To The Creature In My Attic…

Young pest captured in neighbor's attic
Young pest captured in neighbor’s attic

For months, I’ve

heard your wanderings,

traced your path behind painted walls.

Clawing, scampering, scraping

noises puncture my conscious mind;

you’re stealth when others are near.

Oh, creature in my attic,

I know your game-

your clever maneuvering,

has made me question my sanity.

Stowaway visitor,

my husband discovered

the scattered evidence

of your clandestine presence.

I’m vindicated!

A months-overdue “told you so”

crosses my satisfied lips.

Soon, a baited metal cage

will, with any hope,

further prove my point.

~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-

Inspiration:  This poem is written to whatever has been making itself at home in our attic.  For months, I’ve complained of noises in the walls only to have my husband tell me it was squirrels on the roof. Whenever I called him to hear the clawing sounds for himself, it would stop.  He’d pass me a I-think-you’ve-lost-your-mind look and head back downstairs.  (I don’t know for sure, but writing poetry to attic-dwelling animals could be a solid sign of insanity!)

Well, crazy must be contagious because the kids heard the noises, too.  And the cats began pouncing at walls (chasing noises that up until that point, the crafty creature made me suspect were only in my head.)

Finally, last weekend, my husband heard scratching/scampering and asked me, “Did you hear that?”

A small part of me wanted to say, “no” and play it off like he was nuts.  Instead, I replied, “I told you something is in the attic!”

A good “I told you so” wins every time 🙂

42 thoughts on “To The Creature In My Attic…

  1. Timothy Price November 13, 2014 / 7:16 AM

    Chipmunks! Devoutly pesky little creatures. But they are cute.

    • jannatwrites November 14, 2014 / 10:33 PM

      I find the wild creatures quite adorable and entertaining… when they aren’t in the house!

  2. suzicate November 13, 2014 / 7:44 AM

    Ha, sometimes saying I told you so feels so good…at least, it makes us feel sane!

    • jannatwrites November 14, 2014 / 10:34 PM

      I told you so does feel better than it should, Suzicate!

  3. Carol Ann Hoel November 13, 2014 / 8:03 AM

    Quite a humorous story in a poem, Janna. I’m glad you were able to enjoy the last laugh. Blessings to you…

    • jannatwrites November 14, 2014 / 10:35 PM

      Glad you found the humor in it, Carol Ann! Still need to get the trap set up.. it’s been a busy week.

  4. Debbie November 13, 2014 / 9:11 AM

    Vindication is so sweet, isn’t it, Janna? Glad y’all found the source of the noises — now, let’s hope you can rid your attic of the little critter (cute little thing, when he’s in someone else’s domain, ha!)

    • jannatwrites November 14, 2014 / 10:39 PM

      It was rather satisfying when he finally heard the noises! We do hope to catch the critter and then go for a ride to find it a new home in the forest.

  5. Leigh W. Smith November 13, 2014 / 9:24 AM

    We had a (sadly, deceased) baby, or possibly juvenile, squirrel fall from the tree and onto our front sidewalk about a month ago. Fortunately, I removed him before the kids saw him. He was adorable; I hope you’ll let your chipmunk (?) squirrel go somewhere in a forest or somewhere far from your house! I’m glad you found the source of the sounds, nonetheless. That “I told you so” would feel so good! Have a great week(end), Janna!

    • jannatwrites November 14, 2014 / 10:41 PM

      Ooh, I’m sorry to hear that, Leigh – but it is good the kids didn’t see it. We will definitely catch and release (far away from here!) I hope you have a great weekend, too 🙂

  6. Sean November 13, 2014 / 9:38 AM

    Chipmunks are cute although they can make some noise. Hopefully you will discover what it is soon. At least you know it’s not a javelina. We have mice but that goes with living next to a field. It happens every year. You’ll find out what it is and take it out. I would suggest far away. Hopefully it is not a skunk as that could end up unpleasant. Somehow I could see you playing it off as not hearing anything but it is good to see you picked the safe route. Enjoy your day and try not to work too hard. Take care.

    • jannatwrites November 14, 2014 / 10:51 PM

      Haha, imagining a javelina in the attic made me laugh, Sean! Thanks- I needed that today. I’d rather have a squirrel in the attic than a rat. Rats give me the creeps with their long, hairless tails and all. I hope to find out what it is soon.

  7. nrhatch November 13, 2014 / 11:52 AM

    Writing an “Ode To a Grecian Urn” was nuts too!

    Good luck catching the little critter.

    • jannatwrites November 14, 2014 / 10:52 PM

      Haha, I guess crazy works, Nancy 🙂

  8. newwhitebear November 13, 2014 / 1:31 PM

    This poem is a masterpiece of irony and emotions. The mouse is seen as a pest and he seems lost in the cage.

    • jannatwrites November 14, 2014 / 10:54 PM

      Thanks for reading, Newwhitebear! I do feel bad to see an animal caged. This animal was caught by our neighbor and released miles from the neighborhood.

  9. diannegray November 13, 2014 / 4:03 PM

    LOL! I’m so glad he heard it. It’s always the way. The other night I kept saying to hubby, ‘see that light?’ We were sitting on the veranda and every time he turned to look at the light it would go out. He thought I was seeing things until about an hour later when he finally spotted it. I was vindicated! 😀

    • jannatwrites November 14, 2014 / 10:55 PM

      I’m glad the crazy thing doesn’t just happen around here! I swear I thought I was losing my mind because every single time, it would be silent when he came in the room. Had it not been for the cats leaping at the walls, I probably would’ve lost it 🙂 I’m glad your husband ‘saw the light’ so your sanity is no longer in question, Dianne 🙂

  10. Widdershins November 13, 2014 / 4:49 PM

    ‘I told you so’s’ are sooooo satisfying! 🙂

    • jannatwrites November 14, 2014 / 10:56 PM

      They are satisfying to give… but not so much to receive, Widdershins 😛

  11. joannesisco November 13, 2014 / 6:46 PM

    LOL – I know what you’re talking about!! For me it was foot steps on the roof. It would scare me half to death because it sounded like people on the roof.

    Finally one night I woke up my husband – it sounded like an army up there.
    Turned out to be a very large raccoon trying to break into one of our roof vents. She did $500 damage to the roof … ripping off shingles and bending the vent.

    Yes, vindication is sweet 🙂

    • pattisj November 14, 2014 / 3:24 PM

      Yikes! I’ve never heard of a raccoon on the roof! That’s a lot of damage. The rare ones sighted here are content to clean up under the bird feeders.

      • jannatwrites November 14, 2014 / 11:08 PM

        Your raccoons sound better behaved, Patti!

    • jannatwrites November 14, 2014 / 10:58 PM

      Wow, that was one busy raccoon! I had no idea they climbed on roofs- they can be pretty big, too. I’m glad he finally heard the noise (but wish you didn’t have the damage as proof.)

  12. pattisj November 14, 2014 / 3:26 PM

    I know the sound of which you speak, Janna. My in-laws had flying squirrels that would get into their attic. I heard it many nights.

    • jannatwrites November 14, 2014 / 11:09 PM

      It is such an odd sound, Patti. I remember mice in the walls when I was kid… the clawing would frighten me in the dark!

  13. agjorgenson November 15, 2014 / 9:12 PM

    Writing poetry is never a sign of insanity, aside from the insanity of the world! Glad to hear of your vindication and thanks for sharing something of it in verse.

    • jannatwrites November 16, 2014 / 11:15 PM

      Oh, good! (Though I may exhibit several other signs of insanity 🙂 ) I appreciate you stopping by to read my poem!

  14. totsymae (@totsymae) November 16, 2014 / 12:21 AM

    I had bats about three years ago, I’ll go with squirrels but preferably neither.

    • jannatwrites November 16, 2014 / 11:15 PM

      Oh, you win… bats are definitely worse, Totsymae!

  15. Sarah Ann November 16, 2014 / 1:27 PM

    Is there really such a thing as a good I told you so. Hope the little critter hasn’t done too much damage up there!

    • jannatwrites November 17, 2014 / 12:38 AM

      So far it it just looks like some insulation was messed with. Crossing our fingers that there isn’t anything else.

  16. Emilio Pasquale November 16, 2014 / 4:40 PM

    I know I’m following you. But I never get any notification, either by email or the reader. Anyway, we had noises like that in our house for maybe a year. Then one day I was in the garage when my wife turned on the water and the wall started banging like crazy. We called in a plumber and he fixed the problem. Of course, the noises overhead stopped, too. Seems our pipes were the problem, not pesky squirrels!

    • jannatwrites November 17, 2014 / 12:55 AM

      Weird. I had this happen before and found out that, for some reason, some blogs were marked to never receive notification. Maybe I do ninja posts (so stealth no one sees them coming.)

      I’m glad your issue turned out to be plumbing and not pests in the walls. It’s also good that no damage happened… plumbing problems are the worst!

  17. Kathy Combs (@KathyCombs16) November 17, 2014 / 7:59 AM

    Yeah, that I told you so was well deserved. I hate it when my husband acts like I am nuts or hearing things. I have found that with him on the road it is better most times to let the idiot figure it out on his own. Then I chime in that I already knew. LOL

    • jannatwrites November 17, 2014 / 11:31 PM

      Haha, glad it’s not just me. I swear, I thought it was a conspiracy to make me crazy. Letting him figure it out on his own sounds like it works for you 🙂

  18. frederick anderson November 17, 2014 / 9:33 AM

    Nothing more satisfying! Now the great mystery – I hope its solution does not disappoint! I would settle for nothing less than a pine marten, a weasel or a stoat snarling and snapping at you from that cage. After all that a mere mouse would be a real let-down.

    • jannatwrites November 17, 2014 / 11:34 PM

      Haha, a mouse would be a little disappointing, I guess. But I’d rather find a rat than a skunk! I’d love to know what it is, but I can’t get him to go put the trap in the attic. Perhaps a few more days of hinting will work, Frederick.

Got an opinion? Share it!

