All Ears (And Feet)

I feel your presence.

I notice your ears; then… my-

what big feet you have!

11-3 Baby JackRabbit

~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-

Jack rabbits move faster than I can think. Before it occurs to me to get my camera, they are nothing but a memory! My older son noticed this one outside by our deck several weeks ago and said, “hurry, Mom, take a picture.” Right. The camera!

I took the photo through the closed window because I knew any effort to get closer would result in the rabbit running- er, hopping away. I think we all have a flight instinct. When in physical danger, our body releases hormones that give us a boost of energy- allowing us a chance to survive.

In my last fiction piece, forgetting and remembering were contrasted; both resulting in apathy and fear. Joanne made a comment that said in part, “That is a fear I battle. I am afraid to move forward because I can’t see the next step.” I can relate to this statement so much.

This got me thinking about our evolution and how the “fight-or-flight” response to physical danger (which no doubt involves fear) makes us move, but the result of emotional fear is often to stay put. We get paralyzed with unknown scenarios and the myriad of “what-ifs” that come to mind (and they always seem to be worst-case outcomes!)

Today, my prayer is that we all find the faith to take on a fear. It’s not easy to get past the road blocks constructed in our minds, but acknowledging them is an important step that can lead to action. I have some fears of my own to take on. I think we all have them if we stop to think about it.

Just a few rambling thoughts on a Monday… thanks for bearing with me and reading through them.

Have a beautiful day!

36 thoughts on “All Ears (And Feet)

  1. philosophermouseofthehedge November 3, 2014 / 6:44 AM

    They have the biggest feet…humans unlike rabbits seem to trip over theirs all the time. The bunnies have been out on the trails a lto this past week – Molly is thrilled and can spot them hiding in the brush before us – she’s very kind, but too large to play. Your pix is so much better than my rushed leashed wrapped attempts.
    We try not to frighten them. Vulnerable creatures have to make such serious frightening choices – often with little background information or reconnaissance. Sometimes they must feel the only bad choice is to make no choice. And that seems to be true for so much. The sun and green grass is out there – worth the risk.
    Enjoyed rambling along

    • jannatwrites November 3, 2014 / 10:42 PM

      I’ve never seen a rabbit trip over their feet, so I guess they are more coordinated than us! Rabbits are so hard to photograph. Most of mine are a blur. I’m with you on not wanting to scare them, Phil!

  2. Imelda November 3, 2014 / 7:36 AM

    Have a beautiful Monday, Janna. 🙂

    This is a good photo, Janna. I read from a wildlife photographer that it takes a lot of patience to take pictures of wildlife upclose. One who takes good pictures of squirrels said that he takes weeks to get his excellent photos because he works to make the animals comfortable in his presence first. Maybe, one day, we both will have this luxury – to wait, enjoy the animals, then take that dream shot. 🙂

    • jannatwrites November 3, 2014 / 10:46 PM

      Thanks, Imelda! Squirrels are hard to photograph… they are fast! Having the time to spend on capturing the perfect photo would be a luxury indeed..

  3. Debbie November 3, 2014 / 8:03 AM

    I LOVE bunnies, but the ones we have here don’t look much like your jackrabbits. Their feet are immense! I just know I’d spend most of my time flat-out on the ground if I had feet that much bigger than the rest of me.

    Good luck with your fear-facing. You’re right, that’s something we ALL must contend with at times. I’ve found that making “Pro” and “Con” columns helps me look at the situation objectively; then I sit in quiet contemplation, praying for advice. Sometimes, that still small voice tells my heart what’s the right course of action. Other times, I get nothing so I sit on the fence a bit longer!

    • jannatwrites November 3, 2014 / 10:49 PM

      This one was a baby. I’ve seen full-grown ones a few times, and I swear they are the size of small goats! It’s quite startling when you see that move from the corner of your eye.

      I’m glad you stopped by to enjoy the rabbit, Debbie! Thanks for the suggestion to help with the fear tackling. The fence is not a good place to stay from long periods of time.

  4. nrhatch November 3, 2014 / 8:32 AM

    I love bunny rabbits!!! They always make me smile.

    Fear is often nothing more than False Evidence Appearing Real.

    • jannatwrites November 3, 2014 / 10:50 PM

      I like that acronym, Nancy! Rabbits are fun to watch 🙂

  5. Sean November 3, 2014 / 9:05 AM

    They are extremely quick and agile. It’s pretty neat watching one get chased and the moves that it can make. I agree with you on how fear can take hold of us and keep us from doing what we should be. I was filming a funeral a few weeks ago and the eldest son got up and played the keyboard. He played about 10 minutes solid of some of the most beautiful music I’ve heard in a long time. It had the Narada feel and was very flowing. I’m sure there was fear as he got up there in front of everyone but there was encouragement from all as he got up there to overcome that fear. It’s going to sound weird but that funeral was very uplifting and was more of a celebration of life instead of death.

    Now the fight or flight issue is what we grew up with. It isn’t until our teen years that we start learning how to control that and when things get tough, it comes back to us. Sometimes reasoning needs to wait a little bit until the issue is under control so when the fight or flight instinct comes on, it may be more protection so that reasoning can settle in later. Hopefully that makes some type of sense. Thanks for the picture. Bunnies are always neat to watch.

    • jannatwrites November 3, 2014 / 10:57 PM

      The funeral sounds like a unique experience. I’ve not been to one that I didn’t leave crying. (I don’t go to many of them for that reason.) Good for the son for having the courage to play at the funeral. I think I get what you’re saying about the fight or flight. Reasoning can’t really happen until our FoF response has subsided… the endorphins pretty much overrule that 🙂

  6. momtheobscure November 3, 2014 / 10:02 AM

    Very well said. I was just contemplating on what’s makes me stuck. Not just at this moment in my life, but all the previous moments that have led up to this. I came up empty. I would like to face my fears, but am still working on identifying. Thank you for your faith in us all.

    • jannatwrites November 3, 2014 / 10:59 PM

      It’s so hard to figure out such a complicated thing in ourselves, Momtheobscure. It’s like we’re too close to see the obvious. I hope you are able to find some clarity in further introspection!

  7. suzicate November 3, 2014 / 10:05 AM

    I often find the things I fear most doing are the things I should be doing. Knowing this doesn’t necessarily get me moving in the right direction, but my excuse is my acknowledgment is the first step, ha.

    • jannatwrites November 3, 2014 / 11:02 PM

      Interesting observation, Suzicate. I tend to second-guess everything, which is why I’m unable to come up with insights about myself 🙂

  8. Emilio Pasquale November 3, 2014 / 11:49 AM

    The rabbits around here have forced us to rethink all our outdoor vegetation choices. There are so many varieties of plant they will prune for us, free of charge! All last month we had a relative staying with us who would stay in bed in our guest room for 4 days or so. We wouldn’t see her. Then she’d come out as if nothing was wrong, sit and chat, eat with us, go running, then something would trigger her fear and/or depression and she’d be back in the room for another extended stay. It’s hard to understand a fear so overwhelming which is not physical but mental!

    • jannatwrites November 3, 2014 / 11:29 PM

      The rabbits can be challenging, Emilio. When we lived in Phoenix, the cotton tails nibbled new plants down to stems. We had some luck with ShakeAway – powdered fox urine. They seemed to leave established plants alone. How sad for your loved one to experience such fear. I hope that she is able to recover and find peace.

  9. vishalbheeroo November 3, 2014 / 12:59 PM

    That’s a cute post..loove rabbits as a kid and remember being fascinated by them:)

    • jannatwrites November 3, 2014 / 11:30 PM

      Glad this triggered a memory, Vishal. I still like to watch rabbits, when I can!

  10. mbarkersimpson November 3, 2014 / 3:21 PM

    I hope you have a beautiful Monday too, and Tuesday, Wednesday…okay – so have a fabulous week 🙂 I am guilty of burying my head in the sand and not facing the things I fear. I’m working on it…it’s a process!

    • jannatwrites November 3, 2014 / 11:35 PM

      Aw thanks, Melissa! I know it will be a great week! Taking on fear IS a never-ending process 🙂

  11. joannesisco November 3, 2014 / 5:35 PM

    A bunny is always guaranteed to make me smile 🙂

    It’s interesting that you used the fight-or-flight instinct to describe how we handle fear. It had never occurred to me that emotional fear tends to paralyze us rather than forcing us into some kind of action.

    • jannatwrites November 3, 2014 / 11:39 PM

      Glad it made you smile, Joanne! I didn’t see the contrast between physical and emotional fear until I was pondering how to go about writing this post.

  12. pattisj November 3, 2014 / 10:17 PM

    And what big ears a jack rabbit has! A mustard seed of faith can move a mountain of fear.

    • jannatwrites November 3, 2014 / 11:40 PM

      Mustard seed – great analogy. Faith is powerful, Patti.

  13. Shakti Ghosal November 4, 2014 / 6:48 AM

    Great post!

    ” Flight or fight” response is an evolutionary aspect to allow the species, any species for that matter, to survive so any attempt to change that would not succeed. While our environment has changed to the extent that physical dangers have greatly diminished, they have been more than necessary compensated by emotional attacks and dangers. I suppose we need to build that muscle from our rational thinking brain cortex to control the amygdala hijack as and when it happens, to have the ability to press the PAUSE button.

    Shakti

    • jannatwrites November 4, 2014 / 7:11 PM

      I agree, we do need to evolve in our emotional fight or flight. It would be curious how future generations change in this respect.

  14. diannegray November 4, 2014 / 2:14 PM

    I’ve been trying to photograph the birds after yesterday’s sugar can cut near the house and they just won’t stay still for me, Janna! 😉 lol

    I like Nancy’s response to the word fear “False Evidence Appearing Real” – she’s got some beauties 😀

    • jannatwrites November 4, 2014 / 7:14 PM

      Birds are flighty that way, Dianne. (I bet you’re groaning right now!) I like Nancy’s response, too 🙂 I hope the birds cooperate more next time.

  15. Polysyllabic Profundities November 4, 2014 / 5:52 PM

    Oh Janna….you need to watch this video. This one would be much easier to take pictures of!! 🙂

    • jannatwrites November 4, 2014 / 7:18 PM

      That was adorable! I began to wonder if the rabbit was even alive 🙂

        • jannatwrites November 4, 2014 / 7:25 PM

          I’m a little jealous – every animal I’ve bathed has battled the entire time 🙂

  16. agjorgenson November 5, 2014 / 9:11 PM

    Thanks. And an important part of taking on fear is to normalize it, and recognize that it is a part of the human condition. Sometimes we try to convince ourselves that we ought not to fear. Big mistake….

    • jannatwrites November 6, 2014 / 8:46 AM

      Great point, Allen. Fear doesn’t sweep under the rug very well.

  17. Robin Leigh Morgan November 11, 2014 / 3:49 AM

    I know it’s been a while since I last replied but I’ve been engaged in numerous other endeavors; such as writing my anthology of 100 Micro Fictions which I hope to get released shortly. I’ve just went back to writing my Haiku anthology of 400 items and currently have 64 which I’ve now arranged into categories. So I’ll be perusing your blog for prompts on which to base my new Haikus on.

    I like your twist on the bad wolf from Little Red Riding Hood to describe a rabbit instead. Since you’ve dealt with a body part this week I’ll do the same

    Only One Leg
    I have but one leg.
    But I’ll get to you somehow
    For you’re my true love

    • jannatwrites November 11, 2014 / 7:54 PM

      I’m glad you stopped by, Robin! Your response conjures an intriguing story – especially with the first line.

Got an opinion? Share it!

