Hope – Haiku

Red Mountain, Arizona
Red Mountain, Arizona

Insecure, unsure;

Falling is a slip away.

Hope grants a foothold.

~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-

My last post wasn’t exactly uplifting, so I wanted to end the week on a hopeful note.  (I wouldn’t want to approach the weekend any other way!)

We still have the same uncertainties, but the support and encouragement from friends (both real-life and blog) have been soothing.  (Thanks to everyone who stopped by to offer words of encouragement or laughter – I appreciate it!)

So this weekend, I’m looking forward to seeing my best friend.  I intend to leave my worries on the shelf (I hope long enough that they simply expire!)  Oh, and I hope to laugh a lot and eat chocolate 🙂

Do you have any plans you are looking forward to?  I know I asked this on a recent post, but I do like reading about others’ anticipations or joy!

Have a peaceful weekend!

50 thoughts on “Hope – Haiku

  1. Imelda March 28, 2014 / 7:54 AM

    THat’s a lovely haiku, very uplifting indeed. Have a wonderful weekend, Janna. 🙂

    • jannatwrites March 28, 2014 / 11:10 PM

      Thanks, Imelda! I hope you have a great weekend, too 🙂

    • jannatwrites March 28, 2014 / 11:11 PM

      I’m glad you stopped by, Kathy! When I took the photo, I’d hoped a post would come up where I could post it here 🙂

  2. bottledworder March 28, 2014 / 8:06 AM

    Glad you’re starting the weekend on a hopeful note. By some opposing coincidence, my post tended to be rather the reverse this week! So was happy to read your Haiku.

    • jannatwrites March 28, 2014 / 11:12 PM

      That’s funny, BW…. two posts with similar titles and opposite views of hope. Thanks so much for reading!

  3. vishalbheeroo March 28, 2014 / 8:06 AM

    In hope, we live and take courage for a better tomorrow:)

    • jannatwrites March 28, 2014 / 11:12 PM

      Beautifully said, Vishal! Here’s to hope 🙂 Have a nice weekend!

  4. anmol(alias HA) March 28, 2014 / 8:22 AM

    The foothold of the hope… I am slipping right now. “Hope” it supports my weight.
    Thoughtful haiku. 🙂

    • jannatwrites March 28, 2014 / 11:14 PM

      I’m sorry you’re slipping, HA. Hope can support us, though – hang in there 🙂

  5. Catherine Johnson March 28, 2014 / 8:29 AM

    Lovely haiku! Enjoy your weekend. We have lots of hockey to go to.

    • jannatwrites March 28, 2014 / 11:17 PM

      I’ve heard hockey is a big game in Canada! I hope you have a blast, Catherine 🙂

  6. Esther March 28, 2014 / 8:44 AM

    A succinct take on the notion. Very nice 🙂

    • jannatwrites March 28, 2014 / 11:18 PM

      Thanks, Esther – I appreciate you reading it 🙂

  7. Sean March 28, 2014 / 8:52 AM

    That photo brings back to mind a crevice some friends and I would climb over on 15th st and greenway. Although the footing looked precarious, it was pretty solid for the most part. I was young and dumb so it didn’t matter to me much I guess. There are times in life, just like the crevice where things open up and rocks fall. Some of the rocks get wedged in place so tight that they seem like they are part of the structure and you can rely on them to carry your weight. It is good to find out which ones are secure in place. Take care and praying for the best for you

    Sean

    • jannatwrites March 28, 2014 / 11:20 PM

      My older son wants to be like you and your friends, Sean – we had to keep him from climbing too high. (If my husband couldn’t get there, he couldn’t either!) It’s amazing you guys made it to adulthood 🙂

      In life, it is nice when we find secure footing. The fun comes when we think it’s secure, but then it gives way!

      Thanks for visiting and sharing your comment, Sean. Hope you have a nice weekend!

  8. suzicate March 28, 2014 / 9:28 AM

    Love the photo and your haiku.

    • jannatwrites March 28, 2014 / 11:21 PM

      Thanks so much, Suzicate. I appreciate you stopping by!

  9. Robin Leigh Morgan March 28, 2014 / 12:03 PM

    I like it. !!! 🙂 🙂 😉

    Thanks for an opportunity for me to write another Haiku as part of my comment.

    Idea comes to mind
    A light for freedom is seen
    A new hope is born

    • jannatwrites March 28, 2014 / 11:22 PM

      I’m glad you like this, Robin! I do enjoy your haiku responses – thanks for stopping by and haiku-ing along 🙂

  10. Debbie March 28, 2014 / 12:04 PM

    Laughter with friends AND chocolate?? Sounds like a perfect way to cheer up, Janna. I don’t have big plans for the weekend, just lots more work. I’m in the middle of a big design project which is going quite well but taking a LOT of time. Oh, well, if we must eat, we must work, right?!!

    • jannatwrites March 28, 2014 / 11:23 PM

      I’m sorry you have a working weekend coming up, Debbie. I SHOULD be working because I’ve gotten behind, but I’m choosing to put off the extra hours for now 🙂 I hope you make some real progress on your project!

  11. nrhatch March 28, 2014 / 12:05 PM

    Have a FAB time with your friend . . . definitely leave your cares and concerns behind you!

    • jannatwrites March 28, 2014 / 11:25 PM

      Thanks, Nancy! I’m looking forward to it. Now that my husband will be home, I can leave earlier (I’ve got a couple hours to drive to get there!)

  12. Carol Ann Hoel March 28, 2014 / 5:37 PM

    I’m glad that you are going to have fun and eat chocolate. We are meeting with my sister, her husband, and other friends tomorrow for fun and food. Blessings to you, Janna…

    • jannatwrites March 28, 2014 / 11:26 PM

      It sounds like you’ll have a good time, Carol Ann. Eating together is a great bonding experience.

  13. Eric Alagan March 28, 2014 / 6:42 PM

    I love that idea – worries that come with an expiry date!

    May your days be chocolate filled 🙂

    • jannatwrites March 28, 2014 / 11:27 PM

      Oh, chocolate filled days… can’t think of anything better, Eric 🙂

  14. Eric Alagan March 28, 2014 / 6:44 PM

    Plans for the weekend:

    Youngen: I plan to do this, do that, and do everything else.
    Olden: I plan to wake up in the morning.

    • jannatwrites March 28, 2014 / 11:28 PM

      Haha! Sometimes getting out of bed takes enough effort. Once we make it that far, if we’re lucky, the this, that and everything else just happens 🙂

  15. Lance March 28, 2014 / 9:07 PM

    The thing about a writing community is you will find like-minded people who get you, or at least your POV.

    good haiku

    • jannatwrites March 28, 2014 / 11:29 PM

      Thanks for reading, Lance! I feel fortunate that I have this group who regularly reads/comments 🙂

  16. diannegray March 29, 2014 / 12:25 AM

    So glad to hear, Janna – have a brilliant weekend! 😀

  17. rebecca2000 March 29, 2014 / 10:53 AM

    Many. I have friends coming for visits and my husband I are going to Rome and Florence in May. Lots of fun. 🙂

    • jannatwrites March 30, 2014 / 9:01 PM

      Ooh, Florence – that should be fun! I hope you have a wonderful time, Becca!

  18. alaizha March 29, 2014 / 3:39 PM

    I wish you follow me because I like your posts.

  19. Michael March 30, 2014 / 7:04 AM

    Laughter and chocolate; what more could a weekend want? 🙂

    • jannatwrites March 30, 2014 / 9:09 PM

      Can’t think of much to top that, Michael! It was a great visit, but it sure went by too quickly.

  20. clarbojahn March 30, 2014 / 7:55 AM

    Love your Haiku and love your hope. By the time you read this, your weekend will be over. I hope it was everything you hoped for.

    It’s Sunday for me and a rainy day. I hope to stay in and read.

    Take good care and I hope you have a great week. 🙂

    • jannatwrites March 30, 2014 / 9:12 PM

      Thanks, Clar! It was great until I had to go home and work out in the yard 😦 Reading on a rainy day sounds just perfect. Hope you were able to do that!

      • clarbojahn March 31, 2014 / 8:18 AM

        It seemed like I couldn’t focus on anything and spent a lot of time looking out the window. There was snow, sleet, and rain all day mixing together sometimes one winning out. Birds on the deck and feeder and cats in bed. It was lovely,

        Now back to work. 🙂

        • jannatwrites March 31, 2014 / 9:38 PM

          Sometimes rainy days and mind breaks are a good thing. I’m glad you got to enjoy birds and cats, Clar 🙂

        • clarbojahn April 1, 2014 / 1:28 PM

          Window gazing serves an important purpose for me. Like REM sleep or something. sometimes I just need to do nothing but look out the window. and this time it was very captivating. Between the snow, sleet and rain the cardinals, finches, wood peckers and chickadees were playing on my deck right out the window. it was lovely. 🙂

        • jannatwrites April 2, 2014 / 8:20 AM

          So glad it restored you, Clar! Now I’m sure you’re well on your way to ‘back to work’ 🙂

  21. pattisj April 1, 2014 / 11:44 PM

    Hope you had a great weekend.

    • jannatwrites April 2, 2014 / 8:28 AM

      I did! But the work week has been insanely busy. It’s cutting into my blogging time 🙂

  22. Dilip April 3, 2014 / 3:25 AM

    Perfect Haiku beautifully illustrated by the picture. Thank you and cheers 🙂

    • jannatwrites April 3, 2014 / 9:28 PM

      Thanks, Dilip! I appreciate you stopping by 🙂

Got an opinion? Share it!

