Approaching Storms

Pressure;

highs and lows-

predictable becomes unstable.

Foreboding;

rumbling on the horizon-

just before atmospheric tension thickens.

DesertStorms

~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-

I haven’t written much poetry lately (inspiration comes and goes for me on the poetic front.)  On Sunday afternoon, I pondered what to write just as rumbling thunder teased me with the prospect of a monsoon storm.  I remembered this photo from the 4th of July, taken a few hours before rain happened and delayed the fireworks display.  I thought it went well with this poem.

As I wrote this, I had in mind the similarities between weather storms and the emotional storms we encounter in relationships.  Perhaps my crankiness this past week prompted me to go there!  Seriously, last week was stressful with one annoyance after another.  I let it get to me, until I finally was able to let it go (mostly).  My husband was smart and kept his distance.  My kids (older son especially) were not as wise and chose to challenge me.  Next week has to be better!

I missed writing a story last week because my mind just wasn’t there.  It was a creative flat line of sorts, which I haven’t experienced in a while.  I won’t overreact and call it writer’s block- I’ll just chalk it up to being preoccupied with the competing priorities that are life.  I’m hoping to come up with some fiction for later this week.  I really need my mind to rescue me from the “daily grind.”

Have a beautiful week!

26 thoughts on “Approaching Storms

  1. JF August 11, 2014 / 6:01 AM

    When we came to America two expressions inspired us: “make love” and “take it easy”. They helped us to overcome everything.

    • jannatwrites August 14, 2014 / 11:11 PM

      I’m glad you were inspired by those ideas, JF. Sometimes we need to just take a step back when things get too much.

  2. yarnspinnerr August 11, 2014 / 6:09 AM

    May be we have built in sensors for the bad weather round the corner. 🙂

    • jannatwrites August 14, 2014 / 11:12 PM

      Ah, being able to anticipate, does help us navigate 🙂 Glad you stopped by, Yarnspinnerr!

  3. newwhitebear August 11, 2014 / 7:11 AM

    A beautiful poetry. Storm and wind.
    Happy week!

    • jannatwrites August 14, 2014 / 11:12 PM

      I’m glad you enjoyed the poem, Newwhitebear! Thanks so much for stopping by – have a great weekend 🙂

  4. Debbie August 11, 2014 / 7:32 AM

    Janna, it sounds as if you, too, are needing a break/vacation! I’ve been having some of the same issues, compounded by a serious case of the doubts. I’ll be so glad when this passes and I can get some REAL work done — as it is, I just sashay from one thing to the next, doing a lousy job at whatever I touch. You’d think Mercury was retrograde again (nope, I checked — not til October!) Good luck!

    • jannatwrites August 14, 2014 / 11:15 PM

      Ugh, the doubts are the worst, Debbie. I really dislike those phases because it’s so hard to work through them. I hope we both get back on track soon!

  5. nrhatch August 11, 2014 / 8:47 AM

    Cranky pants! Cranky pants! 😛

    Hope the week ahead is full of blue skies and clear sailing.

    • jannatwrites August 14, 2014 / 11:16 PM

      Yep! I’m a little behind in reading comments, so I think that’s a pretty good sign this week hasn’t exactly been clear sailing, Nancy! I’m holding my own, though 🙂

  6. suzicate August 11, 2014 / 9:17 AM

    Those clouds sure look ominous!
    Yes emotional storms are much like weather storms.

    • jannatwrites August 14, 2014 / 11:18 PM

      It was a nice rainstorm, Suzicate. I love storms (but I do get a little fearful when there is a lot of thunder and lightning.)

  7. vishalbheeroo August 11, 2014 / 9:56 AM

    This is beautiful poetry. I can feel the weather flirting with me:)

    • jannatwrites August 14, 2014 / 11:19 PM

      Oh, thanks, Vishal! I’m glad you enjoyed the poem. It seems like ages since I’ve written poetry, so it felt a bit rusty.

  8. Emilio Pasquale August 11, 2014 / 11:47 AM

    I was wondering what was going on, if everything was OK! I’ve been visiting but not seeing anything new so I hadn’t commented. Just know that I’m stalking you! That should make you feel MUCH better! 🙂

    • jannatwrites August 14, 2014 / 11:23 PM

      Thanks for your concern, Emilio! I’ve got a list of things I wanted to write blog posts for but can’t seem to find time to get it done. Stalking me…. yeah, you crack me up!

  9. Björn Rudberg (brudberg) August 12, 2014 / 7:50 AM

    Those thunderclouds — they grow inside our heads. flashing eyes and thunder in our voice, or even worse the building tension, till destruction hits…

    • jannatwrites August 14, 2014 / 11:25 PM

      Unchecked, our emotions can be quite destructive. Thanks for sharing your comment, Bjorn!

  10. Lance August 12, 2014 / 9:47 AM

    Beautiful, Janna

  11. Imelda August 17, 2014 / 12:33 PM

    You are not alone suffering those emotional storms. I wonder if gender place a role. It is a wise husband who steers away from his wife’s path, though personally, I find myself wanting to pick a fight with my own husband simply because he is being so cool and calm. 🙂

    • jannatwrites August 17, 2014 / 4:03 PM

      I’ve done the fight-picking, too! I can even see it when I’m doing it and the only way I can stop is to physically walk away.

  12. stacilys September 1, 2014 / 7:13 PM

    I know exactly how you feel. My husband gets very quiet and doesn’t interfere with much of what I’m involved when I Get like that. My kids, like yours, aren’t as wise. Especially my Aspie son.
    Nice poem.
    🙂

    • jannatwrites September 1, 2014 / 7:40 PM

      I’m glad it’s not just me, Stacilys! I still have hope the kids will learn to just back off – especially when I catch myself and warn them that they need to stop now 🙂

Got an opinion? Share it!

