What Do You See?

Some of you might remember previous tree stump posts, like this, or this, where I shared pictures of dead trees/stumps and challenged you to share what you saw in them.  Sort of like a 3-D Rorschach ink blot test, only it’s not really a test and I don’t interpret them in any way 🙂

It’s been a while since I’ve done this, and some of you had fun with it, so I figured, “why not?”  Let’s have some fun!  Check out the photos below and leave me a comment with what you see in each one.

01-14 Stump

01-14 Stump2

Well, as I’ve done before, I wanted to give you a chance to see the pictures and form your own ideas before I share what my sometimes questionable mind saw!

So, are you ready?

Are you sure?

Okay, here goes.  In the first photo, I see the decapitated head of the Easter Bunny.  Disturbing, right?  I’m not sure what this says about me because I’m not aware of any deep-seated hatred of rabbits, or candy- or creepy life-sized rabbits bearing candy!  In the second photo, I see an animal- maybe a seal- stretched out in the snow.

So, what do you see in the photos? 

 

 

50 thoughts on “What Do You See?

  1. Kathy Combs January 15, 2014 / 5:20 AM

    In the first picture I see the head of a bunny peeking out of his hole. The second picture I see a dachsund dog stretched out on the ground sunning himself. 😀 This was fun!!

    • jannatwrites January 15, 2014 / 11:12 PM

      Well, a rabbit in a hole is a lot less morbid than my decapitation interpretation 🙂

      I see the dog, too – good one, Kathy! Thanks for playing along.

  2. SuziCate January 15, 2014 / 5:47 AM

    Rabbit head in the first. Dog in the second.

    • jannatwrites January 15, 2014 / 11:13 PM

      Maybe these were too easy. I’ll have to keep my eyes open for other creations 🙂 Glad you shared your interpretations, SuziCate!

  3. Eleenie January 15, 2014 / 5:50 AM

    I agree, a rabbits head for the first photo. I see a pointer dog with it’s ears back in the second one!

    • jannatwrites January 15, 2014 / 11:15 PM

      Thanks for playing along, Eleenie! A dog makes more sense than the seal I guessed 🙂

  4. Why?Matters! January 15, 2014 / 5:56 AM

    The first a coati-mundi. with the nose up high and the second a dog waiting and looking to the left.
    Is that a psychology test 😀

    • jannatwrites January 15, 2014 / 11:19 PM

      Coati-mundi – that’s such a unique offering. (I had to Google it for images…I don’t believe I’ve seen one before.

      Haha, no, it’s not a psychology test…I’m not qualified to administer or interpret them 🙂

  5. nrhatch January 15, 2014 / 6:49 AM

    I see a bunny in the first . . . bunny butt to the camera and ears pointed away.

    I don’t do decapitated when imbuing tree stumps with life. 😛

    • jannatwrites January 15, 2014 / 11:20 PM

      Well, being able to envision the entire bunny is much less disturbing than what my mind gave me, Nancy! Thanks for joining in 🙂

  6. BCIJo (aka Joanne Edith) January 15, 2014 / 6:51 AM

    Definitely decapitated bunny, but hat of my favorite, plush bunny, after my dog finishes ‘playing’ with it. And speaking of dogs, it’s definitely a Doberman snow-bathing in the second. Thanks for a fun distraction!

    • jannatwrites January 15, 2014 / 11:22 PM

      At least it’s not the Easter Bunny, Joanne! A snow-bathing Doberman… I like it! I’m glad you decided to play along 🙂

  7. mandyblake95 January 15, 2014 / 7:08 AM

    In the first pic I see a bunny with its head cocked to the side trying to figure out what kind of tree it is looking at. In the second I see a prarie dog poking it’s head up out of hole to see if there are any coyotes around.

    • jannatwrites January 15, 2014 / 11:23 PM

      Your bunny is a lot kinder than the big old head I saw 🙂 I like the prairie dog… it’s like you just made up a story for the picture, Mandy!

      • mandyblake95 January 16, 2014 / 7:43 AM

        I used to play the same game with clouds when I was younger, and still do sometimes on long road trips. Thanks for the fun post.

        • jannatwrites January 18, 2014 / 9:36 AM

          I still play the cloud game, Mandy! I haven’t gotten pictures in a while, though. I’m glad you stopped by 🙂

  8. momsomniac January 15, 2014 / 8:13 AM

    Hmmm, I see A-bomb test site bunny, and a dachshund.

    • jannatwrites January 15, 2014 / 11:27 PM

      Your bunny guess made me chuckle – very creative, Momsomniac 🙂 Glad you stopped by to join in. I’m having fun reading all the responses!

  9. philosophermouseofthehedge January 15, 2014 / 9:05 AM

    Hmmm, the first is a cat nipped up cat tossing legs in the air.
    The second a dachsund standing in the snow looking at a too small doghouse. (OK I spelled the breed’s name wrong?..but you see it?)

    • jannatwrites January 15, 2014 / 11:29 PM

      The cat is an interesting one, Phil! I can go with the dog… I won’t type the name because I don’t know how to spell it correctly, either 🙂

  10. Sean January 15, 2014 / 9:34 AM

    The first pic, I saw a head with either some crazy hair, Medusa type, or a hand growing out of it. Yes, it has been one of those days. the second was a bear coming out of a log. hmm Now to read what you put.

    • jannatwrites January 15, 2014 / 11:32 PM

      I can kind of see the Medusa hair, but had to laugh at the head with a hand growing out of it. (Still not as twisted as my decapitated Easter Bunny, though!) Good thing bears hibernate – I’d be frightened to see one crawling out of a log 🙂 Glad you decided to join in, Sean!

  11. vishalbheeroo January 15, 2014 / 9:43 AM

    hey!! beautiful pics and love d’em all:)

    • jannatwrites January 15, 2014 / 11:33 PM

      I’m glad you liked the photos, Vishal!

  12. Catherine Johnson January 15, 2014 / 9:44 AM

    First is definitely rabbit and second a mythological creature. Great photos!

    • jannatwrites January 15, 2014 / 11:34 PM

      I like the idea of a mythological creature…gets the creative wheels turning 🙂 Thanks for playing along, Catherine!

  13. Debbie January 15, 2014 / 11:41 AM

    1) A bunny, lying on its side in the dappled sunlight.
    2) A black Labrador retriever, with a grin on its face, inching along in the snow on its belly.

    • jannatwrites January 15, 2014 / 11:37 PM

      Your Labrador description made me smile, Debbie. It’s interesting how differently several of us have seen the rabbit.

  14. pattisj January 15, 2014 / 11:52 AM

    1) a cat stretching to whack ornaments off the tree
    2) a dachshund lying in the snow

    • jannatwrites January 15, 2014 / 11:39 PM

      I should’ve recognized the cat – I’ve seen that position in my own cats (they do love ornaments!) Thanks for offering up your interpretation, Patti!

  15. Carol Ann Hoel January 15, 2014 / 12:56 PM

    I see a baby bird with it’s mouth open waiting for Mama Bird to stuff it full.
    I see an alligator frozen in the snow. Alligators prefer sun.

    Yikes, with the suggestion of a decapitated head of a bunny, I surely do see it. What a pity to see a rabbit lose its head. Frozen alligator? Duh.

    • jannatwrites January 15, 2014 / 11:41 PM

      Oh, I see the bird – it’s beak is the rabbit’s ears. Cool! I imagine an alligator would be quite uncomfortable in the snow 🙂 I’m glad you decided to join in, Carol Ann…I’ve had fun looking at the pictures in different ways as I’ve read the responses!

  16. widdershins January 15, 2014 / 8:44 PM

    1st pic – a really, really cranky bunny buried up to its neck by its younger siblings
    2 – The Tribbles escaped from Star Trek and are about to ambush a brown dachshund in the middle of a snowfield.

    • jannatwrites January 15, 2014 / 11:46 PM

      Haha…and those rabbits have big families 🙂 You stumped (get it, like tree stump…okay, that was lame but I couldn’t help it!) me on the second one. I Googled Tribbles and now I see the patches of grass could be Tribbles. I like the scene you imagined, Widdershins! I’m glad you chose to join in and share your creativity.

  17. diannegray January 16, 2014 / 1:30 AM

    I saw the rabbit ears in the first one and the second looks like a dog. I love these sort of pics – great fun, Janna! 😀

    • jannatwrites January 18, 2014 / 9:34 AM

      I’m glad you stopped by to give them a look, Dianne!

  18. knotrune January 16, 2014 / 3:49 AM

    First, some kind of fat monkey or a koala, from behind, reaching up into the tree. Second, a mink lying on the ground. But I can see why you saw a rabbit head for the first one.

    • jannatwrites January 18, 2014 / 9:35 AM

      Ooh, koala- that’s a different response! I think a mink works for the second one – it’s a long, skinny animal, like the stump. Glad you decided to play along, Knotrune!

  19. DonettaS January 16, 2014 / 8:00 AM

    This looked fun. I seen a rabbit………….. well the whole rabbit. It’s fat body turned away from the camera and ears slightly big. The second……………. I seen a dog stretched in the snow. Just relaxing.

    • jannatwrites January 18, 2014 / 9:38 AM

      I think it’s more ‘normal’ to see the entire rabbit, Donetta! That second stump caught my eye because when I first saw it, I thought it was an animal. It was pretty cold, so I can’t imagine an animal being comfortable lounging in the snow 🙂

  20. newwhitebear January 16, 2014 / 12:44 PM

    What do I see? In the first picture a beautiful rabbit with long ears. In the second a wiener dog in the snow.
    A warm hug

    • jannatwrites January 18, 2014 / 9:39 AM

      I’m glad you decided to play along, Newwhitebear! It’s been several months since I posted one of these.

  21. Sun January 16, 2014 / 9:22 PM

    the second one looks like a sausage dog but the first one…darn if my imagination can figure it out. 🙂

    • jannatwrites January 18, 2014 / 9:41 AM

      I think the second one may have been easier. I’m glad you stopped by and gave it a try, Sun!

  22. GodGirl January 17, 2014 / 1:28 AM

    Fun idea!
    Pic 1 – A pre-schooler’s fingers, attempting to form the correct pencil grip.
    Pic 2 – An aged seal, weary from life.

    • jannatwrites January 18, 2014 / 9:43 AM

      Cool, someone else saw a seal for the second one 🙂 I still don’t see the preschooler’s grip, but I think it’s just because my mind is stuck on “rabbits”! Glad you decided to give it a try, GodGirl!

  23. Lala Rukh January 18, 2014 / 7:40 AM

    First one surely looks like a bunny’s head without eyes and mouth actually 😛 Second one seems like a dry space where snow didn’t fall 😛

    • jannatwrites January 18, 2014 / 9:45 AM

      I’m glad you stopped by to guess the stumps, Lala! I’ll have to see if I find more of these…

  24. pattyabr January 19, 2014 / 9:21 PM

    the first picture looked like a bunny but the ears were too tall/long. The second one looked like a big lizard.

    • jannatwrites January 20, 2014 / 12:10 PM

      That would be scary to see a lizard that big, Patty… but it does kind of look like that 🙂

Got an opinion? Share it!

