Twisted Tree (Haiku)

Twisted trunk beckons.

My intrigue often misses

beauty in shadows.

04-25 Twisted Tree (Red Mountain)

I take lots of photos.  Of “stupid stuff” my older son says 🙂

I do have many delete-worthy images, but I keep them because I never know if one day I will look at them and see something different.  A sort of second chance to recognize what I couldn’t see at the time.  (Or maybe I need to justify my pack-rat tendencies!)

Take this tree, for instance.  When I took the photo, the subject was the very obvious twisted trunk.  I’m always fascinated when I see the lengths nature takes to thrive.  (Same with people.  I’m inspired by those who rise when they have every right to crumble.)

Anyway, back to the tree.  I wish I could claim to have noticed the shadows on the ground, but that would be a lie.  I didn’t see that until much later.  I like to think that I walk around with my eyes open, ready to see what I haven’t seen before.  Truth is, I still get distracted by the obvious.

Have a beautiful weekend.  May you find beauty in the unexpected!

57 thoughts on “Twisted Tree (Haiku)

  1. Lance April 25, 2014 / 10:54 AM

    I like b & w photography and shading. Beauty in shadows was perfect.

    • jannatwrites April 25, 2014 / 11:15 AM

      Thanks, Lance! I never remember to try B&W… I should do it more because I like the effect as well.

  2. Widdershins April 25, 2014 / 11:58 AM

    Like re-reading a favourite book, or re-watching a favourite movie or TV show. There’s always something that catches our attention that didn’t come into focus the last time. “D

    • jannatwrites April 25, 2014 / 10:16 PM

      Very true, Widdershins! Hope you have a great weekend 🙂

  3. nrhatch April 25, 2014 / 12:55 PM

    I noticed the shadows first.
    Maybe I’m more grounded than you? 😛

    Of course, it could be your haiku which directed my eyes.

    • jannatwrites April 25, 2014 / 10:17 PM

      Haha! Nancy, you might be more ‘everything’ than me- grounded… enlightened… ornery 😛 Couldn’t resist!

      • nrhatch April 26, 2014 / 5:47 AM

        And cranky! Especially if I’m short on sleep.

  4. AZ Gringa April 25, 2014 / 1:04 PM

    I love trees, shadows, and other twisted things. I loved your haiku, your picture, and your insight, too. 🙂

    • jannatwrites April 25, 2014 / 10:17 PM

      Thanks, AZ Gringa… guess I was feeling ‘twisted’ today!

      • AZ Gringa April 25, 2014 / 10:19 PM

        Hey! I’m glad you popped up. may I ask you a question about the speakeasy prompt?

        • AZ Gringa April 25, 2014 / 10:21 PM

          Thanks, Janna. I am such a n00b. I was just trying to figure out if the prompt should be something from a book, or is it something I write? I want to get it to the editors ASAP.

        • jannatwrites April 25, 2014 / 10:24 PM

          When I’ve done the sentences, I’ve always made them up. (Sometimes it shows 🙂 ) Good luck- you’ve got the power!

        • AZ Gringa April 25, 2014 / 10:25 PM

          Ok. Cool. Thanks! 😀

        • AZ Gringa April 25, 2014 / 10:29 PM

          I only have to write ONE line. It should be easy.

          HA!

        • jannatwrites April 25, 2014 / 10:30 PM

          For most people yes… for me, not so much… I tend to over-think it to a ridiculous degree 🙂

        • AZ Gringa April 25, 2014 / 10:33 PM

          I should have given some clue that the voice in my head sounded sarcastic and slightly crazed at the moment. I’m going to be mulling this over ALL. NIGHT. LONG.

        • jannatwrites April 25, 2014 / 10:36 PM

          Hehehe… atta girl… that’s exactly what I would do if I couldn’t think of something (anything) to send off before going to bed. It sounds easier than it really is, but I’m sure you’ll come up with something!

        • AZ Gringa April 25, 2014 / 10:39 PM

          I will. I just need to “let it happen”.

          Thanks so much for helping this n00b out. Eventually, I’ll know what the hell I’m doing, but in the meantime? I really appreciate you. 🙂

        • jannatwrites April 25, 2014 / 10:40 PM

          Thank you – you’re sweet to say that. I still don’t know what’s going on half the time… I just fake it.

        • AZ Gringa April 25, 2014 / 10:44 PM

          Well, you do a hell of a job, then, ’cause you sure look like you know what’s up. And I won’t tell a soul…

        • AZ Gringa April 25, 2014 / 10:44 PM

          I won’t tell. 🙂

        • jannatwrites April 25, 2014 / 10:45 PM

          Hey, thanks for not blowing my cover, Gringa… I appreciate it 🙂

        • AZ Gringa April 25, 2014 / 10:47 PM

          Anytime, toots. 😀

          All right. Here I go. Off to obsess. Catch you later, gator.

  5. vishalbheeroo April 25, 2014 / 2:28 PM

    Divine photo and Haiku embracing colorful thoughts. Teach me Haiku, na:)

    • jannatwrites April 25, 2014 / 10:18 PM

      Thanks for reading, Vishal! I’m no expert on Haiku, but I have taken to trying the form out a few times a month.

  6. GodGirl April 25, 2014 / 3:10 PM

    I love this visual reminder to look for the less obvious ‘shadows’. Even the most observant amongst us can miss things (or choose not to see)…

    • jannatwrites April 25, 2014 / 10:19 PM

      Thanks, GodGirl! Sometimes it’s nice to have a second look…

    • jannatwrites April 25, 2014 / 10:19 PM

      Thanks, Phil (I should tell him that 🙂 ) I hope you have a nice weekend, too!

    • jannatwrites April 25, 2014 / 10:20 PM

      Thanks, Susan! I’m glad you stopped by 🙂

  7. Eric Alagan April 25, 2014 / 5:57 PM

    Beauty in the shadows and as the day progresses, the shadows move – stretch long and slowly fade with the setting sun.

    Wishing you many glorious sunrises ahead,
    Eric

    • jannatwrites April 25, 2014 / 10:21 PM

      That was a beautiful comment, Eric! Thanks for ‘shining’ some light over here with your words 🙂

  8. pattisj April 25, 2014 / 6:55 PM

    Some photos are taken for purely artistic purposes. I have a special folder for them.

    • jannatwrites April 25, 2014 / 10:22 PM

      You are far more organized than I am, Patti! All of my photos are lumped together and I depend on my memory to recall taking the photo (scary thought… my memory…)

  9. Deborah April 25, 2014 / 8:38 PM

    Such a good point about what we see and don’t see, depending on the day and our perspective. Of course, there is no way we can pay attention to every detail of anything. Way too much to process. So we select. It’s nice we have to option to look again, for things we didn’t see the first time. I love the twisted shadows.

    • jannatwrites April 25, 2014 / 10:22 PM

      You’re right- we can’t see everything… talk about information overload. Thanks for stopping by and sharing your thoughts, Deborah! I hope you have a great weekend!

  10. Carol Ann Hoel April 25, 2014 / 9:06 PM

    The shadows add symmetry in a subtle but interesting way. Happy weekend! Blessings…

    • jannatwrites April 25, 2014 / 10:25 PM

      I thought the shadows looked cool here. Makes me want to check out more photos to see if I accidentally captured more shadows. Thanks for stopping by Carol. I hope you have a nice weekend!

  11. diannegray April 26, 2014 / 1:04 PM

    Beautiful Haiku and photo, Janna, But I especially love the connection you make between the twisted trunk and people’s lives. Wonderful and very insightfull! 😀

  12. Robin Leigh Morgan April 26, 2014 / 1:36 PM

    I like the imagery you’ve present Janna.

    And THANKS for giving me another theme to write a Haiku for,
    Let me know what you think of this endeavor:

    A sapling breaks through
    Growing straight has can it be
    Limbs will make unique

    • jannatwrites April 27, 2014 / 9:58 PM

      I’m glad you felt inspired to share a similar-themed haiku, Robin! I do enjoy seeing what you come up with 🙂

      • Robin Leigh Morgan April 27, 2014 / 10:04 PM

        THANKS for the compliment on my response endeavor. I see great minds think alike – We’re both up at the same time [1:00 AM here in New York] answering each other’s comments.

        Have a GREAT WEEK !!! 🙂 🙂 🙂

        • jannatwrites April 28, 2014 / 9:36 PM

          Wow, 1AM is late (or early, depending on how you look at it.) It was only 10PM here 🙂 I hope you have a great week, too, Robin 🙂

  13. Kathy Combs April 26, 2014 / 2:02 PM

    That tree is amazing, and the haiku awesome. Love it. Your photography shows a real grasp of artistic composition. ♥

    • jannatwrites April 27, 2014 / 9:59 PM

      Thanks, Kathy! I wish I could claim some expertise, but it was purely accidental 🙂

  14. mridubala April 28, 2014 / 3:33 AM

    Janna, they are beautiful, you should keep on clicking, I will say!
    Here is my short story Resilience, please support by VOTING and SHARING – http://tlng.me/1fhAn8H

  15. Sean April 28, 2014 / 8:10 AM

    Beauty is in the eye of the beholder. Some may see a twisted, snarled mess of trees trying to suffocate each other while others see the beautiful flow of each piece as it wraps intricately around each other to form a sturdy base to grow life from. Others may also gaze at the shadows and how the light plays off of each limb as it stretches for the sun. May your day be filled with quiet and love. Take care

    • jannatwrites April 28, 2014 / 9:38 PM

      That comment was almost poetic, Sean! Thanks for stopping by, Sean. I hope you have a great week 🙂

  16. Sarah Ann May 15, 2014 / 4:49 AM

    I am just like this too – I saw a intriguing tree (I love the way bark twists and trees knot themselves) but didn’t see the shadows until you pointed them out. Unobservant my husband calls me. I just think we see different things.

    • jannatwrites May 15, 2014 / 9:00 AM

      Haha, my husband accuses me of not being aware of my surroundings… I tell him I just see what I want to! It is a little comforting to know that it wasn’t just me who missed the shadows on the first pass, Sarah Ann!

Got an opinion? Share it!

