Bits of “Wisdom” I’ve Gained In Last 7 Days

Doing laundry *can* help settle the mind – but I still don’t recommend it

I wanted to write a post on Sunday to publish on Monday, but my thoughts bounced around like caffeinated squirrels.  (Judging by the activity level of ‘normal’ squirrels, I can only imagine ones on caffeine would be hard to follow.)

Writing didn’t happen because of many things:  anxiety over Monday’s dental appointment, not feeling good (after two weeks of tonsillitis), remembering things I have to do since school has started, and deadlines at work that put me on the computer for a couple hours Sunday night.  As I folded laundry, though, the idea came to me to write a post as scattered as what I feel – with the common thread of “wisdom” I encountered this past week.

Thank goodness I didn’t have to iron clothes to find peace!  (I don’t iron.  Ever.)

There has to be better therapy... like chocolate!
There has to be better therapy… like chocolate!

Sometimes it’s best not to try to understand

Conversation on the first day of school:

Me:  “Why don’t you just wear your sweat shorts and t-shirt to school since you have P.E. first hour?”

Older son:  “I’m not going to school looking like a slob.” (said with his ‘are-you-an-idiot?’ tone)

Me:  “You’d only have to change once, and you’d just have to wear gym clothes on the bus ride.”

Older son:  “And recess, too.”

I didn’t say anything else, but did laugh when he came out of his room wearing a different t-shirt and sweat shorts, which he planned to wear all day.  I do not claim to know what made these clothes not “slobby”.

Risk is Relative

Or is that, ‘relatives are risky’?  Oh, never mind.  Conversation with my dad after he spent many hours cursing at working on my computer:

Dad:  “I think your network card is bad.  A new one is $179, or they have a refurbished one for $22.”

Me:  “I’m not spending $179 on a 4-year-old computer.  But refurbished?  I don’t know… seems risky.”

Dad:  “You take a risk buying a new one, but the refurbished is only a $22 risk.”

Perhaps these principles of risk apply to other areas of life; something this risk-avoidant person needs to keep in mind.

My kids can be empathetic (if you’re covered in fur)

My older son put his cat on my lap while I worked at my desk.  Sammy didn’t want to be there so she headed toward the desk top.  She slipped and dug her claws into my thigh as she slid toward the floor.  I shrieked in pain and grabbed her by the scruff of the neck to pull her back onto my lap.

My son ran back into the room.  “What happened?”

“She slid down my thigh,” I said between clenched teeth.

“Oh, Sammy!  Are you okay?” He asked as he bent down to kiss the kitty.

Don’t worry about me.  The blood dries quickly and maybe scars aren’t forever.

Maybe they'd care if I "meowed"?
Maybe I’d get empathy (or sympathy) if I “meowed”?

What about you – what unexpected things have your discovered recently?

Oh, if you came here looking for some fiction, I’ve got a couple of ideas for a story to post later in the week.  I know, ideas aren’t the same as written stories, but I’ll work on that the next couple days 🙂

33 thoughts on “Bits of “Wisdom” I’ve Gained In Last 7 Days

  1. Imelda July 29, 2014 / 5:43 AM

    I like your father’s advice. Your son is funny. I suppose he thought that his Mommy could take care of herself but not the cat. 🙂

    • jannatwrites July 30, 2014 / 9:44 PM

      Maybe that’s what he thought, Imelda…. Sometimes I think it’s as simple as he likes the cat more than me!

  2. pattisj July 29, 2014 / 6:22 AM

    Had to smile at a change of t-shirt making everything all right. It’s nice to have a relative with computer smarts. Of course the cat would rather be ON the desk. You have gained much wisdom this week! I can’t wait to see what you learn this week…

    • jannatwrites July 30, 2014 / 9:45 PM

      I guess I should be taking notes on which sweat shorts/t-shirts are dressier , Patti:) Right now, when it’s hot, the cats prefer to lay on cool surfaces, but in the winter, they turn into lap cats.

      • pattisj July 30, 2014 / 9:48 PM

        They do create a lot of warmth. A winter lap cat would be quite nice.

        • jannatwrites July 30, 2014 / 10:15 PM

          They are cozy… only problem is when I’m working, they make me want to curl up and take a nap with them!

        • pattisj July 30, 2014 / 10:17 PM

          I can see where that could have a down side. lol

  3. yarnspinnerr July 29, 2014 / 6:45 AM

    Refurbished is such a useful word in marketing.
    Enjoyed the read.

    • jannatwrites July 30, 2014 / 9:50 PM

      It is a useful word, Yarnspinnerr. Glad you stopped by… haven’t seen you much since Trifecta ended 😦

      • yarnspinnerr July 30, 2014 / 10:04 PM

        I too miss Trifecta, though I get to meet some old trifectans at Light and shade challenges. 🙂

        • jannatwrites July 30, 2014 / 10:15 PM

          I hadn’t heard of that one. Will have to stop by your place tomorrow and check out what you’ve written for it!

        • yarnspinnerr July 31, 2014 / 5:40 AM

          Welcome and I look forward to it. 🙂

  4. Debbie July 29, 2014 / 8:06 AM

    Oh, Janna, I can totally relate!! I, too, have been feeling scatter-brained, and writing just isn’t something I dare do (other than post comments, which I find myself re-reading several times, just to make sure they sort of make sense!)
    Unlike you, I LOVE to iron — something about seeing a finished product right away satisfies a need for order in my world. I think your dad gave you good advice. I’ve heard that refurbished (which sounds risky) is actually pretty well tested before it’s put on the market (and really, $22 isn’t so bad, is it??)
    My thigh is still smarting from your picture of kitteh sliding down yours — another reason I could add to my “hating cats” post, ha! 😉

    • jannatwrites July 30, 2014 / 9:55 PM

      Maybe it’s something going around, Debbie! My mother-in-law loves to iron, too, so of course my husband is thrilled when she comes to visit! Well, $22 wouldn’t be as bad if I haven’t been spending so much money lately. Luckily, I think the kids have everything they need for the school year, so we might get a break now.

      Oh, the kitty didn’t scratch to be mean, so it’s all good. I may have to do a post ‘reasons I adore cats’ so you might catch a glimpse of feline goodness 🙂 (I’m sure you can’t be purrr-suaded,but it would be a fun post to do anyway!)

      • nrhatch July 31, 2014 / 9:09 AM

        Yes, please! I’d love to read your reasons, Janna. I like cats because they have purr-sonality instead of person-ality.

        • jannatwrites July 31, 2014 / 5:53 PM

          I’ve got it on my list of post ideas… I’ll see if I can get photos to go with it now 🙂

  5. nrhatch July 29, 2014 / 9:16 AM

    Hahaha! I think I liked the first day of school the best ~ nice to know that kids are as inconsistent as we are. 😀

    And OUCH about Sammy grabbing a paw-hold on your leg ~ your son figured you were OK since you were able to talk. Whereas Sammy was Speech-Less! .

    • jannatwrites July 30, 2014 / 9:57 PM

      I don’t understand pre-teen boys. She may have been speechless, but her wide eyes said volumes – the slip was apparently quite unexpected 🙂

  6. vishalbheeroo July 29, 2014 / 9:18 AM

    hey hope the tooth get better. Loove this post..looking like a slob hehe:))

    • jannatwrites July 30, 2014 / 9:58 PM

      Thanks, Vishal! I’ve got a temporary crown right now but will be ‘fixed’ in a couple weeks 🙂

  7. Leigh W. Smith July 29, 2014 / 10:23 AM

    Hmmm, I don’t know if I’ve had any epiphanies lately and — thank goodness — no cat scratches down my leg or tonsillitis. I hope you are feeling better soon, Janna. Oh, except I did find out I’ve been doing some things wrong with my garden, which I had suspected already but just didn’t know what. Ironing is evil; I’m with you on that, sister! 🙂

    • jannatwrites July 30, 2014 / 10:10 PM

      I am feeling better, Leigh, I have a few more days of antibiotics left and then I’ll be fixed (in time for something else to go wrong with me?) Sorry, my husband has been joking about me having a birthday and falling apart since I’m out of warranty 🙂

      It’s good to figure out our garden mistakes for future… it’s even better if we figure it out in time to not kill the plants.

      Just say no (to ironing!)

  8. Widdershins July 29, 2014 / 1:29 PM

    Love the kissy-face kitteh pic 😀 … oh your poor leg. 😦

    • jannatwrites July 30, 2014 / 10:10 PM

      Thanks, Widdershins! Aren’t snuggling kitties just the cutest? 🙂

  9. Stephanie Faris July 29, 2014 / 1:34 PM

    $22 isn’t bad at all for a refurbished card. No risk at all. In fact, often refurbished electronics are better because they examine it carefully for any flaws and recondition it before sending it out.

    • jannatwrites July 30, 2014 / 10:11 PM

      I do hope that’s the case, Stephanie! I definitely can’t afford a new computer and the kids want their Vista laptop back (I want to to give it back to them!)

  10. Emilio Pasquale July 29, 2014 / 2:34 PM

    Don’t worry about scars. I heard long skirts are back in fashion! And what have I learned this week? How much I depend upon my wife to keep me on an emotional even keel.

    • jannatwrites July 30, 2014 / 10:12 PM

      Scar or not, I’m in for the long skirts, Emilio! We all need someone to help balance us out… glad you have that (and know it) 🙂

  11. diannegray July 30, 2014 / 8:07 PM

    I love your scatterbrain post (I feel like that most of the time so I totally get it). Oh, and I don’t iron. Ever 😉

    • jannatwrites July 30, 2014 / 10:13 PM

      Thanks, Dianne! Good to know I’m not the only one who avoids ironing 🙂

  12. GodGirl July 31, 2014 / 4:39 AM

    I laughed when you shared about your cat-empathetic sons. But sorry you were hurt 😦
    Love your witty, appropriately scattered post 🙂 And hope a decision about the computer came about. Sounds frustrating!

    • jannatwrites July 31, 2014 / 5:49 PM

      I’m healed now, and the kitty is well, too 🙂 Thanks for reading my scattered post, GodGirl. My dad ordered the refurb part so I’ll take my computer back when I visit them near the end of August.

Got an opinion? Share it!

