Work In Process – Final Trifecta Challenge

Building facade, Jerome, AZ
Building facade, Jerome, AZ

Without development, I would be one-dimensional; a façade with no substance.

I’m a work in process, continually evolving, growing, becoming.

Each challenge, each word I write, builds depth-

reveals a window to myself.

~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-

TrifectaPicture11-1For Trifecta’s final challenge, we had 33 words to write about whatever we wanted.  I chose to write of my evolution over the last two years.  (I’m forever a work in process!)  Trifecta helped me to consider my words more carefully, to use them wisely.  Trifecta taught that although words are of endless supply, they should not be wasted.  I’ll miss the challenges and the community.  I wish the best to the editors who have spent numerous hours, reading, judging and encouraging along the way.

77 thoughts on “Work In Process – Final Trifecta Challenge

  1. jenbrunett March 24, 2014 / 8:38 AM

    Love this one!

    • jannatwrites March 24, 2014 / 9:16 PM

      Thanks, Jen – I’m glad you liked this one 🙂

  2. Quickstepp March 24, 2014 / 9:11 AM

    Lovely play on the challenge of writing, for this our last week. Cool pic too.

    • jannatwrites March 24, 2014 / 9:17 PM

      Thanks, Mel! I was fascinated by that building when I saw it. Jerome is located on a hill and most of the roads are pretty steep, so the whole town has such a unique feel.

  3. Kathy Combs March 24, 2014 / 9:13 AM

    Love the ever changing feel to this. Very true that we as writer’s evolve and improve with each challenge conquered.♥

    • jannatwrites March 24, 2014 / 9:18 PM

      I’m glad you can relate to the sentiment, Kathy! Here’s to more improving!

  4. Kir Piccini March 24, 2014 / 10:01 AM

    you are the most incredible WIP I know and I’m so glad for Trifecta for introducing me to your words and work. Trifecta taught all of us about evolution and I’m grateful for that.

    • jannatwrites March 24, 2014 / 9:20 PM

      You are so sweet, Kir – I’m glad I ‘met’ you through the challenges. This isn’t a goodbye, though because I’ll still read your other posts 🙂

  5. suzicate March 24, 2014 / 10:04 AM

    You went out with a bang! This is my all time favorite challenge you’ve done.

    • jannatwrites March 24, 2014 / 9:21 PM

      Wow, thanks, Suzicate! At first the ‘free’ prompt left me stumped. Sometimes it’s easier to have some guidelines.

    • jannatwrites March 24, 2014 / 9:22 PM

      Thanks so much for reading, Phil. I’ve enjoyed reading your comments on my challenge responses, too!

  6. Lance March 24, 2014 / 11:26 AM

    I’ve been with you through most of the past 2 years. This is perfect. Your writing has gotten so tight and focused. I’m proud you let me read it.

    • jannatwrites March 24, 2014 / 9:23 PM

      Thanks so much for your kind words, Lance! I’m glad I ‘met’ you through Trifecta and will continue to read you. (How could I not find out what happens to Silas and Olive, those crazy kids? 🙂 )

  7. Debbie March 24, 2014 / 1:33 PM

    Ah, well done, Janna. A work in progress. Yes, we ALL are, aren’t we??

    • jannatwrites March 24, 2014 / 9:24 PM

      If we’re living right, I think we are, Debbie! If we’re not in progress, we’re finished and I prefer that not happen until I take my last breath. (No stagnant time for me, thank you 🙂 )

  8. diannegray March 24, 2014 / 2:24 PM

    This is perfect, Janna. I’ll miss your wonderful takes on this challenge xxx

    • jannatwrites March 24, 2014 / 9:25 PM

      Thanks, Dianne! I’ll still do other challenges, but this was my first challenge site, so it’s special 🙂

  9. Sarah Ann March 24, 2014 / 2:27 PM

    I never know what to write when there’s no prompt. You don’t seem to have the same problem. This is fantastic. ‘I’m a work in progress…’ – wonderful!

    • jannatwrites March 24, 2014 / 9:27 PM

      At first, I was disappointed they didn’t give a word or some kind of instruction to narrow down the thoughts – it’s easier that way. I’m glad you liked this one, Sarah Ann. Thanks so much for reading 🙂

  10. agjorgenson March 24, 2014 / 4:30 PM

    Oooh, I quite like the image that a word reveals a window to the self. My, one can do much with that. Think about your favourite word, and what it says about you. Thanks!

    • jannatwrites March 24, 2014 / 9:28 PM

      Our writing reveals more than we probably realized, Allen. Even in fiction, there are shreds of emotion that are real.

  11. Eric Alagan March 24, 2014 / 5:22 PM

    Are we not all works-in-progress.

    It never fails to amuse me when I hear someone spew – “Been there, done that.”

    Because, every time I revisit, I learn something new. Perhaps, I’m a slow learner 🙂

    Cheers,
    Eric

    • jannatwrites March 24, 2014 / 9:31 PM

      So true, Eric – if we’ve been there/done that and see exactly the same thing, I think we should be concerned!

  12. nrhatch March 24, 2014 / 6:12 PM

    Way to handle the last Trifecta with finesse. A fantastic reflection, Janna.

    • jannatwrites March 24, 2014 / 9:32 PM

      Thanks, Nancy! I’m glad you found it to be a good ending to the challenge.

  13. debseeman March 24, 2014 / 6:20 PM

    Love this; so well said.

    • jannatwrites March 24, 2014 / 9:33 PM

      Thanks so much, Deb. I’m glad you stopped by!

  14. El Guapo March 24, 2014 / 6:36 PM

    Yes, that says it perfectly!

  15. Brian Benoit March 24, 2014 / 7:01 PM

    A nice send off to the challenge, Janna! Great way to end

    • jannatwrites March 24, 2014 / 9:36 PM

      Thanks, Brian – glad you think so 🙂

    • jannatwrites March 24, 2014 / 9:38 PM

      😛 I take it you read my comment on Polysyllabic Profundities? Thanks for stopping by, Tnkerr!

  16. nadig7 March 25, 2014 / 7:10 AM

    Perfect way to end! 🙂

  17. Christine March 25, 2014 / 9:22 AM

    Beautiful, Janna – I feel exactly the same way, you just said it so perfectly. 🙂

    • jannatwrites March 25, 2014 / 10:19 PM

      Thanks, Christine – I’m glad you can relate to this!

  18. tedstrutz March 25, 2014 / 10:39 AM

    You summed it up for me too, Janna.

    • jannatwrites March 25, 2014 / 10:20 PM

      I appreciate you stopping by, Ted. It’s nice to know others feel the same way!

  19. Renada Styles March 25, 2014 / 11:40 AM

    So true, you summed it up perfectly! I’ll see you at the Speakeasy!

    • jannatwrites March 25, 2014 / 10:23 PM

      Thanks, Renada. Look forward to reading you there!

  20. KymmInBarcelona March 26, 2014 / 5:48 AM

    Nicely put: windows on ourselves and reflections for others.
    Pleased to have me you here, Janna. Looking forward to finding you again : )

    • jannatwrites March 26, 2014 / 7:35 AM

      Thanks for reading, Kymm! I’ve enjoyed reading your Trifecta responses… I do hope to see you around!

  21. windandlaughter March 26, 2014 / 8:38 AM

    You’re one of the Trifectans whose work I have most admired. I hope you keep writing; I will be reading your future posts as well. I’m glad I was introduced to your work through Trifecta!

    • jannatwrites March 26, 2014 / 6:48 PM

      Windandlaughter, thank you for reading and for the wonderful comment – it lifted my spirits on this ‘down’ day for me. I’ve enjoyed reading your posts, too! I’ll definitely keep writing – hope you do so as well!

  22. Momo March 26, 2014 / 4:33 PM

    A window to myself…I like that. Excellent write, Janna.

    • jannatwrites March 26, 2014 / 7:06 PM

      I’m glad you like that part, Momo. Thanks so much for reading 🙂

    • jannatwrites March 26, 2014 / 7:07 PM

      Glad you can see it, Renee! Thanks for reading 🙂

  23. vernette March 26, 2014 / 6:15 PM

    I the biggest thing I will miss about these challenges is discovering really cool blogs. This was really good Janna.

    • jannatwrites March 26, 2014 / 7:08 PM

      Thanks so much, Vernette – I’m glad you liked my response! ‘Meeting’ others is the best part of the challenges 🙂

  24. whimsygizmo March 26, 2014 / 8:22 PM

    Excellent. Love this image of self.

    • jannatwrites March 27, 2014 / 10:21 PM

      Thanks, Whimsy… I appreciate you reading it!

  25. atrm61 March 26, 2014 / 11:01 PM

    Another gem from you dear Janna and I so agree about evolving!:-)

  26. kgwaite March 27, 2014 / 7:23 AM

    Lovely, hopeful write. I love a window to myself.

    • jannatwrites March 27, 2014 / 10:28 PM

      Thanks, Kelly! I appreciate you stopping by 🙂

  27. Archita March 27, 2014 / 9:21 PM

    Absolutely perfect. Loved it. 🙂

  28. Gina March 28, 2014 / 7:21 AM

    WIP! You’ve got it down, Janna! This is so true, though. We are and always will be changing and growing in some way. Trifecta has been beneficial to all of us! I love your writing, by the way. So I don’t plan on being a stranger.

    • jannatwrites March 28, 2014 / 10:56 PM

      If we’re living right, we will always be changing 🙂 Thanks so much for reading, Gina. I’m glad I’ve been able to read your writing through Trifecta.

  29. Linda Vernon March 29, 2014 / 8:24 AM

    I love this Janna. And we can all relate! 😀

    • jannatwrites March 30, 2014 / 9:01 PM

      We are all evolving, Linda. Thanks so much for stopping by!

    • jannatwrites March 30, 2014 / 9:05 PM

      Thanks so much, Momtheobscure. I agree – may the process continue 🙂

  30. lovethebadguy March 29, 2014 / 5:51 PM

    “I’m a work in process”. I love this metaphor more than I can say. A wonderful tribute to Trifecta. 🙂

    • jannatwrites March 30, 2014 / 9:06 PM

      Thanks so much for taking time to read it, Lovethebadguy!

  31. Suzanne March 30, 2014 / 5:32 AM

    I love this, Janna! Such a brilliant way to pay homage to Trifecta. I’m so glad to have met you and I always look forward to reading your writing every week! Thank goodness you found the speakeasy too. 🙂

    • jannatwrites March 30, 2014 / 9:08 PM

      I’m glad you like this, Suzanne! I’m happy to have ‘met’ you through Trifecta, and now Speakeasy. I appreciate you reading my writing, and I enjoy your posts as well. At least this isn’t ‘goodbye’ 🙂

  32. Leigh W. Smith March 30, 2014 / 7:36 AM

    The imagery of the window is a fantastic kind of tunnel–are you looking out or looking in and who else (if anyone) might look in? is the window smudgy, rain-streaked, parts broken out, stained-glass, crystal-clear? A perfect metaphor for either the writing life or life in general. For myself, I feel privileged to have been allowed to gaze at your writing/words through the window (or looking-glass as the case may be)! Thanks, Janna!

    • jannatwrites March 30, 2014 / 9:11 PM

      I thought it could apply to multiple aspects of life, as well, Leigh! I appreciate you reading and sharing your thoughtful comment, Leigh – I’m honored that you enjoyed this one 🙂

  33. trifectawriting March 30, 2014 / 11:04 AM

    I think of you as one of the old guard, the Trifecta lifers;) It has been a privilege to witness your evolution as a writer. You’ve always been good and you’ve gotten even better because you were always willing to take chances. I know you’ll keep traveling down that path. Enjoy the journey!

    • jannatwrites March 30, 2014 / 9:19 PM

      Thanks so much for the encouragement, Trifecta editor(s). I have enjoyed the challenges and the opportunity to ‘meet’ so many talented writers through reading the responses each week. I’ll miss it, but wish you all the best in your future endeavors!

Got an opinion? Share it!

