Love “Stinks” (A Trifecta Challenge)

Cupid’s a terrible aim.

Some say the affliction stinks-

I agree.

The object of my unrequited

attention,

deflector of my

intentions,

rebuffs my

proclamations.

Mon amour-

a gorgeous kitty.

Me?

A lonely skunk.

~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-

TrifectaPicture11-1This is my silly response to the Trifecta weekly writing prompt.  I’ve been absent for a couple weeks for this challenge but figured I could handle 33 words.  But you can be the judge of that.  No, really, you’re the judge because it’s a community vote week 🙂

You have 48 hours from when the challenge closes on Thursday to vote for your favorite.  Click on the tricycle image to check out other entries- or even better- submit your own!

Here’s the challenge:  this week we’re asking for exactly 33 of your own words about love gone wrong.  But we’re asking that you not use any of the following words:  love; sad; tears; wept; heart; pain.

My poem is written from the POV of Pepé Le Pew- one of my favorite Looney Tunes characters!  Poor guy did everything he could to woo his lady love, not realizing that she was a kitty, not a skunk.   I’d post a photo, but don’t want to be busted by the copyright police 😛

Thanks for reading – have a great Monday!

111 thoughts on “Love “Stinks” (A Trifecta Challenge)

  1. Michael February 10, 2014 / 7:49 AM

    When I got to the end, I had to go back and read it in his voice. Ah, l’amour. 🙂

    • jannatwrites February 10, 2014 / 8:33 AM

      Haha… Funny, because when I read through it, I did the same thing 🙂 I love Peppy! Um, not in that way!

    • jannatwrites February 10, 2014 / 8:33 AM

      Thanks, Suzicate! I decided to go silly rather than sad for the love-gone-wrong theme 🙂

    • jannatwrites February 10, 2014 / 8:35 AM

      Hehe… that would be tragic, wouldn’t it, Newwhitebear! I added more explanation to my post: Peppy le Pew was a skunk who spent all his time trying to woo his lady love, not realizing that she was a kitty, not a skunk. He didn’t understand why she always ran away from him 🙂

    • jannatwrites February 10, 2014 / 8:36 AM

      Thanks for reading, Yarnspinnerr! I’d hoped this response didn’t “stink” 🙂

        • jannatwrites February 10, 2014 / 8:45 AM

          Thanks 🙂 Even though I don’t buy into the Valentine’s Day hoopla, I didn’t “feel” the anguish vibe today.

        • yarnspinnerr February 10, 2014 / 8:52 AM

          I consider it just as a marketing opportunity.

        • jannatwrites February 10, 2014 / 8:55 AM

          Exactly! My husband bought me Valentine’s flowers- once. After I saw the credit card bill, I threatened him not to ever do that again 🙂 I get chocolate the day after, when everything goes on sale.

        • yarnspinnerr February 10, 2014 / 9:07 AM

          One has to be so innovative to counter the market forces.

          Just making the ends meet is a full time job. I wonder why no such courses are offered in Universities. 🙂

        • jannatwrites February 10, 2014 / 9:21 AM

          Education is necessary. We do talk about money with our kids and I love it when they ask questions that show they just might be listening.

        • yarnspinnerr February 10, 2014 / 11:09 PM

          Sorry, the net conked off.

          Yes, but they have a different sense of money, at least my kids do.

        • jannatwrites February 11, 2014 / 9:04 AM

          Must be a generational thing (I could picture my parents saying the same of us 🙂 )

        • yarnspinnerr February 11, 2014 / 10:17 PM

          Definetly. The values change over a gen. 🙂

  2. Kir Piccini February 10, 2014 / 8:41 AM

    I loved “Cupid’s a terrible aim” it sets the mood.

    Loved this jaunty ode (pun) to lost love. 😉

  3. clarbojahn February 10, 2014 / 10:06 AM

    All of the above and more. Ha! love it. 🙂

    • jannatwrites February 10, 2014 / 9:49 PM

      Thanks for reading my silliness today, Clar!

  4. Sean February 10, 2014 / 10:12 AM

    But skunks are adorable. Reminds me of the time we lost our cat in Prescott when I was growing up. My grandma set a bunch of live traps to try to catch her but all she caught were skunks. She never got sprayed and we eventually found our cat.

    • jannatwrites February 10, 2014 / 9:51 PM

      Skunks are adorable, Sean…as long as you’re not on the receiving end of their odorous spray! I’m glad you found your cat. I wouldn’t want to be the one to deal with the skunks in the traps. I’ve smelled them at close range before but haven’t startled one (yet) 🙂

      • Sean February 11, 2014 / 11:54 AM

        Have you ever drove by a dead skunk and for some odd reason, inhaled? makes me think back to road trips taken in the past. I’m weird like that. I hope you don’t startle one. There was an episode of Call of the Wildman where he was sprayed and had to take a bath. He made a concoction that he said really works. It was interesting, had potatoes and I think vinegar along with tomato juice. Almost sounds like a soup.

        • jannatwrites February 11, 2014 / 11:39 PM

          I try not to inhale the scent 🙂 On a camping trip a couple summers ago, my husband and kids took a nighttime walk around the campsite. A few campsites over, they saw a skunk. Thank goodness the kids listened and they backed away slowly and quietly so no one got sprayed. The remedy you described does sound like a soup. Not one I’d like to try!

  5. djmatticus February 10, 2014 / 10:15 AM

    Hooray for silliness! Oh… wait… I mean, poor, poor, Peppy.

    • jannatwrites February 10, 2014 / 9:52 PM

      His love woes are great for our laughter!

  6. Rebecca February 10, 2014 / 10:23 AM

    Oh, poor Pepe LePew, he never did have much luck with the object of his frustrations, did he? One of my favorite characters as well. This was whimsy and fun.

    • jannatwrites February 10, 2014 / 9:52 PM

      He sure did take a lot of rejection from that snooty cat 🙂 Thanks for reading, Rebecca!

  7. Quickstepp February 10, 2014 / 10:48 AM

    Hahahaha! We always want the one’s who aren’t right for us. Funny take Janna.

    • jannatwrites February 10, 2014 / 9:53 PM

      I had a (long) phase of that, Mel. Thank goodness I finally found someone who wasn’t totally destructive for me!

    • jannatwrites February 10, 2014 / 9:53 PM

      Our laughs are at his expense, but he’s a loveable guy. Thanks for reading, Michelle!

  8. Debbie February 10, 2014 / 12:19 PM

    I love Pepe Le Pew — gotta admire his persistence! Well written, Janna.

    • jannatwrites February 10, 2014 / 9:54 PM

      Yes, he is persistent, Debbie. These days, he’d have been slapped with a restraining order!

  9. YeshuM February 10, 2014 / 12:23 PM

    Haha, my favourite episode is the one where she gets drunk on love potion. Absolutely hilarious. Love the humour Janna 🙂

    • jannatwrites February 10, 2014 / 9:58 PM

      Thanks so much for laughing along, YM! I appreciate you reading. I’ll have to see if I can find that episode on YouTube… I haven’t seen those cartoons since I was a kid (and that was a looong time ago!)

    • jannatwrites February 10, 2014 / 9:59 PM

      Even smellier if you touch 🙂 Thanks for reading, Bjorn!

    • jannatwrites February 10, 2014 / 9:59 PM

      I’m glad you stopped by to read it, vishal!

  10. Kathy Combs (@Kathy29156) February 10, 2014 / 12:52 PM

    LOL I always loved watching Pepe Le Pew going after that poor cat!! LOL He never gave up though.

    • jannatwrites February 10, 2014 / 10:00 PM

      Yay! Another Pepe fan 🙂 Not many could keep the pursuit with that much rejection. He was funny, though!

  11. nrhatch February 10, 2014 / 12:55 PM

    When I got to the last line . . . I immediately flashed back to Pepé Le Pew! Mon dieu! :mrgreen:

    • jannatwrites February 10, 2014 / 10:01 PM

      Hooray for Pepe! Thanks for reading, Nancy 🙂

  12. Widdershins February 10, 2014 / 3:28 PM

    I loved the cartoon where the cat turns the tables on Pepe and he freaks out, big time!

    • jannatwrites February 10, 2014 / 10:02 PM

      I think he liked the thrill of the chase (and he did A LOT of chasing!) Thanks for reading, Widdershins 🙂

  13. KymmInBarcelona February 10, 2014 / 4:31 PM

    Now my brain is on an endless loop between Pepe LePew and J Geils!

    • jannatwrites February 10, 2014 / 10:03 PM

      Hope you can break that loop, Kymm 🙂 Thanks for stopping by!

  14. mandyblake95 February 10, 2014 / 8:55 PM

    I love Pepe Le Pew, you did such a great job with this, it brought a huge smile to my face.

    • jannatwrites February 10, 2014 / 10:09 PM

      Thanks, Mandy! I’m glad you smiled along here today.

  15. pattyabr February 10, 2014 / 9:14 PM

    Great poem I too love Pepe Le Pew.

    The challenge made me think of the song “Love Hurts” by Nazareth “Love hurts, love scars, love wounds And mars any heart…” The iconic music and singing that accompanies the lyrics are haunting in itself.

    • jannatwrites February 10, 2014 / 10:11 PM

      It seems there are many Pepe fans – glad you’re one of them, Patty! I’m not familiar with that song… perhaps it could inspire you to write your own love-gone-wrong response?

  16. diannegray February 10, 2014 / 9:51 PM

    Great poem, Janna – I tried to vote but couldn’t find out where to put my two cents in 😦

    • jannatwrites February 10, 2014 / 10:17 PM

      Thanks so much, Dianne! The voting opens on Thursday (after the challenge closes) and voting takes place on Trifecta’s site. With the time zone differences it gets interesting, but in the right sidebar, they have countdown showing how much time is left until the challenge closes.

  17. pattisj February 10, 2014 / 10:33 PM

    I remember Pepe Le Pew–great description of his love life.

    • jannatwrites February 11, 2014 / 9:04 AM

      I’m glad you’re a fan, too. I like to think he finally found happiness, Patti 🙂

    • jannatwrites February 11, 2014 / 9:12 AM

      Me too, Kelly! The cartoons these days just don’t compare (and I’ve tried to watch some with the kiddos.) Although, my younger son LOVES Tom and Jerry… good taste that child has, as that’s another one I enjoy 🙂

  18. Renada Styles February 11, 2014 / 9:25 AM

    Pepe! You totally won me with this one. One of my favorite shows growing-up, and it still is! Other than that winning factor, though, I will say that your piece was indeed very well made. It read quite well!

    • jannatwrites February 11, 2014 / 11:26 PM

      Woo-hoo, another Pepe fan 🙂 I’m glad you enjoyed reading this one, Renada – thanks!

  19. trifectawriting February 11, 2014 / 10:57 AM

    Oh love may stink for the poor skunk, but your writing does not! Don’t forget to come back and vote!

    • jannatwrites February 11, 2014 / 11:30 PM

      Aw, thanks 🙂 This was a fun challenge!

  20. ReallyGina1 (@ReallyGina1) February 11, 2014 / 11:04 AM

    I had to go back and re-read after the explanation. I thought it was you being rebuffed p, Janna, because I understand cats are that way! Fun write!!!

    • jannatwrites February 11, 2014 / 11:33 PM

      Haha… you’re right, Gina – a cat can certainly give a cold shoulder. (But when they want attention, they expect us to drop everything!)

  21. Glynis February 11, 2014 / 3:05 PM

    Can you hear me clapping and laughing Janna? Pepe Le Pew is my absolute favorite! I love this, thank you so much for writing it, you brought his feelings to light!

    • jannatwrites February 11, 2014 / 11:44 PM

      Your comment made me grin, Glynis 😛 I’m glad you’re a Pepe fan, too! I appreciate you taking time to read and smile along.

  22. garrisonjames February 11, 2014 / 3:43 PM

    Fun and nicely done. Pepe is one of the great cartoon characters. Poor guy.

    • jannatwrites February 11, 2014 / 11:46 PM

      Thanks for reading, Garrison! Pepe is awesome…kitty may not have loved him, but looking at the comments, a lot of other people do 🙂

  23. Tina February 11, 2014 / 4:09 PM

    Poor Pepe! This was so adorable! We have skunks visiting our yard occasionally, and my cats are never amused.

    • jannatwrites February 11, 2014 / 11:47 PM

      Cats and skunks don’t make good playmates! I’m glad you stopped by to read my silly love-gone-wrong poem, Tina 🙂

  24. debseeman February 11, 2014 / 10:39 PM

    Awesome! Love a little humor. Sometimes just need a “Lighten up Francis” break. 🙂

    • jannatwrites February 11, 2014 / 11:51 PM

      Thanks, Deb! I’m glad you stopped by to laugh along.

  25. September Dreamz February 11, 2014 / 10:57 PM

    Lovely Janna! Especially your funny take on a topic like this.. glad you chose not to make it sad. Love yaa!

    • jannatwrites February 11, 2014 / 11:53 PM

      I’m glad I kept it light, too, September Dreamz. Still not feeling the serious heartbreak vibe! I appreciate you reading 🙂

  26. Ivy (Mommy Dourest) February 12, 2014 / 8:07 AM

    Awww. Good one! I’ve always had a soft spot for Pepe. He might stink, but he has mad charm.

    • jannatwrites February 12, 2014 / 11:51 PM

      He is a charismatic fellow, Ivy! Glad to see you like Pepe, too.

  27. Sandra February 12, 2014 / 11:41 AM

    You come up with the most amazing responses. Who’d think of Pepe Le Pew for a prompt like this?! I love it. Love sure “stinks”! Ah, mon dieu!

    • jannatwrites February 12, 2014 / 11:56 PM

      Hehe! I have no idea why my mind went to Pepe, but it’s seriously the first thing that came to mind when I saw the prompt, so I just went with it. It worked out, since my heart wasn’t in the depressing love gone wrong frame of mind.

  28. Christine February 12, 2014 / 1:54 PM

    *ah hahaha* This was fantastic! I ❤ poor Pepe too.

    • jannatwrites February 12, 2014 / 11:56 PM

      Thanks, Christine! I’m sure Pepe would feel the love of all his supporters… you know, if skunks could read 🙂

  29. Lance February 12, 2014 / 5:21 PM

    “I am ze locksmith of love, no?”

    well done

    • jannatwrites February 12, 2014 / 11:58 PM

      Hahaha! I read this in Pepe’s voice… thanks for the laugh, Lance 😛

  30. Sarah Ann February 13, 2014 / 4:01 AM

    Very funny. And it works without an intimate knowledge of the characters. Can’t stop smiling. 🙂

    • jannatwrites February 13, 2014 / 11:52 PM

      I’m glad it got you smiling, Sarah Ann – that makes me smile 🙂

  31. Ashley K. February 13, 2014 / 9:41 AM

    Lol! Love it! Also, I have a lonely skunk tattooed on my ankle. No joke. I’m hoping to hide it under a tree soon. Hahahaha.

    • jannatwrites February 13, 2014 / 11:54 PM

      A skunk tattoo could be cute! Thanks for reading and making me smile with your comment 🙂

  32. Sara Healy February 13, 2014 / 11:44 AM

    I loved this one:~) You made me laugh and I love laughing. I read this aloud and it just bounced from my mouth. I do remember Pepe and you did a wonderful job with this:~)

    • jannatwrites February 13, 2014 / 11:55 PM

      Great! I like laughing too 🙂 (Which could be why I couldn’t bring myself to write a heart-wrenching love gone wrong tale!) I appreciate you reading, Sara.

  33. Ally Atherton February 13, 2014 / 1:34 PM

    Poor little skunk! I guess there are lots of little kitties out there:)

    Enjoyed

    Ally

    • jannatwrites February 13, 2014 / 11:58 PM

      Hehe, or perhaps he should try finding a nice skunk to settle down with 🙂 Thanks for reading, Ally!

    • jannatwrites February 13, 2014 / 11:58 PM

      Thanks, Joanne! I had fun with this one 🙂 (Then again, I always do, or I wouldn’t bother!)

  34. Suzanne Purkis February 13, 2014 / 1:51 PM

    Pepé Le Pew is my favourite! I always felt so bad for him. Nicely done, Janna! 🙂

    • jannatwrites February 13, 2014 / 11:59 PM

      Thanks, Suzanne! Pepe sure did have a thing for the wrong (species of) girl 🙂 Thanks for reading.

  35. shailajav February 14, 2014 / 12:54 AM

    One of my favourite characters! And how well you’ve spun that tale 🙂 Love it!

    • jannatwrites February 14, 2014 / 7:12 AM

      Thanks, Shailajav! I’m glad you like the character and my interpretation of his situation.

  36. Draug419 February 14, 2014 / 7:56 AM

    Ha! Too cute.

  37. Momo February 14, 2014 / 12:11 PM

    Oh I love this. The rhyming and the phrases are excellent. Poor Pepe.

    • jannatwrites February 17, 2014 / 9:20 PM

      Thanks, Momo – I’m glad you enjoyed this one 🙂

  38. tnkerr February 14, 2014 / 8:32 PM

    I must say that IMHO “la belle femme skunk fatale” would approve of this post. Bravo!

  39. atrm61 February 15, 2014 / 12:55 PM

    Ha!ha!Janna-me & Sam loved Pepe-unfortunately they do not telecast it anymore-sigh!An excellent take on the prompt 😀

    • jannatwrites February 17, 2014 / 9:22 PM

      I haven’t seen Pepe on TV for quite some time, Atreyee. So sad! I’m glad you liked my response 🙂

      • atrm61 February 19, 2014 / 10:36 AM

        I know like Sam always says nowadays they do not show any good cartoons 😛

        • jannatwrites February 20, 2014 / 11:25 PM

          The old ones do have a certain appeal!

        • atrm61 February 21, 2014 / 8:24 AM

          True!

Got an opinion? Share it!

