Fighting (Gargleblaster #158)

I am

misunderstood.

I am

afraid.

I am

helpless.

I want to make a

difference;

I want to

survive.

To thrive, my soul seeks

peace;

to be heard.

I need to

believe.

Mostly, I am fighting because

I know no other way.

~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-


This is my 42-word Gargleblaster challenge, which was to answer the following question:  “Tell me something, old friend: why are you fighting?” (from Gabriel García Márquez in One Hundred Years of Solitude.)  The challenge is open to everyone, but you have to link fast.  The linking grid opens up at Midnight and is open for 24 hours, or until 42 responses are submitted (whichever comes first.)

This week, my inspiration came from a couple places:  I started thinking like cat after watching a few episodes of My Cat From Hell (Jackson Galaxy is great!) but then, my thoughts turned to The Diary of Anne Frank, which I watched last night.  Despite what my heart wanted, I knew the tragic ending, but I went on the journey anyway.  Sometimes humanity makes me so sad.

52 thoughts on “Fighting (Gargleblaster #158)

  1. AZ Gringa April 20, 2014 / 9:56 AM

    “…because

    I know no other way.”

    Nicely done, as always, Janna.

    • jannatwrites April 20, 2014 / 3:27 PM

      Thanks so much, AZ Gringa! That was actually the line I started with this time and elaborated from there.

    • jannatwrites April 20, 2014 / 3:28 PM

      I’m glad you liked it – thanks so much for reading!

  2. nrhatch April 20, 2014 / 11:58 AM

    Humanity, or the lack thereof, makes me sad too.

    • jannatwrites April 20, 2014 / 3:29 PM

      It really does, Nancy. I try to look for the bright spots.

  3. Debbie April 20, 2014 / 12:07 PM

    A most touching movie, Janna, and a lovely poem you’ve written here!

    • jannatwrites April 20, 2014 / 3:33 PM

      Thanks, Debbie! I read the Diary of Anne Frank when I was in junior high, so I enjoyed seeing the movie (except that there was no happy ending.)

  4. pattisj April 20, 2014 / 1:03 PM

    Well done, and I like your inspiration for it. Brings out the emotions, doesn’t it?

    • jannatwrites April 20, 2014 / 3:34 PM

      Thanks, Patti. Yes, it was an emotional movie…I wish it was fiction 🙂

  5. Eric Alagan April 20, 2014 / 5:31 PM

    “…Mostly, I am fighting because I know no other way.”

    This is sad and tragic, I reckon.

    Anne Frank – that’s wrenching.

    Peace,
    Eric

    • jannatwrites April 21, 2014 / 12:12 AM

      Or spinning the fighting into a positive light, perhaps not fighting is forfeiting life. I do agree Anne Frank IS wrenching, Eric. I watched a bit of TV today- lighter fare 🙂

  6. atrm61 April 20, 2014 / 11:51 PM

    I love the dilemma,the inner turmoil and the resignation that you have so expertly brought to play in this poem Janna 🙂

    • jannatwrites April 21, 2014 / 12:14 AM

      Thanks, Atreyee! I appreciate you reading and sharing your thoughts on this one.

      • atrm61 April 21, 2014 / 12:44 AM

        :-)A pleasure Janna-now off to respond to the huge backlog of comments on my previous posts-will get back to reading and commenting after that-will mail you as soon as I can breathe,lol!And hey many congrats on winning SE again-girl you are making this a habit ,muaah!

        • jannatwrites April 21, 2014 / 7:22 AM

          Aw, thanks, Atreyee! I was surprised by the win (always am.) For me, writing isn’t about the winning, but rather the thought behind the votes. It’s nice to know when something ‘speaks’ to people… not that I can recreate a similar feeling in the future, but it’s good to know 🙂

        • atrm61 April 21, 2014 / 9:18 AM

          You write from the heart-that’s what touches the readers:-)

  7. Marcy April 21, 2014 / 3:04 AM

    I like what you’ve done. I find myself watching movies that I know the ending to and still rooting for things to turn out differently as if I am learning the story for the first time.

    • jannatwrites April 21, 2014 / 7:27 AM

      I think it’s a sign of a good story when we can invest so much in it that we want to make it right. Thanks for reading, Marcy!

  8. uncheshire wife April 21, 2014 / 3:27 AM

    You portrayed your inspiration very well in this, i enjoyed it.

    • jannatwrites April 21, 2014 / 7:28 AM

      Thanks so much for taking time to read it, Uncheshire Wife 🙂

  9. paulmclem April 21, 2014 / 4:57 AM

    Always wanted to ask you this Janna, so I will! Do you think it adds to the piece by having it indented like this i.e. would you feel it less impactful if it was simply centred? I don’t read a lot of poetry…is this quite a common thing to do? As for the words – I like them. Think a lot of people this week have chosen a similar theme, but you have, as always, done an excellent job.

    • jannatwrites April 21, 2014 / 7:33 AM

      I’m glad you decided to ask, Paul- I don’t know if the indention adds anything to the text of the piece, other than, when reading, it slows down the flow of words so they meander more when reading. Centering certainly could work, but I liked the indention in this one to accentuate the repetition of “I am” in the opening lines, then the flow to what the narrator wants, followed by needs. I have no idea if this is common or proper (it’s probably all wrong) because I don’t study poetry forms. Sorry for the long answer to your short question 🙂

  10. mridubala April 21, 2014 / 6:16 AM

    Helplessness nicely brought out…

      • mridubala April 21, 2014 / 9:25 AM

        My pleasure Jannat 🙂 Keep writing!

        • mridubala April 21, 2014 / 10:08 PM

          🙂 Cheers!

  11. theinnerzone April 21, 2014 / 8:22 AM

    This is beautiful. Like always, you bring grace to this challenge. (Grace happens to be my word this week :))

  12. fatgirlinboxinggloves April 21, 2014 / 9:24 AM

    Sometimes believing in ourselves is the most difficult part of each day. Beautiful piece, Janna. Karen

  13. Kir Piccini April 21, 2014 / 11:34 AM

    I like knowing you started at the end with this. With the 33 Trifecta prompts and now these 42’s I will most often than not have my closing line before anything else. The one I used this week came out of nowhere but was perfect, (No white flags) and so I built around it.

    as for your piece, it brought a sting to my eyes, esp after reading your inspirations for it. As if we fight against the darkness, against the atrocity until we can see and feel the light.

    a beautiful reminder this Easter week.

    • jannatwrites April 21, 2014 / 9:42 PM

      Thanks for stopping by to read it, Robbie!

  14. Christine April 21, 2014 / 2:48 PM

    I love how the long list of reasons distills down to the final line. Lovely writing, Janna. I’ve read it a bunch of times now, and keep coming back to it. Thanks for sharing!

    (I also love that Paul asked his question, and that you answered it. Learning about other writing styles is FUN!)

    • jannatwrites April 21, 2014 / 9:45 PM

      I’m glad you enjoyed reading it, Christine! I’m glad Paul asked his question, too.. I wish I’d had a better answer 🙂

  15. S. J. Paige April 21, 2014 / 3:14 PM

    I like the structure, how it’s broken up — captures the way a person searches for the real reason to something…how they analyze in their head.

    • jannatwrites April 21, 2014 / 9:48 PM

      Thanks, S.J. I appreciate you reading it!

  16. Renada Styles April 21, 2014 / 9:04 PM

    Well put emotions. Fighting as the soul seeks peace, it’s an interesting notion.

    • jannatwrites April 21, 2014 / 9:51 PM

      Thanks, Renada. The fight can bring the peace we need.

  17. diannegray April 21, 2014 / 9:19 PM

    This is just beautiful, Janna. As for humanity – I have to stop watching the news 😦 xxxx

    • jannatwrites April 21, 2014 / 9:52 PM

      Thanks, Dianne! I quit watching the news long ago. Unfortunately, I read a blog post today about the Ebola outbreak. Wish I hadn’t seen that!

      • diannegray April 21, 2014 / 10:11 PM

        Oh dear 😦 I hope I don’t come across it. Too awful and sad xxx

        • jannatwrites April 21, 2014 / 10:18 PM

          The potential for worldwide spread is disturbing. Now, I’m going step into my underground bunker stocked with a year’s supply of food 🙂 (Only kidding…I’m not nearly that prepared, but I’m distracting myself from thinking too much about it!)

  18. whimsygizmo April 22, 2014 / 8:31 AM

    Love the shape and flow here; adds so well to the tone.

  19. djmatticus April 22, 2014 / 10:29 AM

    We have to be true to our nature. 😀

  20. jenbrunett April 23, 2014 / 6:56 AM

    This flows together so beautifully. Such poetry!

    • jannatwrites April 23, 2014 / 7:15 AM

      Thanks, Jen – I appreciate you reading it!

Got an opinion? Share it!

