Haiku – The Wind

03-19 Wind Chimes

Haunting Melody.

Messed hair, set to nature’s score-

The mighty wind speaks.

~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-

For the last several days, the wind has been quite active where I live.  At times, it sounds like the Big Bad Wolf is trying to blow our house down.

I’m not a fan of the wind because it stirs up dust, which aggravates my allergies.  I also don’t like how it makes me look like I’ve stepped out of a wind tunnel portal from the eighties.  My curly hair fluffs out so far, all I’d need is to tuck my jeans into my socks, swipe on some blue eye shadow, and wear a skinny belt around a long shirt and I’d have the perfect Halloween costume.

I can’t avoid the wind, though.  I guess it’s more correct to say, I don’t want to hide from it.  The roaring whisper of the gusts through the tall pines and oaks is like music to me.  The echo of wind chimes that crescendo in time with the wind completes the symphony.  So, I take my allergy medicine in the morning and take in the wind show in the afternoon.

It won’t be long before still heat takes its place.

37 thoughts on “Haiku – The Wind

  1. philosophermouseofthehedge March 19, 2014 / 6:10 AM

    It is a windy time…which feels great normally, but the dust it’s bringing with it – and the pollen. Sneezing here, too. Got a giggle over all the images of wolves and Halloween and wind chimes ringing out

    • jannatwrites March 19, 2014 / 9:34 PM

      The pollen is bad right now, Phil. The wind is still at it. It kicked up in the afternoon – just in time for my husband’s game of golf 🙂

        • jannatwrites March 20, 2014 / 10:42 PM

          That sounds icky, Phil. Spring is a sight to behold…even if we see it through watery eyes 🙂

        • philosophermouseofthehedge March 21, 2014 / 6:26 AM

          We just color our waterways green for St PAtrick’s celebrations a little differently. Smiles to ya

  2. anmol(alias HA) March 19, 2014 / 6:43 AM

    This is the pleasant time of the year here as well… soothing wind, just bearable sunshine and a clear sky.
    Enjoy the weather… 🙂 And a well-penned haiku.

    • jannatwrites March 19, 2014 / 9:35 PM

      Thanks, HA – glad you liked the haiku! As long as I can keep my allergies in check, I can deal with the crazy hair on these windy days 🙂

    • jannatwrites March 19, 2014 / 9:36 PM

      Thanks, Suzicate! I jotted it down while I took the dogs outside and noticed how loud the wind chimes could get 🙂

  3. Polysyllabic Profundities March 19, 2014 / 10:40 AM

    We are still getting snow!! You can send some of your wind this way to blow these flakes away!

    • jannatwrites March 19, 2014 / 9:37 PM

      It’s hard to imagine snow this time of year – here in Arizona, we don’t have real winters! I hope spring finds you soon, Susan!

  4. Debbie March 19, 2014 / 11:14 AM

    We’ve had a LOT of wind, too, Janna, and I know what you mean about it aggravating allergies! I’m so ready for nice, warm, sunny days. Lovely haiku, though, and I so love wind chimes!

    • jannatwrites March 19, 2014 / 9:39 PM

      Thanks, Debbie! I will stop short of wishing for warm, sunny days because warm isn’t a problem in Arizona 🙂

  5. nrhatch March 19, 2014 / 12:18 PM

    Wonder Woman!!! Go . . . Janna! 😀

  6. Widdershins March 19, 2014 / 1:25 PM

    There’s nothing like the wind to blow the dross away.

    • jannatwrites March 19, 2014 / 9:43 PM

      I prefer a breeze over wind, but beggars can’t be choosers 🙂 Thanks for stopping by, Widdershins!

  7. Robin Leigh Morgan March 19, 2014 / 2:21 PM

    The wind can be quite destructive. Nicely done

    Now here’s my HAIKU response for the other side of the wind:

    The wind came softly
    Carrying my lover’s scent.
    A memory remains.

    Robin Leigh Morgan
    YA Paranormal Romance Author
    “I Kissed a Ghost”

    • jannatwrites March 19, 2014 / 9:44 PM

      Ah, I like your peaceful haiku retort, Robin! It’s good to see another side of wind… thanks for taking time to share it 🙂

      • Robin Leigh Morgan March 19, 2014 / 11:53 PM

        THANKS Janna for your kind compliment.
        I’ve just begun getting into writing Haiku
        I also love to write Flash Fiction consisting of only five sentences. You and
        all of your readers are invited to check out my recent endeavor for the
        prompt word of LUCKY on my blog.

        • jannatwrites March 20, 2014 / 10:29 PM

          I read your post, Robin – she was lucky indeed 🙂

  8. Eric Alagan March 19, 2014 / 4:59 PM

    “Messed hair, set to nature’s score-”

    Everyone wants to be a hair dresser, including Mother Nature 🙂

    • jannatwrites March 19, 2014 / 9:52 PM

      Well, I’ve encountered worse than Mother Nature, Eric! 😀

  9. pattisj March 19, 2014 / 10:35 PM

    It’s too bad we can’t get some of that wind when the stifling heat drapes itself over us. I’ve been enjoying my hair flat-ironed–it falls back into place! I’ve NEVER had that happen!

    • jannatwrites March 19, 2014 / 11:30 PM

      Oh, I wish I weren’t so lazy – I’d straighten my hair, too 🙂

  10. Sarah Ann March 20, 2014 / 3:44 AM

    Such a fitting haiku. It’s windy in the SE of the UK too and I so relate to the hair/ bird’s nest issue 🙂

    • jannatwrites March 20, 2014 / 10:31 PM

      Several people have reported high winds. I have a hair clip in my purse just in case 🙂

  11. diannegray March 20, 2014 / 4:15 AM

    I love your haiku and the line “The mighty wind speaks” really resonates with me because I absolutely hate wind (I know ‘hate’ is a strong word – but I have a phobia). It’s gale force here at the moment and I’m shaking in my boots. I’ve had this phobia for about 30 years and no matter what I do I can’t seem to get rid of it (probably why I post about cyclones whizzing past and me being so relieved). I guess it doesn’t help that hubby is sick in hospital and my internet keeps dropping out. I think I’ve complained enough now – sorry 😉

    • jannatwrites March 20, 2014 / 10:34 PM

      With wind like what you can get, I would be afraid, too! We’re inland and have very few tornadoes or anything too violent. I’m sorry to hear about your husband, Dianne. I had no idea! I hope everything ends up okay.

      • diannegray March 21, 2014 / 1:56 AM

        He’s fine – just a recurring niggle that needs to be fixed. And the wind has stopped! YAY 😀

        • jannatwrites March 21, 2014 / 11:43 PM

          I’m glad everything is okay and winds are calm now, Dianne!

    • jannatwrites March 20, 2014 / 10:36 PM

      🙂 I’m sure things will calm down soon… I’ll keep my feet planted, Kathy!

  12. GodGirl March 21, 2014 / 1:47 AM

    Great haiku! Love how it describes the wind’s ferocity.
    I also like your gracious acceptance of the season in this line:
    “So, I take my allergy medicine in the morning and take in the wind show in the afternoon.”
    So much to enjoy here, thanks again.

    • jannatwrites March 21, 2014 / 11:55 PM

      Thanks for reading and for your kind words, GodGirl! Since we can’t stop the wind, we just have accept it 🙂

  13. Imelda March 21, 2014 / 12:32 PM

    I am not a fan of the wind either, especially when it makes my skirt fly and turns my umbrella upside down. 🙂

    • jannatwrites March 21, 2014 / 11:57 PM

      Oh, I imagine the skirt would pose a bit of a problem, Imelda!

Got an opinion? Share it!

