Being The Kite

Wispy days

changing shapes, shifting

directions- I navigate with shaky balance. I do

my best to anticipate, yet fall short; vulnerable to the destructive

undertow of frustration. I close my eyes and think…. imagine.

In my mind, things happen so differently… peacefully,

I would like to float… gracefully, like a kite

riding the breeze. Although,

I know,

in reality,

I don’t

bend

with

ease.

Yes, I'm indulging my obsession with clouds!
Yes, I’m indulging my obsession with clouds!

The poem above is supposed to be in the shape of a kite.  It looks kind of like a sting ray, though…

I’m still struggling with wanting to do more than I physically have time for.  Twice this week I fell asleep at my computer, which frustrates me because my sleep-typing is horrible.  Not a single legible sentence that I can use!  As I approach the weekend, I’m working to accept that my email “In” box is going to be overrun and I’m going to be temporarily behind on blog reading for the next few weeks.  I don’t like it, but that’s life.

I’m  going to visit my parents this weekend, so I won’t have computer access.  If I get ambitious I might try to do some reading on my phone, but I dislike leaving comments that way.  See, I have enough typos using a keyboard… the auto-correct on my phone makes me look like a blithering idiot who cannot compose a coherent thought.  Sometimes I think the programmers who set up auto-correct did so with a sense of humor.  (Seriously, I mistype “imagine” and one of the suggested words is “ikmaoq”.  How often is it used in English conversation?!)

I won’t bore you with the “things” going on right now… everyone is busy.  May we all find moments to step away (either physically or mentally) and feel those peaceful moments of acceptance.

Have a beautiful weekend!

39 thoughts on “Being The Kite

  1. suzicate September 19, 2014 / 9:55 AM

    Kite/sting ray, could be either ha! A cloud obsession is a great thing. After all it is the clouds that keep the sky interesting. Have a great visit.

    • jannatwrites September 24, 2014 / 9:55 PM

      Or even better, a flying sting ray… okay, maybe not! Clouds never fail to get my attention (and I’m glad I’m not alone in this, Suzicate!)

  2. nrhatch September 19, 2014 / 10:20 AM

    Hope you find your “flow” this weekend, Janna. Enjoy your visit with the folks.

    • jannatwrites September 24, 2014 / 9:56 PM

      Thanks, Nancy! It was a great weekend, but I’m still trying to catch up 🙂

  3. Leigh W. Smith September 19, 2014 / 12:02 PM

    I hope you find some time for skywatching this weekend, Janna. Love the eye poem! Peace be with you . . .

    • jannatwrites September 24, 2014 / 9:57 PM

      Thanks, Leigh! There wasn’t much skywatching, but I did watch a few movies with my parents, one of which was definitely not kid-friendly.

    • jannatwrites September 24, 2014 / 9:58 PM

      Thanks, Joanne! (This can’t be a good sign – it’s Wednesday night and I’m just now responding to last Friday’s comments :razz:)

  4. pattisj September 19, 2014 / 7:46 PM

    Enjoy your trip and visit–and lack of technology. Don’t worry it’ll all be there when you get back! 😉 I thought your kite turned out very well.

    • jannatwrites September 24, 2014 / 9:59 PM

      It was a nice visit, Patti! I did a little blog reading on my phone, but I couldn’t handle much of it. I’m glad you liked the kite poem 🙂

  5. vishalbheeroo September 19, 2014 / 9:47 PM

    This is absolutely beautiful and makes me dream:)

    • jannatwrites September 24, 2014 / 9:59 PM

      Aw, thanks, Vishal! I appreciate you taking time to read it and share your comment 🙂

  6. Emilio Pasquale September 19, 2014 / 10:02 PM

    Did anyone comment on the poem itself? I thought it was great. And I hate poetry. None of us bend with ease the older we get. Enjoy the family. Refresh yourself! Forget the world online and breathe. Look at clouds!

    • jannatwrites September 24, 2014 / 10:02 PM

      Thanks, Emilio! Your comment made me smile – glad you didn’t hate it even though it’s poetry 🙂 It was a great weekend away from technology (and kids).

  7. Debbie September 20, 2014 / 11:48 AM

    I knew right off that your poem was kite-shaped, Janna — well done! I got furious with auto-correct on my phone and turned the doggone thing off. Domer swears it works — after it learns the words you’re fond of using — but I don’t have time for that, And I type faster and more correctly the first time, without having to go back and correct the phone’s errors.

    Have a wonderful visit. Don’t worry about things here. As you said, we’re ALL busy, and we all need a break now and then!

    • jannatwrites September 24, 2014 / 10:03 PM

      I’m glad you recognized the kite, Debbie! Sometimes auto-correct works well, but other times I can’t figure it out. The break was nice, but I’m trying not to let my email “in” box discourage me!

  8. Lala Rukh September 21, 2014 / 10:04 AM

    Your kite-shaped poem is brilliant Janna ! Loved the thought of getting away from the frustration and flying high in the sky like a kite. I hope you have a good time there. Much Love ❤

    • jannatwrites September 24, 2014 / 10:04 PM

      Thanks for reading and for sharing your kind comment, Lala! It was a great visit, but am still catching up. I’ll drop by to see what you’ve been up to by the weekend 🙂

  9. pattyabr September 21, 2014 / 12:24 PM

    Love it. So creative!

    • pattyabr September 21, 2014 / 12:25 PM

      Take care Janna. I’ll be thinking of you.

      • jannatwrites September 24, 2014 / 10:05 PM

        Thanks, Patty! I’m glad you enjoyed the poem (I enjoyed my weekend away 🙂 )

    • jannatwrites September 24, 2014 / 10:06 PM

      Thank you for the kind comment, and the award nomination, Gentle Breeze! I appreciate you taking time to read my post… I’ll definitely be by soon to check out your clouds (I’m a bit behind this week 🙂 )

  10. Björn Rudberg (brudberg) September 23, 2014 / 10:59 AM

    What a great shape poetry.. .. a sting-ray is cool too, but I thought it looked like a kite when I read your poem.. I can so recognize being behind… 🙂

    • jannatwrites September 24, 2014 / 10:07 PM

      Great – I’m glad you saw the kite, too! Perhaps my critical eye is a bit too critical when it comes to my own work, haha!

    • jannatwrites September 24, 2014 / 10:08 PM

      Thanks, Susan! I’m glad you liked the kite 🙂

  11. agjorgenson September 23, 2014 / 7:53 PM

    Love the poem and the reflection. Let me just say that my phone has the exclamation and question mark beside each other, which is a very dangerous thing indeed!

    • jannatwrites September 24, 2014 / 10:09 PM

      My phone has the punctuation together as well. I need slimmer fingers, I think 🙂 Thanks for taking time to read and share your thoughts- from your last post, I know you’ve been busy, too!

  12. GodGirl September 23, 2014 / 10:41 PM

    I love your shaped poem. I relate to this idea of reality being so different to how we imagine. Our intention is to float, carefree and peaceful… but frustration creeps in so easily.
    Have a great ‘technology break’ at your parents’.

    • jannatwrites September 24, 2014 / 10:10 PM

      Thanks for reading, GodGirl! I tend to become frustrated and impatient fairly easily. It was a great weekend. It resulted in me being very behind on reading and writing this week, but it was worth it!

  13. M_Elizabeth September 27, 2014 / 5:41 PM

    LOVE the poem. LOVE it.

    • jannatwrites September 30, 2014 / 10:02 PM

      Thanks so much for reading, M 🙂

  14. Psi.mind.140 September 30, 2014 / 2:53 PM

    Love the kite shape of the poem, very creative!

    • jannatwrites September 30, 2014 / 10:24 PM

      Thanks, PSi.mind.140 – I’m glad you liked the poem!

  15. Sarah Ann October 1, 2014 / 12:32 PM

    It does look like a kite. 🙂 I would love to float gracefully too, but I’m too clumsy – I bend easily enough, but normally into things. Bit late to say I can relate to the inbox issue – I have been hitting the delete key rather a lot lately – can’t seem to settle into a routine of reading and writing. Oh, and where does one use ikmaoq?

    • jannatwrites October 2, 2014 / 10:45 PM

      Haha, I think many of us our losing to our In boxes, Sarah Ann! I’ve had to delete some unread ones as well, but I just remind myself that I’m doing the best I can. Hope you are able to find your reading/writing routine soon 🙂

Got an opinion? Share it!

