Striking Balance

Catching some early morning sun in my yard.
Catching some early morning sun in my yard.

My life is a lot like a see saw.  It seems I’m either suspended, feet dangling in the air or I’m planted flat on the ground with the wind knocked out of me.

I’m not sure, but I think right now I’m on the ground.  It’s not all that painful, though… the long days of working with insurance forms has dulled my senses 🙂

Over the last several weeks, we’ve also been thinning out some of the overgrown vegetation in our yard.  Whenever I went outside, I saw with a critical, what-needs-to-be-done eye.  Today, I stepped away from the computer so I could take in something besides a white screen and black words.  Rather than focusing on the areas we haven’t gotten around to cleaning up, my eyes settled on the part of the yard that looks good.

I felt peace.  I felt satisfaction- the payoff of hours of hard work. (The photo above is before our trimming.  I didn’t bring a camera with me today.)  It’s interesting how I was comfortable amid the incomplete in my yard, but the amount of work left beyond looming deadlines at my day job evokes opposite emotions.

Tomorrow I’ll see if I can find similar balance with the day job by taking a moment to acknowledge how much I’ve done rather than pouring all of my attention into what I have left to do.  The balance may be short-lived, but I’d welcome even the briefest break!

 

26 thoughts on “Striking Balance

  1. suzicate March 12, 2014 / 5:40 AM

    I love the satisfaction of a completed project!

  2. Connor Rickett March 12, 2014 / 7:27 AM

    Projects are what keep us sane. Sometimes it’s nice to have a little direct payoff for hands on work!

    • jannatwrites March 13, 2014 / 1:50 AM

      I like the payoff of seeing progress, Connor. When I wrote this, there as no progress with my work to survey. I made great strides today so I feel better about it all 🙂

  3. diannegray March 12, 2014 / 12:55 PM

    It’s always good for the soul to stand back and admire your work 😀

    • jannatwrites March 13, 2014 / 1:52 AM

      So true, Dianne. And I think you’ve been able to do this often as you renovate the RUC 🙂

      • diannegray March 13, 2014 / 2:54 AM

        I spend a lot of time doing this 😉

        • jannatwrites March 14, 2014 / 8:49 AM

          You should 🙂 You’ve earned it!

  4. Carol Ann Hoel March 12, 2014 / 4:33 PM

    Ah. Look look and see. I, too, feel gratified when there is a finished project to admire. Blessings to you, Janna…

    • jannatwrites March 13, 2014 / 1:53 AM

      It is kind of reassuring to see the results of our work, Carol Ann 🙂

  5. Eric Alagan March 12, 2014 / 5:17 PM

    Regular milestones – even if small – and little self rewards to keep going, works for me.

    All good wishes,
    Eric

    • jannatwrites March 13, 2014 / 1:54 AM

      So true – sometimes looking at the big picture can be overwhelming, Eric.

  6. pattisj March 12, 2014 / 10:33 PM

    I hope you’re able to find the bright side of the work well done.

    • jannatwrites March 13, 2014 / 1:56 AM

      Thanks, Patti. Work got a little more manageable today. I think we’ll be able to meet the deadline (if my questions to our home office are answered tomorrow!)

  7. vishalbheeroo March 12, 2014 / 10:39 PM

    The fun of a completed project leads to fulfilment:)

    • jannatwrites March 13, 2014 / 1:56 AM

      Fulfillment – such a nice feeling, Vishal! Glad you stopped by 🙂

  8. nrhatch March 13, 2014 / 7:17 AM

    Here’s to the satisfaction we get from a quick glance over our shoulder to see how far we’ve come.

    • jannatwrites March 14, 2014 / 8:49 AM

      Sometimes it good to find the reassurance that we are making progress, Nancy!

  9. Debbie March 13, 2014 / 8:06 AM

    Isn’t it funny how being outside puts things into perspective? I’m glad you were able to find peace in your yard, but I understand how much harder it is with work. Balance is a tricky thing to attain!

    • jannatwrites March 14, 2014 / 8:51 AM

      Yes, and yes, Debbie! With work, there’s always more being piled up. The inclination is to dive in and persevere. Stopping and using precious time to assess progress seems counter-intuitive. Balance isn’t something I’m good at achieving, much less maintaining 🙂

  10. Lance March 13, 2014 / 12:54 PM

    we’re very similar in this aspect. I’m glad you have something to soothe you.

    great post, I love your personal ones

    • jannatwrites March 14, 2014 / 8:52 AM

      Thanks so much, Lance! I try to keep variety here between fiction, poetry and personal stories. Wouldn’t want to get too predictable 🙂

  11. Imelda March 14, 2014 / 7:07 AM

    That’s a good philosophy to live by. 🙂 Thanks for the reminder. Happy weekend, Janna.

    • jannatwrites March 14, 2014 / 8:53 AM

      I’m so glad the weekend is almost here, Imelda! It has been a struggle every step this week. I hope you have a wonderful weekend!

  12. agjorgenson March 17, 2014 / 6:17 AM

    A see-saw is an interesting metaphor for life – similar but rather different from a pendulum, or perhaps a swing. It catches the ecstasy, and hard landings a little better, I think.

    • jannatwrites March 17, 2014 / 8:56 PM

      I agree that a pendulum is much more relaxed. I’d rather experience life in that manner, but it has been more of a see-saw for me lately… no soft landings here 🙂 Thanks for stopping by to share your thoughts, Allen!

Got an opinion? Share it!

