Red Mountain

Hoodoos at Red Mountain
Hoodoos at Red Mountain, Arizona

Red Mountain: God’s creation, nature’s gem.  Hoodoos, hundreds of thousands of years old, inspire awe and our kids’ curiosity.

I sigh, content.

Nature never fails to satisfy my soul and restore my spirit.

~~~-~~~-~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-

I was sad to find out that Trifecta is closing its doors at the end of March.  In tribute to that, I really wanted to do the last remaining challenges.

Even better than using the following word/definition in a 33-word response, I got to sneak in “hoodoos,” a new word I learned this week* 🙂 How could I pass that up? )

 SATISFY  (transitive verb) – 3a : to make happy : please ;  b : to gratify to the full : appease

*Hoodoo:  a natural column of rock in western North America often in fantastic form, left by erosion.  (When researching our next place to visit in Arizona, I knew we had to visit this place when I read the US Forest Service description, which included reference to hoodoos!)

74 thoughts on “Red Mountain

    • jannatwrites March 17, 2014 / 9:09 PM

      Thanks, Phil! When I saw ‘hoodoos’ on the US Forest website I knew I had to include this in my list of ‘want-to-sees’. Hubby voted for it as well, so we went 🙂

  1. nrhatch March 17, 2014 / 10:16 AM

    What? No more Trifecta? That’s going to leave a hole in cyber space.

    • jannatwrites March 17, 2014 / 9:10 PM

      It will be strange, for sure. Thanks for stopping by, Nancy!

  2. Debbie March 17, 2014 / 12:35 PM

    I’ve never seen Red Mountain — thanks for showing it to me! Sad about Trifecta — I’ll have to hop over there and ferret out the reason for their decision.

    • jannatwrites March 17, 2014 / 9:11 PM

      I don’t think a reason was really given, but it probably has something to do with the amount of time it takes to host and judge such a challenge. Thanks for stopping by to see Red Mountain. We also saw Jerome and Montezuma’s Well. I’m sure they will make it into a post at some point!

  3. suzicate March 17, 2014 / 3:12 PM

    The hubby introduced me to the word “hoodoos” a few years ago when planning our trip out West…I thought it was the coolest word ever! Love the photo! And yes, nature restores the soul.

    • jannatwrites March 17, 2014 / 9:12 PM

      I’m glad I’m not the only one, Suzicate – I liked the word, too! I can’t believe I haven’t heard it before,seeing as though I’ve lived in the Southwest for most of my life 🙂

  4. Tara R. March 17, 2014 / 3:50 PM

    I do love my weekly hikes in the woods, so relaxing and rejuvenating.

    • jannatwrites March 17, 2014 / 9:13 PM

      I’m glad you find peace in nature, too, Tara!

  5. C.C. March 17, 2014 / 5:07 PM

    “Hoodoos”—a fun word to say and a delight to behold. And, nature satisfies in a way that few other things can!

    • jannatwrites March 17, 2014 / 9:14 PM

      Isn’t that a cool word? Thanks for reading, C.C.!

  6. DonettaSd March 17, 2014 / 5:57 PM

    This was awesome. I now have a word to look up. Thank you for sharing.

    • jannatwrites March 17, 2014 / 9:14 PM

      Thanks so much for reading, Donetta! Photos don’t do Red Mountain justice… really is a pretty place to visit.

  7. pattisj March 17, 2014 / 8:41 PM

    The sights out there are amazing.

    • jannatwrites March 17, 2014 / 9:19 PM

      We’ve been trying to branch out and see more places in Arizona. We originally planned to go to the underground lava tunnels, but when we found out the forest roads leading to them were closed, we made some back up plans (we didn’t want to hike four miles just to get there.) We thought Grand Falls would be fun to visit, but it’s on the Navajo reservation and we didn’t have enough time to apply for a permit to visit. There’s also 30+ miles of dirt road 4×4 driving. Maybe someday we’ll get there 🙂

      • pattisj March 17, 2014 / 9:48 PM

        It sounds like you have a lot of great places to see. I hope you do, so I can see the pictures! I didn’t realize a permit was needed to visit a reservation. I guess you need reservations.

        • jannatwrites March 17, 2014 / 9:51 PM

          Reservations…haha! I didn’t know that either until I found a website that mentioned it. Then I went to the tribal website and found that you needed to apply at least three weeks in advance. Getting arrested by the tribal police isn’t a post I’d like to write 🙂

        • pattisj March 17, 2014 / 10:19 PM

          No spirit of adventure?

        • jannatwrites March 17, 2014 / 10:44 PM

          ‘Fraid not, Patti!

  8. Christine March 17, 2014 / 9:45 PM

    Lovely – both the writing and the sentiment. I feel the same way under the douglas firs here in the Pacific Northwest.

    • jannatwrites March 17, 2014 / 9:58 PM

      Thanks, Christine! Sounds beautiful. I was born in the Pacific Northwest but we moved back to the Southwest when I was young. Someday, we’ll go visit. (My husband is an Arizona native and is game for travel to anywhere that is not a desert 🙂 )

      • Christine March 17, 2014 / 10:00 PM

        I grew up in Connecticut – I’m a New Englander at heart – but I love it here. My brother lives in Phoenix and loves it just as much as I love Portland. 🙂

        • jannatwrites March 17, 2014 / 10:10 PM

          Wow, that’s a cross-country move, Christine! I’ve not traveled much east of the Mississippi, but would like to at least visit. I’m glad your brother loves Phoenix! My parents love it too (about as strongly as I dislike it 🙂 )

  9. diannegray March 17, 2014 / 11:35 PM

    Hoodoo is a great word, Janna and you’ve done so well here 😀

    I’ll miss the challenges and reading your input into them 😦

    • jannatwrites March 18, 2014 / 12:23 PM

      It is sad that the Trifecta era is ending, but I still do Speakeasy and sometimes the 100-Word Song 🙂 I’m glad you liked hoodoo as well… so fun to say, Dianne!

  10. pattyabr March 18, 2014 / 4:21 AM

    Sad about Trifecta 😦 I learned a new word in hoodoos. looking at rock formations is like looking at clouds you see familiar shapes.

    • jannatwrites March 18, 2014 / 12:23 PM

      I bet you could find shapes, Patty. I was too dumbstruck to do anything but stare, though!

    • jannatwrites March 18, 2014 / 12:24 PM

      Thanks for checking this post out, Kathy!

  11. imab00kworm March 18, 2014 / 11:00 AM

    Inspiring… One day (well more than a day) I’m going to go on a road trip (or a transport trip) in the US. I also count on doing one in Europe. I also want to learn Spanish, German, Russian and Chinese and I will probably never do any of these things but I’m glad you showed my something beautiful today 🙂

    • jannatwrites March 18, 2014 / 12:25 PM

      I’m glad you enjoyed the photo, Imabookworm! I hope you do get to embark on some of the travels you dream of. When I was younger, I wanted to travel, but somewhere along the line I grew roots and became too practical. Now, I prefer to be away from home only a few days at a time 🙂

      • imab00kworm March 20, 2014 / 1:05 AM

        I just realised, I meant showed me*… I can’t type whether it be on my phone or on a computer (though luckily my phone has autocorrect)…
        Thanks, if I’m lucky I might be able to travel a bit after my studies before settling down and finding work 🙂

        • jannatwrites March 20, 2014 / 10:30 PM

          I hope it works out for you! The timing you mention is probably the best scenario one could hope for.

        • imab00kworm March 22, 2014 / 2:05 AM

          Thank you! And good luck on your adventures after trifecta too, I hope we “meet” again 😉

        • jannatwrites March 23, 2014 / 8:53 PM

          I’m sure we will, imab00kworm. Good luck to your, too!

  12. jstansfeld March 19, 2014 / 7:09 AM

    I’ve been living under a barrel as I haven’t visited the challenge sites such as Trifecta – where you, understandably, seem to have taken many of the tributes. Hoodoo is a lovely sonorous word somehow it seems appropriate to the extraordinary feature which it describes. I am also entranced by the beauty of untouched nature whether it is hoodoo, a gnarled tree, an Amaryllis flower, or pristine mountain lake with water so clear that you can see the eels in the bottom (New Zealand) The sun shines and spring is in the air here in Texas. Cheerio, Jane

    • jannatwrites March 19, 2014 / 9:25 PM

      Oh, gnarled trees are another of my favorites, Jane! I’d love to see the eels in the clear water (um, maybe from a distance, though.) We seem to have much in common with respect to our admiration of nature. Thanks so much for stopping by. I appreciate you taking time to share your thoughtful comment!

  13. Renada Styles March 19, 2014 / 9:21 AM

    I may not be religious, but there is something about nature that touches the spirit.

    I had to look up hoodoo- at first I thought it was voodoo! But it is an interesting word. Quite variant in its meaning.

    • jannatwrites March 19, 2014 / 9:26 PM

      I thought that it was an interesting word, too! Thanks for reading, Renada 🙂

  14. joetwo March 19, 2014 / 9:44 AM

    I like the word hoodoo. It has something about it. I sounds like the noise you make when you see one!! Nice piece!

    • jannatwrites March 19, 2014 / 9:28 PM

      Haha, it kind of does of that sound, Joe 🙂 Thanks so much for stopping by!

  15. Kir Piccini March 19, 2014 / 11:45 AM

    I am not an outdoors girl , but something about the way you wrote this made me want to be. To worship at the fountain of fresh air and the foot of majestic mountains.

    I sighed at the end , as I imagine you did looking up at that beauty.

    • jannatwrites March 19, 2014 / 9:30 PM

      Thanks for your beautiful comment, Kir! I’m glad this made you appreciate the outdoors. I have an interesting relationship with nature – I love to be out in it, taking it all in- but detest when it crawls all over me 🙂 (I get a little weird with insects.)

  16. Rog Rites (@RogRites) March 19, 2014 / 8:12 PM

    Nature never fails to satisfy my soul and restore my spirit.

    Me too. Nice imagery.

    • jannatwrites March 19, 2014 / 9:32 PM

      Good to know others “get” that feeling 🙂 Thanks so much for reading, Rog Rites!

  17. KymmInBarcelona March 20, 2014 / 8:11 AM

    Something to satisfy the soul is always a good thing. Cool piece, Janna!
    I’m not a traveller, so my garden gets me there : )

    • jannatwrites March 21, 2014 / 11:35 PM

      A garden can be peaceful, too, Kymm! No need to travel long distances 🙂

  18. GodGirl March 21, 2014 / 1:49 AM

    Lovely. Yes – there is something so powerful and refreshing in observing nature isn’t there…

    • jannatwrites March 21, 2014 / 11:36 PM

      I’m glad you can relate to it, GodGirl!

  19. kgwaite March 21, 2014 / 10:08 AM

    Great write – looking forward to my summer trip out west and seeing all that red rock again.

    • jannatwrites March 21, 2014 / 11:37 PM

      Thanks, Kelly! I hope you enjoy your visit out west.

  20. Imelda March 21, 2014 / 12:34 PM

    Lovely 33, says a lot about nature. I learned a new word from your post, too: Hoodoos. That sounds neat.

    • jannatwrites March 21, 2014 / 11:38 PM

      Haha, I liked the sound of that word too, Imelda! Thanks so much for reading.

    • jannatwrites March 21, 2014 / 11:39 PM

      Thanks, H.L.! It was pretty there – a new place we haven’t seen before.

  21. Ruby manchanda March 21, 2014 / 5:10 PM

    Lovely words and picture. Thanks for sharing.

  22. atrm61 March 22, 2014 / 6:40 AM

    Though I am not a nature person but I definitely feel the pull and am in awe of such majestic creations by the Super power!A beautiful piece and the picture too Janna-the hoodoo must have had a voodoo effect on me,lol!

    • jannatwrites March 23, 2014 / 8:58 PM

      Haha… when I looked up the word, voodoo was actually one of the definitions! I’m all for nature as long as it isn’t crawling on me 🙂 Thanks for reading, Atreeyee!

      • atrm61 March 25, 2014 / 2:32 AM

        Really?Oh cool-they must be country cousins 😉

        • atrm61 March 25, 2014 / 9:56 AM

          😀

  23. Tina March 23, 2014 / 1:44 PM

    Hoodoo has another meaning, but I like yours much better! Wonderful imagery, and it sounds like you had an inspiring experience.

    • jannatwrites March 23, 2014 / 9:02 PM

      Thanks, Tina! I noticed there were a few definitions when I looked the word up. Cool word 🙂

  24. trifectawriting March 24, 2014 / 5:21 AM

    This is lovely. I definitely am an outdoors girl, and this reminds me of some of the geography of Bolivia. Lovely, fascinating place. Thanks for linking up.

    • jannatwrites March 24, 2014 / 8:53 PM

      I’ve never been to Bolivia – cool! Thanks for reading 🙂

  25. Sarah Ann March 24, 2014 / 11:53 AM

    Beautiful use of the prompt. And thanks for the new word!

    • jannatwrites March 24, 2014 / 8:54 PM

      Thanks, Sarah Ann – glad you liked the word!

Got an opinion? Share it!

