Heart Things and October “Warning”

An apology:

Salve for injured emotions.

Repeat as needed.

I took this photo in February and I'm so excited to have a post I think it fits with.  Even the Boy Scouts saw a heart in this stump!
I took this photo in February and I’m so excited to finally have a post I think it fits with. Even the Boy Scouts saw a heart in this stump!

~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-

After several days of not speaking to my husband following his mother’s too-long, drama-inducing visit, he finally asked if I was upset with him.

If?!

It occurs to me that the silent treatment was probably a beautiful gift and he had to take a few days to consider whether he wanted to return it.  I suppose all decisions must be carefully weighed 😛

I find it ironic that the ones we love the most are the ones we hurt the most. These are the people that we can take for granted and not even realize that we’ve hurt them. After thinking about it, I see that when I overstep my bounds with an acquaintance, “I’m sorry,” rolls off the tongue so easily. When I disappoint a loved one, my first inclination is to defend my “rightness.”

As I write this post, I remind myself to treat loved ones like acquaintances. Tomorrow is not a given.

My last partly-fiction story was not the least bit uplifting, but when I’m mad/sad/frustrated, etc., I’m wholly all of those things and it bleeds through into my writing.

Oh!  Speaking of bleeding, do you know what day it is? Hump-day!  Well, that- and October 1st! (I know, that’s a terrible segue, but I’m sticking with it.) I had so much fun writing extra-twisted, super-creepy stories last October that I’m ready to see if I can keep up the scary fiction for another October. I don’t really do blood and gore so much, but hope to bring on the psychological scary. Boo!

If you’re not into creepy, I’ll understand if you make yourself scared, I mean, scarce.  Okay, okay, I’ll stop now.  Have a great Wednesday!

32 thoughts on “Heart Things and October “Warning”

  1. Timothy Price October 1, 2014 / 5:41 AM

    This sounds kind of familiar. Creepy stories? I’m game.

    • jannatwrites October 2, 2014 / 9:19 PM

      Great! Now, I just have to think of what to write….

  2. Leigh W. Smith October 1, 2014 / 6:23 AM

    Psychologically creepy is, many times, better than mere gore (IMHO), so I say bring it on. I’m looking forward to reading it/them (or It and Them, both great horror titles, ha-ha). And hope the drama moves on; I know exactly what you mean about the mea culpas with family. Have a great rest of the week, Janna!

    • jannatwrites October 2, 2014 / 9:22 PM

      I’m glad you like the psychologically creepy. It is effective… I remember there was a movie many years back that my husband wanted to take me to and I refused to go- the lady was alone at home and was getting phone calls from someone who was watching her. No way would I go see something like that (I’m paranoid enough as it is, haha!) Drama has settled down here and I’ve given hubby a few pieces of my mind over the whole mess 🙂 Hope you have a great weekend, Leigh!

  3. nrhatch October 1, 2014 / 6:32 AM

    Hope your begin to rebound from your MIL’s visit, Janna. And that you regain your husband as an ally.

    Scary . . . bring it on!

    • jannatwrites October 2, 2014 / 9:24 PM

      Things are settling down nicely. My husband was going to take the kids to CA (and his mom’s) over fall break in a couple weeks. I already advised him that I will not be going 🙂 I hope to serve up some scary next week, Nancy!

      • nrhatch October 3, 2014 / 5:44 AM

        Good for you. BOUNDARIES! And Distance.

  4. Sean October 1, 2014 / 7:33 AM

    We all have those moments of frustration/sadness when life happens. I think you said at some point that your writing helps you to understand and see what is happening. Although some of those writings will never be shown to others. The last two writings were interesting as you showed more of you personally in them. I know all your writings have a piece of you in them but usually not as much personal stuff. If you ever need to talk, let me know.

    As far as your creepy stories for this month. I could see you writing a lengthy piece that would flow week to week until the final writing with just enough edge to keep people guessing what crazy ending the story will have. Although you say that you don’t write much blood and gore, you usually are very descriptive to have the reader see what is happening. I think the psychological side fits you better, plus it’s easy to write about someone having a 12 inch butcher knife shoved into their throat with blood engulfing the blade as it goes in deeper until the person collapses. Take care and remember that you have the choice of how your day goes.

    • jannatwrites October 2, 2014 / 9:29 PM

      Yeah, the last couple pieces were pretty revealing, huh? 🙂 I almost didn’t post the fiction story because there was too much ‘life’ in it, but finally decided to just let it go. I have no idea at the moment what I will come up with for October. Now that I’ve committed to write creepy, I’ll probably end up with sappy romance stories coming to mind, haha! I just need to sit down and tap into my fears and use that for inspiration. Preferably not late at night when I’m home alone! Thanks for reading and sharing your nice comment, Sean. I hope things are going well for you.

  5. Kir Piccini October 1, 2014 / 9:04 AM

    The haiku was the perfect way to tell your story. Silent treatment is a gift sometimes, a moment to reflect.

    While I haven’t been commenting I have been reading all your pieces and so I promise to read all your October posts, even the ones that scare my pants off. 😉

    Hope you’re having a good week.

    • jannatwrites October 2, 2014 / 9:36 PM

      Thanks for your sweet comment, Kir! Yes silence can be a gift (especially with someone like me involved – if I speak too soon, I say horrible, mean things.) I’m glad you’re still reading when you can. I seem to stay behind on reading, but I’ve been enjoying your angel series… I know I have a few posts in my email from you that I haven’t read… I’ll get there!

  6. Debbie October 1, 2014 / 10:58 AM

    I’ve been on the receiving — and dishing out — end of the silent treatment, Janna. I think it’s so effective because it WORKS, ha! Here’s hoping hubby realizes (soon!) where his priorities lie. Looking back, I guess I was blessed — I got along with my MIL about as well as any of her daughters-in-law!

    Ohh, creepy October. Yep, count me in!

    • jannatwrites October 2, 2014 / 9:39 PM

      My husband did offer an apology, Debbie. His first attempt was lame and I told him so, then he came back and got a little more specific and I prompted him with ‘and’ a few times to get him to specifically tell me all the stupid things he did that he’s sorry for. Now, if I can quit thinking about it all and making myself mad all over again 🙂

      I sure hope I can come up with something creepy for next week (especially now that I’ve committed to writing that way for October!)

  7. philosophermouseofthehedge October 1, 2014 / 11:41 AM

    Cool the way the tree wrapped and curve into itself – holding and molding the heart.
    What’s fall without creepy? Wind, crunching leaves, bare branches…all set for you.

    • jannatwrites October 2, 2014 / 9:45 PM

      Very true, Phil – there is a lot of inspiration if I stop long enough to take it all in. Hope I’ll ‘see’ you around in October!

    • jannatwrites October 2, 2014 / 9:45 PM

      I still like that heart stump 🙂 Thanks for stopping by, Newwhitebear!

  8. Sarah Ann October 1, 2014 / 12:28 PM

    Looking forward to some creepy stories this month.
    It is too easy to hurt those close to us, and be hurt by them, without intent. Hope both your hearts ease soon.

    • jannatwrites October 2, 2014 / 10:27 PM

      Thanks, Sarah Ann! I do hope I can come up with something scary over the weekend 🙂

  9. Emilio Pasquale October 2, 2014 / 7:07 AM

    The silent treatment is the WORST thing for both of you! Take it from one who has ruined too many past relationships. Better to let the other person know what’s on your mind. And don’t get me started on my family. So much toxic waste camouflaged in humor. I’m looking forward to scary October. Just remember the scare is in the anticipation, not the actual event. There I go again. I give you full permission to tell me what to photograph or how to process when ever I tell you how or what to write.

    • jannatwrites October 2, 2014 / 11:13 PM

      Well, in my case the silent treatment serves a purpose… if I speak to soon, I don’t sugar-coat and I say mean, awful things. Early in our marriage, I did this and made my husband cry…said I wouldn’t do that again, but when I’m really angry, those things are the ones that come to my mind first. It’s not funny, really, but I had to chuckle at “toxic waste camouflaged in humor.” At least you recognize it.

      I’ve got no comment on your photo processing, but I’d have to agree that the anticipation is what yields the nail biting. I’ll do my best. So far, I have nothing 🙂

  10. clarbojahn October 2, 2014 / 9:31 AM

    I dont do silent treatments well. They hurt too much!

    I’m like Nancy above and hope you regain your husband as an ally.

    Thanks for sharing such an honest post.

    I always love reading your stories and scary ones sound great as well. I don’t think you can go wrong. 🙂

    • jannatwrites October 2, 2014 / 11:15 PM

      Thanks, Clar! I appreciate you stopping by to read this (and the encouragement to write scary stories!) Whether I’m up to the challenge remains to be seen 🙂

  11. pattisj October 5, 2014 / 10:16 PM

    Sometimes it helps to remember which of the two we married–for better or worse. I’ll look forward to your stories, but I promised no blogging on this vacation, so I may be a little behind.

    • jannatwrites October 7, 2014 / 12:35 AM

      I hope you enjoy your vacation… sometimes catching up feels impossible after we return from a break 🙂

  12. agjorgenson October 6, 2014 / 8:03 PM

    What a lovely photo, and such very true words. Those closest to us are so easily taken for granted. Thanks for the reminder.

    • jannatwrites October 7, 2014 / 12:40 AM

      Thanks for reading, Allen. It’s so easy to do because we always think they’ll be here.

  13. Imelda October 8, 2014 / 12:50 PM

    You know, you’re observation is so spot on. I have to force myself to say ‘sorry’ to my husband sometimes just so that we would not sleep for the night in sad terms. It is so easy to be stubborn and hold on to my rightness.

    • jannatwrites October 9, 2014 / 12:37 AM

      It’s comforting that I’m not the only stubborn one around that has to make an effort to make nice! Thanks for stopping by, Imelda 🙂

Got an opinion? Share it!

