When?

01-15 Rim trees6

I remember…

how the newness sparkled,

radiant beneath glittering light.

Now, I see a finish dulled-

dormant in the heavy night.

When did the rose hue

turn a lonely shade of blue?

 

I remember…

the optimism, swearing

winter wouldn’t freeze us;

my fingers chilled, I realize

I’ve forgotten my gloves.

When did summer drift

away on golden leaves?

 

I miss…

musings about the future,

imagining the reminiscing

of life snapshots

collected in our hearts.

When did hope fail

to illuminate tomorrow?

~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-

Inspiration:  I wrote this about a month ago about my marriage and how it began as full of hope and faded into what it is today.  My goal is to write something that isn’t utterly depressing soon… maybe some fiction (it’s been a while!)   I’m glad you stopped by…. have a beautiful Thursday 🙂

40 thoughts on “When?

  1. suzicate January 15, 2015 / 5:30 AM

    I wish you a beautiful Thursday, too.

  2. Björn Rudberg (brudberg) January 15, 2015 / 6:12 AM

    Somehow life has its valleys and its peaks.. and sometimes we just need to forge ahead to get through the darkness.. hope it’s already better than what was a month ago.

    • jannatwrites January 16, 2015 / 12:00 AM

      Thanks, Bjorn. Wish I could say so… but for every valley, I believe there is a peak 🙂

  3. nrhatch January 15, 2015 / 7:06 AM

    Nice poem, Janna. Relationships are a challenge ~ people are as apt to grow apart as to grow together as the patina shifts from “sparkling” and “new” to “worn” and “familiar.”

    • jannatwrites January 16, 2015 / 12:01 AM

      That is true, Nancy. Sometimes we change together, sometimes not so much.

    • jannatwrites January 16, 2015 / 12:01 AM

      I am hoping to have a more light-hearted piece of fiction to post next week, Timothy 🙂

  4. Debbie January 15, 2015 / 8:43 AM

    Hang in there, Janna. Things often look bleakest during the shorter, darker days of winter. Sounds like you could use a break — couldn’t we all??

    • jannatwrites January 16, 2015 / 12:02 AM

      A break or a different life, haha. Thanks for the encouragement, Debbie!

  5. Kir Piccini January 15, 2015 / 10:34 AM

    Oh Janna, my heart hurt a little reading this. Hoping today is better than yesterday and tomorrow is better than today.
    I hope that your view is sunnier soon. xo

    • jannatwrites January 16, 2015 / 12:03 AM

      Thanks, Kir. I’m ready for some mental sunshine, too 🙂

      • Kir Piccini January 16, 2015 / 7:51 AM

        **SUNSHINE!**

  6. Sean January 15, 2015 / 1:43 PM

    Although the darkness tends to be overwhelming at times, there is always light to be found. I hope your day is looking brighter, 🙂 As for other writings, you could write a story about a mutant crab leg where someone was making the pincers move and it comes to life attacking the people at the table only to be taken down by a hungry teenager 🙂

    • jannatwrites January 16, 2015 / 12:06 AM

      I’m not sure about the crab story, Sean… that one sounds like it’s right up your alley – you should give it a try 🙂

  7. Widdershins January 15, 2015 / 2:39 PM

    Sometimes, you’ve got to go all the way to the bottom to find the way out. <>

    • Widdershins January 15, 2015 / 2:40 PM

      “big hugs” should’ve been inside those brackets … pesky wordpress!!!

      • jannatwrites January 16, 2015 / 12:07 AM

        🙂 Sometimes it doesn’t cooperate.

    • jannatwrites January 16, 2015 / 12:07 AM

      True… I keep thinking I’m there, but the bottom falls out again! Thanks for the encouragement, Widdershins.

  8. mbarkersimpson January 15, 2015 / 3:11 PM

    This poem resonated for so many reasons. I’ve been in a similar place, and my thoughts are with you. It might be heart-wrenching, but there’s beauty in the stark lines of the piece 🙂

    • jannatwrites January 16, 2015 / 12:08 AM

      I appreciate your encouraging words, Mel. I’m seriously going to try for something lighter to post next week 🙂

  9. joannesisco January 15, 2015 / 7:16 PM

    I hope you find your way out of the sadness and back into a path of hope.

    • jannatwrites January 16, 2015 / 12:10 AM

      Thanks, Joanne! I’ll just take each day as it comes 🙂

  10. habibadanyal January 16, 2015 / 10:13 PM

    “When did the rose hue, turn a lonely shade of blue?” This will be my next quote line, with credits to you of course.

    • jannatwrites January 18, 2015 / 10:09 PM

      I’m glad you liked that line, Habibadanyal. You’re welcome to use it 🙂

  11. vishalbheeroo January 16, 2015 / 10:29 PM

    Hope you had a beautiful week filled with romance and love. Winter is my favorite season and this post is soothing:)

  12. Imelda January 18, 2015 / 7:40 PM

    Your words are lovely, but it is poignant especially considering the background story. Marriages have highs and lows, I pray that yours is on the up and up now. 🙂

    • jannatwrites January 18, 2015 / 10:11 PM

      Thanks, Imelda. I appreciate the kind words.

  13. frederick anderson January 21, 2015 / 2:17 AM

    Maybe it isn’t so depressing? There is an irrepressible flicker of hope filtering through the words. Nostalgia will always take you down; that’s why I don’t do it any more – mind you, I used to…

    • jannatwrites January 23, 2015 / 12:09 AM

      I can see how nostalgia can be like that, Frederick!

  14. pattisj February 22, 2015 / 10:26 PM

    I pray that hope returns to all of your family. Keep looking!

    • jannatwrites February 22, 2015 / 10:34 PM

      Thanks, Patti – I appreciate your words!

Got an opinion? Share it!

