Facets Of Change

03-21 Mountain

Change is a funny thing. Generally, I like to stick with what I know- I have a favorite dish at each restaurant I visit and rarely stray from it; I prefer familiar social situations; I have certain roads I prefer to drive; I resist changes in my computer operating system or programs that I use.  I find comfort in knowing what to expect.

On the other hand, I like to change my clothes and experiment with colors.  I like to visit new places, or see old places with a new perspective.  At work, I love challenges where I can find new ways to do an old process.  I don’t like following the status quo on account of things always being a certain way.  Last year, we experienced the ultimate change by moving from Phoenix- a city of millions- to a small town of a few thousand residents.  (I’ll write a post next week reflecting on the effects of this year of change.)

As I scanned some recent photos I’d taken, I came across this one from last weekend.  For some reason, I was drawn to the snow-capped mountain in the distance with the greenery in the foreground.  Curiosity urged me to study the elements of the photo to find out why.  The realization came that this photo was the perfect example of my favorite kind of change:  seasons.

We are marching toward April at a brisk pace.  (“March”- ing… get it?  I can’t resist word plays even when I know they will elicit groans 🙂 )  In Arizona, winter is saying its final farewell.  Bare trees are sporting leaf buds, plants are flowering, and snow is melting from the highest peaks.

Spring and fall are my favorite seasons because they are all about big changes.  After the sweltering heat of summer, I anticipate the brilliant colors of leaves changing in the fall.  While I enjoy winter (which is mild here in Arizona) I love to see new life emerging in the spring.  Nature is the perfect reminder that change isn’t so bad.

Have a beautiful weekend!

Do you embrace change?  Or do you prefer the “known”? 

What is your favorite season?

34 thoughts on “Facets Of Change

  1. Michael March 21, 2014 / 6:49 AM

    My favorite season is winter, generally (though this last one was a little overboard with the snow.) I like the cold, and especially Christmas. 🙂 And I prefer the known, as a rule; I always order the same thing at restaurants, and I go with routine on a lot of things. But that’s just me. 🙂

    • jannatwrites March 22, 2014 / 12:01 AM

      There’s nothing like snow around Christmas (out snow was light this year.) I’m glad I’m not the only one who orders the same thing at restaurants.

  2. tinsenpup March 21, 2014 / 7:19 AM

    I think I’m like you in that I embrace some change. I certainly like to feel as if I’m getting somewhere in life.

    Spring, with all it’s awakenings and promise of new beginnings, is by far my favourite season.

    • jannatwrites March 22, 2014 / 12:16 AM

      I like spring for the same reasons, Tinsenpup! Summer is probably my least favorite season. I try to stay covered and out of the sun, so it’s not much fun 🙂

  3. philosophermouseofthehedge March 21, 2014 / 7:33 AM

    Routines make you free to experiment and tinker things.
    It may be chilly mornings here, but the wild flowers are about to spill down the hills and surge across the pastures…they may be dammed up by the roadways, but are determined

    • jannatwrites March 22, 2014 / 12:19 AM

      I like the way you look at it, Phil. My routines often end up with me staying on auto pilot and not looking to change anything. I love your description of the wildflowers – sounds beautiful 🙂

  4. Kathy Combs (@Kathy29156) March 21, 2014 / 7:34 AM

    I generally don’t embrace change well. I antagonize about it and stress but when the time has finally come…I go with the flow and adapt. I love all the seasons.

    • jannatwrites March 22, 2014 / 12:24 AM

      Change can be anxiety-producing. I guess it makes a difference of whether the change is within our control or not. The great thing about seasons is that they break up the monotony of the weather so we always have something new to look forward to. Thanks for stopping by, Kathy!

  5. suzicate March 21, 2014 / 7:35 AM

    Like you, I’m not so much into change but once it’s past me I can make myself comfortable again. And yes, change of seasons are my favorite changes!

    • jannatwrites March 22, 2014 / 12:25 AM

      We kind of have to adjust to new normals when they happen, don’t we? Here’s to enjoying the seasons! Glad you stopped by, Suzicate 🙂

  6. Anne Chia March 21, 2014 / 7:42 AM

    I think I am usually excited at the joy and freshness/newness which change brings. But it tends to scare the hell out of me

    • jannatwrites March 22, 2014 / 12:28 AM

      Change is scary, Anne! I’m glad you can find the excitement from it though – that’s a good attitude to have going into it. I often experience reluctance…

  7. Dilip March 21, 2014 / 8:44 AM

    Lovely post and your question “embrace change” is interesting. The answer to me is yes we do need to accept change and change with the times. And for that we need to have a flexible and an open mind!
    Cheers 🙂

    • jannatwrites March 22, 2014 / 12:30 AM

      Times change so fast, we do have to adapt or we’ll be left behind. I’m glad you stopped by my blog and took time to leave your comment, Dilip!

      • Dilip March 24, 2014 / 9:31 AM

        My pleasure and thank you for your gracious visit to my blog! Have a lovely day!

        • jannatwrites March 24, 2014 / 8:51 PM

          I enjoyed my visit – thank you, Dilip 🙂

  8. vishalbheeroo March 21, 2014 / 11:08 AM

    Feel good and lovely post. I love winters too, only hitch is how to wake up:)

    • jannatwrites March 22, 2014 / 12:33 AM

      Haha… it is really hard to wake up when it’s still pitch-black outside, Vishal!

  9. nrhatch March 21, 2014 / 2:22 PM

    Change is good.
    Except when it isn’t.
    Accept it!

    Glad you’re march`ing into April.

    • nrhatch March 21, 2014 / 6:01 PM

      Like you, I love word play . . . even if it elicits groans, it makes me smile.

    • jannatwrites March 22, 2014 / 12:36 AM

      The good changes are definitely easier to handle 🙂 I’m glad you like word play. I couldn’t resist the marching! Glad you stopped by, Nancy. Hope you have a good weekend!

  10. Ruby manchanda March 21, 2014 / 5:08 PM

    You captured the change sentiment so nicely.

    • jannatwrites March 22, 2014 / 12:37 AM

      Thanks, Ruby! This definitely got me thinking about how I approach change.

  11. Debbie March 21, 2014 / 5:26 PM

    Some things I like to change around; others, I tend to go with the known quantity. I guess it just depends!
    As to favorite season, Fall, I think. I like the break from summer’s sweltering heat, the scent of crayons, the fact that college football is back! Of course, Spring also is a favorite, because of the newness of everything in Nature. Must I choose??

    • jannatwrites March 22, 2014 / 12:40 AM

      Fall is a beautiful season. Living in Phoenix for so long, I loved Fall because it signaled the end of 100 degree+ temperatures. I wouldn’t ask you to choose between fall and spring… let’s just call it a tie, Debbie 🙂

  12. diannegray March 21, 2014 / 8:25 PM

    I love the way you’re March ing LOL – very clever indeed.

    ‘Embracing change’ puts a bit of a chill in my heart from the days I worked in a large Government Department. As soon as we heard the word ‘Change’ we’d all run for cover because it meant people were going to lose their jobs. But as far as the real world goes I don’t mind change as long as it not sudden or traumatic 😉

    • jannatwrites March 22, 2014 / 12:46 AM

      Oooh, that kind of change isn’t pleasant at all. I remember many years ago, I worked for a company that was up for sale for quite a while. We were told not to worry- until they announced that they were closing our division. (I was pregnant with my older son at the time so it was quite stressful.) It all worked out though. Oddly enough, I’ve worked with that boss (at a different company) for the past six years!

      Too bad we can’t order up the type of change we encounter, Dianne 🙂

  13. Eleni March 22, 2014 / 4:15 AM

    Ooooh, what a beautiful pic! I love mountains and trees. In the past I couldn’t cope very well with change, I avoided it like the plague. Now however, things are changing… I have personally found that change forsters growth and try to embrace it (scary as it can be).

    As for my favourite season, it used to be spring, but now I find that just as I begin to get sick of one season, another one is waiting just around the corner. I have a new appreciation for diversity 🙂

    • jannatwrites March 23, 2014 / 8:56 PM

      I’m glad change is less distressing for you, Eleni. It can make us grow in some way, but it’s hard to think of that when we’re in the midst of it all.

      I feel exactly the same way you do about the seasons – they do seem to arrive at just the right times 🙂

  14. agjorgenson March 24, 2014 / 4:40 PM

    I did a workplace survey that said I was resistant to change. My colleagues were all astonished since they see me as quite flexible. But I suspect it depends on what is being changed, and by whom, and who is left accountable. That last bit gets me most nervous! When the change is initiated by me, or if it does not involve me at all, no big deal: change away! But when my world is turned upside down without my permission, well then it is a different world. Although, to be fair, sometimes the best changes I have experienced were not those I planned, or intended. Tricky business, this change!

    • jannatwrites March 24, 2014 / 9:04 PM

      You are so right, Allen – “owning” the change does make it easier to cope with. But we don’t always have control over change, unfortunately! There is so much to learn when we do encounter unexpected change.

  15. Sarah Ann March 30, 2014 / 10:42 AM

    Definitely marching towards April. So much so that I’m responding to this a week after you posted. I relate to the liking change/ stability dichotomy in different aspects of your life. Glad I’m not the only contrary/ fickle one. 🙂

    • jannatwrites March 30, 2014 / 9:17 PM

      A week late – now that’s something I can feel, too, Sarah Ann! Kind of ironic that I wrote this a bit before the really big change of job loss hit our family 🙂

Got an opinion? Share it!

