In The Water (Haiku)

Ancient water flows

from arsenic-tainted spring.

Drink at your own risk!

04-29 Montezumas Well3

I was fascinated by Montezuma Well, mostly because in the desert, you don’t often come across a spring that constantly replenishes a pool of water.  Cool, right?   Of course, it figures that the water has tested for high levels of arsenic.  (I read this on a sign after my husband let one of our dogs have a drink of ‘fresh’ water flowing in a nearby stream.)

I think my husband now realizes that it’s beneficial to read the informational signs posted throughout monument grounds.  However, I don’t think it will make him any more likely to read them in future.  It’s kind of like knowing that broccoli is good for you, but choosing to eat chocolate instead 🙂

24 thoughts on “In The Water (Haiku)

  1. suzicate April 29, 2014 / 5:55 AM

    Great haiku and pretty picture.
    Love the comment about your husband…it’s a man thing!

    • jannatwrites April 30, 2014 / 6:26 AM

      Maybe it is, Suzicate 🙂 I appreciate you stopping by!

  2. nrhatch April 29, 2014 / 6:07 AM

    Love the haiku ~ never have seen/heard of Montezuma’s Well. I assume the dog is OK? S/he probably has eaten worse, right?

    • jannatwrites April 30, 2014 / 6:27 AM

      Oh, I guess I should’ve mentioned – Sally is fine. If she had been harmed, the story might’ve been told differently! Luckily, she didn’t drink much.

  3. Sean April 29, 2014 / 6:43 AM

    Nice. Didn’t realize that Montezuma’s Well had arsenic in it. I know there is a natural spring up in Prescott that has a high concentration of iron in it so no one drinks that either, it will weigh you down. Ok, that was a bad pun but lack of sleep does that sometimes. thanks for the haiku and your wonderful usage of words.

    • jannatwrites April 30, 2014 / 6:29 AM

      I haven’t been to that spring in Prescott, Sean. I guess it’ll either weigh you down or flatten you out…. Glad you stopped by. Don’t forget to get some sleep- it really is a good thing 🙂

  4. Deborah April 29, 2014 / 6:45 AM

    There is the option of eating chocolate AFTER the broccoli rather than instead of. 😉

    • jannatwrites April 30, 2014 / 6:30 AM

      I guess it is an option, Deborah… the only problem with it is the eating broccoli part! (The only way I can get it down is to smother it in cheese sauce, which defeats the purpose, I think!)

  5. Kathy Combs April 29, 2014 / 7:51 AM

    Amazing haiku and lovely picture to accompany it. Awesome! ♥

    • jannatwrites April 30, 2014 / 6:30 AM

      Thanks, Kathy – I’m glad you stopped by 🙂

  6. Debbie April 29, 2014 / 8:07 AM

    Poor doggie — is it okay?? How did the arsenic get in what would appear to be a fresh spring? And why weren’t those signs more prominent? (Gee, can you tell I trained as a journalist — I must’ve driven everybody nuts with my questions!!) Loved your haiku, too!

    • jannatwrites April 30, 2014 / 6:32 AM

      Sally is just fine, Debbie! I guess they didn’t post big, obnoxious signs because they figured people wouldn’t be drinking the water at the site of ancient ruins. (But then they put signs on the hotel toilet not to drink the water because it’s ‘reclaimed.’ Go figure. At least they prevented us from drinking toilet water, haha!)

  7. diannegray April 29, 2014 / 3:12 PM

    Love the haiku. I’ve not heard of Montezuma Well (but I wonder how many people it killed before they put the signs up!) I really hope the dog is okay 😉

    • jannatwrites April 30, 2014 / 6:33 AM

      Apparently the Sinagua who lived there didn’t drink that water (maybe they figured out that it was bad after they lost a few people.) There was a clean water source nearby, but we didn’t see it.

  8. agjorgenson April 29, 2014 / 7:04 PM

    Great haiku. It must be vexing to come across such a beautiful bit of water and have to steer clear of it. Hope your pouch is okay!

    • jannatwrites April 30, 2014 / 6:33 AM

      Certainly no urge to go swimming, Allen!

  9. Eric Alagan April 29, 2014 / 7:34 PM

    Since when did any man read signs or ask for directions – he’s my kinda guy 🙂

  10. pattyabr May 1, 2014 / 8:25 PM

    The punch line at the end! Love it

    • jannatwrites May 2, 2014 / 6:01 AM

      Thanks, Patty! Personally, I’d stay away from that water.

  11. pattisj May 17, 2014 / 9:29 PM

    It’s pretty to look at, even if one can’t drink it. Nice haiku, too.

    • jannatwrites May 18, 2014 / 2:33 PM

      Thanks, Patti! I thought the streams around the well were prettier… will have to post some photos sometime 🙂

  12. Robin Leigh Morgan June 23, 2014 / 11:27 PM

    Well I promised I’m going to work on catching up on responding to your Haiku posts I missed when you first posted them. I liked the dichotomy you’ve written in yours [Life/Death from one item]. Here’s my Haiku response along a similar line.

    Life came from water
    Walking onto earth’s green land.
    To die in desert

    • jannatwrites June 24, 2014 / 9:06 AM

      Nice response, Robin! The desert is a harsh landscape. We are at its mercy, really. I’m glad you enjoy the haiku and feel inspired to write responses… fun exercise 🙂

Got an opinion? Share it!

