, noises outside interrupted my blog reading. I’m pretty sure my heart missed several beats as I sat paralyzed with fear. It was late at night and everyone else was in bed, but I finally got the nerve to peek out the kitchen window to see who was on our porch.

I stared, stunned, as I counted two full-grown javelina and a baby javelina inside the fencing around our small garden in front of our patio. I woke my husband up to tell him our meager garden was going to be even paltrier by the time they finished grazing.

We stood in front of the kitchen window contemplating what to do. My husband tried cursing at them, but that wasn’t entirely effective. The two large javelina vacated the garden, leaving the baby running to and fro trying to find a way out. (I had to laugh at the “save yourself” mentality of these creatures!)

Horrified, I watched the poor thing try shoving its nose through the fencing, chewing the wire, and trampling the garden in a frantic search for an exit. I wanted to help, but I could hear the nearby snorts of the adults that didn’t run very far away. Going outside wasn’t an option.

Finally, the baby squeezed under the fencing and joined the other trespassers.   One of the larger ones approached the window and gave a long look that seemed to say, “we’ll be back.” (Only without the Arnold Schwarzenegger accent.)

Since we moved here seventeen months ago, we’ve learned that the animals really don’t care that we bought the land. We’ve tried to claim some space for our own, but so far, we’ve been outmatched (I hesitate to write “outsmarted”…. It’s a huge hit to my ego to admit that elk and javelina are smarter than us.)

Yet the facts- our lousy 0 and 3 track record – are impossible to ignore.

We need super-duper reinforced fencing!
We need super-duper reinforced fencing!
29 thoughts on “Haiku- Wildlife, 3; Humans, 0

  1. philosophermouseofthehedge September 1, 2014 / 7:24 AM

    Elk I can admire, but those piggy guys! Amazing you got such a picture – and you definitely have their attitude down. That snorty and arrogant look of “We’ll be back.” Little deters them, the bullies
    Good luck with the battle! (and do not get close to them or startle them unexpectedly. Take care!)

    • jannatwrites September 1, 2014 / 7:13 PM

      I was actually okay with the javelina passing through… now that they are inside our garden, I’m not so fond of them. I’ve heard about their aggression – especially when babies are around, so I’ll definitely watch myself! We’ve seen evidence of elk around, but haven’t been able to get photos yet. Still trying 🙂 Glad you stopped by, Phil.

  2. joannesisco September 1, 2014 / 10:48 AM

    Sorry to laugh heartily at your misfortune but the image of a wild pig with an Arnold accent staring you down in the dead of night is too hard to resist 😀
    … not to mention the each-piglet-for-himself / sacrifice-the-weak mentality of the adults!!!

    I don’t think you have much of a chance 😉

    • jannatwrites September 1, 2014 / 7:16 PM

      It’s okay to laugh, Joanne… if it weren’t so frustrating, I’d laugh even more 🙂 They are messing with my head… I haven’t seen them since Friday night. We may not have much of a chance, but I’m not giving up, yet!

  3. nrhatch September 1, 2014 / 11:12 AM

    This little piggy went to market
    This little piggy stayed home
    This little piggy raided Janna’s garden . . . until all her planting were undone.

    Liked your “we’ll be back” line. You’re probably right about your raiders.

    • jannatwrites September 1, 2014 / 7:20 PM

      I know they’ve been around other parts of our yard (neighbors saw them yesterday) – I’m okay with that. The area right around our house – I’ll fight for that space! We’ve sprinkled some crushed peppers around our garden and I’ll be buying some ammonia so I can make a special spray bottle just for them 🙂 Glad you stopped by, Nancy!

  4. Sarah Ann September 1, 2014 / 12:00 PM

    Lovely fun haiku – did they eat what they didn’t trample? I don’t suppose they will ever acknowledge the land isn’t theirs to do with as they wish. Great line about the effectiveness/ not of cursing them.

    • jannatwrites September 1, 2014 / 7:23 PM

      I think they ate mostly leaves. We picked a few tomatoes yesterday and a few more should be ready soon- if the plants survive.

  5. newwhitebear September 1, 2014 / 12:10 PM

    The wild piggies are smarter than humans.
    You wrote a nice haiku

    • jannatwrites September 1, 2014 / 7:26 PM

      Hey, maybe they are just craftier, Newwhitebear 🙂 Thanks for reading and sharing your comment!

  6. Carol Ann Hoel September 1, 2014 / 3:04 PM

    Oh, this is so funny! Pardon my laughter, but… You had to laugh and so must I. That is no small creature in the photo! I don’t think I’d be arguing with it. Blessings to you, Janna…

    • jannatwrites September 1, 2014 / 7:33 PM

      Glad you found the humor in this, Carol Ann! The javelina are bigger than I expected, so we do keep our distance. Problem is sometimes they are hidden and we can’t see them right away.

  7. Imelda September 1, 2014 / 8:28 PM

    Oh, I am so sorry for the piggy invasion. I can imagine your disappointment – we used to have a rabbit that loved to eat our plants and we put up a fence like yours around our little garden. I don’t know what happened to it – it seems to have gone away. It must be because we are in a more urban area and it ran out of place to hide in.

    • jannatwrites September 4, 2014 / 11:16 PM

      Thanks, Imelda. It’s nice when the wildlife can take a hint and respect the fence lines 🙂 I’m glad your rabbit seems to have moved on to greener pastures.

  8. Debbie September 2, 2014 / 6:48 AM

    Oh, dear. Sounds like you might try getting a dog, a really BIG dog. Something like a German Shepherd. Something to chase the invaders away. We didn’t do a garden this year, and I can’t help but be glad. The rabbits, squirrels, birds, and whatever always seem to take over, despite Dallas’s “ferocity” in herding!

    • jannatwrites September 4, 2014 / 11:21 PM

      Well, our golden retriever did chase a herd of javelina once. Luckily, the piggies ran… many times they will attack (they don’t like dogsl) I’m glad you aren’t too disappointed with the lack of garden, but I bet the wildlife was disappointed, Debbie 🙂

  9. Sean September 2, 2014 / 8:17 AM

    But wild pork chops are tasty. Be careful as javelina can be very protective. Also, when they scatter, they scatter which ever direction they are facing and they don’t care what is in front of them. Pretty neat to watch but not fun to be in their path. Sorry about your garden. Electricity may do the trick. Hope your weekend was good although it seemed to be filled with at least a little adventure. Take care.

    • Sean September 2, 2014 / 12:52 PM

      I forgot to add, you might want to find some people around that area that have a garden and see what they do for the animals around.

      • jannatwrites September 4, 2014 / 11:27 PM

        Funny you should mention this…. most folks have given up on a garden. There is a neighbor building a totally enclosed garden, covered with a mesh cloth that keeps deer away and surrounded by a chain link fence. He’s not done, but I’ll have to see how it’s faring this time next year.

    • jannatwrites September 4, 2014 / 11:25 PM

      Haha, too bad we can’t do anything – javelina are protected by game and fish. (Really though, even if we could, I wouldn’t hurt them.) The electricity idea made me giggle. At some point, we’ll need to re-do the fencing…add it to the list! Glad you stopped by, Sean – I hope you are doing well.

  10. Björn Rudberg (brudberg) September 2, 2014 / 1:19 PM

    We are yet spared from boars here, I see traces of them in the woods though, so they are not far away.. not at all.. I have seen badger and deer though.. and deer has claimed some of our gardening efforts.. and then there has been wolf and lynx migrating through from time to time..

    • jannatwrites September 4, 2014 / 11:28 PM

      You have an assortment of animals too, Bjorn. I like to see the wildlife from a distance, but the garden just might be the price we pay for being this close 🙂

  11. diannegray September 2, 2014 / 4:20 PM

    Oh dear, Janna. Naughty piggies! I’ve just ‘upgraded’ our fence (for the dogs) because it seems like we now have rabbits that the dogs want to play with at night – I don’t know why because it’s always been a ‘rabbit proof’ state we live in and keeping them can fetch a $20,000 fine. I don’t know if someone has dumped them here or if they’re breeding in the sugar cane. I’m lucky in the fact that this is an old farm and it didn’t take much searching for me to find some very tough steel mesh just lying about the place. Having to buy it is expensive so I wish you luck trying to keep those piggies out of your garden. I’ve tried to think of a way for you to keep the pigs away but unfortunately nothing much frightens them. But you’re right to stay away from them because they can get very aggressive.

    • jannatwrites September 5, 2014 / 12:56 AM

      I hope your new fence is secure, Diane. I didn’t know there were places that were ‘rabbit free’. I think the rabbits are cute, but not when it comes to a garden- they are so sneaky.

      On our garden, the previous owners had tied bells to the horse fencing. I can tell you, that doesn’t work 🙂

  12. pattisj September 3, 2014 / 7:01 AM

    Loved your perfectly-penned haiku that describes your story so well. Sorry your salad dreams were trampled.

    • jannatwrites September 5, 2014 / 12:58 AM

      Thanks, Patti. Looks like we’ll be getting our salad makings from the store for a while 🙂

  13. Kathy Combs (@Kathy29156) September 3, 2014 / 7:34 AM

    Your haiku and picture to accompany it was great. The most we have to worry about around here are bunnies and groundhogs and that was enough for me to give up on any silly dreams of fresh produce grown by yours truly. I wouldn’t want to take one of those wild beasts on either.

    • jannatwrites September 5, 2014 / 1:02 AM

      Groundhogs – that’s one we haven’t encountered. (I hope typing that didn’t just jinx us!) You’re smart, Kathy. Me? I’m still contemplating ways to get around them.

Got an opinion? Share it!

