Haiku – Leaving Our Mark

Immersed in nature;

once peaceful, pristine, untouched-

marred by carelessness.

06-26 Tree

A few weeks ago, we traveled down a dirt road just to see where it went.  We happened upon an area of lush greenery – so dense, it reminded me a bit of hiking in Shenandoah.  Of course, I had to get out and take pictures because, let’s face it, most of Arizona is quite dry and brittle- especially this time of year.  As we were getting ready to go, a flash of red caught my eye (see center of photo).

I was disappointed to see it was a paper cup (Panda Express, I think) tossed into a tree.  I’d like to think there was a time when people cared and respected the land.  I’d like to think we could get there again.  The world is not a trash bin and my hope is that those who treat it as such will wake up and see the error in their ways.  (And if not, perhaps awakening underneath a trash heap might open their eyes 🙂 )

I hope you have a beautiful (litter-free) Thursday!

40 thoughts on “Haiku – Leaving Our Mark

  1. nrhatch June 26, 2014 / 6:34 AM

    Beautiful expression of a sentiment I share. I don’t understand people who leave more than footprints or take more than pictures.

    • jannatwrites June 27, 2014 / 7:44 AM

      Me too, Nancy. On every Scout outing, everyone picks up trash. It’s sad how much trash there is to retrieve.

    • jannatwrites June 27, 2014 / 7:44 AM

      True, but it happens all too often, Kathy!

  2. Kir Piccini June 26, 2014 / 7:46 AM

    your haiku is just so beautiful.
    I hope that we can all learn to be kinder to our environment too….from our forests to our public bathrooms, both places need a bit more kindness.

    • jannatwrites June 27, 2014 / 7:45 AM

      Oh, public bathrooms…yes, much more kindness needed there, too 🙂 Thanks for stopping by, Kir!

  3. Robin Leigh Morgan June 26, 2014 / 8:32 AM

    Your Haiku this time reminds of the “Keep America Beautiful” campaign. Where you first see how beautiful this country is. The scene quickly switches an you see an American Indian crying at what he sees – – – rubbish carelessly left behind by others.

    Well here’s my Haiku response for this week for the same topic

    Walk in virgin snow.
    You leave your footsteps behind.
    Follow me this way.

    • jannatwrites June 27, 2014 / 7:46 AM

      I like your take on the subject, as well, Robin! It does bother me when I see trash along hiking trails and campsites. It’s unsightly and not safe for the wildlife, either.

  4. Debbie June 26, 2014 / 8:48 AM

    Me, too, Janna. This earth is our home, and we can ill afford to trash it up. Somebody really had to work to get that cup in the tree, so it looks deliberate, doesn’t it??

    • jannatwrites June 27, 2014 / 7:47 AM

      I thought it looked pretty deliberate, too, Debbie. I usually pick the trash up, but this time, I left it because I was wearing shorts and didn’t want to walk through the dense greenery to get to it (because I have no idea what might be lurking in there!) Had I been wearing jeans and boots, I might’ve tried 🙂

  5. newwhitebear June 26, 2014 / 8:49 AM

    Nature, haiku and image offer peace and serenity

    • jannatwrites June 27, 2014 / 7:48 AM

      Thanks, Newwhitebear…. I’m glad you stopped by to read it 🙂

  6. suzicate June 26, 2014 / 9:50 AM

    I’m an always terribly disappointed to see how much garbage people leave behind on the roadsides, in the woods, and along the trails. My utter dismay was a few weeks ago at a stoplight, a woman opened her window and tossed out a fast food drinking cup onto the roadway. I wanted to make a scene, but feared she might morph into a road-rash scene!

    • jannatwrites June 27, 2014 / 7:50 AM

      Oh my goodness, that’s pretty bold! I’ve always impressed on the kids they should throw their trash away. If they dropped so much as a gum wrapper, I’d make them pick it up (when I do laundry and find trash from their pockets mixed in, I try not to be annoyed… I made them that way 🙂 ) One time, when my older son was around 4, he saw a man drop trash on the sidewalk… without me prompting him, he ran over and picked it up and handed it back to him with an innocent, “you dropped this.” It was so hard not to start laughing.

  7. pattisj June 26, 2014 / 10:27 PM

    That’s sad. I was surprised to learn how much garbage is floating in the ocean.

    • jannatwrites June 27, 2014 / 7:52 AM

      That’s horrible, too, Patti. I guess people think because the water is vast, garbage disappears?

  8. diannegray June 27, 2014 / 1:47 PM

    It’s so annoying when people don’t respect the beauty of nature. I found some trash down at our creek the other day and felt like hanging out in a tree to wait for them to come back so I could throw stones at them! (LOL – I shouldn’t get that angry). But it is our private property and when I find out who it is, I’ll become the landowner from hell 😉

    • jannatwrites June 30, 2014 / 10:50 PM

      You crack me up, Dianne! Those litter bugs better watch out… I don’t think they’ll know what hit them!

      (You kind of sound like me, only I’m ready to hunt down the people who can’t clean up after their dog… when I find them, I will return the prize to their doorstep 🙂 )

  9. mbarkersimpson June 27, 2014 / 2:30 PM

    It’s sad how little respect people seem to have for nature. It’s not only the effect it has on the environment, but the wildlife and all living creatures. It’s a great poem – powerful and straight to the point 🙂

    • jannatwrites June 30, 2014 / 10:52 PM

      Thanks, Mel! I don’t know if people realize that litter not only puts animals in danger, but it can also put other people in danger (for instance, food left out at a campsite can attract bears.)

      • mbarkersimpson July 1, 2014 / 11:27 AM

        I’m sure once those people have faced a bear they won’t do it again! It’s a shame though, and in all seriousness, it makes you wonder what it will take to make people clean up after themselves. I’m hesitant to say that they wouldn’t leave litter lying around in their own homes, but then I’ve been in homes where that’s exactly what people do. I suppose we have to set an example and raise awareness where we can 🙂

        • jannatwrites July 4, 2014 / 4:38 PM

          I’ve watched Hoarders on TV so I won’t make any assumptions about others’ homes, either :-P. Setting an example is probably the best thing, Mel.

  10. Carol Ann Hoel June 27, 2014 / 5:55 PM

    I, too, grieve when I see litter. It’s inconsiderate of people to spoil the beauty that should have been preserved. Blessings, Janna…

    • jannatwrites June 30, 2014 / 10:53 PM

      There hasn’t been a hike where we haven’t found trash to pick up. On a scout hike earlier this year, the boys set a glass bottle on a rock so they could pick it up on the way back. By the time we hiked back down, someone had smashed the bottle, making it nearly impossible to clean up.

  11. Emilio Pasquale June 27, 2014 / 10:23 PM

    A beautiful haiku. And I’m not a big fan of the genre. Unfortunately, I’m of a mind that we as a nation talk a good game but as a whole, treat the land as if it were our own personal garbage dump. Since we first got here!

    • jannatwrites June 30, 2014 / 10:55 PM

      Yeah, even our recycling efforts are a bit lame. It’s a step in the right direction, but may be too little, too late. Thanks for reading, Emilio! (Haiku/poetry aren’t for everyone, but I’m scattered… I write a bit of everything 🙂 )

  12. vishalbheeroo June 28, 2014 / 4:14 AM

    People need to be educated properly on how to make the world a better place. This place is a natural treat and, at least, respect it. Why don’t they litter their own house!

    • jannatwrites June 30, 2014 / 10:56 PM

      Haha, I’ve watched the TV show, Hoarders, so I know there are people who litter their houses as well 🙂 Seriously, though, if we all picked up after ourselves, we wouldn’t have the problem. (So simple, yet so difficult!) Glad you stopped by, Vishal!

  13. joannesisco June 30, 2014 / 1:03 AM

    Loved your haiku. Like you, I find it really jarring to find litter when I’m out in nature. It feels so wrong and … intrusive.

    • jannatwrites June 30, 2014 / 10:58 PM

      It does seem so out of place, Joanne. I’m glad you stopped by and enjoyed the haiku 🙂

  14. frederick anderson June 30, 2014 / 1:40 AM

    I think one of my favourite images (in memory, not a photo) was of an abandoned, rusty wreck of a car with a tree growing straight through the middle of it, from floorboards to sunroof! Nature has a way of compensating for our vandalism but yes, I agree, we are capable of doing so much better.

    • jannatwrites June 30, 2014 / 11:00 PM

      Oooh, that would’ve been interesting to see, Frederick. In some ways, I do think nature adapts to environment. However, it does make me sad when I hear of animals injured by our garbage.

  15. Sarah Ann June 30, 2014 / 11:59 AM

    Oh yes, all litterers being forced to sleep under a trash heap. I wonder who they they think is going to clean up after them. And why don’t they care? I have to day, though, that the cup adds focus to your photo.

    • jannatwrites June 30, 2014 / 11:01 PM

      I wonder if the trash would get their attention then? Maybe, maybe not! Thanks for reading, Sarah Ann 🙂

  16. Sandra June 30, 2014 / 7:22 PM

    It irks me so much to see garbage in nature. As if there isn’t enough in cities and towns that they need to expand into the pristine nature. Sigh. Great message to send out there, Janna. Let’s hope we get better about carelessness!

    • jannatwrites June 30, 2014 / 11:03 PM

      I hope so too, Sandra. My kids (I think) are trained in the ways of not leaving trash. They tell me of friends who do litter and I just hope the bad habits don’t rub off.

  17. Imelda July 4, 2014 / 8:06 PM

    It is sad to see how careless and disrespectful people can be (even with what may be called a small matter as not littering). Closer to home (or right in our front yard), I always get irritated that some thoughtless passerby stick his/her coffee cup/soda/ water container into our hedge.

    • jannatwrites July 5, 2014 / 1:08 AM

      I’m not a fan of picking up others’ trash, either…it’s even ruder when our own land is violated. So tempting to find the culprit and return the trash to their own house, Imelda.

  18. Tessa December 8, 2014 / 12:11 AM

    Another great Haiku!

    • jannatwrites December 8, 2014 / 8:57 PM

      Thanks, Tessa! I’m glad you stopped by to read it 🙂

Got an opinion? Share it!

