Irony of Serendipity – Haiku

Wild vines trailing long-

Thriving unfenced, untended.

Animals don’t feast?

08-24 Watermelons

Several weeks ago, during a walk around our neighborhood, we spotted a cluster of strange vines growing on an empty lot.  Upon closer inspection, we identified it as watermelon.

Of course, I had to take pictures because our watermelons never made it this far.  We had two garden areas last  year, both fenced in.  One garden was ravaged early on by rabbits, who squeezed under the fencing.  They were greedy – they ate the plant sprouts before fruit could begin to develop.

Our second garden survived most of the summer.  While neighbors lamented the destruction of their plants by various wildlife, I declared that our garden thrived.  Neighbors commented on our beautiful zucchini and tomato plants.

And then the elk came.  They ransacked the garden and what was left died within a couple weeks.

This is why the wild watermelons are so perplexing.  It made me wonder if the animals around here prefer a challenge.  You know, bragging rights amongst their kin when they outsmarted the ridiculous attempts to deter them.  Or, perhaps they have become so accustomed to the good stuff being locked up (like expensive wine) that they don’t bother to look outside the fencing.

"Hidden" in plain sight?
“Hidden” in plain sight?

Then another thought occurred to me:  I might be over-thinking it.  Maybe the wild watermelon is just one of those unexpected things in life to make us take a pause.  Perhaps it’s not meant to be understood- just simply enjoyed.

After watching the news this weekend, I’m all for simple enjoyment.  I’m trying to shake a hopeless feeling… the restlessness I feel whenever I’m saddled with the weight of current events.  Watermelons flourishing when all logic says they shouldn’t distracts me from the beheadings, bombings, civil unrest and earthquakes.

To me, these watermelons are more than just plants.  They are hope.

And I hope your Monday brings you joy!

P.S. If you came here looking for fiction, I hope you’ll check back later this week – I’ll be posting a story for another of Emilio Pasquale’s photos.  This is the third in an unofficial monthly challenge 🙂

36 thoughts on “Irony of Serendipity – Haiku

  1. suzicate August 25, 2014 / 5:08 AM

    Maybe the wildlife are waiting for the melons to get bigger and then they can have a yummy feast!

  2. joannesisco August 25, 2014 / 6:04 AM

    A great find! … and a reminder that nature is very tenacious. Life wants to survive … regardless of its form 🙂

    • jannatwrites August 27, 2014 / 6:05 PM

      I’ll have to wander over there and check to see if the vines are still surviving.

        • jannatwrites August 27, 2014 / 6:19 PM

          I think the kids would like the sounds of “for” rather than “with” dinner 🙂

  3. nrhatch August 25, 2014 / 9:22 AM

    Keep your eye on the melons . . . we need Hope when faced with all the nasty bits in the news.

    • nrhatch August 25, 2014 / 9:23 AM

      Hey! Maybe the birds/animals that ate your watermelon last summer “planted” those seeds.

      • jannatwrites August 27, 2014 / 6:10 PM

        That’s a cool thought. This was several streets away, but stranger things have happened, Nancy!

    • jannatwrites August 27, 2014 / 6:09 PM

      I haven’t watched the news since last weekend 🙂 Yes, ignorance IS bliss!

  4. vishalbheeroo August 25, 2014 / 10:21 AM

    Beautiful water melons. I love the Haiku. It’s fab:)

    • jannatwrites August 27, 2014 / 6:10 PM

      Thanks, Vishal! I’m glad you stopped by to read it.

  5. Widdershins August 25, 2014 / 10:43 AM

    Seeing wild things is good for restoring perspective. 🙂

    • jannatwrites August 27, 2014 / 6:12 PM

      Sure is! We saw more javelina today. It was all good until one started to chase me! (I scrapped the photo idea and went inside.)

  6. Debbie August 25, 2014 / 11:10 AM

    I didn’t know there was such a thing as wild watermelon. Birds must have dropped seeds there (unless you have a Johnny Watermelon-seed, ha!)

    It’s been a rough weekend, event-wise. Sometimes it seems overwhelming, and I have to walk away from the TV set, just to bury my head back in the sand.

    Interesting how those melons are growing just fine, when the ones carefully tended in your garden produced nothing!

    • jannatwrites August 27, 2014 / 6:13 PM

      I haven’t watched news since last weekend and my frame of mind is better now, Debbie. I can’t say how the watermelons got there but I do enjoy them. Haven’t checked on them for a couple weeks so I’ll have to wander over there!

  7. pattisj August 25, 2014 / 11:16 AM

    What cute tiny melons! I like that you found hope in this simple, unusual vine. It made me smile, too.

    • jannatwrites August 27, 2014 / 6:14 PM

      I’m glad you liked the vines, Patti. My kids wanted to pick some SO badly…we left them to grow 🙂

  8. Emilio Pasquale August 25, 2014 / 4:21 PM

    I did not come looking for fiction. I came for a nice story beautifully told. Fact or fiction, you yet to disappoint me. And what’s best? My name was even mentioned! How great is that?

    • jannatwrites August 27, 2014 / 6:15 PM

      Your comment made me smile, Emilio. It must be your week because your name will be mentioned (and linked) tomorrow 🙂 Thanks for reading my posts!

  9. GodGirl August 26, 2014 / 3:52 AM

    I know what you mean about pursuing simple enjoyment when everything feels overwhelming. Taking a moment just to appreciate nature/God/beauty helps take the edge off for sure.
    I love the imagery of the watermelons flourishing and giving hope…

    • jannatwrites August 27, 2014 / 6:17 PM

      I don’t think nature is an accident – I think God designed our world to give us opportunities to escape from the ‘bad’ stuff. I’m glad you stopped by, GodGirl!

  10. diannegray August 26, 2014 / 11:30 AM

    What lovely melons! They really do look like a sign of hope in these awful times 😉

    • jannatwrites August 27, 2014 / 6:18 PM

      I’m glad you like my melons, Dianne! Er, that didn’t sound right 🙂 I’ll have to see if they have survived the hungry wildlife… it’s been a couple weeks since last check!

  11. Lala Rukh August 31, 2014 / 12:44 PM

    Wow I never knew your haiku poetry is as awesome as your fiction. Very Impressive Janna ! Hope you are doing good these days 🙂 ❤

    • jannatwrites August 31, 2014 / 9:35 PM

      What a sweet comment, Lala. I think my haiku is average, but I do appreciate you reading and commenting. Good to see you dropped by… it’s been a while 🙂

  12. Sarah Ann September 1, 2014 / 12:28 PM

    I think it’s only right you should harvest some of those water melon when they are ripe as recompense. How do you keep elk from trashing your crops?

    • jannatwrites September 1, 2014 / 7:32 PM

      I wouldn’t feel right about taking the watermelon – they aren’t on our land (far as we can tell, it’s a vacant lot.) I honestly have no idea how these have survived. (I haven’t found a way to keep any of our garden items safe.

  13. Leigh W. Smith September 4, 2014 / 9:35 AM

    Aw, Janna, so sorry you lost your tomatoes and zucchini. I ended up getting 1 darn melon from all that work. It was a cantaloupe, a bit small, and semi-sweet. It was decent. I am eager to try again, though I’m not entirely sure what (all) I might have done wrong. They got fertilized and grew, then all split . . . possibly rapid changes in weather (a sudden rainy period)?? Anyway, it’s live and learn for me.

    • Leigh W. Smith September 4, 2014 / 9:37 AM

      I should also clarify. Got a few anemic tomatoes, an okay number of jalapenos, one teeny-tiny green pepper (I know my mistakes there), a few berries here and there, and quite a few grapes (that only hubby seems to like). And the rampant chives that grow every year; fortunately, the kids like those.

      • jannatwrites September 4, 2014 / 11:11 PM

        That’s interesting your kids like chives – many kids don’t. (My older son loves them; the younger one, not so much!) I hope your crop yields more next year, Leigh.

    • jannatwrites September 4, 2014 / 11:10 PM

      Well, our tomato plant hasn’t died just yet. They haven’t returned yet either… I’m hoping they decided it wasn’t very nice here. That’s weird about the melons. I wonder if it could’ve been too much water? (Too much water causes tomatoes to split.)

      • Leigh W. Smith September 5, 2014 / 11:22 AM

        Definitely could be. We had the garden on a sprinkler timer, and I turned it off during the rainy period we had (nothing like your monsoon season out there, but soggy nonetheless!), but I def. could have overwatered still. I know I didn’t trim the tomatoes, so they kept sprouting branches (or whatever they’re called; individual vines), and several of the melons’ blossoms were fertilized and grew into melons, but I would check and literally, from one day to the next, several of them split. I will get better at it next year, I’m pretty sure. My husband did great several years ago with pie pumpkins, so I know I can figure it out, too.

        • jannatwrites September 5, 2014 / 12:05 PM

          You know, that’s part of the fun of gardening – seeing how our efforts pay off, and, what we can do to improve our results. That’s why I’m going to see if I can build a better fence (or possibly relocate the garden to another area.) Good luck on your gardening adventure, Leigh!

  14. Imelda September 5, 2014 / 7:25 PM

    Maybe, this watermelons are not as tasty. 🙂 😀

    On a more serious note, my in-laws sometimes have problem with the deer. One year, they sprayed bear pheromones in (pardon if my preposition is wrong) their bushes to deter the animals from eating the fresh sprouts. It worked for the spring season that followed.

    • jannatwrites September 9, 2014 / 7:57 PM

      Ah, I bet bears are their predators. Good idea, Imelda!

Got an opinion? Share it!

