The Flow

Ripples in circles,

actions, reactions surround.

Who creates the flow?

09-15 Ducks

When I spotted these ducks in the lake on Saturday, two cliched sayings rolled through my mind.

“Like water off a duck’s back.

“Go with the flow.”

To me, both phrases appear on the surface to encourage peace.  I can’t argue that it is good practice to let things go and not hold a grudge.  Those grievances can become heavy.

At first thought, going with the flow seems to promote adjusting to what life serves up with the goal of navigating gracefully through the unexpected.  As I watched the ducks swim, I noticed they would change course- one moment swimming toward each other, then drifting away again.  It occurred to me that, like the ducks, we can create our own flow.

We’re not bound to the ripples others create.

24 thoughts on “The Flow

  1. philosophermouseofthehedge September 15, 2014 / 6:04 AM

    And when in doubt, keep paddling. Waters will still eventually.
    Who couldn’t enjoy watching ducks? (The out of towner ducks are beginning to arrive here. Always a lot of quacking then – which Molly loves.)

    • jannatwrites September 15, 2014 / 10:44 PM

      You’re so right, Phil. I could’ve watched the ducks a bit longer had it not been for the overheard conversation between my sons about who could ride their bike farthest down the dock without sliding into the lake. Boys 🙂

  2. nrhatch September 15, 2014 / 6:47 AM

    “As I watched the ducks swim, I noticed they would change course- one moment swimming toward each other, then drifting away again.”

    Maybe they’re practicing the art of detachment?

    • jannatwrites September 15, 2014 / 10:44 PM

      Or maybe they were confused 🙂 Practicing the art of detachment sounds much more enlightened, Nancy!

  3. Debbie September 15, 2014 / 6:57 AM

    What a peaceful shot, Janna. My first thought in seeing it is from the ‘Finding Nemo’ movie: Just keep swimming, Just keep swimming!

    Sometimes ‘keeping on’ is all we can do when things get too much for us. Like those ducks, we need to accept that some things are beyond our control.

    • jannatwrites September 15, 2014 / 10:47 PM

      Debbie, I liked Nemo 🙂 True, there are things beyond our control, but we shouldn’t resort to acceptance too soon.

  4. Sean September 15, 2014 / 8:10 AM

    This was interesting as it got me thinking. I know, that’s scary, anyways, I agree that we have the ability to create our own flow. The part that I find interesting is when someone else sees the flow that is being taken. Sometimes there are obstacles that can’t be seen by others but can’t be avoided by the person flowing. I think that these obstacles are what makes us who we are and how we handle each one of them.

    Also brings to mind a riptide where nothing can be done while in the current but by knowing how to handle that situation and the course needed to take, you’ll survive. Thanks for provoking my mind into thinking. I needed this today.

    • jannatwrites September 15, 2014 / 10:55 PM

      I didn’t see smoke, so I guess the thought wasn’t a bad thing, Sean 🙂 Unforeseen obstacles can throw us sometimes, but the thing is, we manage to learn (sometimes it takes longer than expected) and we eventually right ourselves. I hope you have a peaceful week.

  5. suzicate September 15, 2014 / 9:02 AM

    Always peaceful watching ducks, and I guess if we watch closely enough some wisdom will be shared.

    • jannatwrites September 15, 2014 / 10:56 PM

      I enjoyed their company, Suzicate. I was happy I had my cell phone so I could at least capture a quick photo or two.

  6. joannesisco September 15, 2014 / 11:38 AM

    Going with the flow always reminds me of learning water safety as a kid. Always swim with the current on an angle to shore. Trying to fight the current only wears you out and drowning is a real risk. Sounds like a metaphor for life, doesn’t it?

    I really like the end – we are not bound to the ripples others create. Nice.

    • jannatwrites September 15, 2014 / 10:59 PM

      Ha, it is a metaphor for life, Joanne! I’m glad you liked the final thought. Our choices determine more about our destiny than the things that we can’t change.

    • jannatwrites September 15, 2014 / 11:00 PM

      Thanks, Vishal. I’m glad you stopped by!

  7. Imelda September 15, 2014 / 4:53 PM

    Your picture is gorgeous. And I like your thought – “we are not bound to the ripples others create”. 🙂

    • jannatwrites September 15, 2014 / 11:05 PM

      Thanks, Imelda! It’s not as good as your photos, but I liked the ducks and the reflections in the ripples.

  8. diannegray September 16, 2014 / 9:47 AM

    These words are absolutely beautiful, Janna 🙂

    • jannatwrites September 19, 2014 / 8:49 AM

      Thanks, Dianne – I’m glad you enjoyed them!

    • jannatwrites September 19, 2014 / 8:49 AM

      Thanks, Kathy! It’s good to know others can relate to this. I hope you have a good weekend 🙂

  9. pattyabr September 21, 2014 / 12:42 PM

    what great words of wisdom reflected in you post especially the last line we are not bound to the ripples others create.

    • jannatwrites September 24, 2014 / 9:54 PM

      Thanks for stopping by, Patty! The last line was key for me because sometimes I get into a frame of mind where it feels like others determine my path- I need to remember that’s not necessarily the case 🙂

Got an opinion? Share it!

