Chosen

The first time I saw my cat…

Well, I heard her first- she yelled from her cage.

I said, “No way.  That cat is too loud.”

I had no say.

She chose me.

(She’s owned me since then!)

01-13 Cybil

~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-

TrifectaPicture11-1This is my response to the Trifecta weekly writing prompt: We are asking for a 33-word response to the following snippet:

The first time I saw. . .

Here’s the catch: all of your 33 words must be one syllable each.  The total response will be 38 words, including the snippet above.  We’re going low-brow on your this week.  Or not.

Cybil is crazy.  Her nickname is Cybil the Psycho Cat.  She’s a bit unpredictable, but after thirteen years, I’m starting to figure her out (although I still get bitten sometimes.)  Family and friends fear her, but I love my temperamental cat.  Make no mistake, I fully understand that I’m not a cat owner.  It’s the other way around!

The challenge is open to anyone, so click on the link above to add your link to the list and join the fun!  Have a wonderful Monday 🙂

94 thoughts on “Chosen

  1. nrhatch January 13, 2014 / 7:38 AM

    I thought that was Cybil! I’m glad she chose you.

    • jannatwrites January 13, 2014 / 10:18 AM

      Me too, Nancy! (But she really is nuts 🙂 )

  2. Michael January 13, 2014 / 7:46 AM

    I have a cat named Snowball. I feel your pain. 🙂 As the saying goes, dogs have owners, cats have staff.

    • jannatwrites January 13, 2014 / 10:19 AM

      Haha… The cats in my house are disappointed with the quality of staff 🙂 Snowball is a cute name. Thanks for reading, Michael!

  3. Kir Piccini January 13, 2014 / 7:59 AM

    it does, indeed, happen like that. 🙂
    I feel like our dog Fenton picked us, was sent all those years ago, to keep a promise. 🙂

    Nice write Janna, have a good week

    • jannatwrites January 13, 2014 / 10:20 AM

      Thanks, Kir! They find their way to us one way or another 🙂

  4. Lance January 13, 2014 / 8:16 AM

    the furry children always choose us

    • jannatwrites January 13, 2014 / 10:20 AM

      They do, Lance. I’m going to quit making eye contact, though…we have too many animals 🙂

  5. Tara R. January 13, 2014 / 8:23 AM

    All of our cats chose us too.

    • jannatwrites January 13, 2014 / 10:22 AM

      It’s hard to say “no” isn’t it? Thanks for stopping by, Tara!

  6. Carol Ann Hoel January 13, 2014 / 8:38 AM

    Great short fiction in verse, Janna. My Shady (cat) chose me, too. I refused to have a cat, but he looked up at me and wailed. I knew he was telling me it was my job to care for him, so I did, until the end. I miss Shady. Blessings to you, Janna…

    • jannatwrites January 13, 2014 / 10:25 AM

      I’m glad Shady found you, Carol! Pets have a special way of working in our hearts. Cybil is a great cat. I remember when our kids were younger, I had my aunt come over to watch them because we had an orientation for my older son’s kindergarten. When we got home, My aunt was standing kind of in the corner. I asked her why she was standing up and she said, “Cybil was staring at me and I got scared.” I shouldn’t laugh, but it’s funny!

  7. philosophermouseofthehedge January 13, 2014 / 8:43 AM

    Cybil chose – and she made no mistake! Great story
    Sounds like one that chose us “Kitty-kitty”. Totally nuts, but ours…she lived forever and ever and crankily ever…ours and still missed and talked about.

    • jannatwrites January 13, 2014 / 10:26 AM

      I feel like I was tricked, though – someone was holding her and decided not to get her and handed her to me. Only after I had her in my arms did I find out what cage she was in. But it was too late, she was already snuggled into me, purring! I think the crazy cats are best, Phil 🙂

      • philosophermouseofthehedge January 13, 2014 / 1:40 PM

        It would be odd to say crazy cats pick like souls…make that “creative cats seek those who also see the world differently.”
        Yep we were tricked by a more intelligent life form….

        • jannatwrites January 13, 2014 / 11:46 PM

          Yes, I suppose that would be strange. Phil. Creative does sound more socially acceptable than crazy. So yeah, Cybil and I are creative 🙂

  8. Gina January 13, 2014 / 8:50 AM

    Both of our Labs picked us for sure. It’s a personality thing…

  9. djmatticus January 13, 2014 / 8:52 AM

    We never have a choice, they always choose us. 😀

    • jannatwrites January 13, 2014 / 10:27 AM

      Sometimes we can fool ourselves into thinking the choice was ours, DJ 🙂

  10. Debbie January 13, 2014 / 8:53 AM

    Aw, I love tabby cats best of all! Sounds like Cybil made a good choice!

    • jannatwrites January 13, 2014 / 10:29 AM

      Oddly enough, I like Siamese/Tonkinese cats, but we’ve got a bunch of tabbies! (My son’s orange tabby is sleeping in my lap right now.) I think Cybil has it pretty good (she would beg to differ – she wants to be an only cat!) Thanks for stopping by, Debbie!

  11. Imelda January 13, 2014 / 9:43 AM

    I love this response. It also resonates with us because that is how we got our puppy. 🙂

    • jannatwrites January 13, 2014 / 10:30 AM

      I’m glad you could relate to it, Imelda. (And it makes me think that maybe this is how it is and I’m not a sucker 🙂 )

  12. suzicate January 13, 2014 / 9:54 AM

    How true it is that sometimes we are the chosen one…and what an honor it is!

    • jannatwrites January 13, 2014 / 10:32 AM

      It is an honor, Suzicate. I’ve had to learn to say “no” when I hear about an animal that needs a home- I won’t even look at the photos. We are over capacity! We get the strangest looks when people find out we have six pets. (Hey, maybe Cybil isn’t the only crazy one in the house, eh?)

  13. joetwo January 13, 2014 / 10:10 AM

    Your best pets choose you.

    • jannatwrites January 13, 2014 / 10:34 AM

      🙂 Our pets rule! (Literally…they have us trained well 😛 )

      • Quickstepp January 13, 2014 / 10:37 AM

        Yeah, too well. My pup is the worst. I melt looking at her silly face.

        • jannatwrites January 13, 2014 / 10:39 AM

          Haha, this actually makes me feel better, Mel! Maybe, just maybe, it’s normal to be suckered in by their adorableness. We should be careful though, because it could be phase one of them preparing to take over the world 🙂

        • Quickstepp January 13, 2014 / 10:42 AM

          Jo has to figure out how to open her food bin first and clean up her own puke (though she HAS tried to do that before….yuck). Cat’s are more likely to be at the helm of the takeover. One of mine actually couldn’t care less whether she ever receives attention or not; feed me. Period. Cats are so odd.

        • jannatwrites January 13, 2014 / 10:46 AM

          Ew – not a good thing when dogs try to ‘clean up’ after themselves! Cats are odd (which could be why I’m drawn to them.) Mine usually want attention when it’s least convenient for me, then if I don’t comply, they find some way to make me sorry, often by knocking stuff off my desk.

    • jannatwrites January 13, 2014 / 11:19 PM

      Me too, Kathy 🙂 She’s my pretty kitty!

  14. humanTriumphant January 13, 2014 / 11:28 AM

    temperamental folks – I mean cats – need love too 🙂

    • jannatwrites January 13, 2014 / 11:32 PM

      It seems they do have that tendency, Bjorn! Thanks for stopping by 🙂

  15. El Guapo January 13, 2014 / 12:06 PM

    Excellent! I don’t even know why I enter these when you’ve already posted. No way I can compete. 🙂

    • jannatwrites January 13, 2014 / 11:37 PM

      You are too kind, Guapo… but really, you needn’t worry- I hardly ever win! Can’t wait to see what you came up with 🙂

  16. Valerie January 13, 2014 / 12:43 PM

    I love this piece about Cybil, Janna! I have a dog named Kona that I love with all my heart. While she wasn’t exactly the dog I had in mind, when I held her tiny puppy body in my arms, she trembled like she had the fear of rejection written all over her (she’d been passed over numerous times before) and my heart melted. I’ve never once regretted getting her:)

    • jannatwrites January 13, 2014 / 11:42 PM

      Thanks, Valerie! I’m glad you found Kona – your story made me misty. I have trouble going to the shelters because I want to take all the pets home 🙂

  17. mcswhispers January 13, 2014 / 1:44 PM

    This is so sweet! Cats are awesome 🙂

    • jannatwrites January 13, 2014 / 11:46 PM

      Thanks, MC! I agree – I adore cats 🙂

  18. widdershins January 13, 2014 / 2:23 PM

    You are an excellent staffperson!

    • jannatwrites January 13, 2014 / 11:47 PM

      Why thank you, Widdershins…. although the feedback I’ve received is that I’m mediocre!

  19. KymmInBarcelona January 13, 2014 / 4:02 PM

    The feline mystique! Sweet poem, you cat lady, you!

    All of my animals have always found me.
    A few months after I moved to a small house outside Barcelona, many moons ago, I opened the front door to grab wood from the porch, and was growled at by a mutt curled up on one of the chairs.
    I was told later that he had sat for days by the bike where his junkie human had died. Then I guess he came looking for me.
    Best damn dog I ever had.

    • jannatwrites January 13, 2014 / 11:50 PM

      Yes, I’m a crazy cat lady, Kymm. Oh. You didn’t write crazy….I guess that just slipped in there 🙂

      I love the story of how you acquired your dog. It doesn’t sound like he gave you the most cordial welcome, but I guess he came around!

  20. Sun January 13, 2014 / 4:51 PM

    the wisdom of the feline world…they are so irresistible! 🙂 i love your sweet poem about Cybil. ☺

    • jannatwrites January 13, 2014 / 11:55 PM

      Thanks, Sun! I adore cats, and Cybil was completely unexpected. (I went there to look for a Siamese cat 🙂 )

  21. Cobbie's World January 13, 2014 / 5:24 PM

    Gosh the cat stories you are getting! Here’s mine: we have a cat that used to be named Circle. He was called that at the Shelter because he was so frightened, all he ever did was stay curled up in his cage. We almost didn’t even see him as we looked. But, my wife noticed and asked to see him. The staff member told us she thought Circle had been abused and that he had never responded well to anyone who had come to call. Needless to say, my wife picked Circle up and Circle stretched out straight and nuzzled against her. He had chosen her. We changed his name so that there would;t be a negative connotation to calling him. He became, Ringo, that day because of rings around the length of his tail. He is sandy-beach orange in colour and, as with all cats, is definitely the Lord of the Manor at our house. Thanks for providing such a good post and a good trip down Memory Lane. 🙂

    • jannatwrites January 13, 2014 / 11:59 PM

      What a sweet story of Circle/Ringo, Cobbie! I’m so glad your wife saw him and he found his way out of his circle. Such a happy ending for a kitty who probably had a tough life. Thanks so much for sharing your experience!

    • jannatwrites January 14, 2014 / 12:27 AM

      They sure know how to choose well, don’t they, Kelly?

  22. C.C. January 13, 2014 / 8:19 PM

    Cute story 🙂

  23. agjorgenson January 13, 2014 / 8:22 PM

    Yes, cats are always the owners! We lost our cat this summer to disease, and miss her so. They really are amazing, if temperamental, animals. As for the challenge, glad to see you rose to the occasion!

    • jannatwrites January 14, 2014 / 12:37 AM

      I’m sorry about your cat, Allen. They can be challenging animals sometimes, but cats are so sweet. Thanks so much for reading!

  24. Christine January 13, 2014 / 10:25 PM

    Cats know what (and who) they want. It’s a little uncanny.

    • jannatwrites January 14, 2014 / 12:41 AM

      They do know somehow, Christine. I just love them 🙂

  25. Lala Rukh January 14, 2014 / 5:06 AM

    Ahaha nicely done 😉 Your cat was surely wiser than you 😛

    • jannatwrites January 15, 2014 / 11:05 PM

      I hate to admit it, but I think you’re right – my cat is wiser than me 🙂 Thanks for reading, Lala!

  26. Margit Sage January 14, 2014 / 5:13 PM

    Sweet. That’s how they are, isn’t it?

    • jannatwrites January 15, 2014 / 11:05 PM

      I think she knew what she wanted, Margit. I went there looking for a Siamese cat and ended up with a Tabby 🙂

  27. Renada Styles January 14, 2014 / 6:59 PM

    D’aw. That was cute! I’ve always wanted a kitty. And, honestly, how could you say no?

    • jannatwrites January 15, 2014 / 11:07 PM

      Cats are awesome – I hope you get your kitty someday, Renada! I can’t say no, which is why I avoid ‘just looking’ at animals that need homes 🙂

  28. diannegray January 15, 2014 / 1:10 AM

    Nutty pets keep us sane 😀 She’s a lovely looking cat 😉

    • jannatwrites January 15, 2014 / 11:08 PM

      Thanks, Dianne – she’s a pretty cat… just a bit, uh, temperamental 🙂 If she’s the tether to my sanity, I fear for my future!

  29. lovethebadguy January 15, 2014 / 1:30 AM

    From one cat-lover to another, I say LOVE IT! 😀 Awesome work.

  30. dani January 15, 2014 / 10:44 AM

    we’re lucky when we get chosen!

  31. annbennett January 15, 2014 / 5:04 PM

    so true, I’m a cat lady with a pile of dogs.

    • jannatwrites January 15, 2014 / 11:10 PM

      Haha, that’s funny, Ann! Dogs are great companions too, just in a different way 🙂

  32. Rexie January 16, 2014 / 4:05 PM

    Awww..Love anything on cat. Very nice! 🙂

    • jannatwrites January 18, 2014 / 9:40 AM

      Kitties are pretty special, Rexie 🙂 Thanks so much for reading!

  33. Momo January 17, 2014 / 2:56 PM

    So sweet! You had no say, but Cybil sure did! Loved getting to see a photo of her.

    • jannatwrites January 18, 2014 / 9:44 AM

      Cybil still has all the say, Momo… when she eats, how much bed I get to sleep on, etc. 🙂

      • Momo January 18, 2014 / 9:57 AM

        Sounds like my 7 year old. 🙂

        • jannatwrites January 18, 2014 / 10:02 AM

          That is a lot like kids, now that you mention it. Maybe that’s why I feel like “me” time is dwindling away 🙂

  34. Draug419 January 19, 2014 / 6:43 AM

    Such a cutie!

  35. OldDogNewTits January 19, 2014 / 5:29 PM

    I literally almost wrote about my cat, too. Milo. Great job here.

    P.S. Your name must have been in my subconscious from reading the entries recently. I had a dream that you were very, very famous. And I was trying to convince people that I actually knew you. At least on the internet. … I know. That sounds very weird. What the heck did I eat last night???

    • jannatwrites January 20, 2014 / 12:08 PM

      Thanks, ODNT!

      Your dream made me laugh – thanks – I really needed that today! The people I know barely recognize me, so the idea of being famous is so strange to me!

  36. pattyabr January 19, 2014 / 9:22 PM

    so funny that you have a noisy cat- psycho and all!

    • jannatwrites January 20, 2014 / 12:10 PM

      Yeah, she keeps life interesting, Patty!

Got an opinion? Share it!

