I Won’t Break

01-12 Snow

I bent over backwards,

turned inside out,

to create the illusion of peace.

Whenever the dust settled,

you blew through again,

disrupting the balance.

***

Shoulders hunched, back bowed

from the weight of life,

I wait out the storm.

Each breath anticipates

the point in time

when I can stand tall once more.

~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-

Inspiration:  During our recent snowstorm, I saw this young tree bent from the weight of snow.  When I spotted it, I immediately thought that it was nature’s representation of me.  Several times, I went outside and shook the snow off of it and it would spring back to the upright position.  I have hope that I, too, will bounce back like this little tree.

58 thoughts on “I Won’t Break

  1. Timothy Price January 12, 2015 / 6:53 AM

    Beautiful poem. The tree appreciated your help, I,m sure.

    • jannatwrites January 13, 2015 / 8:42 AM

      Thanks, Timothy! It’s still alive, so I’ll take that as it being thankful, haha.

  2. Kir Piccini January 12, 2015 / 7:02 AM

    This spoke to me today. I read it and felt the need to come over and say HI.
    HAPPY NEW YEAR Janna and I hope you know that you will bounce back, just like that little tree.

    it’s a beautiful poem, strong words.

    • jannatwrites January 13, 2015 / 8:43 AM

      Thanks for stopping by and reading, Kir. Yes, when I wrote this, my emotions were quite heavy. Still in flux but hanging in there. Hope you had a happy new year!

      • Kir Piccini January 14, 2015 / 9:11 AM

        January is always a very “in flux” time for me but I’m hanging in there.

        Hoping you’re having a good week.

        • jannatwrites January 14, 2015 / 9:48 PM

          Thanks, Kir! I hope things look up in February 🙂

  3. suzicate January 12, 2015 / 7:55 AM

    You are strong like the tree. Remember it’s ok to bend but never so far you will break.

    • jannatwrites January 13, 2015 / 8:44 AM

      That is good to remember, Suzicate. So far, I’m not broken, so I’m thankful for that 🙂

  4. joannesisco January 12, 2015 / 8:53 AM

    I hope you have someone, or something, in your life to help shake off the snow that accumulates on you 🙂

    • jannatwrites January 13, 2015 / 8:45 AM

      I do, Joanne. It’s been kind of a never-ending process lately, but I’m doing all right 🙂

  5. dilip January 12, 2015 / 9:16 AM

    Wow that’s brilliant and creative! Many thanks 🙂

  6. philosophermouseofthehedge January 12, 2015 / 9:37 AM

    One of my palms is pointing to that and saying if you don’t get this rain sogged jacket off of me…… (I just turn away from the kitchen window…another front is coming in a day or so)
    Seriously, that last verse has a great deal of impact (I’d say it’s heavy, but you’d just think I was joking)
    Nicely done – image and verse….and please keep shaking that snow off…everyone needs a little kind assistance now and then.

    • jannatwrites January 13, 2015 / 8:46 AM

      Your comment about “heavy” made me laugh, Phil! I am shaking it off, sometimes daily. Waiting for sunny skies, but that is not to be just yet.

  7. nrhatch January 12, 2015 / 9:50 AM

    Beautiful poem, Janna.

    The first stanza describes my relationship with a sister-in-law. The illusion of peace stems from me letting her call ALL the shots while I bite my tongue. Even then she’ll find ways to stir up the dust. 😛

    Over time, I’ve gotten better at shrugging off the weight of her disapproval.

    • jannatwrites January 13, 2015 / 8:47 AM

      Thanks, Nancy. Don’t bite your tongue too hard. That can get painful 🙂 It is sometimes hard to deal with people like that, but we just have to weigh out whether the conflict is worth the potential reward… often, it is not.

      • nrhatch January 13, 2015 / 12:19 PM

        I side-step the conflict with her . . . and go have a laugh with BFF as my reward.

        • jannatwrites January 14, 2015 / 9:47 PM

          Sounds like a good plan, Nancy 🙂

  8. Carol Ann Hoel January 12, 2015 / 10:11 AM

    Cool! Trees are resilient. We are, too. It’s been a while since I’ve seen that much snow. I like photos of new-fallen snow. You have added your delightful and inspirational poetry to the beauty of the photo. I enjoyed my visit to your blog today as always. Blessings to you, Janna…

    • jannatwrites January 13, 2015 / 8:49 AM

      I took many photos of our recent snow. It’s the most I’ve seen since we moved north in 2013. It’s finally pretty much melted, except for a patch here and there. Thanks for stopping by, Carol Ann… I’m glad you enjoyed your visit 🙂

  9. Debbie January 12, 2015 / 11:20 AM

    This is lovely, Janna. We all bow down under the weight of problems. Sometimes it helps to have a caring someone to ease the burden, much as you did for this little tree. Still boggles my mind that you got that much snow, though!

    • jannatwrites January 13, 2015 / 8:50 AM

      I know, the snow was so cool. Not bad for Arizona 🙂 We do need someone to dust us off from time to time, Debbie.

  10. Sean January 12, 2015 / 11:53 AM

    This little tree, although small has a desire to survive. Its root system is its support. Sometimes the tree will look as if it gives up but the life in it does not. It will rely on its roots and the strength that they give to overcome the obstacles of nature. It will use this to grow stronger so when the next storm arrives, it will be able to withstand it without bending as much.

    • jannatwrites January 13, 2015 / 8:51 AM

      I guess I could learn something from this little tree, eh? Here’s to not breaking from the strain. Thanks for reading and sharing your encouraging comment, Sean.

  11. mbarkersimpson January 12, 2015 / 12:01 PM

    Such strength in this poem – I love it. Your inspiration speaks of the strength of endurance, and of friendship. I’m certain you’ll bounce back as this tree does, time and time again 🙂

    • jannatwrites January 13, 2015 / 8:52 AM

      Thanks for reading and for your vote of confidence, Mel. Sometimes I’m not sure if I’ll snap back, but at least I haven’t broken 🙂 That’s me looking on the bright side, haha.

      • mbarkersimpson January 13, 2015 / 10:44 AM

        I know that feeling all too well, but I’m too stubborn to be broken! Whilst we’re looking on the bright side we should consider that despite all the heaviness, we somehow manage to shake it off and continue – we’re strong…hear us roar!! 🙂

        • jannatwrites January 14, 2015 / 9:47 PM

          Your comment is encouraging and made me smile, Mel – thanks 🙂

    • jannatwrites January 13, 2015 / 8:52 AM

      Thanks, Susan. I’d like to think so, but sometimes I don’t feel it!

  12. Michael January 12, 2015 / 3:06 PM

    I love this. And the picture of the tree too.

    • jannatwrites January 13, 2015 / 8:54 AM

      Thanks, Michael! I am quite fond of that little tree, though I’m not sure how it will ultimately grow, as there are larger trees nearby.

  13. David Strang January 12, 2015 / 5:50 PM

    completely wonderful, wonderfully complete

    • jannatwrites January 13, 2015 / 8:55 AM

      I appreciate you reading, David. Thanks!

  14. Björn Rudberg (brudberg) January 13, 2015 / 1:31 AM

    Bending but not breaking.. that’s the real strength. The geisha’s were supposed to have the strength of a willow branch..

    • jannatwrites January 13, 2015 / 8:56 AM

      I didn’t know that about geishas, Bjorn. Interesting fact you shared. Thanks!

  15. Tessa January 14, 2015 / 8:55 PM

    Love the poem and the new picture on top is great, a beautiful scene.

    • jannatwrites January 14, 2015 / 9:51 PM

      Thanks, Tessa! It took some getting used to my new theme, but I like the simplicity of it.

  16. Heena Rathore P. January 15, 2015 / 11:41 PM

    This poem has such a wonderful meaning! I can feel the hurt in your words… Lovely poem 🙂

    • jannatwrites January 16, 2015 / 12:11 AM

      I appreciate you reading, Heena! Though it’s sad, I find hope in knowing that no matter what, I won’t break 🙂

  17. habibadanyal January 16, 2015 / 10:11 PM

    Dear Janna, I know that you wont break. I believe when people can write, they can conquer the world.
    Much love,
    Habiba.

    • jannatwrites January 18, 2015 / 10:04 PM

      Thanks for reading, Habibadanyal 🙂

  18. Imelda January 18, 2015 / 7:42 PM

    Janna, you are stronger than you think. 🙂 Gold is tested by fire. I pray you come out radiant after this testing.

    • jannatwrites January 18, 2015 / 10:06 PM

      Thanks for reading and for your nice comment, Imelda!

  19. agjorgenson January 19, 2015 / 7:33 PM

    This lovely poem stands as testimony to your ability to stand tall!

  20. Aquileana February 1, 2015 / 10:29 PM

    Sometimes we only have to hold on to avoid breaking down!~
    This is certainly a beautiful poem, dear Janna!. Thanks for sharing and best wishes to you~ Aquileana~

    • jannatwrites February 5, 2015 / 9:18 PM

      I appreciate you reading my poem, Aquileana! It is good to bend so that we don’t break under pressure.

  21. pattisj February 22, 2015 / 10:20 PM

    It looks like you got a fair dose of the white stuff, too! Keep bouncing back, I’m pulling for you.

    • jannatwrites February 22, 2015 / 10:33 PM

      It was just before the new year and we got nearly 8 inches! Pretty to look at, not fun to shovel 🙂

      • pattisj February 22, 2015 / 10:43 PM

        Ours turned to ice and over-stayed its welcome. It was solid, like a skating rink, I didn’t have to wear boots out to feed birds!

        • jannatwrites February 22, 2015 / 11:08 PM

          oh – ice is scary! (Okay, maybe it’s not the ice that’s scary, but rather the probability of falling that is scary 🙂 )

        • pattisj February 22, 2015 / 11:17 PM

          Yes, the falling is the scary part–and a neighbor sending it to Funniest Home Videos.

Got an opinion? Share it!

