In The Stars (Gargleblaster at Yeah Write)

    Constellations

of past and future;

burning dreams,

memories lost

commingle in the

 expanse above.

           Even when obscured

        by humanity,

I draw comfort

from centuries

of triumphs and

heartbreaks.

    Twinkle,

    glow,

    then


    fall-


Celestial reassurance that all was, is, and will be, well.

~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-

gargle155This is my response to the first ever Gargleblaster challenge at Yeah Write.  The challenge?  Write a response to the following question in exactly 42 words:  What’s so amazing that keeps us stargazing?

I don’t think  mine is as good as the one given as a sample, but hey, the fun is in playing along!

Speaking of playing along – anyone can join in, so if you’re intrigued, click the badge to the left to check it out.

Have a beautiful Monday!

60 thoughts on “In The Stars (Gargleblaster at Yeah Write)

    • jannatwrites March 31, 2014 / 9:48 PM

      Thanks, Phil! It seems lately, I’ve been finding challenge in shapes. Still nothing as crazy as that yin-yang one 🙂

  1. cynkingfeeling March 31, 2014 / 11:53 AM

    I enjoyed the visual component of your response, too.

    • jannatwrites March 31, 2014 / 9:49 PM

      Thanks for reading and sharing what you liked about it, Cynkingfeeling. I appreciate it!

  2. Kir Piccini March 31, 2014 / 11:56 AM

    “All will be well” is one of my favorite phrases, a mantra I can say to my soul and believe.
    I think everything you write is inspired and creatively contrived. This is no exception.

    • jannatwrites March 31, 2014 / 9:51 PM

      It’s funny, but the “all is well” was still in my mind from a Joel Osteen sermon that my friend played for me at her house. It seemed to fit here. Thanks for reading and for your kind comment, Kir. So glad I’ll be able to keep up with you even though Trifecta is no more 🙂

    • jannatwrites March 31, 2014 / 9:52 PM

      Haha, nice play, Gina! I saw your Trifecta comment that you’re working on one. Can’t wait to read it! (Haven’t seen it up yet, but will check again tomorrow night.)

  3. Stacie March 31, 2014 / 12:39 PM

    Awesome! I love it when you do poetry with visual structure like that.

    • jannatwrites March 31, 2014 / 9:53 PM

      Thanks, Stacie! It’s fun to see if I can pull it off 🙂

  4. Michelle Longo March 31, 2014 / 1:35 PM

    “I draw comfort from centuries of triumphs and heartbreaks.” I especially liked this part.

    • jannatwrites March 31, 2014 / 9:54 PM

      Thanks for taking time to point out a line that stood out for you, Michelle. I appreciate you reading!

  5. Sue March 31, 2014 / 3:20 PM

    amazing – love it!

    • jannatwrites March 31, 2014 / 9:54 PM

      Thanks, Sue – I appreciate the read 🙂

  6. Eric Alagan March 31, 2014 / 4:53 PM

    And you left us with a question mark, Janna 🙂

    Yes, taken at a cosmic level – all will always be well.

    Peace,
    Eric

    • jannatwrites March 31, 2014 / 9:56 PM

      Well, we can believe all is well, but we don’t really know for sure, hence the question mark 🙂 Thanks for reading, Eric! (I saw a post from you in my email… I’ve fallen behind again, but haven’t forgotten.)

  7. Natalie DeYoung March 31, 2014 / 5:07 PM

    Question mark. Love the form. But I also love the celestial reassurance. All of this is beautifully phrased.

    • jannatwrites March 31, 2014 / 9:57 PM

      Thanks, Natalie! I’m glad you liked the phrasing. There were a couple words that didn’t feel write, but I finally found words that worked 🙂

  8. Lance March 31, 2014 / 5:32 PM

    Love the format and presentation, it really lent to the effect of the piece.

    Also, first time ever seeing “commingle” in, well, anything.

    *fist bump*

    • jannatwrites March 31, 2014 / 9:59 PM

      I like the word ‘commingle’ – it’s fun to say 🙂 I’m glad you stopped by to read it and enjoyed this one. I was happy to see you joined in the fun and linked your own response. (I see you have another Silas post and a couple others… I’ll definitely catch up before you add another segment next weekend!)

  9. Carol Ann Hoel March 31, 2014 / 6:17 PM

    I think yours is very fascinating. I like the design you created. Blessings to you, Janna…

    • jannatwrites March 31, 2014 / 10:00 PM

      Thanks, Carol Ann! I’m glad you stopped by to read it.

  10. diannegray March 31, 2014 / 6:30 PM

    I just love the form the words take – it’s like going on a mini journey! Wonderful 😀

    • jannatwrites March 31, 2014 / 10:00 PM

      Thanks for going on that journey, Dianne!

  11. jenbrunett March 31, 2014 / 7:00 PM

    So much can be drawn from this one big question. So creative. And thought provoking!

    • jannatwrites March 31, 2014 / 10:01 PM

      Thanks, Jen! I appreciate you reading it.

  12. Larks March 31, 2014 / 9:13 PM

    I love the last line. “all was, is, and will be well.”

  13. jannatwrites March 31, 2014 / 10:04 PM

    Thanks, Larks! I have to believe that all will be well 🙂 I appreciate you stopping by.

  14. habibadanyal March 31, 2014 / 10:26 PM

    Yes, as long as there is that inky starry roof, all will be well. Beautiful.

    • jannatwrites April 2, 2014 / 8:34 AM

      I like to think that, too, Habibadanyal 🙂

  15. Kathy Combs (@KathyCombs16) April 1, 2014 / 9:30 AM

    This is amazing! I am going to be busy doing the A-Z this month…but next month I will be back trying my hand at the Speak Easy challenges. They have the best prompts. They really help a person think outside the box and be more creative! ♥

    • jannatwrites April 2, 2014 / 8:35 AM

      Good luck with the A-Z, Kathy! Just thinking about writing a post each day makes me tired. Will look forward to you on Speakeasy in May 🙂

  16. paulmclem April 1, 2014 / 9:41 AM

    I can always rely on the micro-fiction experts for a new word…commingle 🙂 Needless to say this is another excellent offering, Janna.

    • jannatwrites April 2, 2014 / 8:36 AM

      I’m glad you stopped by, Paul. I don’t know why, but I like commingle, just the way it rolls of my tongue. Weird, I know! Thanks for reading 🙂

  17. nrhatch April 1, 2014 / 10:21 AM

    The stars can be quite reassuring.

    • jannatwrites April 2, 2014 / 8:37 AM

      They can, Nancy…and so pretty to look at!

  18. Debbie April 1, 2014 / 10:43 AM

    Good one — love the form AND the words!

    • jannatwrites April 2, 2014 / 8:37 AM

      Thanks, Debbie! I’m so glad you liked the poem 🙂

  19. Renada Styles April 1, 2014 / 11:18 AM

    The shape certainly adds to the flow of the words. “Celestial reassurance”- it’s a perfect statement. Sometimes that vast unknown can be soothing.

    I, also, for some reason, thought of the Lion King. Where all the great kings are in the sky.

    • jannatwrites April 2, 2014 / 8:38 AM

      The stars have shone on for eons, so there is a certain comfort in believing that as messed up as things might seem, the stars will still be there. Thanks for reading, Renada!

  20. Christine April 1, 2014 / 4:43 PM

    Visually and lyrically beautiful, Janna! I love the idea that “even when obscured by humanity I draw comfort…” Fantastic.

    • jannatwrites April 2, 2014 / 8:39 AM

      Thanks for reading and pointing out what stood out for you, Christine. This was a fun challenge 🙂

  21. agjorgenson April 1, 2014 / 7:36 PM

    I love your shaping of the words, and the end – falling. You’ve got me looking at the stars!

    • jannatwrites April 2, 2014 / 8:40 AM

      I hope you enjoyed the gazing, Allen! I appreciate you taking time to read this one.

  22. Widdershins April 1, 2014 / 7:57 PM

    Most excellent wordsmithing – on all levels 😀

    • jannatwrites April 2, 2014 / 8:40 AM

      Thanks, Widdershins! This was a fun challenge to do 🙂

  23. tinsenpup April 2, 2014 / 4:05 AM

    Very nice, indeed! You can always be relied on to share something wonderful. 🙂

    • jannatwrites April 2, 2014 / 8:41 AM

      Thanks for reading- and for your encouraging comment, Tinsenpup! I liked what you did with the challenge as well… just read it this morning 🙂

  24. Suzanne April 2, 2014 / 5:15 PM

    Gorgeous, fabulous, and creatively presented! You always meet the challenges head on, don’t you? 🙂

    • jannatwrites April 2, 2014 / 11:38 PM

      Haha, well, I TRY to come up with something unique. Sometimes I do, sometimes I don’t 🙂 Thanks for reading, Suzanne!

  25. Imelda April 4, 2014 / 8:32 AM

    I love the content and the shape of your poem. 🙂

    • jannatwrites April 6, 2014 / 11:57 PM

      Thanks, Imelda! I enjoyed playing the words on this one.

  26. pattyabr April 4, 2014 / 8:01 PM

    Lovely. Last night there was a crescent moon and I was able to see the constellations of the stars so well. the little dipper was prominent. Nice writing

    • jannatwrites April 7, 2014 / 12:01 AM

      Thanks, Patty! We notice the stars much more since we moved to a smaller town. In Phoenix the smog/city lights didn’t permit stargazing often.

  27. tedstrutz April 5, 2014 / 11:21 AM

    Great! Now she’s on a quest to scoop up all the Gargleblaster Badges… nice to see she hasn’t lost her edge.

    • jannatwrites April 7, 2014 / 12:06 AM

      Haha, not quite, Ted! It’s fun to play along, but I don’t foresee any badge collecting in my future 🙂

Got an opinion? Share it!

