Life Happens

Peace and light... I want to feel this!
Peace and light… I want to feel this!

After living in a small town for a year, I’d planned to write a post about it. I intended it to be a follow up of sorts about the adjustments and our overall satisfaction with our new location.

But today, life happened. Again.

I tried to write, with lackluster results. It’s like I was writing about the beauty of a sunset while holed up in a cave. The words were there, but the heart wasn’t.

While I do love our new locale, and I don’t miss the craziness of the big city, today, I just couldn’t bring myself to write as if life is all roses.

Today, my husband is out of a job.

I know things will be okay, but in the shock of the news, I’m trying to keep the worries at bay. I’m looking for the bright side. Uncertainty rocks my boat, perhaps more than I should let it.

I see this as life’s way of teaching me that life isn’t about what I do when everything is going my way. It’s about how I navigate when it feels like I’m inside a shaken snow globe.

Okay, maybe that’s a bit dramatic.

Tonight, that’s what it feels like. Tomorrow, I expect my emotions will settle.

Life may not be roses right now, but sometimes the best blooms stem from a fresh layer of manure 🙂

52 thoughts on “Life Happens

  1. Eric Alagan March 25, 2014 / 10:32 PM

    That’s rough, Janna – hubby losing his job.

    Don’t know what to say, other than – I’ve walked in those shoes and know the feeling.

    Peace,
    Eric
    P/s I’ve ticked Like – but you know, I don’t ‘like’ the news.

    • jannatwrites March 26, 2014 / 7:20 AM

      Oh we’ve been here, too. This is our third journey. It’s definitely harder with kids than it was before we had kids. We’ll make it and learn what we can 🙂 Thanks for your comment, Eric!

  2. diannegray March 25, 2014 / 10:53 PM

    I don’t ‘like’ this news either, Janna. My hubby lost his job half way through last year and it was just awful. It puts you on a precipice of doubt about how you are going to survive. He got a new job about a month ago and then got sick and has spent the last two weeks in hospital. What’s going on in the world? Hopefully he’ll be back at it next week all fit and healthy again.

    I really hope your hubby gets work again soon. Chin up, big hugs and fingers crossed xxx

    • jannatwrites March 26, 2014 / 7:21 AM

      I’m sorry to hear about your family’s job troubles, too. Yeah, most of it is the fear of the unknown, the future. I hope your husband is better soon. So hard to finally find a job and then to have to take leave so soon. My thoughts are with you, Dianne!

  3. tinsenpup March 26, 2014 / 4:14 AM

    Eventually, after you’ve been through the unavoidable hard part with all the worry and changed plans and whatnot, these things really do tend to turn into opportunities. Best wishes to you both. Here’s hoping tomorrow starts to feel a little better.

    • jannatwrites March 26, 2014 / 7:22 AM

      You’re right, Tinsenpup. Usually I can see this on the other side, looking back. Right now, it’s just the worry about duration. We can make it a couple months on my salary alone, but beyond that, I don’t know! Thanks for the kind words- I appreciate it 🙂

  4. suzicate March 26, 2014 / 4:29 AM

    You have a wonderful attitude, Janna. I pray things work out well as I’m sure they will. Hang in there and keep up the positive outlook and good things will follow.

    • jannatwrites March 26, 2014 / 7:25 AM

      Well, I’m trying to have a good attitude at least, Suzicate 🙂 He’d been looking for another job because his ex-boss (owner of the company) is a little mental. The irony is, he’d just turned a job down less than a month ago because he had doubts about the work environment. Maybe he should’ve taken it, or maybe it wasn’t right, I don’t know. Thanks for your support!

  5. nrhatch March 26, 2014 / 6:54 AM

    I love your last paragraph . . . that sums things up. Best of luck to your husband as he looks for a new job. Keep the faith!

    • jannatwrites March 26, 2014 / 7:36 AM

      Thanks, Nancy! Looking forward to the disappearance of the manure smell 🙂

  6. Debbie March 26, 2014 / 7:02 AM

    Oh, Janna, I’m soooo sorry. Losing a job hits you right to the core. Here’s a prayer that hubby finds better work real soon! In the meantime, what a blessing that YOU have a job, huh?!

    • jannatwrites March 26, 2014 / 8:19 AM

      I hope so too, Debbie! I am thankful for my job, for sure. The good news is that mine is the main income, and as far as I know, my job is safe. He’d been looking for work in his spare time, but for the last few months, he’s worked a lot of overtime, which didn’t afford much looking time. I guess he’ll have plenty of time to look, now. Thanks for the encouragement!

  7. momsomniac March 26, 2014 / 8:55 AM

    Lackluster results? I am an avid reader, and I have to disagree. Maybe this is your cue to shop out a novel to agents?

    I was recently talking with my Mom about how much she’d like your writing, but she’s internet-shy….so I’d buy her (and me!) a book. Just saying.

    I am so sorry that your husband lost his job. Good luck with helping him navigate his course ahead as well, and the journey you are on together.

    *hugs*

    • jannatwrites March 26, 2014 / 6:53 PM

      You’re too kind, Momsomniac! No, the post I scrapped really was bad… but I’m honored that you would buy my book 🙂

      The lack of presentable novel has been bothering me more lately. My first one, after sitting on it for two years, I realize it ended up being something different than I had intended. In an attempt to be marketable, I made it more chick-lit, and that’s not really me. I need to fix that. I haven’t touched Darlene’s Story since January, but I think I’ll move forward with that one first. Still hope to have the draft done by the end of the year.

      Thanks for the well-wishes on the job. I’m sure he will find something, just a matter of when!

      • momsomniac March 27, 2014 / 8:46 AM

        Well, if it’s not too presumptuous – I’m begging you to finish it (or maybe something else you’ve been sitting on that none of us has seen:) I really do believe this could be God nudging you….despite my faith, I do NOT read “Christian literature”, and I love your work.

        • jannatwrites March 27, 2014 / 10:37 PM

          I appreciate your support, Momsomniac. If I believed in myself as much as you did, I’d have finished Darlene’s novel already! Seriously though, I may have to rethink my literary magazine submission goals so I can work on my longer stories.

  8. Imelda March 26, 2014 / 12:27 PM

    I wish you and your husband all the best, Janna. I join you in praying for the best for your family. Hang in there, the roses will bloom eventually.

    • jannatwrites March 26, 2014 / 6:56 PM

      Thanks, Imelda. It’s a good exercise in patience (which I don’t have an abundance of…)

  9. sweetyshinde March 26, 2014 / 12:44 PM

    Very original analogies there. Chin up and fingers crossed!

    • jannatwrites March 26, 2014 / 6:57 PM

      Thanks so much for stopping by, Sweetyshinde! I appreciate the support.

  10. Widdershins March 26, 2014 / 2:01 PM

    That sucks! … I reckon you need to let go and chuck things … break plates, kick buckets … have a huge raging cry, then be all ‘chin up’.
    There’s a candle lit on the altar for you 🙂 … hope he finds something that he likes soon.

    • jannatwrites March 26, 2014 / 7:01 PM

      Haha… your comment cracked me up, Widdershins! I’m strangely calm… little worries niggling about finances, but that’s about it. I haven’t even cried yet… just waiting for the silly thing that’s going to trigger that 🙂 I appreciate the support. We shall see what happens.

  11. Kathy Combs (@Kathy29156) March 26, 2014 / 3:33 PM

    Usually there is a reason for everything and we only realize the blessings of things like this in hindsight. It sucks, but you will survive and everything will be OK. Keep your chin up, God never closes a door where he doesn’t open a window. Prayers for you and your family and hugs!

    • jannatwrites March 26, 2014 / 7:03 PM

      Thanks for the prayers, Kathy! There must be a reason, but it’s beyond my comprehension. Maybe the big picture will come into focus at some point, I don’t know. I just keep reminding myself that fretting won’t change anything 🙂

  12. Catherine Johnson March 26, 2014 / 3:45 PM

    I do hope your husband finds something even better. Best wishes!

  13. Carol Ann Hoel March 26, 2014 / 4:32 PM

    God loves you and your husband and family. Trust Him now. I say that your husband will come out of this with a better job that he really enjoys and one that provides more income. Thank you Lord! I know what it feels like to wait, but remember that you are loved. When we know He loves us, we have hope.

    • jannatwrites March 26, 2014 / 7:05 PM

      Thanks for the lovely comment, Carol Ann. I do hope he finds something better. He didn’t have vacation time, so a job with vacation would be nice.

  14. vishalbheeroo March 27, 2014 / 12:08 AM

    I know the pain of losing a job, going through it right now and it’s been going for ten months now. But, worry not, he shall get a bigger one. I am also hopeful and your lord bless your family with love, health and wealth:)

    • jannatwrites March 27, 2014 / 10:22 PM

      I’m so sorry, Vishal. I hope you are able to find work soon as well 🙂

  15. jacquelinecaseypoetry March 27, 2014 / 4:48 AM

    Life will never be all roses; just breathe deeply the ones you get and accept all those “other” days. Acceptance is the key. Something good happens when you stop struggling…and say “it’s ok”.

    • jannatwrites March 27, 2014 / 10:24 PM

      Thanks for the encouraging words, Jacqueline! I’ll be on lookout for those moments that are more sweet than stink 🙂

  16. Dilip March 27, 2014 / 9:14 PM

    On occasions when my going gets tough I draw power from the age-old wisdom quote “This too shall pass”! Many good wishes to your hubby for a new and better job.

    • jannatwrites March 27, 2014 / 10:43 PM

      Yes, it’s comforting to remember that troubles are transient. They do make me appreciate the good even more,though. Thanks so much for the words of encouragement, Dilip 🙂

  17. nrhatch March 28, 2014 / 12:07 PM

    If you need short term income, consider renting out your kids to a recent “empty nester.”

    • jannatwrites March 28, 2014 / 11:07 PM

      That would be weird, Nancy! A few nights of quiet would be nice, though 🙂

  18. Carl D'Agostino March 29, 2014 / 1:36 PM

    Never use manure. Use chemical fertilizer. When you use manure you are adding undigested seeds for weeds in your garden. I am an expert here. People say I am full of manure for several decades.

  19. momtheobscure March 29, 2014 / 1:48 PM

    Sorry to hear your news Janna. But you’ve got the right outlook about it.

    • jannatwrites March 30, 2014 / 9:05 PM

      Thanks, Momtheobscure. Here’s hoping it’s a short-term situation!

  20. Leigh W. Smith March 30, 2014 / 7:58 AM

    I’m so sorry, Janna. My wish is that hope grants a foothold to you all soon; in the meanwhile, keep on writing (I know that sounds selfish, but . . .), because I feel it will keep the hope building and even create it where there might seem to be none [or at least that is my sincere hope for you and your family].

    • jannatwrites March 30, 2014 / 9:13 PM

      Thanks for the kind words, Leigh. It’s weird, but after the initial shock wore off, I’ve been more at peace than I thought I would be. I really think we’ll be okay!

  21. Sarah Ann March 30, 2014 / 10:36 AM

    Great last line about roses emerging from manure. Best wishes and thoughts to you and hubby. Thinking that rose is going to grow tall and red. 🙂

    • jannatwrites March 30, 2014 / 9:15 PM

      That sounds lovely, Sarah Ann! I appreciate the thoughts 🙂

  22. GodGirl April 1, 2014 / 4:21 PM

    I’m sorry to hear about your husband’s job loss, Janna. Praying he’ll be given another opportunity soon, and that God would be your peace as you wait on Him and his purposes… Not an easy situation at all 😦

    • jannatwrites April 2, 2014 / 8:21 AM

      It’s weird, but it took a couple days for the shock to wear off but now I feel okay. He’s getting applications out there, but things are tough in a small town. I know he will find something, though. Thanks for your prayers, GodGirl!

      • GodGirl April 5, 2014 / 1:14 AM

        Yes, I can imagine it would be a shock… Something unexpected and upsetting like that. I’m glad you feel more optimistic now. Praying that something would come up soon, and that you continue to know his peace and provision in the meantime..
        Take care,
        GG

        • jannatwrites April 7, 2014 / 12:02 AM

          Thanks, GodGirl! He has an interview scheduled this week so I’m cautiously optimistic. We’ll see…

  23. pattisj April 1, 2014 / 11:41 PM

    Sorry to hear this news, Janna. May you feel the peace and light as you wait upon the Lord–He will never leave you nor forsake you. I believe better things are on the way.

    • jannatwrites April 2, 2014 / 8:28 AM

      I appreciate the encouragement, Patti. So far, we’re doing okay!

  24. Tessa April 9, 2014 / 1:01 PM

    Sure hope your hubby finds a job soon. My son has been having trouble finding a decent job he can live on. (Moving in with my dad and I tonight). He hates the job he has which is permanent, but the temp agency has called twice in the last several months because one of the best jobs he had laid him off and now they want him back. He has been requested by name they don’t want anyone else. He doesn’t know what to do since he hates this one, but the old job is a temp job and they laid him off once. Maybe this is a sign to go back. They called for him specially twice.

    • jannatwrites April 10, 2014 / 12:57 AM

      I hope your son finds his way. It’s a tough choice to risk a full-time job for a temp position. It’s certainly a choice I wouldn’t want to have to make.

      He actually did find a job today, sort of. It’s a part-time job, but he thinks it will turn to full-time fairly quickly. The sad thing is that he would make more collecting unemployment than working part-time. We don’t like handouts, so turning it down wasn’t really a consideration. (Besides, his old employer is dragging his feet, so it could be a while before we see any unemployment money.)

Got an opinion? Share it!

