First Snow & The New Year

 01-01 snow on branches

The frigid blanket,

white, blameless, pristine

weighed heavy,

smothering life trapped beneath.

I paused to admire the beauty

transfixed, awestruck, perplexed;

by the paradox before me:

how could such splendor possibly harm?

Too late, I realized my peril-

the prickly numbness

soon turned stone-cold,

my weakness forever preserved.

~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-

Inspiration:  When I wrote this, I wanted the obvious interpretation to be about snow falling.  The photo of the recent first major snowfall in my area might have helped illustrate that conclusion.  The underlying meaning has more to do with emotions.  In the first four lines, I was writing about ambivalence.  The next four lines refer to love, and the final four lines are about the end result when ambivalence and love come together.

I hope everyone had a safe and happy New Year!  Did you do anything fun to celebrate?  Did you make any resolutions? It’s good to be back from my blogging break and I will be catching up on reading over the next week or so 🙂

48 thoughts on “First Snow & The New Year

  1. vishalbheeroo January 1, 2015 / 4:39 AM

    Happy New Year, Jannat. A beautiful poem sparkling love, emotion and magic:)

    • jannatwrites January 2, 2015 / 7:55 PM

      Thanks, Vishal! I hope your new year is off to a happy start 🙂

  2. Equipping The Saints January 1, 2015 / 6:57 AM

    Thank you for the picture of the snow, and for your thoughts. I trust that the new year will bring about even greater times for you to share glimpses of the wonders of God that are before you, and of the the things that He may share with your soul. Many blessings in Jesus.

    • jannatwrites January 2, 2015 / 7:58 PM

      I do hope to recognize the blessings of each day, ETS! Thanks so much for reading.

        • jannatwrites January 14, 2015 / 9:56 PM

          You too! (Sorry for the delayed response… I just found this in my spam folder)

  3. joannesisco January 1, 2015 / 7:11 AM

    What an interesting thought … when love turns into ambivalence … it’s not very warm and fuzzy, is it?

    The new year is now off and running. Let’s hope it’s full of more good than bad 🙂

    • jannatwrites January 2, 2015 / 7:58 PM

      I’m with you on the hope for more good than bad, Joanne! Thanks for stopping by 🙂

  4. nrhatch January 1, 2015 / 8:07 AM

    What a fantastic shot, Janna . . . and I don’t even like snow! 😛

    Hope you had a blast with your friend during her visit. Here’s to a new year filled with magic around every corner.

    • nrhatch January 1, 2015 / 2:38 PM

      And thanks for being one of my top visitors on SLTW ~ for two years running! You rock!

      Here’s to manifesting a year filled with happy, enthusiastic, upbeat, positive thoughts that fill us with joy, vitality, gratitude and peace!

      • jannatwrites January 2, 2015 / 8:05 PM

        Woo-hoo – thanks, Nancy! It’s always a pleasure to read your blog 🙂

    • jannatwrites January 2, 2015 / 7:59 PM

      Haha, glad it won you over then, Nancy 🙂 Being the Arizonan that I am, I got many, many photos of the snow…I’ll probably share some of them here…. sometime.

  5. jacquelinecaseypoetry January 1, 2015 / 8:26 AM

    How can something so beautiful and captivating be so miserably cold? Thank you Janna, for posting to my poetry attempts this past year. Have a wonderful 2015.

    • jannatwrites January 2, 2015 / 8:00 PM

      I enjoyed reading your poetry, Jacqueline! I stopped doing most of the writing challenges, so I kind of lost touch with many writers.

  6. Debbie January 1, 2015 / 8:39 AM

    Glad to see you back here, Janna — I’ve missed you! I’ll bet your boys got a real kick out of this snow. It can be disruptive, but it’s so beautiful at this time of year (we don’t have any yet!!), and it’s especially lovely just after it falls and before the inevitable melting slush! Happy New Year — no formal resolutions here, but lots of hopes and dreams and intentions, ha!

    • jannatwrites January 2, 2015 / 8:04 PM

      Aw, thanks, Debbie! My kids missed the snow- they are in California, but it’s cold enough, there should still be some here when they get back. I loved the snow, but not shoveling my driveway 🙂 Hope you have a great new year… love the hopes, dreams and intentions – great way to put it!

    • jannatwrites January 2, 2015 / 8:04 PM

      Happy new year to you, too, Newwhitebear!

  7. mbarkersimpson January 1, 2015 / 1:53 PM

    What a beautiful poem – full of magic and mystery – with a bite of frost 😉 Happy New Year.

    • jannatwrites January 2, 2015 / 8:04 PM

      Haha, thanks, Mel! Hope you had a great start to the new year 🙂

  8. diannegray January 1, 2015 / 3:06 PM

    Lovely poem, Janna. Enjoy your blogging break (I’m supposed to be on one as well) 😉 Happy New Year! xxxx

    • jannatwrites January 2, 2015 / 8:06 PM

      I took a short break, Dianne. I’m back now, but possibly in a more limited capacity… we’ll see how my brain cooperates (no writing, no posting!) I miss your posts… hope to see you around soon!

  9. Carol Ann Hoel January 1, 2015 / 4:51 PM

    Chilling thoughts and powerful images. New-fallen snow inspires awe as does your poem. We celebrated Christmas and New Year’s Eve with our friends. Blessings to you and a happy new year.

    • jannatwrites January 2, 2015 / 8:07 PM

      Sounds like you had good times, Carol Ann. Thanks for stopping by to read my poem 🙂

  10. pattisj January 1, 2015 / 9:06 PM

    That looks like a lot of snow! We drove through the botanical garden New Year’s Eve, the final night to view the holiday lights. I didn’t make any resolutions, but I moved my writing area to a new space. I think I’m going to like it upstairs–I have a nice big desk, can’t see the dirty dishes…

    • jannatwrites January 2, 2015 / 8:09 PM

      There was quite a bit of snow. I measured a few places and it was between 7 and 9 inches. I got my workout shoveling the driveway 🙂 I hope you do enjoy your new writing space!

      • pattisj January 2, 2015 / 8:55 PM

        If we had that much, we’d be shut down until spring!

        • jannatwrites January 2, 2015 / 8:56 PM

          Haha, too funny! Well, this is Arizona, so the roads are already pretty clear and it’s melting quickly in our yard 🙂

        • pattisj January 4, 2015 / 10:18 AM

          That’s my favorite kind of snow–pretty for a few minutes, then doing its vanishing act.

  11. Imelda January 3, 2015 / 8:39 PM

    Happy new year, Janna! 🙂

    Wow, that’s a rather heavy snow fall.

    Your poem captures the two-faced nature of about everything – fire, snow, material wealth, even love. Unless one is evil in itself, there is always something to like and not like about anything.

    • jannatwrites January 7, 2015 / 12:13 AM

      You’re right – there are two sides to everything, as most things aren’t inherently good or bad. Hope you had a happy new year, Imelda!

  12. Widdershins January 3, 2015 / 9:33 PM

    Still waiting for our first snow of the season … maybe this weekend!

    • jannatwrites January 7, 2015 / 12:13 AM

      Wow, I’m surprised we got snow before you, Widdershins!

    • jannatwrites January 7, 2015 / 12:19 AM

      Luckily our snowfall was pretty mild. Thanks for reading, Bjorn!

  13. GodGirl January 6, 2015 / 4:05 AM

    Ambivalence and love coming together… Beautiful and painful…

  14. jannatwrites January 7, 2015 / 12:19 AM

    Yes, it is, GodGirl. Glad you stopped by!

  15. pattyabr January 11, 2015 / 8:37 PM

    Lovely picture and poem. I’ve been listening to poetry daily on The Writer’s Almanac on Podcasts. I’ve wrote a poem this morning in fact. Its a great way to express creativity out of journaling. Happy New Year to you as well.

    • jannatwrites January 13, 2015 / 8:32 AM

      I think poetry is a great way to express ourselves. I go through spurts on writing poetry. I can’t make it happen – it either does, or it doesn’t 🙂 Thanks for stopping by, Patty!

  16. dilip January 12, 2015 / 9:15 AM

    Just stopped by specially to wish you a a Very Happy New Year, Jannat. May all your wishes come true.

    The picture ‘frigid blanket’ is a spectacular capture. Cheers 🙂

    • jannatwrites January 13, 2015 / 8:33 AM

      Thanks so much for stopping by and reading, Dilip! I hope you are having a happy new year as well 🙂

  17. agjorgenson January 13, 2015 / 7:50 PM

    A lovely photo and still more wondrous words!

  18. Gentle Breeze January 15, 2015 / 1:33 PM

    Hi, I am slowly catching up with you. I have written a post which I am about to publish. I have commended your blog on my post and particularly this post as it links with my theme. I hope that this is Ok.
    Hope your day is going well.
    Best wishes, Julia

    • jannatwrites January 16, 2015 / 12:05 AM

      That’s absolutely okay, Julia – I’ll check your post out this weekend 🙂 Thanks for stopping by to read a bit!

  19. Sarah Ann January 20, 2015 / 1:30 PM

    Beautiful photo. I felt the emotional change through the poem as a descent – I’m not sure that was the effect you were going for, especially after reading your explanation. I feel this piece has more interpretations than the one you were writing about.

    • jannatwrites January 20, 2015 / 9:10 PM

      I think you’re right, Sarah Ann – I think there are several ways it could be interpreted. I like that about poetry- our interpretation is often affected by our own experiences.

Got an opinion? Share it!

