5 Reasons Cats Rule (My House)

Last week, my blogging friend, Debbie wrote of some abhorrent cat behavior that led her to write a post entitled “5 Reasons I Hate Cats.” While I don’t think I can change anyone’s mind about felines, I thought it would be fun to share some reasons why I adore cats.

Their “purrs” relax me. 

Some people listen to CDs that play sounds of nature- waves crashing onto the shore, birds chirping, rainfall- you get the idea.  Me?  Nothing is more soothing that a cat snuggled up to me purring.  Some nights, Cybil chooses to sleep on my face head which isn’t the most comfortable.  After some push and pull on positioning, she often ends up curled against my neck and shoulder purring.  This is how I like to fall asleep.

They can grow on non-cat-people (like a fungus)

I first saw this with my mom.  I’ve always been drawn to cats and she was never a fan, but after I adopted every stray cat in the neighborhood, she relented and I got my first kitty.  How disappointed I was to find that cat liked her better than me.  Misty was an indoor/outdoor cat and disappeared.  I was heartbroken.  We got another kitty and that one loved me- she was my cat.  Abby also wormed her way into my mom’s heart.

My husband is a self-proclaimed dog person.  He makes this known regularly.  I smile when he grabs a cat when he goes to bed, but I don’t say anything.  One morning last week, I walked into the bedroom and found Lizzy wrapped around his foot.

No one told Lizzy he's a dog person!
No one told Lizzy he’s a dog person!

Of course, I had to snap this blackmail adorable photo as evidence that he may be just a little bit of a cat person 🙂

They like company, but they don’t need constant attention

Some say cats are aloof.  Maybe they are; but I think they just need less assurance of my love for them than a dog.  Our dogs need constant ear scratches and head rubs- if we’re sitting on the couch, we must be petting them.  The cats curl up next to me and snooze- they are content just being near me.  I “get” them… I like to have my space, too.

While my son is at school, Sammy is my "desk cat"
While my son is at school, Sammy is my “desk cat”

Oh, and they keep me company while I work, curled up on the other side of my desk.  So cute!

Even when they don’t feel good, cats can strike a pose

Kitties hide their illnesses well, which isn’t necessarily a good thing.  Often, by the time we pick up on something being off, they are really sick.  When Bulwinquel (our Yorkie-Poo dog) was around two years old, we took her to the vet because she wouldn’t walk on one of her legs- she kept lifting it up like it was hurt.  After the second visit for the problem, the vet did an x-ray and confirmed there was no injury.  He told us that if we babied her, she may never walk on it again!

Cybil is sick, but always ready to be admired.
Cybil is sick, but always ready to be admired.

And finally:  they know how to relax!

I don’t think I really need to explain this one – I have so many snoozing cat pics because they sleep… a lot!

Relaxing 101... take notes, and practice!
Relaxing 101… take notes, and practice!

I can sure take come cues from them 🙂

Here it is – your chance to share your thoughts (nicely.)  Let me know why you like or dislike cats!

58 thoughts on “5 Reasons Cats Rule (My House)

  1. suzicate August 3, 2014 / 10:51 AM

    Cats are funny, so entertaining. However, they are also temperamental and are affectionate on their terms…that said, they still steal my heart even though I’m more of a dog person.

    • jannatwrites August 3, 2014 / 9:38 PM

      True, they do like things on their own terms, Suzicate! Just last night, Lizzy decided she wanted attention…at 1am. There was no getting rid of her, but finally she removed herself from my face and went to sleep. I didn’t mind though… she purred very nicely for me 🙂

  2. nrhatch August 3, 2014 / 10:54 AM

    I like cats for all these reasons and more:

    * Cats never come home smelling of SKUNK . . . or Wet Dog.
    * Cats groom themselves without having to go to the Doggie Spa.
    * Cats keep themselves clean, neat, and tidy.
    * Cats don’t have Dog Breath.
    * Cats don’t drink out of the toilet and then try to kiss you.
    * Cats don’t drool.
    * Cats don’t need constant reassurance.
    * Cats are content to “just be.”
    * Cats are purr-fectly Zen.
    * Cats don’t chew up your new pair of shoes or your furniture.

    And, unlike Debbie’s experiences, we find dog poop left in our yard far more often than cat poo ~ and we KNOW that the dog’s owner was right there on the other end of the leash and CHOSE not to clean it up.

    • Timothy Price August 3, 2014 / 11:24 AM

      Our cats have tangled with the skunks and been sprayed point blank. Giving a cat a tomato juice bath looks as bad as it sounds;) Otherwise, your points are right on!

      • nrhatch August 3, 2014 / 1:44 PM

        Oh, wow! That would be BAD. We have had to bathe kittens once, but they were too young to struggle. A full grown cat wearing eau de skunk would be a challenge . . . especially since they’re probably holding YOU responsible for the fact that THEY stink.

        • Timothy Price August 3, 2014 / 2:22 PM

          Even after the tomato bath, they had a faint small of skunk for about six months. I once stepped on a skunk at night that was in the weeds and got sprayed. That was fun de-stinking myself. After that with skunks and porcupine on the property, I don’t go out in the dark without a flashlight.

      • jannatwrites August 3, 2014 / 9:43 PM

        Oh my – I couldn’t imagine having to do that without some kind of full-body protection! Ouch 😦 Six months is a long time for the lingering odor. I’m all for your suggestion to not go out without a flashlight. We’ve smelled skunk (but not seen it yet) but we have seen elk and javelina… a flashlight is must!

    • Debbie August 3, 2014 / 12:20 PM

      HaHa, got me on that one — but honestly, don’t cities have doggie pickup laws, too?!

      • nrhatch August 3, 2014 / 1:49 PM

        Our neighborhood does. Most dog owners take the poop scoop regs very seriously, never leaving home without a bag for canine offerings.

        But there are a few, who are either invisible or walk their dogs under cover of darkness, who feel those rules shouldn’t apply to their pup. People on the street are so outraged, there’s discussion about DNA testing to find out whose poop it is. 😎

        The rule for cats is they cannot be outside except on a leash. So most are indoor cats. Tigger is the exception since we trained him on a leash when he was still a pliable kitty.

        • jannatwrites August 3, 2014 / 9:47 PM

          DNA testing on dog poo? That’s funny. We’ve found a few piles on our land and figured if it kept up, I’d hide out there to see who it was and return it to them on their front porch. In the neighborhood we lived in in Phoenix, they had doggie bag stations throughout and kept them stocked with pick up bags. There was really no excuse to leave a mess.

          I think outdoor kitty rules are a good thing. Here, we don’t have those rules, but if you love your cat, indoor is the way to go. Many nights, we hear coyotes and I sure wouldn’t want my cats out there to fight for their lives.

    • jannatwrites August 3, 2014 / 9:40 PM

      Great reasons, Nancy! I like the lower maintenance aspect of kitties. Yes, they need regular brushing , but not soap and water baths. And, if we want to go away for the weekend, we set out extra food and water and things are okay. Not so with our dogs!

    • jannatwrites August 3, 2014 / 9:48 PM

      Thanks, Timothy! I see from a recent post of yours that you are a fan of cats. I really enjoyed your photos 🙂

  3. Debbie August 3, 2014 / 12:26 PM

    Janna, this is the purr-fect compliment — taking my post and rebutting it excellently! Yes, I see your points, especially about the relaxing part, but surely you remember your dog sleeping (and how cute it looked when its paws would twitch as it chased who-knew-what!).

    It sounds as if kitties turn into sleep aids at night — if one doesn’t fear being scratched while one is in deep slumber! As far as the “constant attention,” Dallas must be part-cat. He doesn’t particularly enjoy being touched ALL the time, and he, too, keeps me company while I work (like as not, he’s curled up sleeping on the floor, right next to the surge protector!)

    Thanks for having fun with this one — and I really don’t “hate” cats, you know. It’s more that I just don’t “get” them the way I do dogs!!

    • jannatwrites August 3, 2014 / 9:55 PM

      I never had fear of kitty attacks while I slept, nor did I worry about the kids’ safety. They do occasionally get scratched or bit, but it’s because they didn’t read the cat’s cues and back off. (If you’re carrying the cat and she hisses at you, it means put her down.)

      Perhaps Sally is just a particularly needy dog, but she can’t get enough attention. It’s exhausting sometimes. Luckily, I’m not her first choice, so much of this falls on my husband.

      I’m glad you saw this as the friendly rebuttal that I intended it to be, Debbie! You’re a-okay, for a dog person, haha 🙂

  4. thepaperbutterfly August 3, 2014 / 12:46 PM

    I have two cats that I love. They are brats most of the time, which is part of why I love them so much X3 There isn’t a day that I don’t smile because of their antics. I affectionately call it cattitude :3 Actually they have scientific proof that a cat’s purr induces bone healing and soft tissue healing. It has a similar frequency to ultrasound and bone stimulators 🙂 Margaret Atwood used fact in her book called Oryx and Crake. My husband was not a cat person either but my boy kitty adores him so my husband fell in love with cats. He tells Pumpkin all the time how much he loves him :3 The girl kitty likes me better, lol. I have a cat personality as well XD Maybe that’s why I understand them so well 🙂

    • jannatwrites August 3, 2014 / 10:01 PM

      I didn’t know that about purring. Very interesting fact, Paperbutterfly. One reason I ended up with Cybil (The Psycho Cat) was her strong purr. She clung to me when I held her, so even though I went to the Humane Society looking for a Siamese mix, I ended up with a black tabby. These days, her purr isn’t quite as strong (and that makes me sad) but I try not to focus on that and enjoy the purrs she does still share.

      That’s funny about your husband. At least he will admit he loves the kitty. My husband refuses to utter those words (even as he’s gone out of his way to pick one up and pet her!)

      Have you ever watched ‘My Cat From Hell’? I love that show… Jackson Galaxy knows cats so well, I’ve learned a thing or two from watching all of the episodes on Netflix. It’s surprising how many cat owners don’t ‘get’ cat behavior.

      • thepaperbutterfly August 4, 2014 / 12:15 PM

        Yes, I love Jackson Galaxy! Sometimes it makes me sad because the owners are negligent or are way too eager to just get rid of the cat. Other times it’s clear that the owners love their cat but are sad and confused. But I love how he helps both the people and the cats :3

        My husband picks my boy cat up like a baby, gives him kisses, and tells him how much he loves him. My boy kitty loves it XD Yeah, it’s so funny because he didn’t even like them at first. But cats have a tendency to grow on people with their goofiness and cuddles :3

        • jannatwrites August 4, 2014 / 11:34 PM

          I sometimes tear up a little when harmony is achieved between cat and human. (There are some humans I wanted to knock upside the head though!) I’m glad your husband embraced the charm of cats… one of these days my husband will actually admit he likes cats.

  5. Michael August 3, 2014 / 12:59 PM

    I’ve got a cat myself; he’s not the most friendly of cats, but still, I’m definitely a cat person. 🙂

    • jannatwrites August 3, 2014 / 10:03 PM

      You must be a cat person if you can make that declaration in spite of a slightly unfriendly kitty! Glad you share in the feline appreciation, Michael 🙂

  6. Widdershins August 3, 2014 / 1:57 PM

    Cat staff-person here – from womb to tomb 🙂

    • jannatwrites August 3, 2014 / 10:05 PM

      Here, here! I’m with you, Widdershins! When my husband and I first started dating I told him that I would have to have cats. If he couldn’t handle that, we wouldn’t work out 🙂

  7. Polysyllabic Profundities August 3, 2014 / 2:03 PM

    Cats certainly are cute, but my mom had six cats in her later years and the smell of cat pee slowly saturated her entire house. It is a smell I will never forget and has tainted my view on cats. I admit I will always be a dog person.

    • jannatwrites August 3, 2014 / 10:08 PM

      I’m not a fan of the urine smell, either (my grandma’s house had that smell… I think it was one or more of the males ‘marking.’) If you keep up with the cat boxes (clean every day) there isn’t that odor. Glad you stopped by to share your views, Susan!

  8. Eleni August 3, 2014 / 6:11 PM

    Hi Janna. I am a self-proclaimed cat ‘disliker’ mostly because I’m afraid that they will scratch me (as an infant I was attacked by a cat whilst I was in my pram!) and they make me itch and sneeze. Having said that I when I moved into my grannie’s I became somewhat fond of her cat, even though it made me itch and sneeze and every time I’d try to pet it it would turn it’s back on me and walk away!

    • jannatwrites August 4, 2014 / 12:02 AM

      I know a woman so afraid of cats that she actually peed her pants when one jumped onto the hood of her car when she was getting ready to leave for work. Kitties I’ve encountered haven’t been attack cats, but I can understand how you’d want to keep your distance. Allergies can really stand in the way of showing affection toward the kitty, but I’m glad you tried, Eleni!

  9. pattyabr August 3, 2014 / 6:39 PM

    I am allergic to cat dander 😦 My doggie would not like having a cat in the house to compete with. I like them from afar. Your pictures are precious.

    • jannatwrites August 4, 2014 / 12:04 AM

      I’m sorry they bother your allergies, Patty. Thanks for stopping by to share your comment (admiring from afar would be so hard for me 🙂 )

  10. Emilio Pasquale August 3, 2014 / 9:01 PM

    Well, my wife is going to hate me for relating this in such a public forum. If I’m lucky, maybe no one will read it. But one of the first times we “got together” her cat jumped on my bare back and dug its nails into me. Since then, Lynn thinks I’m a better lover than I actually am!

    • jannatwrites August 4, 2014 / 12:10 AM

      Oh my, that would be painful, Emilio! I’m glad kitty helped your love life (I think) 🙂

      Oh, and don’t worry… no one will read this!

  11. frederick anderson August 4, 2014 / 1:23 AM

    A ‘like’ from a dog person. I prefer dogs because I enjoy the arguments!

    • jannatwrites August 4, 2014 / 11:17 PM

      Haha, dogs are nice, too, Frederick!

      (But cats are better.) Hehe, I guess I enjoy arguments, too (especially the ones where both people are equally correct 🙂 )

  12. GodGirl August 4, 2014 / 4:17 AM

    Haha. Yes! I’m a cat person too. Can’t stand dogs I’m afraid.
    I like cats because they:
    * Are introverts. They make you work for their love rather than toppling you over with irritating glee the minute you walk through the door.
    * Don’t try to be anything they’re not. They’re comfortable in their own fur, and remain cool, calm and collected most of the time. We can learn a lot from them.
    * Are clean, and therapeutic to touch. They don’t smell, and stroking a cat has got to be one of the best de-stressors I know.
    🙂

    • jannatwrites August 4, 2014 / 11:20 PM

      I like your reasons, too, God Girl! I do have two dogs in the house (they are more my husband’s pets) so I didn’t want to be too mean about dogs here 🙂

      It is so relaxing being near a kitty. I’m kind of wondering where they’ve all gone to, as I don’t have one around right now!

  13. Elizabeth Melton Parsons August 4, 2014 / 7:06 AM

    I love cats because they are independent, charming, and downright evil at times. 😈 Studies show that stroking your cat can reduce your risk of stroke by 40%. Another reason to love cats. 🙂

    • jannatwrites August 4, 2014 / 11:25 PM

      Some cats do have a cantankerous streak, Elizabeth! (My cat growing up had that kind of personality… she communicated well and knew exactly how to get her way!) I like the reduction of stroke risk; I hadn’t heard that before.

  14. joannesisco August 4, 2014 / 10:03 AM

    I’m totally with you on your 5 reasons why cats rule. I love my cat Theo’s purr so much – I wish I could purr too. It would be the perfect response to a simple feeling of contentment!

    Theo is like a dog-cat. He has a lot of dog-like behaviours – he’s a little attention seeker, follows me around the house, and makes the neighbours laugh when he runs down the street beside me when I return from my morning run.

    He’s hilarious and there isn’t a day that goes by when he doesn’t make me laugh out loud 😀 I’m grateful to have this big furball in my life!

    • jannatwrites August 4, 2014 / 11:40 PM

      I wish I could purr, too, Joanne (I thought I was the only one!) I like the image of your kitty running beside you… that would be adorable!

      Cats are funny and entertaining. I like to watch them play, too- especially how they track the moving toy and wiggle a little before pouncing on it.

      • joannesisco August 5, 2014 / 4:41 AM

        lol – the little wiggle is hilarious!

        • jannatwrites August 6, 2014 / 8:28 PM

          Never fails to make me laugh 🙂

  15. Tessa August 4, 2014 / 3:02 PM

    I love cats, better than dogs. However I wanted a kitty that would sleep in my lap and curl up next to me in bed. Instead I adopted a cat and she is not a people person. I am tolerated mostly because I feed her. I am allowed to pet her when SHE decides it is time, but I still lover her, moods and all.

    • jannatwrites August 4, 2014 / 11:46 PM

      I’m sorry this one didn’t end up being a lap cat, Tessa. The first cat my husband and I got after we were married was like that. She wouldn’t sit on our laps and didn’t want to be held. Something happened to her before we got her and she was just fearful… she wouldn’t even walk across a room- she traveled close to walls. We let her be and she came around a few times. Even the lovey cats have a little of the ‘on-my-terms’ mentality 🙂

      • Tessa August 5, 2014 / 1:17 PM

        I have had her for 3 years now and I still can’t pick her up. And she is scared of everyone, but my son. She was traumatized too which is why I adopted her, but I didn’t know what I was getting into. I was used to my loving lap cats. Oh well we both have anxiety problems. 🙂

        • jannatwrites August 6, 2014 / 9:42 PM

          How sad for your kitty. Maybe she will come around in time, but if not, at least your son has a cat 🙂

        • Tessa August 17, 2014 / 12:38 AM

          🙂

  16. Lance August 5, 2014 / 3:01 PM

    I like our cat, Monki, age 3 1/2. She runs our house with my youngest daughter. She fits our family. During my first marriage, we had 2 cats, and I didn’t relate to them or like them. But I like Monki.

    • jannatwrites August 6, 2014 / 9:45 PM

      I’m glad you can relate to this kitty. Cats have different personalities, that’s for sure!

  17. pattisj August 5, 2014 / 10:45 PM

    I grew up with several outdoor cats. Can you believe I married a guy allergic to them? I have fond memories, they kept me company wherever I happened to be. Nothing like a lapful of warm kitties purring on a cool autumn evening. I saw my dad holding a petting one on his lap on the front porch, but when he heard me coming to the door, the cat was quickly whisked off his lap so I wouldn’t see. Dad had a gruff exterior, but I knew he was a softie at heart.

    • jannatwrites August 14, 2014 / 11:06 PM

      I don’t think I would’ve married my husband if it meant I couldn’t have cats! Your dad sounds a lot like my husband in that he does hold them, but doesn’t want to be caught doing it.

  18. Björn Rudberg (brudberg) August 8, 2014 / 1:46 AM

    Since I have neither cats nor dogs I think I’m more of a cat person. Since I grew up with cats I have learned how to get almost any cat’s attention and love.. so any cute cat would end up purring around me feet… the infidelity of cats is quite mesmerizing … (but I have learned never to feed them, that would be stealing). On the other hand I so admire the faithfulness and usefulness of some dogs.. Sometimes at winter I go into the mountains and it’s fascinating to see how good dogs will pull their owners uphill if needed… But they do require constant attention to confirm that love is reciprocated…

    • jannatwrites August 10, 2014 / 10:48 PM

      Interesting comment about the feeding, Bjorn. I guess the way to a cat’s heart is through his/her stomach! My cat has always been my cat. She will tolerate others for short periods but will bite them when she’s done having them pet her. You are right about dogs – they are very loyal (and do need lots of attention 🙂 )

Got an opinion? Share it!

