Reflection

03-23 Duck4

I felt the current pulling me under…

but then,

your words provided shelter

from the rain of discontent

pelting my battered body.

I watched life scatter my dreams asunder…

that’s when,

you strived to make me stronger,

infused me with new-found courage

that I could, indeed, grasp for a future unseen.

I mourned the innocence and hope cruelly plundered…

there again,

you offered your ear and shoulder,

and supplied words of comfort (surely, heaven-sent)-

insisting goodness and kindness resided within me.

I absorbed the encouragement, and wondered…

how then,

did my worries become like beads of water

sliding off a duck’s feathered back?

Like a mirror, I must reflect the grace extended to me.               

~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-

Inspiration:  This poem came to mind as I was pondering reflection.  There is the kind of reflection depicted in the photo; and then there is the reflection we do when we look back at where we have been, and those who have helped us through.

On March 28, 2010, I wrote my first timid post here.  I was certain no one would read it… and not many did!  But a strange thing has happened over the years… people have found my small space on the internet.  I appreciate everyone who has taken time to read something I’ve written.

Since I likely won’t post until next week, I just wanted to acknowledge the 5-year mark of this blog and my 773rd post.  It’s happening because of you:  the readers/commenters who make this a fun place to be.  I’ve grown a lot in the last five years and bared much more here than I ever thought I would.  I thought revealing myself would be terrifying, but it’s turned out to be liberating.

For all of you who have had me in your thoughts and prayers over the last couple months – thank you.  Your kind support has truly helped more than you know.  Someday I will provide some explanation, but I simply can’t right now 🙂

50 thoughts on “Reflection

  1. Kathy Combs (@KathyCombs16) March 23, 2015 / 6:23 AM

    This was beautiful! You always have such a wonderful way with words. They paint vivid pictures that capture all the senses. Simply love the way you write!

    • jannatwrites March 26, 2015 / 9:14 PM

      Thanks so much for reading and for the kind words, Kathy! It’s always nice when my words appeal to someone 🙂

    • jannatwrites March 26, 2015 / 9:15 PM

      Thanks, Timothy – I appreciate you reading it!

  2. Catherine Johnson March 23, 2015 / 7:53 AM

    Great poem, Janna. I’m so glad you are still blogging. Congrats!

    • jannatwrites March 26, 2015 / 9:17 PM

      Thanks, Bjorn! I like the idea of not allowing troubles to soak in… it can be toxic.

  3. philosophermouseofthehedge March 23, 2015 / 8:19 AM

    Remember sitting in the sun when it’s finally spring for real and that special early-long-waited for warmth as the sun sinks into your back? You then know there’s definitely a change. Coaxed and teased, you know more is waiting. Smiles sent on soft breezes. (RC has awarded an affirming wave, but she’s worried you may not have seen it as she is cat-on-the-closet-shelf in protest until the German leaves. She was quite insistent you receive her applause.)
    Cheers! Enjoy the week!

    • jannatwrites March 26, 2015 / 9:18 PM

      Thanks, Phil (and RC Cat’s approval!) Approval from a cat is rewarding, indeed, as they can be finicky creatures 🙂 )

  4. Debbie March 23, 2015 / 8:45 AM

    Congratulations on your blog’s anniversary, Janna! It’s right that we acknowledge milestones like this and remember our fledgling efforts to reach out to others with our words. I know yours have touched many, my friend (me, included!), and I hope it’s grown easier for you to reflect who you are in the safe haven of your blog! I hope you’ll enjoy your break, go somewhere FUN, and renew your spirit — we’ll be here when you return!

    • jannatwrites March 26, 2015 / 9:20 PM

      Thanks, Debbie! This blog has been a great place to share words, and I plan to keep that way… in time, back to a more regular schedule. I don’t really get a break per se, it’s just harder to keep up with everything is sliding right now… no stress though. I will just do what I can, when I can 🙂

  5. Nurse Kelly March 23, 2015 / 8:47 AM

    This is beautiful, Janna. Congrats on 5 years. Hope you are well 🙂

    • jannatwrites March 26, 2015 / 9:21 PM

      Thanks, Nurse Kelly – I appreciate you taking time to stop by 🙂

    • jannatwrites March 26, 2015 / 9:21 PM

      Thanks, TDM! I will be by your blog tonight… I’ve been meaning to do that 🙂

  6. clarbojahn March 23, 2015 / 10:23 AM

    Your metaphor for reflection and the way you offer hope for better selves still to come or seen is beautiful. I Love this poem and will show it to it to husbs for I think he does this for me.

    • jannatwrites March 26, 2015 / 9:22 PM

      Thanks so much for the comment, Clar. It means a lot that the poem is something you can relate to and that you’d want to share 🙂

  7. mbarkersimpson March 23, 2015 / 11:16 AM

    Beautiful poem, Janna. It makes me so happy just to read it – I have tears in my eyes 🙂

    • jannatwrites March 26, 2015 / 9:22 PM

      Thanks for reading, Mel! I have had a lot of depressing stuff here lately, so I really wanted to do something more on the hopeful side this week 🙂

  8. Imelda March 23, 2015 / 12:28 PM

    Happy blog anniversary, Janna. I am pleased to say that I am one of those well pleased to have found your space. Your writing is always a delight.

    • jannatwrites March 26, 2015 / 9:24 PM

      Thanks, Imelda! I’m glad we have become blog friends… I enjoy your photography a lot, though I haven’t seen you around much lately (I know, with four kids it’s not like you have anything else to do, haha!)

  9. Sean March 23, 2015 / 12:56 PM

    It is really a blessing to have people in your life that really care about you and are able to lift you up when you most need it. The words you chose flow beautifully together taking the reader through emotions that many have felt. Thank you for the time taken to share this jewel with us. I’m sure more than just I am thankful for it.

    • jannatwrites March 26, 2015 / 9:27 PM

      The people we encounter are blessings and I think it’s good when we recognize that and make our appreciation known. Thanks so much for reading and taking time to share your thoughts, Sean!

  10. Widdershins March 23, 2015 / 1:40 PM

    Happy Five-Year-and-773rd Blog-O-versary!!! 😀

    • jannatwrites March 26, 2015 / 9:28 PM

      Thanks, Widdershins! I can’t believe my blog is old enough to start kindergarten 🙂

      • Widdershins March 27, 2015 / 1:09 PM

        LOL … pretty soon it’ll be wanting a cell phone of its own … an allowance … Marvel movies merchandise … a car … 😀

        • jannatwrites March 31, 2015 / 7:39 PM

          I know, we do our best to raise it right and then it turns into a “me” fest!

  11. nrhatch March 23, 2015 / 1:56 PM

    Happy 5th Year! I started blogging about a month before you and your first comment on SLTW was in 10/10. Over that time I’ve enjoyed (almost) everything you’ve posted.

    Write on!

    • jannatwrites March 26, 2015 / 9:28 PM

      Thanks, Nancy! I remember – you found my blog through a comment I’d left on Cities of the Mind. I know you can’t like everything I write, so I’m perfectly happy with most 🙂

  12. Bryan Ens March 23, 2015 / 3:19 PM

    happy 5 years! Love how you have woven trouble together with the help you have received, and the triumphant ending of desiring to be that kind of help to others in need. A very hopeful piece!

    • jannatwrites March 26, 2015 / 9:30 PM

      Thanks for stopping by, Bryan! I am so glad the hope came through… that’s really what I wanted to convey here.

  13. suzicate March 23, 2015 / 4:09 PM

    Happy Blogoversary!
    You don’t need to explain anything; just know we care and will keep you covered with warm thoughts, wishes, and prayers for your well being.

    • jannatwrites March 26, 2015 / 9:31 PM

      Thanks, Suzicate! Whatever I do decide to share here won’t be the full story, but rather some pieces of my experience emotions I encountered that I think others might be able to relate to.

  14. joannesisco March 23, 2015 / 5:18 PM

    Congratulations on 5 years of blogging! That’s a very significant milestone from where I’m sitting. Looking forward to reading many more of your posts and great stories.

    • jannatwrites March 26, 2015 / 9:32 PM

      Thanks, Joanne! It has been a fun experience that I plan to continue… with more regularity I’m hoping by summertime!

  15. Carol Ann Hoel March 23, 2015 / 6:42 PM

    I like the poem, Janna. Congrats on 5 years with WordPress!

    • jannatwrites March 26, 2015 / 9:32 PM

      Thanks, Carol Ann. I appreciate you taking time to read and comment 🙂

  16. EagleAye March 23, 2015 / 6:56 PM

    That was lovely, Janna. You continue to write some of the most powerful and inspiring poetry that I’ve ever found. I love the formatting too. It adds an extra dimension to the meaning. Congrats on 5-years blogging. You’ve been at this a long time and the quality of your work shows it. Isn’t it wonderful you’ve got an awesome family living around the globe, waiting to see what you write next? The theme of your your poem is great. I often think about the people who’ve done good things for me in the past, and every day I try to live up to what they did. It’s something I do daily.

    • jannatwrites March 26, 2015 / 9:37 PM

      Thanks, EagleAye! I really appreciate your kind words about my poetry (it was my first writing love, though I move between poetry and fiction freely now.) Reflecting kindness is so beneficial to everyone involved… everyone wins 🙂 I do have wonderful readers/commenters here and that’s what makes this blog so much fun.

  17. Eric Alagan March 24, 2015 / 1:31 AM

    “For all of you who have had me in your thoughts and prayers over the last couple months – thank you”

    I’ve dropped off the blogging grid these last few months, Janna, and therefore, don’t know what you refer to. But you have my best wishes – always.

    I enjoyed your take on “Reflection” – well written and hints of things profound.

    Five years! My, that’s some accomplishment. Glad to have been a small part of your journey.

    – Eric

    • jannatwrites March 26, 2015 / 9:38 PM

      Hi, Eric – glad you stopped by (And I’m glad you’ve been part of the journey as well)! I know you’ve been busy with some challenging writing goals you set for 2015… hope they are going as planned!

  18. frederick anderson March 24, 2015 / 4:13 AM

    And you are fun to read. So graceful on the surface, but with those little feet … No, seriously. A really nice piece of tranquil poetry.

    • jannatwrites March 26, 2015 / 9:39 PM

      Hey, people like my orange webbed feet… it’s a conversation starter 🙂 Thanks for taking time to read my poem and leave your thoughts, Frederick!

  19. GodGirl March 26, 2015 / 1:57 PM

    I love the way your poem ‘reflects’ the drifty, river-like nature of reflection… One thought leading to another until a conclusion is found. Beautiful.

    • jannatwrites March 26, 2015 / 9:40 PM

      Thanks, GodGirl! I like how you interpreted the flow. I hadn’t thought of river-like (consciously at least) but I did want to journey from despair to hope 🙂

  20. dilip March 30, 2015 / 12:28 AM

    A beautiful poem with a deep message. Few kind words, giving time to listen to the other and encouraging a troubled soul is true Godliness. Thank you Janna!

    • jannatwrites March 31, 2015 / 7:26 PM

      Thanks for reading, Dilip. It is beautiful when we are comforted and then later find ourselves reflecting that warmth toward someone else.

  21. Leigh W. Smith March 30, 2015 / 2:55 PM

    Happy 5-year “blogoversary,” Janna (and congratulations on the persistence implied in that). Splendid poem, sentiments, and photograph.

    • jannatwrites March 31, 2015 / 7:41 PM

      Thanks, Leigh! I’ve ‘slacked off’ a bit lately, but it’s a necessary part of life at the moment. One day I expect to return to posting twice a week. Thanks for taking time to read and share your thoughts on my writing. I really do appreciate it 🙂

Got an opinion? Share it!

