The Peace In Passing Time

Something about clouds

Building on the horizon,

Captures my attention,

Stirs anticipation.

Something about rain

Granting a reprieve from sunshine,

Eases my restless mind,

Slows passing time.

09-08 Clouds2

When things get to be too much, I look up and watch the clouds.  I looked up often last week!

I had Saturday night to myself and had intended to spend the time writing.  I did write some, but spent the bulk of my alone time clearing “stuff”.  I removed stacks of clutter from table tops, shredded a pile of papers that had stacked up beside the shredder, pulled some clothes from the closet to donate, and read a few magazines that had been taunting me for months.  I feel better (freer) when I’m not surrounded by clutter.

This is how watching clouds affects my mind.  I tend to worry (read:  obsess over details, no matter how minute.)  Sometimes everything builds up to the point I can’t even make a simple decision.  (I’ve skipped lunch more than once simply because I couldn’t decide what to eat.)  I know, that’s pathetic!  Watching clouds distracts me from the constant noise in my mind… the swirl of  things I need to accomplish or remember, the over-analyzing of things I wish I’d done better, and the odd thoughts and ideas that could be story ideas.

Monday is here whether I’m ready or not (and I don’t think I’m ready.)  Rain is in the forecast, and I’m happy that  clouds will help me transition into the work week.

I hope your Monday is peaceful!

41 thoughts on “The Peace In Passing Time

  1. joannesisco September 8, 2014 / 5:50 AM

    How did you manage to get into my head and uncover this?
    Great piece – expresses how I feel very well 🙂

    • jannatwrites September 9, 2014 / 8:16 PM

      I like it when others can relate to something I’ve written. Thanks for reading and sharing that comment, Joanne!

  2. suzicate September 8, 2014 / 6:54 AM

    Monday arrived before I was ready,, but I entered in a state of peace! (now, let’s hope I can maintain the feeling, lol)

    • jannatwrites September 9, 2014 / 8:17 PM

      I hope you did maintain a peaceful Monday, Suzicate!

  3. philosophermouseofthehedge September 8, 2014 / 8:09 AM

    Clouds always work for me, too. (And Molly doesn’t mind a bit…although she prefers ducks and birds)

    • jannatwrites September 9, 2014 / 8:19 PM

      Haha, ducks and birds… that’s so dog 🙂 Glad you can appreciate the clouds too, Phil!

  4. Sean September 8, 2014 / 8:17 AM

    I do agree that clouds tend to take minds off of many items that we are coupled with throughout the day. Now myself, I’m fascinated by weather as it is so unpredictable. I know here, weather can have substantial impact on everything. There was a cool looking shelf cloud that I took a pic of on my way home from work one day.

    Speaking of rain, what feelings do you get when you smell the first start of rain hitting the dirt. To me, it’s a surreal type of smell. Maybe it brings to mind an anticipation of what is coming and the cleansing of the area. Maybe it is due to the temp falling into something cooler and dissipating the humidity of the day.

    Plus when the clouds form, there is always a chance that different objects will be seen in them causing a relaxation of just enjoying that time with nature. Thanks for writing. It’s always a pleasure to see what you come up with.

    • jannatwrites September 9, 2014 / 8:25 PM

      I think weather is fascinating, too. As long as I don’t see a tornado up close, I’m good.

      I like the smell of rain, too. It is such a fresh scent (and when it drops temperatures, that’s an added bonus.)

      I appreciate you taking time to read it and share the thoughts that came to mind from this post, Sean. I hope you are doing well!

  5. nrhatch September 8, 2014 / 10:37 AM

    Great idea for a Diet Book ~> “Lose Weight Through Indecision!” 😎

    Your Saturday night sounds like you were “in the flow” . . . sometimes a little nip and tuck here and there makes us feel better about the space we’re in.

    And I’m with you. Cloud watching and Sky gazing are relaxing to the max!

    • jannatwrites September 9, 2014 / 8:26 PM

      Maybe I need to market that, Nancy 😛 I’m not surprised you find relaxation in the sky – you are quite in tune to your environment!

      • nrhatch September 10, 2014 / 8:45 AM

        I still get “lost in thought” from time to time . . . stepping outside and really SEEING what’s there (whether it’s fluffy clouds or stormy skies) helps to settle down my internal landscape.

        • jannatwrites September 12, 2014 / 5:08 PM

          Sometimes it’s nice to be lost in thought… it’s like a nap without sleeping 🙂

        • nrhatch September 12, 2014 / 5:23 PM

          Especially if we lost in “happy” daydreams. Hope you have time to get “lost in thought” this weekend. Cheers!

        • jannatwrites September 14, 2014 / 1:34 PM

          I finally sat down and watched three movies on Amazon Prime. Only one of them was truly awful 🙂 Hope you’ve had a good weekend too, Nancy!

  6. Debbie September 8, 2014 / 10:43 AM

    I can so appreciate that feeling, Janna. Indecision has a way of paralyzing us if we don’t get a handle on it. Sometimes, even a “wrong” decision is better than sitting on that fence!

    Glad you tackled the clutter. Chinese Feng Shui is big on eliminating clutter, and I know I, too, feel better when my surroundings aren’t as FULL as my brain, Ha!

    • jannatwrites September 9, 2014 / 8:28 PM

      The fence is frustrating, Debbie. I’m not done with the clutter yet – I’m motivated to keep going. But not Friday – I’m taking that day off from work for writing and relaxation 🙂

  7. Emilio Pasquale September 8, 2014 / 11:07 AM

    OK, this is sick. I admit it. I came on this morning to check comments on a post of mine and saw you had also posted. So what did I do? I read your post first! Feel honored? Or stalked? You’re the only one I think I’ve ever ignored my own comments for! And the cloud thing? My wife is the same. She drags me out of my favorite chair every time we have clouds. This weekend was no exception. A 30% chance of rain gave us some great clouds. And today it’s 80%. What am I doing in my office?

    • jannatwrites September 9, 2014 / 8:34 PM

      Haha, you crack me up, Emilio! I don’t feel stalked at all. Now, if you were reading that post on your phone while peeking into my windows… yeah, that would be creepy 🙂

      I like the clouds more than my husband does… he never sees the shapes in them. The kids play along, though!

  8. Michael September 8, 2014 / 12:33 PM

    I like watching clouds as well, though I admit I like stars more. 🙂

    • jannatwrites September 9, 2014 / 8:37 PM

      I think I might be more into watching stars had it not been for twenty-five years living in Phoenix – you don’t see stars there (too many city lights.) Now that we’re more rural, I have noticed the stars more. I can’t see a constellation to save my life, but that’s beside the point. Thanks for stopping by, Michael!

  9. Gentle Breeze September 8, 2014 / 12:37 PM

    You must know I like clouds from my Gravator. I’ve recently been thinking up new ways to describe them in a poem called Solitude. It’s hard not to come up with cliches.Living in the North West of England we can get more than our fair share of clouds. Luckily we have had sky and clouds recently-the best combination. Hope you are feeling better after your clutter clearance.
    Julia

    • jannatwrites September 9, 2014 / 8:39 PM

      I like your gravatar photo, GB! I’ve heard it rains a lot in England (I’m a little envious) so I’m glad you have plenty of opportunity to take in the beauty of clouds. I enjoyed my moment of declutter, but the kids have messed it up again, haha!

  10. vishalbheeroo September 8, 2014 / 12:50 PM

    Beautiful words. Monday been smooth and wish u an awesome week ahead:)

    • jannatwrites September 9, 2014 / 8:40 PM

      Thanks, Vishal. Hope your week is going well 🙂

  11. thepaperbutterfly September 8, 2014 / 3:22 PM

    This was a lovely poem! I just recently got into reading poetry. I can’t write it personally because it is too constricting, but I enjoy reading it 🙂 Decluttering makes me feel so accomplished 😀 I’ve been doing a lot of that recently.

    • jannatwrites September 9, 2014 / 8:41 PM

      I mostly write free-form that doesn’t follow any sort of rules, TPB… mostly because I’m too lazy to follow format, haha. Decluttering usually ends up with my husband and I not agreeing to what to get rid of so we end up keeping it all 🙂

    • jannatwrites September 9, 2014 / 8:42 PM

      I think we all need something that allows us to reset ourselves (for me, obviously, it’s clouds 🙂 ) Enjoy your peaceful moments, Lena!

  12. Imelda September 8, 2014 / 9:04 PM

    I like the dream quality of your poem.

    There is something almost magical about decluttering a personal space. At the least, it brings a sense of accomplishment, then calm.

    I hope you have a happy week, too, Janna. 🙂

    • jannatwrites September 9, 2014 / 8:43 PM

      Thanks for your nice comment, Imelda. I’m sure you’ve experienced this, but decluttering with kids around is a very temporary thing 🙂

  13. diannegray September 9, 2014 / 3:30 PM

    Clouds are my friends, Janna! I’m often found just sitting and staring into the sky – it’s very therapeutic 😀

  14. Lala Rukh September 10, 2014 / 11:44 AM

    Nature, specially the blue clouds always have a soothing magical effect on me too. Love your poetry Janna, as always you did wonder with your words.

    • jannatwrites September 12, 2014 / 5:09 PM

      Thank you so much for stopping by, Lala… I’m glad you enjoyed the poem 🙂

  15. GodGirl September 12, 2014 / 3:27 AM

    The creative mind never rests hey. So glad we have nature to help calm and quiet us. My husband has a fish tank, and it has the effect of helping me “zone out” in a similar way.

  16. pattisj September 28, 2014 / 11:46 PM

    I think it’s good practice to have one’s head in the clouds every so often.

    • jannatwrites September 30, 2014 / 10:04 PM

      That’s all the affirmation I need, Patti. Done! 🙂

  17. Sarah Ann October 1, 2014 / 12:24 PM

    I love watching clouds too, looking at the shapes they morph into and letting my imagination play. I also clean to get ready to write (avoid writing?) I can’t settle if I know there are other jobs to be done, but then some jobs take so long….

    • jannatwrites October 2, 2014 / 9:50 PM

      Shoot, I wish I’d clean to clear my head/procrastinate, Sarah Ann. I find myself playing games on my cell phone, instead 🙂

Got an opinion? Share it!

