Haiku Poem & Life (Which Is Not Always Poetic)

Wispy clouds streaked orange;

Colorful monsoon display.

Hopes for late-night rain.

Monsoon Sunset

It is monsoon time here in Arizona.  The storms can be swift, with more wind than rain, but for me, it’s always the promise of rain that makes me keep one eye on the radar.  We may not always get rain, but at least we do get some decent photo opportunities 🙂

Last week, I only managed to do one post, which was a story for Speakeasy.  (That story was voted 3rd place last week, so thanks to all who read it!)  It seems my week of Mondays is still going, haha!  I’ve re-installed the operating system on my computer, but still can’t get to the internet, so my Dad is going to look at it when I visit them at the end of the month.  Until then, I guess I get to buddy up with my old Vista laptop.

I didn’t mention it in my A Week of Mondays post, but that week, I also found out that my kitty, Cybil has kidney issues.  I’ve been taking her to the vet every other day for IV fluids and my husband has tried giving her pills each morning.  All this ‘treatment’ has resulted in her becoming quite suspicious of us and spending more time under our bed.  It made me wonder for whose benefit we were doing it all, and if I’m honest, I think it’s for me.  The last time I took her to the vet, I had to squirt her with water to get her to come out from under the bed.  The last time my husband tried to pill her, he wrapped her in a towel and still ended up getting bitten and she still worked the pills out.  So, as of yesterday, I’ve stopped the madness. I don’t know how long we’ll have with her, but I’d rather not put her through the stress any longer.  Maybe she will quit running under the bed whenever I come into the room.

Okay, so I’d like to move on from the depressing.  I’m working on a story that I hope to post later in the week – probably Thursday.  (Writing is a great way to keep my mind distracted!)  Speakeasy is on a summer break right now, and I don’t have the energy to figure out the combined summer grid, so for the next six weeks, I plan to write a story each week unprompted.  I thought it would be fun to write a few sentences at the end explaining the inspiration for the stories, or how the idea occurred to me.  (If no one cares, it can easily be skipped!)   I hope you’ll come back and read it.

To leave this post another positive note, I’d like to announce that we finally finished a couple of ongoing projects (last update was May 21):  our fencing is essentially complete (we still need to do a proper latch for our double-gate) and our rock trenches are DONE!  We finished them a couple weeks ago, and a recent rain confirms that they seem to be working, so far:

Rock Drainage

I hope you have a beautiful week!  If you have any thoughts on this post, or want to share something you’re looking forward to this week, or have a gripe about Monday, I hope you’ll share a comment.  I’d love to know what’s on your mind 🙂

59 thoughts on “Haiku Poem & Life (Which Is Not Always Poetic)

  1. Robin Leigh Morgan July 14, 2014 / 6:29 AM

    I loved reading the imagery you’ve presented. But we must remember sometimes these signs can play tricks on us, in regards to both the weather and our lives. as I believe I’ve shown in my response for this week:

    Dark clouds seen, wind felt
    All can sense a storm’s coming
    But then nothing comes.

    Have a GREAT WEEK in whatever you do. !!! 🙂 🙂 🙂

    ===================================

    You’re right about the weekend and that it can’t go on forever.

    TGIF’s here.
    Then reality sets in.
    It’s GGIM

    [GGIM = Good Grief It’s Monday]

    • jannatwrites July 15, 2014 / 6:10 PM

      True, sometimes the rain doesn’t come (it’s been teasing us for the last couple evenings!) Great haiku response, Robin 🙂

      • Robin Leigh Morgan July 15, 2014 / 6:32 PM

        THANKS for your kind compliment Janna. Have a GREAT HUMPDAY !!! 🙂 🙂 🙂

  2. Celine Jeanjean July 14, 2014 / 6:39 AM

    That’s a beautiful haiku, and goes perfectly with that photo.

    It’s Typhoon season for us in Hong Kong, so I can sympathise on the wind and rain front!

    I’m so sorry to hear that about your kitty – that’s tough…..I hope you still have her with you for a while yet! Just a suggestion on the pills, one of our cats had bladder issues and we bought him some really nice wet food and crushed the pill up in it. He ate it all up happily – that might help, and help relieve her suspicion of you? It’s not nice when cats are frightened and hide under the bed.

    Looking forward to the story!

    • jannatwrites July 15, 2014 / 6:14 PM

      Thanks for reading, Celine! Typhoons sound so much more powerful than monsoons 🙂

      I hope we have some time with our kitty, too. I’ve tried three different kinds of moist food (without meds) and she’s turned her nose up at them. I’ve also tried the pet pill pockets and some ‘people food’ turkey and chicken. The vet said that when the kidneys don’t function properly, everything has a metallic taste, so she’s just not interested.

      • Celine Jeanjean July 16, 2014 / 7:12 AM

        Aw, that makes sense – poor thing, can’t be easy for her. Lots of positive thoughts going your way / your kitty’s way!

        • jannatwrites July 17, 2014 / 10:44 PM

          Thanks so much, Celine! So far, she’s holding her own 🙂

  3. suzicate July 14, 2014 / 6:52 AM

    We’ve had a lot of rain here, too. A little flooding in areas and a tornado at the oceanfront…we survived the storms!
    I’m sorry about your kitty. Having a sick pet is hard. They learn quickly about pills, don’t they? Kind of hard to pull the wool over their eyes!
    Yay to finished projects! I love when we finally get things done around here.

    • jannatwrites July 15, 2014 / 6:16 PM

      I’m so glad we haven’t had a tornado – that would be terrifying! She can find the tiniest pill (funny thing is, she looks at my hands whenever I walk in the room, so I hold them up, palms out so she can see I’m not going to pull anything sneaky!)

  4. vishalbheeroo July 14, 2014 / 6:58 AM

    It seems your plate is quite full with writing..me joining office morrow, finally found a job paying peanuts n lets hope how it goes.
    Wish ur kitty gets well soon:)

    • jannatwrites July 15, 2014 / 6:18 PM

      Congrats on the job, Vishal! I know it’s hard to jump in and start at the bottom, but with the right attitude, opportunities tend to present themselves.

  5. nrhatch July 14, 2014 / 8:02 AM

    Congrats on your 3rd place finish and on finishing your water sluice.

    Sorry about Cybil. You’ve encapsulated why we decided against treating Tigger with insulin shots and vet visits when he was diagnosed 2 years ago ~ we didn’t want him to cower every time he saw his leash or the carrier. Instead, we’ve focused on “home care” and love. He still chases his treats, enjoys his meals, and goes outside for walks most days. As long as he’s still enjoying life, we’ll keep doing what we’re doing.

    • jannatwrites July 15, 2014 / 6:23 PM

      I remember when you posted about Tigger’s diabetes. I’m glad he’s still doing well, Nancy. The problem with Cybil is that she’s not eating much at all, and I can’t get the anti-vomit pills down her, so I doubt we’ll have nearly that long. In one week, she lost four ounces. We shall see what happens now 🙂

      • nrhatch July 16, 2014 / 8:21 AM

        Sends cyber hugs to Cybil. It’s hard.

        • jannatwrites July 17, 2014 / 10:44 PM

          I appreciate it, Nancy!

  6. Debbie July 14, 2014 / 8:30 AM

    Poor kitty. It’s no fun being sick, nor is it particularly enjoyable being chased around the house with treatments. Dallas is on Thyroid medication (twice a day) and I’ve managed to “hide” his pill in a dab of squeeze cheese so he takes it. Better than getting scratched — or bitten!! Hope she’s better soon.

    Computer problems are no fun — hope you were able to save what you wanted before the trouble began.

    Wow, you really did a great job with the rock trench! Is that designed to waylay flooding?? Funny, but I didn’t think AZ had rain issues — you learn something new every day, don’t you?!

    • jannatwrites July 15, 2014 / 6:29 PM

      I’m glad you’ve found something that will get Dallas to take his meds, Debbie. Still haven’t found anything Cybil will eat. I did manage to get my files and photos backed up. Unfortunately, even after the complete OS install, I still can’t get the internet. My dad gave me a couple of things to try… if I can’t get it to work, I’ll bring it when I visit them in a couple weeks 🙂

      As for Arizona rain – we only get it certain times of the year and it’s often a whole bunch all at once. The ground can be so dry, it doesn’t soak in right away, which results in flooding. In our yard, the rain from the gutters was piped out to release in the yard, which made things a muddy mess. We added pipe so it empties into the rock trench.

  7. diannegray July 14, 2014 / 2:20 PM

    So sorry to hear about Cybil. Have you tried just putting the tablets with her favourite food? (maybe mashing them up in fresh fish) – just a suggestion…

    I love your rock trenches – what a brilliant idea 😀

    • jannatwrites July 15, 2014 / 6:31 PM

      Thanks for the suggestion, Dianne. The problem is, she doesn’t have an appetite. (I thought I was being a good pet owner by just giving her dry food… perhaps I should’ve done more treats/other foods, so I knew if she had a favorite 🙂 )

  8. Emilio Pasquale July 14, 2014 / 2:59 PM

    I think you made a smart decision. Why stress your cat out even more than she already is? Let her have whatever time there is, free of stress. As for story ideas, I have a number of photos just waiting for you if you ever want to try again.

    • jannatwrites July 15, 2014 / 6:35 PM

      Thanks, Emilio. I still second-guess myself and am trying to get her to take them willingly, but she’s growing tired of that 🙂

      As for the photo – I’d LOVE to write another story! How about next week?

  9. Widdershins July 14, 2014 / 5:11 PM

    Widdercat is on Tapazole and it was always a fight to get her to take it, until we disolved it in water and aded a dash of cream. Score one for the staff! 😀

    • jannatwrites July 15, 2014 / 6:37 PM

      I loved the idea, Widdershins! I tried the cream mixture and it was a no go 😦 Oh well, at least it worked for you… that’s good news at least.

  10. pattisj July 14, 2014 / 9:17 PM

    Our daughter had a cat with kidney issues, too. They gave him IVs at home for awhile, then, like you, they decided to stop the torture–on him and them. They wanted his last days to be peaceful, and to still like them! Glad to hear your projects are nearly complete. You did get some great sky photos.

    • jannatwrites July 15, 2014 / 6:39 PM

      I’m glad someone else has made that choice, Patti. I feel guilty about it, like I’m not doing everything I possibly can. She’s just now getting to where she stays on the bed when I walk in the bedroom (except if I have shoes on – she runs…. smart kitty seems to know we don’t wear shoes in the house but I put them on before I scooped her up and took her to the vet.)

      • pattisj July 15, 2014 / 7:11 PM

        They are smart. 🙂 Sometimes the best thing we can do is let nature take its course rather than prolong it when the cat doesn’t appreciate the “help.” It’s never easy, is it? Hugs to both you and Sybil. (I hope I got her name right…recalling from memory.)

        • jannatwrites July 17, 2014 / 10:46 PM

          Even though the impulse is to do everything to keep them alive, the hard part figuring out if our efforts are for their benefit or ours. Thanks for the kindness toward me and my Cybil 🙂

  11. Eric Alagan July 14, 2014 / 10:39 PM

    There is plenty going on in your life, I see.

    I agree that you should let kitty alone – as I suspect they know better than humans when to fight, flee or fold.

    Peace,
    Eric

    • jannatwrites July 15, 2014 / 6:42 PM

      Oh it’s busy all right… and I’m sick to boot! When it rains it pours I suppose!

      We’ll let Cybil tell us when she’s ready. She’s fourteen, so she’s not a young kitty anymore.

  12. Lance July 15, 2014 / 12:02 PM

    Lots of rain here, in Georgia, lately. Wish I could send it to you.

    Love the imagery.

    • jannatwrites July 15, 2014 / 6:42 PM

      Thanks, Lance. If only giving away rain was a possibility!

  13. Kathy Combs (@KathyCombs16) July 16, 2014 / 12:22 PM

    Love your haiku. We have been hit with a cold spell here in the midwest. Cold for summer anyways. Highs in the 60’s. Lows in the 40’s 😛 My writing has slowed down considerably this summer with the kids underfoot. I joined the bronze lounge but haven’t been able to keep caught up on the reading and commenting but doing my best. Ah the lazy hazy days. So sorry to hear about your kitty. That is sad.

    • jannatwrites July 17, 2014 / 10:50 PM

      A summer cold spell like that would be welcome here! Our lows are in the sixties… thank goodness I’m not in Phoenix because the lows are in the eighties. (Right now, it’s 10:45 and 95 degrees… not refreshing at all!) You are more of a go-getter than me…. I think I’ll sit out the writing prompts until the Speakeasy comes back in August and go unprompted during the break.

  14. Sandra July 16, 2014 / 7:51 PM

    I’m sorry to hear about kitty, and I totally understand your decision to let it be. I hope she comes around and won’t hide anymore soon. The trench looks great! I can only imagine how much work was put into it! I look forward to seeing your un-prompted stories, and your inspirations for writing them! 🙂

    • jannatwrites July 17, 2014 / 10:54 PM

      She’s staying on the bed most of the time, now, so I’m relieved over that. I’m glad you like the trench… that’s the smaller of what we did. I’ll have to see if I can do a series of photos to show the size of what we did.

      I hope you do have time to read some of the unprompted stories. I posted the first one today and hope to do one a week 🙂

  15. Leigh W. Smith July 17, 2014 / 8:03 AM

    FWIW, Janna, I love reading the backstory to the story. I’d enjoy reading your thought processes into why you wrote a particular piece or line or phrase. On another note, I’m really sorry to read about Cybil. Cats really can be such sensitive creatures, and Cybil is lucky to have such a caring family. I wish you all a peaceful time with her and that she will improve (at least in quality of life if not quantity somehow, which sounds like that’s exactly what you’re doing with deciding to not pill her anymore). So, looking forward to your next story, whenever it arrives.

    • jannatwrites July 17, 2014 / 10:57 PM

      Thanks, Leigh! I actually posted the first unprompted story today along with the inspiration (strange as it is, haha!)

      Cats are sensitive and they mask their pain well, so we often don’t notice until they are REALLY sick. She is settling down now that we haven’t bothered her with pills for a few days.

  16. Dilip July 17, 2014 / 8:35 AM

    Nice post Janna and sorry about Kitty the sad part is they cannot even complain when in pain. Take care and cheers 🙂

    • jannatwrites July 17, 2014 / 10:58 PM

      Thanks, Dilip. She has been grouchier the last couple months, but I thought it was just age. In hindsight, I think it was pain.

  17. Imelda July 17, 2014 / 10:50 AM

    I am sorry to hear about your cat’s illness. I hope she regains her trust. Congratulations on the nearly finished project. At first, they seemed ‘impossible’ but now, look at where you are.

    Last, I enjoy reading the backstory behind your unprompted stories. It is as interesting as the story itself. 🙂

    • jannatwrites July 17, 2014 / 10:59 PM

      Thanks, Imelda. She is getting more comfortable with me again. It broke my heart when she kept diving behind the bed when I came toward her.

      I’m glad you liked the back story. Maybe I’ll make that a regular thing… it’s kind of fun 🙂

    • jannatwrites July 17, 2014 / 11:00 PM

      Thanks for thinking of me, Imelda! I checked it out and it does look challenging. I don’t think I can run with the big dogs yet, so I think I’ll pass this time 🙂

  18. agjorgenson July 17, 2014 / 7:47 PM

    Sorry about the cat. We lost ours last year, and miss her still. But I can appreciate your decision to take a pass on further torturing her. Love the Haiku, and the picture.

    • jannatwrites July 17, 2014 / 11:02 PM

      I love my kitty and don’t want to think about not having her around. I just want her to be more comfortable. Thanks for stopping by, Allen!

  19. GodGirl July 18, 2014 / 5:12 AM

    I hope your Dad can help, and you can hang in there till then. Technology, like many essential things, can be so annoying 😦
    I love the ‘Hopes for late-night rain’ line… I love the sound of rain while lying in bed… and what a beautiful backdrop you’ve shown us here in this photo…

    • jannatwrites July 18, 2014 / 11:38 PM

      Thanks, GodGirl. A soft rain is the perfect way to fall asleep. That doesn’t happen here often… the storms are often quite noisy!

  20. GodGirl July 18, 2014 / 5:13 AM

    All the best with your cat too… That sounds very distressing 😦

    • jannatwrites July 18, 2014 / 11:39 PM

      I appreciate the wishes, GodGirl. I had been encouraged, as she had been eating okay…. today, she isn’t so interested in food.

  21. pattyabr July 20, 2014 / 5:01 PM

    I’ve been absent from the blog scene. My mind has been distracted and unfocused. I hope to return soon. Alway enjoy your pics and poems. Hope you are well and enjoying the summer

    • jannatwrites July 23, 2014 / 4:28 PM

      Looking forward to you coming back, Patty! Thanks for stopping by to say ‘hi’ 🙂

  22. Tessa August 1, 2014 / 9:57 AM

    Sorry to hear about your kitty. It is hard to let them go. My thoughts are with you!

    • jannatwrites August 2, 2014 / 2:24 PM

      Thanks, Tessa! I’m not ready to let her go, but when she’s ready, I’ll get there.

  23. joannesisco August 25, 2014 / 8:11 AM

    I’m quite a bit behind in reading posts in my mailbox and I finally tripped over this one. I hope Cybil is doing ok.
    I too had a lot of trouble getting my cat Theo to take pills. He was an artist at spitting it across the room so when the time came for me to give him an antibiotic for an infection, I was pretty stressed at the thought of the fighting ahead. When I mentioned it to the vet, he gave it to me in a liquid form in a ‘syringe’ that I put on the skin on the inside of Theo’s ear. It was super easy, and makes far more sense than trying to give a cat a pill. As a bonus, Theo thought he was just getting love and attention 🙂
    Maybe they have something like that as an alternative for you?

    • jannatwrites August 27, 2014 / 6:09 PM

      Cybil seems comfortable but she’s still losing weight. I did finally get the medicine formulated so I could put it on her ear. The first time I gave it to her, she vomited for ten minutes (not all in one place, mind you.) I haven’t tried it again. I did get her a kitty window seat so she can sun and watch birds in our bedroom window. She likes it.

      • joannesisco August 28, 2014 / 4:12 AM

        I’m sure this is a very difficult time. Hopefully she can stay comfortable and peaceful.

        • jannatwrites August 29, 2014 / 10:45 AM

          Thanks, Joanne – that is what we hope for as well 🙂

Got an opinion? Share it!

