Montezuma Well – Haiku

04-09 Sycamore

Camouflaged in rings,

Aged Sinaguan secrets live.

Dwellings abandoned.

~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-

Several weeks ago, we visited Montezuma Well.  From the natural spring, to the vacant Sinagua cliff dwellings, to the Arizona sycamores, I found so much to take in.  (My blog header this month depicts some of the cliff dwellings.)  That visit inspired the haiku above.

We learned that Arizona sycamores grow where there are constant water sources.  This is probably why I don’t recall seeing them desert climate of Phoenix during the twenty-five years I lived there.  Several of these huge trees grew along a stream near the well.  I believe I saw on a sign that the Arizona sycamores are also known as ‘Arizona giants.’  In the photo above, my eight-year-old posed near one of them.  (Even though I call him my little monkey, he doesn’t really have a monkey’s face.  It’s an edit prompted by my paranoia about my kids’ photos on the internet.)

I found the design of the tree bark fascinating as well.  The photo below shows a close up of the bark.  I’d love to know the stories of the past concealed behind the camouflage!

Arizona sycamore tree trunk
Arizona sycamore tree trunk

I may write more about Montezuma Well in a future post.  Have a beautiful Wednesday!

22 thoughts on “Montezuma Well – Haiku

  1. Robin Leigh Morgan April 9, 2014 / 5:55 AM

    Hi Janna

    I’ve never heard of Montezuma’s Well before so I had to Google it to find out some information about the place.

    In Arizona
    Water from an unknown source
    Brings forth unique life.

    THANKS for the opportunity for me to write another HAIKU
    I believe I’ve summarized the place with this one. 🙂 🙂 🙂

    • Robin Leigh Morgan April 9, 2014 / 7:40 AM

      OOPS !!! Sorry Janna – I forgot to comment on your HAIKU. I like your HAIKU perhaps that’s why I also decided to summarize one aspect of the place within the limitation of 5-7-5.

      • jannatwrites April 10, 2014 / 12:50 AM

        Haha… no worries, Robin! I’m glad you were inspired to respond in haiku. (Tomorrow, I’ll stop by your site to see what you’ve got going on…)

    • jannatwrites April 10, 2014 / 12:39 AM

      Nice! I like that you respond in haiku, Robin! It was a cool place to visit and I think there are many ways to sum up that location.

  2. nrhatch April 9, 2014 / 6:57 AM

    Great header. We’ve visited a number of cave dwellings, including Tuzigoot. Your haiku speaks to the spirit dwelling in the ancient dwellings.

    • jannatwrites April 10, 2014 / 12:41 AM

      We didn’t make it to Tuzigoot yet, Nancy. So many dwellings, so little time 🙂 We did see the Eldon ruins right outside of Flagstaff. So strange to see an archeological site right across the street from a modern gas station.

  3. Debbie April 9, 2014 / 7:22 AM

    I had to giggle at your little monkey, Janna — I, too, have a phobia about posting my son’s face on my blog (and he’s over 21, ha!). Great haiku, by the way, and I’d love hearing more about the well.

    • jannatwrites April 10, 2014 / 12:47 AM

      I’m glad I’m not the only paranoid one, Debbie. A part of me would love to show them off here, but it’s too scary 🙂 I think I’ll have to do another post or two on this one.

  4. Lance April 9, 2014 / 7:22 AM

    Great, exotic word choices.

  5. suzicate April 9, 2014 / 7:31 AM

    Awesome. Adorable monkey boy, too!

    • jannatwrites April 10, 2014 / 12:48 AM

      Thanks, Suzicate! He’s my sweet monkey 🙂

    • jannatwrites April 10, 2014 / 12:59 AM

      Those trees really were captivating, Kathy! I’m glad you liked the haiku… I read your recent haiku as well… love the ice one 🙂

  6. agjorgenson April 9, 2014 / 6:44 PM

    Thanks for the Haiku and the photo of the bark. It reminds me of a tree I saw in Australia, but I cannot recall the name. Looking at things closely is often so very enriching!

    • jannatwrites April 10, 2014 / 1:00 AM

      Thanks for reading, Allen! I took a photo of another tree that had a fun bark texture to it. So much diversity.

  7. diannegray April 9, 2014 / 8:55 PM

    Beautiful words, Janna. And such a cute little monkey! 😀

  8. Eric Alagan April 10, 2014 / 1:42 AM

    I can’t say how tall or big your son is, but the tree trunk looks massive. And you’re right, Janna, about the camouflage – it can hide any number of animal and insect life.

    Cheers,
    Eric

    • jannatwrites April 10, 2014 / 9:32 PM

      He’s just over 4 feet tall (at last check 🙂 ) Didn’t think about the insects… good thing I kept my distance, Eric!

  9. Sandra April 16, 2014 / 9:36 AM

    Hi, Janna! Very interesting tree bark–do tell about it if you find out! We were just seeing some similar “peeling” tree barks around our neighborhood and wondered why they were like that, though I don’t know what kind of tree they are. Thanks for the “social studies” mini-lesson; Google helped me. 🙂

    • jannatwrites April 17, 2014 / 12:00 AM

      They are some unique trees, Sandra. I don’t have another post about Montezuma yet (my mind is terrible about moving on to something else and not returning to things previously explored…) Glad you stopped by!

Got an opinion? Share it!