Passionate Kissses (100-Word Song)

On the eve of my fortieth birthday, through a wine buzz, I see the myth. If it seems too good to be true, it is. Everyone knows that.

My sweaty hands cradle the phone. My fingers want to dial your number, but my heart won’t let me; she might answer. I throw the phone. The “thud” doesn’t appease my discontent. Even when my heart wins, it loses.

I thought I’d have it all: marriage, career, a someday-family. Instead, I’m broken and alone. I want “us” back; I need your passionate kisses.

Is it too much (or too late) to ask?

~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-

This is my response to Lance’s 100-word song challenge, which is to write a 100-word story inspired by Lucinda Williams’ song, Passionate Kisses.  I don’t regularly participate in the challenge, but I appreciate him allowing me to join in when the mood strikes.  If you feel inspired, write your own story and click the robot image above to get to Lance’s site where you can link it up.

For those who regularly read, or might care, I wanted to reiterate that this is fiction – there isn’t anything here taken from my life (already passed 40, don’t drink alcohol, I’ve got kids and a job, and my husband doesn’t have a girlfriend that I’m aware of…)   Since this was on the depressing side, and it will likely be my last post for the week, I wanted to leave you with a smile.  Or at least not completely bummed out 🙂

We like to go on hikes with the kids because it uses up some of their seemingly endless stores of energy.  When they want to go home and take a nap, it’s a good hike. When they lay down on the trail, it’s a great hike!

When they want to go home and take a nap, it's a good hike.  When they lay down on the trail, it's a great hike!
This is Mom’s and Dad’s favorite hike…
33 thoughts on “Passionate Kissses (100-Word Song)

  1. Deborah May 28, 2014 / 6:13 AM

    wow, this is really full of emotion–uncertainty, loneliness, desperation, regret, a slight dash of hope. And so precise in the number of words. Well-dome!

    • jannatwrites May 29, 2014 / 8:49 AM

      Thanks, Deborah! For some reason, I kept ending up with 99 or 102 words so I was happy to finally reach 100 even 🙂

  2. nrhatch May 28, 2014 / 9:26 AM

    Well done! I didn’t find it depressing ~ it reminded me of a college buddy who had been homecoming queen and had dated all the top jocks. After college, she tended to choose men who were already taken. I expect she didn’t really want the type of commitment required by married couples who remain together year after (tedious) year. 😎

    I appreciated the note of humor you ended with just the same! Thanks, Janna.

    • jannatwrites May 29, 2014 / 8:54 AM

      Haha, year after tedious year… sometimes it can seem that way. Thankfully it’s not always like that 🙂 I’m glad you liked the humor, Nancy. It really was funny when my son took the rest quite literally. I was tired too, but not THAT tired!

      • nrhatch May 29, 2014 / 11:17 AM

        Did you carry him the rest of the way?

        We’re celebrating our 30th Anniversary this year ~ it hasn’t become tedious yet. I expect some commitment phobic folks view having a merry-go-round of partners as a plus. Not me. I like being married to my best friend.

        • jannatwrites May 29, 2014 / 11:28 AM

          Oh goodness, no! He weighs almost 70 pounds so he’s too heavy for me to carry. We rested and ate some lunch and he perked back up. (We never go hiking without food… it’s great bribery.)

          Congrats on the 30 years, Nancy 🙂

        • nrhatch May 29, 2014 / 11:32 AM

          Stopping to refuel is the best part of a long hike!

        • jannatwrites May 29, 2014 / 10:07 PM

          That’s for sure, Nancy!

  3. Debbie May 28, 2014 / 1:06 PM

    Aw, gotta love it when kids hike themselves right into a nap! Funny, but I didn’t think this story was memoir — guess that’s a good thing, huh?!

    • jannatwrites May 29, 2014 / 8:55 AM

      Yep, good thing indeed, Debbie! That was the only hike that he’s been ready to curl up and nap right then and there.

  4. Carol Ann Hoel May 28, 2014 / 2:09 PM

    I liked the story. I didn’t think for a moment that it was about you personally. Good writing. I like the last line about passionate kisses, which is the one utilizing the prompt. That says to me that you wrote with a plan and accomplished it. Blessings to you, Janna…

    • jannatwrites May 29, 2014 / 8:56 AM

      Thanks for reading, Carol Ann! This one was particularly hard for me to get down to 100 words. I had to cut many details to get there.

  5. Tessa May 28, 2014 / 3:02 PM

    Great story and I would be the one lying down on the hike LOL!

    • jannatwrites May 29, 2014 / 8:57 AM

      Haha, I would’ve taken your pic too, Tessa 🙂 There were a couple adults who were going to quit but after a rest, they ended up completing the hike.

  6. Eric Alagan May 28, 2014 / 6:27 PM

    Sad theme – but well written.

    We grab as much as we can carry – too much and they’ll fell and break.

    Peace,
    Eric

    • jannatwrites May 29, 2014 / 9:00 AM

      We think we can have it all, but in reality, when we do too much, not everything is done well. (For instance, with all of our outdoor projects taking so much time, the inside has suffered… I wouldn’t eat food dropped on our floors right now!) Thanks for reading and sharing your comment, Eric!

  7. slfuchs May 29, 2014 / 2:08 AM

    Had me from first sentence. Glad to learn it’s not about you.

  8. pattisj May 29, 2014 / 11:54 AM

    Love your hike rating system! That is a sad story of love, love lost, and a lot of regrets.

    • jannatwrites May 29, 2014 / 10:09 PM

      Finding a hike that doesn’t make us want to take a nap too is the hard part! Thanks for stopping by, Patti.

  9. diannegray May 29, 2014 / 1:38 PM

    Good work on this, Janna. I find it hard to get the exact number of words!

    I’m glad the kids know when to walk and when to rest – that’d probably be my position after a hike! 😉

    • jannatwrites May 29, 2014 / 10:11 PM

      Haha, sometimes I feel like curling up and taking a nap. The only thing stopping me is the idea of ants crawling all over me 🙂

  10. Kathy Combs (@KathyCombs16) May 30, 2014 / 4:06 AM

    This was awesome!! Filled with emotion and depth. Lately I am on a sad story kick. Not sure why, but when i sit down to write that is what keeps coming out no matter what the challenge. I don’t think being sad is a downside though. It makes the stories more real in my opinion because let’s face it life isn’t always a big happy party. Well done!

    • jannatwrites June 2, 2014 / 11:38 PM

      You’re right – sometimes life is a bummer, Kathy. I don’t think I can pull off a Disney happily-ever-after ending, but sometimes we do find peace after turmoil.

  11. vishalbheeroo May 30, 2014 / 8:29 AM

    Is it too much to ask? Longing for love, cuddling and emotional warmth. Brilliant:)

    • jannatwrites June 2, 2014 / 11:39 PM

      Thanks, Vishal! I think we do want it all… and it shouldn’t be too much to ask 🙂

    • jannatwrites June 2, 2014 / 11:42 PM

      Thanks, Milk Fever… I’m glad you dropped by- I haven’t seen you around for a really long time!

  12. agjorgenson June 2, 2014 / 6:42 PM

    So nice that you hike with your kids. We always tried to do that while vacationing, and they have become avid walkers. Great story, too, by the way!

    • jannatwrites June 3, 2014 / 1:45 AM

      We enjoy being outdoors. I like taking pictures more than hiking itself, though! As a kid, we didn’t do hikes, so it wasn’t something I got into until adulthood… I found the exercise more exhilarating than a regular walk. Glad you stopped by, Allen 🙂

  13. Emilio Pasquale June 3, 2014 / 8:21 AM

    I enjoyed the story and was happy to read the disclaimer at the end because I did think it might have come from personal experience. Great job. And I was particularly moved by your foresight in blocking the face of your son! It bothers me when people post photos of kids on line- even though I have been guilty of it in the past!

    • jannatwrites June 3, 2014 / 8:38 AM

      Thanks for reading, Emilio! I am a bit paranoid of the internet, or rather what can be done with images on the internet. I didn’t show my own face for several years but wouldn’t dream of putting my kids out there without some concealing… some people do, but it’s all about comfort level, I guess 🙂

Got an opinion? Share it!

