Mind’s Eye (Haiku)

My husband sees rocks;

I see a cluster of bears.

Maybe we’re both wrong.

05-21  Red Mountain57

But really, I know I’m right 😛

Only kidding! However, in the photo above, I do see a momma bear upright with three cubs in front of her. At first, I just saw a cool looking lava rock. The bears came later. My husband rarely sees things in rocks, tree stumps, clouds, etc. He often sees what is and I see what could be. We expend much energy in defending what’s right and sparring with what is wrong. Our perception of right and wrong.

We don’t consider that we could both be right. Or, we could both be wrong.

~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-

It’s been a couple weeks since I’ve done an update on our outdoor projects. We’ve seen progress, but not completion. We now have one section of fencing up (all the posts are set in concrete, so we’re close!)

05-21 Fence

The drainage trenches are coming along, but not close enough to anticipate the exhilaration of being finished. Maybe in a couple more weeks!   Several neighbors have stopped to tell us our rocks are looking good.  Behind our backs, I’m pretty sure they talk about how crazy we are 🙂

05-21 Trench

Until these projects are done, I’ll likely continue with 2 posts a week.  That’s it for me this week- have a wonderful weekend!

35 thoughts on “Mind’s Eye (Haiku)

  1. Robin Leigh Morgan May 21, 2014 / 5:48 AM

    You’re totally right Janna, it’s all a matter of one perspective as they look at something. The same idea can be applied to clouds.

    Since you’ve written how you and your OH looked at the same object and saw different things, you’ve given me another chance to respond to the same topic with a HAIKU of my own?

    I see one-eyed man.
    One-eyed man looks back at me.
    Which one can see more?

    Hope you’ll enjoy reading this “thought-provoking” one. !!! 🙂 🙂 🙂

    • jannatwrites May 22, 2014 / 8:40 PM

      We’ve experienced the same thing with clouds! I like your haiku… it reminds me of the math story problems I struggled to solve in elementary school 🙂 Thanks for reading and sharing your creativity, Robin! Hope you have a nice Memorial Day Weekend.

  2. Imelda May 21, 2014 / 6:07 AM

    I see the bear, too! Could the difference in perception be due to the differences between the male and female brain.

    I say you have made a lot of progress with that project. The result of the project will certainly make all the troubles worthwhile. Your place will be the envy of your neighbors one day. 🙂

    • jannatwrites May 22, 2014 / 8:42 PM

      I’m glad I’m not the only one to see a bear, Imelda! I don’t know that we’ll be the envy of the neighborhood, but we’ll shovel less displaced dirt during storms (I hope!)

  3. suzicate May 21, 2014 / 6:11 AM

    I see what you see…the hubby sees what your hubby sees. Maybe it’s a female’male thing or maybe it;s a writer thing!

    • jannatwrites May 22, 2014 / 8:44 PM

      Either one could explain the difference, Suzicate! It is interesting that your husband didn’t see bears, either, though…

  4. Sean May 21, 2014 / 6:38 AM

    At first I saw the momma bear but didn’t really see the other 3 you were talking about. The one right in front came out later and I guess the other 2 are side by side or such. It could also be an otter on his back with his hands on his chest and the 2 bears at the end are his feet.
    Your projects are coming along well. Being a mother, wife, cook, landscaper and whatever else life tends to throw at you this week, you have accomplished a lot. Just think of all the muscles you are building by doing this manual labor stuff. As for the neighbors, if they think you’re a little crazy, they won’t mess with you. Reminds me of the Fresh Prince of Bel-Air episode where Will tries to come off as having a psychotic tick. Have a great week and enjoy the holiday.

    • jannatwrites May 22, 2014 / 8:52 PM

      You’re the first male to see any bears, Sean! (Sorry, there’s no prize for that- just acknowledgement 🙂 )

      Haha, I like your theory about the neighbors… could explain why they cross the street when they get to our house! (only kidding, many do talk to us.) I hope you have a nice, relaxing holiday, too!

  5. Debbie May 21, 2014 / 7:52 AM

    I suspect a lot of what you see vs. what your hubby sees is just a difference in people. Some of us are hardwired to use our imaginations, to find the odd in normal things, and to view what could be rather than what is. Others, not so much. It’s probably a good thing you can celebrate your differences and accept them for what they are, rather than trying to make the other person just like you!

    Have a wonderful holiday weekend and hang in there — your project is coming along nicely!

    • jannatwrites May 22, 2014 / 8:53 PM

      You’re probably right, Debbie. If my husband were like me, it’s probably drive me nuts 🙂 I hope you have a relaxing holiday weekend… I still can’t believe May is nearly over!

  6. nrhatch May 21, 2014 / 8:53 AM

    Your perspective on perspective reminds me of this song:

    “Look there, daddy, do you see? There’s a horse in striped pajamas.”

    “No, that’s not what it is at all . . . that’s an animal people call a zebra.”

    “I see. But it still looks like a horse in striped pajamas to me.”

    • jannatwrites May 22, 2014 / 8:54 PM

      Haha, striped pajamas – cute! And so much more creative than a zebra.

  7. imab00kworm May 21, 2014 / 9:06 AM

    I saw the bears too. I have an overactive imagination an make connections between a ton of different things (which lead to interesting trails of thought). At school we have tables with what could maybe be likened to sand and sometimes I like finding shapes in them or just joining up the dots 🙂

    • jannatwrites May 22, 2014 / 9:18 PM

      I know what you mean about the the thought trails… sometimes it is an interesting journey, Imab00kworm!

    • jannatwrites May 22, 2014 / 9:44 PM

      Yay, another one for the bears 🙂 Thanks for stopping by, Kathy!

  8. diannegray May 21, 2014 / 2:44 PM

    I saw the bears as well. Sometimes I look at the clouds and say, ‘look there’s a camel with a walking stick’ or something similarly ridiculous and hubby nods and agrees with me (I’m thinking he does this because he probably thinks I’m nuts!) 😉

    There’s a lot of rock work there, Janna. Great job! 😀

    • jannatwrites May 22, 2014 / 9:45 PM

      Haha, so funny that your husband agrees, Dianne! Smart man 🙂

  9. Widdershins May 21, 2014 / 7:29 PM

    Huzzah! Your gate has a fence! … I think the rock is a beaver contemplating the majesty of the Milky Way.

    • jannatwrites May 22, 2014 / 9:46 PM

      The gate doesn’t look so lonely now, Widdershins 🙂 I like your creative take on the rocks… I didn’t see that one at all!

  10. Sue May 22, 2014 / 8:37 AM

    Love the haiku – I write many of those also – well I used to. I see the bear. Of course you’re right!

    • jannatwrites May 22, 2014 / 9:56 PM

      Thanks for reading, Sue! I’ve been on a haiku lately 🙂

  11. Eric Alagan May 22, 2014 / 6:25 PM

    Amazing what the mind’s eyes see – all depends on which side of the brain we use more – left (logic) or right (creative). Both right – you’re right that your’re right and you’re right that he is wrong. LOL.

    Good one,
    Eric

    • jannatwrites May 22, 2014 / 9:58 PM

      Haha, you crack me up, Eric! I don’t know if he’d see it the same way, but I guess right is good no matter how you look at it 🙂

  12. atrm61 May 23, 2014 / 10:50 AM

    Will agree with you-I too see the Momma Bear but the cubs loped in and flung themselves on her, after I read your response-change of perspective or you may say your imagination coloured mine,being stronger 🙂 I was more focused on those anthills in front 😛

    Loved the Haiku !And hey,the fencing really looks cool and I am awed by how much you done with those tons and tons of rocks:-) You go girl -salute your enterprise and hard work,love ya sweet Janna ❤

    • jannatwrites May 26, 2014 / 7:15 PM

      Now the anthills… I didn’t even see that, Atreyee! Our fencing is up, now we just have the finishing touches and rake the dirt mounds out. Getting closer 🙂

  13. Sandra May 24, 2014 / 2:47 PM

    I think you and hubby are both right! 🙂 Either these just come to me or I have no imagination whatsoever. I haven’t heard about your outdoorsy projects since I’ve been MIA for a few weeks (sorry), but the pictures look great! It must take a lot of time for these! I’m so glad you can still post twice a week, Janna! I’m lucky if I can post twice a month! 😦

    • jannatwrites May 26, 2014 / 7:16 PM

      Thanks for stopping by, Sandra. We’ve been working on these projects for the last couple months. We should be completely done in June… if we survive it all, haha!

  14. Tessa May 25, 2014 / 6:00 PM

    I love the Haiku and I see bears too! 🙂

    • jannatwrites May 26, 2014 / 7:24 PM

      Thanks, Tessa! It’s good to know that others see bears, too 🙂

  15. pattisj June 25, 2014 / 2:18 PM

    Placing those rocks looks like a lot of work!

      • pattisj June 26, 2014 / 9:55 AM

        It takes time, on top of all the other things that need to be done. Hubby insists on wearing clothes to work every day, so there’s always laundry waiting.

        • jannatwrites June 27, 2014 / 7:17 AM

          Haha, probably a good thing he insists on wearing clothes… otherwise, there could be other issues!

        • pattisj June 27, 2014 / 10:20 AM

          You make a good point.

Got an opinion? Share it!

