Til Clicks Do Us Part (Speakeasy #163)

02-04 Remote

Aggravation welled to a boiling point

as channels flickered in rapid succession

in 65-inch high definition.

Click. Click. Click. Click.

The device death-gripped

in his right hand,

he surfed 90 channels-per-hour.

She contemplated staging a coup;

a hostile takeover;

usurping of power.

With glazed eyes,

he defended his journey;

virtual visitation from Africa to Italy.

She released an exasperated sigh

when he claimed self-discovery

via vigorous thumb flexing.

Click. Click. Click. Click.

She stomped from the room

as he opened a black hole,

some 12 million light years away.

A whoosh of wind stifled distant screaming,

but she never looked back,

she just kept walking.

~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-

This is my response to the Speakeasy weekly prompt, which is to write a piece in 750-words or less (mine is a mere 104 words) AND 1) use “She never looked back, she just kept walking” as the last line, AND 2) make some sort of reference to a sci-fi short film, The Device.Β  (It’s pretty cool – if you have 3 minutes and 40 seconds, I recommend watching it!)

To recap my progression in weekly responses, I had a couple weeks of weird, followed by depressing last week.Β  Nancy requested something with a happier ending this week… I don’t know that getting sucked into a black hole is exactly a happy ending, but perhaps the silly humor will make up for it? πŸ˜›

The prompt is open to anyone, so if you’d like to check it out, click the badge below.Β  (Note:Β  the challenge opens for links on Tuesday.)

53 thoughts on “Til Clicks Do Us Part (Speakeasy #163)

  1. Imelda May 26, 2014 / 6:02 AM

    At least she walked away and not start a fight. πŸ™‚

    • jannatwrites May 26, 2014 / 7:25 PM

      Can’t fight when the other person clicked himself into a black hole πŸ˜› Glad you stopped by, Imelda!

  2. suzicate May 26, 2014 / 6:24 AM

    I always lose when it comes to the remote!

    • jannatwrites May 26, 2014 / 7:26 PM

      Me too, Suzicate. Good thing I don’t watch TV much so my attention is on other things.

  3. nrhatch May 26, 2014 / 8:14 AM

    Scrolling through channels is like getting sucked into a Black Hole! Thanks for the link to the film.

    I’d like a Device like that ~ what a great way to circumvent TSA requirements and pat downs!

    And, yes, this silly humor is great! Also enjoyed the humor in your contemplated coup. 😎

    • jannatwrites May 26, 2014 / 7:27 PM

      Haha, it sure can seem like it, Nancy! Avoiding TSA would be an added benefit… but we’d have to be careful where we wished to go. Glad you liked the humor… who knows what next week will bring πŸ™‚

      • nrhatch May 27, 2014 / 10:59 AM

        I like that about your blog . . . it never gives me that “same old, same old” feeling.

        “SURPRISE! Today we’ve got dismembering . . . next week, we’ll do some remembering . . . and then, perhaps, a visit to Sing Sing.” 😎

        • jannatwrites May 29, 2014 / 8:22 AM

          Thanks, Nancy! I really am that all over the place when I write – no wonder I can’t figure out what genre I write πŸ™‚ )

  4. Debbie May 26, 2014 / 12:03 PM

    Nothing like a remote control to start a fight that can’t be won — at least “she” and “he” didn’t come to blows, ha!

    • jannatwrites May 26, 2014 / 7:28 PM

      It can get ugly, Debbie! With him in a black hole, a fight is unlikely πŸ™‚

  5. Widdershins May 26, 2014 / 1:18 PM

    Great short film! Great short story! πŸ™‚

    • jannatwrites May 26, 2014 / 7:28 PM

      I’m glad you liked them, Widdershins. I though the film was interesting. I watched it several times πŸ™‚

  6. diannegray May 26, 2014 / 2:12 PM

    I discovered yesterday that I can us my phone as a remote *insert evil laugh here* so when I’m trying to sleep and his highness is watching the tele I can turn it down or off from my bedroom. LOL – now there’s a black hole! πŸ˜€

    • jannatwrites May 26, 2014 / 7:29 PM

      Oh that is deliciously evil, Dianne! You can really mess with one’s head with that kind of power… have fun πŸ™‚

  7. Deborah May 26, 2014 / 4:24 PM

    This piece is great. It’s a rare woman who can’t related to this! I am also delighted by Dianne Gray’s discovery above about using her phone as a remote. More women should check out this possible hidden power. A coup indeed! πŸ™‚

    • jannatwrites May 26, 2014 / 7:30 PM

      I got a chuckle from Dianne’s comment too, Deborah! Sometimes, I’ll hide the remote in between the couch cushions so it takes him a bit longer to change my channel πŸ™‚

      • Deborah May 26, 2014 / 7:32 PM

        We all do what we have to do sometimes. πŸ™‚

        • jannatwrites May 29, 2014 / 8:23 AM

          Yes, but it only delays the inevitable (he can be quite determined at times!)

  8. Michael May 26, 2014 / 4:26 PM

    And that’s why I forswore TV and rely entirely on Netflix. No danger of getting sucked into a black hole by Netflix. (one hopes).

    • jannatwrites May 26, 2014 / 7:31 PM

      Maybe it’s a safe loophole… but then again, you never know, Michael πŸ™‚

  9. Eric Alagan May 26, 2014 / 7:33 PM

    Familiar battles – thanks to computers and internet streaming – these battles are now history in many homes πŸ™‚

    • jannatwrites May 29, 2014 / 8:25 AM

      I think it’s a sign we should watch less TV, Eric! We generally agree on what to watch, with the exception of Cops and golf… I tune out when he watches either of those!

  10. vishalbheeroo May 27, 2014 / 5:51 AM

    Absolutely delighted how u made time travel and fighting over places so delicate with words and this inspiring poem. brilliant, jannat. Guess, its the new battle of sexes:)

    • jannatwrites May 29, 2014 / 8:26 AM

      I guess just about anything can be a battle as long as both people feel strongly about their positions. In our house, I don’t care too much because there are few things that I really want to watch on TV. Thanks for reading, Vishal!

  11. Sean May 27, 2014 / 6:52 AM

    I got a good chuckle out of this. It’s not that we channel surf, it’s that we multi-task with what we are watching. we may be watching several shows at once so we just have to keep clicking. It could be that we did not find anything really interesting on also and we need to see if something interesting is on every 5 minutes. Of course when something really interesting is on and it is the only interesting thing on, then the channel may stay for a little bit, but at any given time, something more interesting could come on so we have to check. As far as getting sucked into a black hole, well that happens at times also. Hope you enjoyed your weekend. Take care

    • jannatwrites May 29, 2014 / 8:28 AM

      The multiple show watching drives me nuts because the commercials on each channel never coincide so something is always missed. Thankfully I’m usually doing something else (reading, playing a game on my phone, writing) so I I don’t get to focused on the annoyance of it all. Now when he goes to bed for the night and I have to search for the remote so I can turn the volume down – that’s annoying πŸ™‚ Thanks for reading, Sean. I hope you have a great weekend!

      • Sean May 30, 2014 / 8:44 AM

        I’ll remember that lol

  12. Tessa May 27, 2014 / 3:26 PM

    Oh Janna a black hole. How perfect! I hate it when people channel surf constantly. Well written! πŸ™‚

    • jannatwrites May 29, 2014 / 8:31 AM

      Thanks, Tessa! If I watch TV, I generally land on Forensic Files or Impractical Jokers and I don’t switch the channels πŸ™‚

  13. Suzanne May 28, 2014 / 7:53 AM

    Love this! I can’t stand when my husband does that – clicking too fast to actually watch anything. A black hole is a nice solution to the problem, albeit somewhat permanent. πŸ˜€

    • jannatwrites May 29, 2014 / 8:32 AM

      Yeah, it is a little permanent, Suzanne! When my husband starts the fast clicking, my sarcastic comment of, “come on, I know you don’t think that fast” usually slows him down a bit πŸ™‚

      • Suzanne May 29, 2014 / 9:41 AM

        LOL! That’s a great comment – I’ll have to try it on my husband. πŸ˜€

        • jannatwrites May 29, 2014 / 11:24 AM

          It’ll probably catch him off-guard!

  14. James Bulls May 28, 2014 / 8:06 AM

    Bwa ha ha ha! I loved this itty bitty story. Married folks who fight over the remote will see the humor in this. In particular, I be the women who go crazy watching their husbands click from one channel to the next without watching anything for longer than 5 seconds will have a laugh. It sounds like something my wife would tell me: “James, if you don’t stop changing channels, something terrible is going to happen to you.”

    • jannatwrites May 29, 2014 / 8:34 AM

      Haha, and men should heed the warning! I’m not too attached to TV so it doesn’t bother me too much. I still get annoyed when I can’t find the remote… between my husband and my 2 sons, it can end up left in the oddest places. Thanks so much for stopping by, James!

  15. Leah Sakacs May 28, 2014 / 4:50 PM

    Staring too long at the old tube will suck anyone into a digital vortex. And you miss out so much around you- especially the people right beside you! I enjoyed the all-too-true humor in this.

    • jannatwrites May 29, 2014 / 8:35 AM

      The TV can be a time waster (though I prefer to waste my time on its cousin – the computer!) Thanks for reading, Leah!

  16. tnkerr May 28, 2014 / 6:52 PM

    Janna – this is great. I think I’m safe though. I only turn the TV on to watch hockey games! That means it stays on the same channel for about three hours and then I turn it off. No black holes for this kid!

    • jannatwrites May 29, 2014 / 8:37 AM

      Haha, I think you might be okay, Tnkerr! When my husband is home, the TV is on all day… when he’s not, I’ll have it on for a couple hours at night. If there’s nothing I want to watch, I let the kids set it on Disney channel. I don’t mind most of the shows and my younger son will snuggle up with me while watching, so it’s an added bonus for me πŸ™‚

  17. fatgirlinboxinggloves May 28, 2014 / 7:48 PM

    Ha – I love the vigorous thumb flexing and the black hole. Great job with the prompts.

    • jannatwrites May 29, 2014 / 8:38 AM

      Thanks, Karen! I appreciate you reading it.

  18. manjunathkulkarni May 28, 2014 / 10:32 PM

    Nice take on prompt.. liked it πŸ™‚
    I remember the line from Seinfeld, which is so true about men watching TV..
    “Men are not interested in seeing what’s on TV. They are interested in seeing WHAT ELSE is on TV!” πŸ˜‰

    • jannatwrites May 29, 2014 / 8:39 AM

      Ah, it must be human nature to always look for something better, I suppose! I’m glad you stopped by to read my prompt response, Manjunathkulkarni πŸ™‚

  19. saroful May 29, 2014 / 8:39 AM

    This is clearly the lost verse to Cellblock Tango (“he had it coming” from Chicago).

    • jannatwrites May 29, 2014 / 8:41 AM

      I’ve not seen Chicago, but now you’ve got me curious to check it out, Saroful!

    • jannatwrites May 29, 2014 / 10:09 PM

      She said, “Oh, cool – I can watch HGTV now!” Only kidding, Kathy πŸ™‚

  20. EagleAye May 30, 2014 / 10:29 PM

    Yup. And that’s why channel-surfing too fast is a bad idea. It rips a hole in the time-space continuum. Definitely bad news. πŸ˜‰

    • jannatwrites June 2, 2014 / 11:41 PM

      They should have warnings about that, you know πŸ™‚ Thanks for reading, Eagle Aye!

Got an opinion? Share it!

