Crazy Cat Lady

It’s strange but several people, upon hearing of my crumbled marriage, have consoled me by offering responses along the lines of “you’re still young and you’ll find love again.”

What?!

I’m not certain, but I think the involuntary look that flashes across my face is something like my expression when I catch a whiff of my older son’s socks after a cross country meet, or when I remove a lizard from under the couch once the cats are done playing with it.

My gray hairs contradict the “young” statement, but that’s beside the point.  I know they are well-meaning and trying to make me feel better, but it doesn’t make sense.  It’s like telling a shark attack victim that they should get right back out there and swim.  Or, after walking through poison ivy, following the exact same path.  Or, taking a person to a bonfire after they are rescued from a burning building.  Or, after someone has gotten sick from fish tacos, serving fish tacos for dinner the next day.

Okay, I’ll stop- I think you get the point.

My response is always the same: “Oh, I’m ready to embrace my new life as a crazy cat lady.”

They always laugh.  They think I’m kidding.  They have no idea!

I’m serious, and I have some cell phone photos I’ve taken over the last ten days to prove it:

I call this kitty pretzel, although it was more the end result of both cats wanting to nap in the same spot
I call this “kitty pretzel”, although it was more a matter of Sammy refusing to move, and Lizzy laying on top of her because she wanted that nap spot
I was holding down the couch... the cats were just making sure I did it properly
I was holding down the couch… the cats were just making sure I did it properly
Don't be deceived, she does NOT want her belly rubbed (she bites)
Don’t be deceived, Lizzy does NOT want her belly rubbed (she bites)
I'm bored, can we be done already?
I’m bored, can we be done already?

I think I have a knack for this crazy cat lady gig.  What do you think?

I don’t know how many pictures one can take of sleeping cats… but I’m on a mission to find out! (Don’t worry… I don’t plan to share them… well, not all of them, at least 🙂 )

Have a beautiful Tuesday!

51 thoughts on “Crazy Cat Lady

  1. joannesisco December 1, 2015 / 6:36 AM

    I love cats, I love cat photos, but my furball will never allow me to be a cat lady … as much as I would love another one. When Theo shows his belly, he wants belly rubs, but he doesn’t bite. When he starts to twitch his back leg, I know he’s had enough 😉

    Most people are at a loss to know what to say when someone suffers a loss of any kind. I’m certainly one of them and worry I’ll say something stupid or misguided. I like your response and hope this *stage* moves past quickly.

    • jannatwrites December 3, 2015 / 9:35 PM

      My Cybil would’ve preferred that I not get these other cats, so I know what you mean. It’s funny how we learn the subtleties of when to touch and when to back away… it only takes a little blood to get the point across 🙂 I’m not good with what to say in times of loss either… actually, I’m not real swift in any social conversation, so it’s nice to at least have some company in that respect.

      • joannesisco December 4, 2015 / 5:20 AM

        There is a lot to be said about blogging and having the time to craft a response that will hopefully sound intelligent or clever 😉

        • jannatwrites December 14, 2015 / 6:30 PM

          haha, that is always a good thing!

  2. Nurse Kelly December 1, 2015 / 6:56 AM

    I think if loving on those kitties and enjoying them brings you happiness right now, that’s what’s most important! Look for things already there in your life to bring you comfort and joy, the rest will most certainly come in time. Sending you a big hug! Love the cat pics, too! Happy December 🙂

    • jannatwrites December 3, 2015 / 9:36 PM

      I’ve always adored cats but have had to limit how many I could have. I would like to add to my “collection” 🙂 I hope your December is going well so far, Nurse Kelly!

      • Nurse Kelly December 4, 2015 / 12:04 PM

        Yes, I love them too! So far so good, except I’m sick again with a nasty cold… don’t know why I keep picking up viruses!

        • jannatwrites December 14, 2015 / 6:32 PM

          I hope you are feeling better by now!

        • Nurse Kelly December 14, 2015 / 6:40 PM

          I am, thank you! Had to take an antibiotic 🙂

  3. Polysyllabic Profundities December 1, 2015 / 7:01 AM

    Nothing wrong with being the crazy cat lady. And don’t let anyone else tell you what you need….I’ve been there and heard those same “encouraging” lines after my divorce. If love finds me again, great. If not, I may go and get a cat or two to keep my dog company. 😉

    • jannatwrites December 3, 2015 / 9:39 PM

      My mom was actually one of the people who commented on finding love in the future. She didn’t know the garbage I was going through until I was done putting up with it (neither did anyone else I knew, because I didn’t want anyone else’s “advice” on what I should do… it needed to be my decision.) But after 18 years of it, I’m sure not chomping at the bit to hop on that ride again! Your dog might like a couple cats to chew on… I mean, play with 🙂

      • Polysyllabic Profundities December 4, 2015 / 7:52 AM

        Lol….she’s not too sure of cats. One took a run at her so she’s a little timid around them. Odd, since she weighs 85 pounds!

        • jannatwrites December 14, 2015 / 6:31 PM

          I’d say she’s a smart dog then… cats may be small, but they sure do hurt!

  4. nrhatch December 1, 2015 / 7:09 AM

    Haha! That’s the spirit!!!
    When someone offers well-meaning but misplaced advice and/or commentary (“well, if I were in your shoes . . .”), feel free to keep wearing your own shoes.

    • jannatwrites December 3, 2015 / 9:43 PM

      You’re funny, Nancy! It surprised me how many people have made such comments – at least 7 so far. If I ever do think I want to go there, the person will have to go through rigorous interviews with my parents and best friend, as I no longer trust my judgment 🙂

  5. Timothy Price December 1, 2015 / 8:07 AM

    Sometimes crazy cat ladies find crazy cat men. But cats are awfully good companions. Sweet looking yellow kitties. Besides or calico, all our cats are in black and white with some gray.

    • jannatwrites December 3, 2015 / 9:44 PM

      Well, I think I’ll stick with just cats, haha. Cats are awesome, I just love them to pieces 🙂 I wouldn’t mind having a Siamese mix cat again, but really, the cats seem to choose me. It’s hard not to go out and get a couple more now, but I have to wait.

      • Timothy Price December 3, 2015 / 9:52 PM

        Cats do normally choose you, even when they are given to you, they have somehow chosen you.

        • jannatwrites December 4, 2015 / 12:23 AM

          So true, Timothy! This must be why 16 years ago, when I went to the Humane Society looking for a Siamese mix, I ended up with a black tabby 🙂 (and it was the one with a loud, annoying meow that made me say I would never get that cat!)

  6. JJ December 1, 2015 / 8:56 AM

    Janna, you’ve proven to me and everyone who knows you that can do or be anything you want. I trust in your judgement to be what is best for you and if it’s crazy cat lady, you’re more than half way there already.

    • jannatwrites December 3, 2015 / 9:46 PM

      Thanks for the encouraging comment, JJ. I have the crazy down pat… just need to get a few more kitties before I can completely settle into it, hehe.

  7. Paula J Wray December 1, 2015 / 8:58 AM

    Whatever you decide to do with your life, there should always be room for cats. Just like bacon, everything is better with cats.

    • jannatwrites December 3, 2015 / 9:47 PM

      I will always have cats. Even as a young child I was drawn to them- more so than dogs. I have to agree, bacon is pretty darn good as well, Paula 🙂

  8. Emilio Pasquale December 1, 2015 / 9:18 AM

    Sorry but two cats does not a crazy cat lady make. When Paula Poundstone is asked “how did you ever get 16 cats”, she answers, ” I had 15 and got another one”! Now relax. We’re having fish tacos tonight if you care to join us!

    • jannatwrites December 3, 2015 / 9:49 PM

      The only thing standing between me and more cats is selling my house. Once I move, I plan on getting two more (to start). My sons love cats so they aren’t trying to talk me out of it. My younger one wanted to “just look at them” a couple weeks ago… oh no, just looking is dangerous for me! Fish tacos… never again… that’s what my almost ex mother-in-law made for dinner when I first met her. My gag reflex kicked in and I almost barfed at the table- it was horrible!

  9. Jay December 1, 2015 / 9:29 AM

    People genuinely just don’t know how to express their remorse when you’re suffering a loss they’re not sure how to categorize. My grandmother was glad I’d gotten “thin enough” in my divorce to attract another man. Meanwhile, the rest of us called it a bleeding ulcer and a very dark time in my life, but whatever! 🙂
    Big hugs.

    • jannatwrites December 3, 2015 / 9:54 PM

      I hope you are doing much better now, Jay. I had lost a significant amount of weight as well at the beginning of the year (from the stress and depression.) Some days, I would just eat a few crackers. Most people commented in a positive way on the weight loss and it bothered me – couldn’t they tell something wasn’t right? But my best friend saw me and said “oh my gosh, you look anorexic!” I knew I didn’t look good (but I didn’t care) and it was nice to have someone be honest with me.

  10. Debbie December 1, 2015 / 11:54 AM

    Janna, you crack me up! Those well-intentioned pieces of advice just don’t fly, do they? I suppose folks hear the same sort of nonsense at visitations (the one I especially like is, “Gee, she looks just like she’s sleeping.” As if a virtual stranger knows what “she” looks like when she’s asleep!!). Don’t pay them any mind. You know what’s best for you (and if you don’t right now, that’s okay because you’ll figure it out in time). Your kitties, by the way, are super-cute (though I’m more of a dog-person) — I love the pretzel!!

    • jannatwrites December 3, 2015 / 9:58 PM

      I feel awkward at visitations and only go if it’s close family. I would probably make some silly comment, too! I should clarify, that the kitties are actually my sons’ cats… I just borrow them. I lost Cybil (my cat) a couple months ago and am anxious to get a couple cats of my own, but must wait until the house sells… patience is so hard 🙂 I think dogs are cute too, but cats seem to “get” me and they make sense to me.

  11. diannegray December 1, 2015 / 2:42 PM

    Crazy cat ladies are the best! Why would anyone think you need a man to “make you complete”? I have always vowed that if (god forbid) anything happens to my hubby I will gratefully live my life the way I want to with no ties, commitments, or roller-coaster emotions with any man. Stay free and beautiful, my friend xxxx

    • jannatwrites December 3, 2015 / 10:00 PM

      I just love the kitties, Diane! The past 18 years has been mostly difficult (there were a few decent years) so having a few more cats to “own” me sounds pretty good to me 🙂

  12. EagleAye December 1, 2015 / 3:09 PM

    I don’t know. You need about ten more cats before you can be “crazy cat lady.” The ones you do have are super-cute. Maybe for now just be the “pet-crazy lady?” They’re fun to spend time with anyway. If you curl up with a book, they’ll curl up too. That’s nice.

    • jannatwrites December 3, 2015 / 10:04 PM

      Haha, I just might get there, Eagleaye…. the two cats I have are actually my sons’ cats… my cat died in August. After my house sells I would like to get at least two more cats and then I’ll go from there. Cats are good for keeping me company when I’m being lazy (I often wonder why exactly they are so tired… it must be exhausting eating, using the litter box and lounging around all day.)

      • EagleAye December 3, 2015 / 10:17 PM

        Hehe. It takes a lot of energy to look so cool all the time. 😉

    • jannatwrites December 3, 2015 / 10:04 PM

      Maybe we can start a club, Mel – and compare our sleeping kitty photos 🙂

  13. pattisj December 1, 2015 / 11:27 PM

    Lizzy’s tummy is so tempting! I don’t know if I told you this already. When my uncle died, someone asked my aunt about getting another husband. She said no, I’ve already had one of those. I’m sure those people meant well, we just don’t make the best decisions or say the right things on the spot. Crazy Cat Lady sounds like fun to me.

    • jannatwrites December 3, 2015 / 10:06 PM

      Lizzy is a weird cat… she’s the only cat I’ve had who will sleep on her back. I knew she would be good for our house when I saw how she was with my younger son (he was 3 at the time.) Smart cats would’ve been frightened, but she wasn’t 🙂

  14. Björn Rudberg (brudberg) December 2, 2015 / 1:09 AM

    There is nothing strange in being a cat lady… (maybe it’s not so crazy after all)… and no on jumping back into the pond again… (for some reason men always do that). Take the day as it comes, accept what’s there (and remember don’t shun the corners).

    • jannatwrites December 3, 2015 / 10:09 PM

      Good advice, Bjorn. I’m not in a rush to do anything really… I don’t know what I want to be when I grow up 🙂 Each day I’ll get closer to who I’m supposed to be.

  15. Anita Kushwaha December 2, 2015 / 11:49 AM

    Ha ha, I think I’m that group too, Janna! 😉 Just last night while in bed, I couldn’t resist snapping a couple of pics of my cat, Noodles. I am a little obsessed with him. I think you’re right about people meaning well but ultimately invalidating the depth of your experience. When one of my loved ones passed away a few years ago, I thought my head would explode if one more person told me, “everything happens for a reason.” Sigh. Okay, I’m going to go take some pics of my sleeping cat now! Looking forward to yours too! 😉

    • jannatwrites December 3, 2015 / 10:27 PM

      Woo-hoo, another crazy cat lady 🙂 They are so cute when they are sleeping, aren’t they? I have more pictures of them on my phone than I do my kids. Hearing everything happens for a reason doesn’t do anything to take the hurt away. I think taking more kitty pics is a fabulous idea, Anita.

      • Anita Kushwaha December 4, 2015 / 6:00 PM

        Ha ha, happy to be part of the club! 😉 Happy weekend to you, Janna!

  16. Widdershins December 2, 2015 / 9:08 PM

    Moar kittez is good … moarest kittez is goodest!!! 😀

    Relationship disintegration sucks, and cats are OK with it. Humans? Not so much.

    Big hugs.

    • jannatwrites December 4, 2015 / 12:10 AM

      Your comment made me smile, Widdershins. I say, the more cats I have, the merrier I am 🙂

  17. agjorgenson December 3, 2015 / 7:06 PM

    It’s interesting how people are so very interested in charting our lives. I have had more than a few spell out my future, as if I were a car, and they the driver. Good on you for finding a come-back that works for you!

    • jannatwrites December 4, 2015 / 12:17 AM

      Maybe it’s because it’s easier to navigate someone else’s life than it is our own? One day, I will fully realize my role as crazy cat lady… I’m easing into it. Thanks for stopping by, Allen!

    • jannatwrites December 14, 2015 / 6:38 PM

      Hahaha, yes, we do (except if there’s a cat in the room… they rule!)

Got an opinion? Share it!

