More “Wisdom” From This Last Week (Part 1)

I had fun with my first post of wisdom gained that I did a few weeks ago. I jotted down notes throughout the week so I could share more useless realizations things I’ve learned.   Here goes:

Not all kids think I’m lame- just the ones I gave birth to

My kids’ friends happened to come over when the kids weren’t home.  (They had gone on a bike ride with a neighbor.)  Since I expected them home soon, I let them hang around.  After replacing a Band-Aid that had fallen off, one of the boys commented that I was “like the nicest mom ever.”  Oh, but I didn’t let it go to my head.  See the next bit of wisdom.

Don’t fall for flattery from 11-year-olds (they will eat you out of house and home)

Woody Woodpecker announced a text message on my phone.  When one of the kids identified the voice, I expressed my surprise because it was  “an old cartoon, from my generation.”  He said his mom watched it and she was thirty.  I laughed and said, “oh, I’m much older than that.”  After revealing my age (41) they proceeded to feign shock and assured me I didn’t look that old.  (Seriously, I didn’t buy that load of flattery, but it was a good effort.)

After the kids had played outside for several hours, I had expected them to go home for lunch.  They didn’t, so I fed them.  One of them ate two Velveeta mac and cheese packs and then asked if he could take some home.  I said no because they were for the kids’ lunches.

I have a feeling we’ll have visitors for lunch again soon.  Just a hunch.

This photo doesn't really have anything to do with this post, but I read somewhere that blog posts should have photos.  Since I break all the other "good blogging" rules- especially the "be relevant" one- I figured I should show you our javelina visitor we had last week.
This photo doesn’t really have anything to do with this post, but I read somewhere that blog posts should have photos. Since I break all the other “good blogging” rules- especially the “be relevant” one- I figured I should show you our javelina visitor we had last week.

Sometimes bad housekeeping is a good thing

As we ate dinner on the patio one evening, I kept my eye on a wasp hovering near by.  (This means I had my butt barely balanced on the chair so I could dash into the house.)   It went into a vent cover that was near my husband.  I stared for several minutes but it didn’t come out.  “Oh, there better not be a nest in there!” I said in a near-panic.  When I crept over to the vent and peeked in, I saw the wasp tangled in a web.

Spider webs aren’t just for Halloween…. I’m  happy to have another excuse for leaving them up year-round!

The AZ Motor Vehicle Division operates by computer, not reason

Ah, a government agency.  What could possibly go wrong there, right?  Well, I figured after over a year of living in our new location, I’d get a new driver’s license with the correct address.  When my online attempt failed, I called the MVD.  I explained that the message said I couldn’t get a duplicate license because my photo needed updated in 2011.  I told them how I had done it a couple months prior to the due date after receiving the notice in the mail. Apparently, they put in the computer that it was a duplicate with no indication of a photo being taken.

According to the MVD, my driver’s license photo is from 1998.  If that were the case, I could see my photo being used in an upcoming anti-drug use campaign – as a shocking “after” photo of a 25-year-old who made bad choices.

I knew that hour at the MVD office was one I’d never get back, but I had no idea that, years later, I’d discover it was like it never happened.

~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-

Life really stepped up its game in educating me, so tomorrow, I will post a follow up with more things I learned.  What have YOU learned this week?  I’d love to read your observations (funny, frustrating, or anything in between.)

32 thoughts on “More “Wisdom” From This Last Week (Part 1)

  1. suzicate August 17, 2014 / 7:38 AM

    Kids crack me up sometimes! You know the little boys my own sons hung out with at that age still come by to visit the hubby and I; we love seeing the wonderful young men they;ve grown to be.

    • jannatwrites August 17, 2014 / 10:04 AM

      They are funny sometimes, Suzicate! My next post will have some more things they have taught me… it all got too long for one post 🙂

  2. JF August 17, 2014 / 7:55 AM

    I learned that I am 5′ 4” after many decades being 5′ 7”. It gave me an idea for a new post.

    • jannatwrites August 17, 2014 / 3:44 PM

      Of course, it’s never the other way around – we find out we’re taller than we thought, JF!

  3. nrhatch August 17, 2014 / 8:18 AM

    That javelina is fierce looking. I’d be more worried about it than the hornets.

    Sounds like those kids know a good thing when they see it. They also know which house serves the best lunches . . . even if there is no “To Go” menu.

    • jannatwrites August 17, 2014 / 3:49 PM

      The whole time I was out there, I wondered about where the javelina’s friends were 🙂 My ‘good lunch’ luck ran out this weekend…. a picky vegetarian about did me in, Nancy!

      • nrhatch August 17, 2014 / 6:39 PM

        Vegetarians are so difficult to please! :mrgreen:

        • jannatwrites August 19, 2014 / 4:41 PM

          Hehe, not ALL of them… just a certain eight-year-old 🙂

  4. Leigh W. Smith August 17, 2014 / 9:22 AM

    You are so funny, Janna. I’m glad you give yourself some credit for being funny/cool. And I’d honestly never heard of or seen a javelina until this moment. I love learning new things; thank you!

    • jannatwrites August 17, 2014 / 3:54 PM

      I’m more funny than cool, but that’s good enough for me, Leigh. Javelina are interesting creatures… but can be aggressive because they don’t see very well. I like to watch them from a distance.

      • Leigh W. Smith August 18, 2014 / 6:36 AM

        I can look this up, obviously . . . but what are javelina? Some kind of hog/pig?

        • jannatwrites August 18, 2014 / 6:44 AM

          They are wild pig-like animals, technically in the peccary family. They aren’t very pretty but are intriguing animals 🙂

        • Leigh W. Smith August 18, 2014 / 6:48 AM

          Poor things. I feel badly for them now, knowing not only are they traditionally unbeautiful but also can’t see well. Thanks for the explanation, Janna. Have a great week (p.s.: Think I’ve said this before, but I love the backstories you give to the fiction stories and poetry).

        • jannatwrites August 19, 2014 / 4:42 PM

          Thanks for the compliment, Leigh! It’s nice to know someone enjoys something I write 🙂

  5. Emilio Pasquale August 17, 2014 / 9:46 AM

    I thought the javelina was a pictorial representation of the kids eating lunch at your house- not an actual visitor. Where in the world do you live?

    • jannatwrites August 17, 2014 / 3:57 PM

      Haha, that was a good one, Emilio! How clever that would’ve been… dang it, I wish I would’ve thought of it. (And it would fit for the next post as well…. you’ll see 🙂 ) We live in a small town with lots of wildlife… I’ve learned to not go outside at night without a flashlight 🙂

      • Emilio Pasquale August 17, 2014 / 4:05 PM

        We still have coyote around here and many stories about small dogs being dragged off for dinner. We are dog sitting a chihuahua right now and each night before bed have to walk her. I let my wife do it as I am not a fan of coyote! (And my wife is scarier than me!)

        • jannatwrites August 17, 2014 / 4:08 PM

          Walking bait each night? I don’t think I’d be up for that! We have coyotes too… they can sound quite eerie in the darkness. Bears scare me more than coyotes, though 🙂

        • jannatwrites August 19, 2014 / 4:41 PM

          That is a good thing!

  6. Imelda August 17, 2014 / 12:20 PM

    You are Supermom! I see a lot of visitors in your future. It’s just ironic – when people like you, you get more work. 🙂 Yet, on a more serious note, better be the well-liked person than the one people seek to avoid. 🙂

    • jannatwrites August 17, 2014 / 4:00 PM

      Supermom – I wish 🙂 The kids love having friends over, but it can get exhausting, Imelda!

  7. Debbie August 19, 2014 / 7:41 AM

    I’ve never heard of a javelina, but I don’t think I’d mess with that thing. It looks HUNGRY!

    Janna, I can see this has been an “educational” week, and I’m looking forward to reading Part 2.

    • jannatwrites August 19, 2014 / 4:49 PM

      That javelina cleaned up some of the acorns that dropped on the driveway. Less to sweep up 🙂 Thanks for stopping by, Debbie!

  8. pattisj August 20, 2014 / 10:54 PM

    Ok, the spider webs are safe for another day! Now back to blogging…I learned what a javelina is this week. Thanks!

    • jannatwrites August 24, 2014 / 8:40 PM

      I’m glad I introduced you a new animal, Patti! Also good to leave the spider webs… they can be a help!

  9. Björn Rudberg (brudberg) August 21, 2014 / 12:58 AM

    Ah.. I do not have kids.. but I have friends who think we are the coolest grown-up ever.. parents should get together on this.. One can do wonders for kids by choosing the right friends.. You sound like a favorite extra mom.. 🙂

    • jannatwrites August 24, 2014 / 8:45 PM

      I don’t know that I’m a favorite, but if they like me enough to be polite, I’m good with it 🙂 Glad you are a ‘cool’ grown up, Bjorn!

  10. joannesisco August 24, 2014 / 4:50 AM

    Ahhh – yes, I remember those days when the boys and their friends would descend upon the house. Their feeding frenzies would strip the kitchen in remarkably short order.
    Now they are adults and live on their own. They still come home – usually with friends in tow – and now it’s the bar that’s at risk 🙂

    • jannatwrites August 24, 2014 / 8:49 PM

      Hey, I think it’s fun to raid my parents’ pantry, too, Joanne. Since I started eating healthier, it’s not nearly as appealing though (they have LOTS of junk food in there!) We joke that we’ll have to get another job to pay for food pretty soon.

Got an opinion? Share it!

