Lucy – Speakeasy #144

I gaze into her soulful brown eyes and I’m transported to 1975; a year that defined the boy I was, and the man I wasn’t ready to be.

We sprawled on the grass, Lucy and me, our heads touching.  I raked my fingers through her shiny black hair.  I rambled on about my dreams, hopes and aspirations.  The kiss on my cheek and her head nuzzled into me fooled me into believing her wish had been for me to chase my dreams.

Now, it occurs to me that I never asked Lucy what she wanted.

I’d teased her about kaleidoscope eyes and pondered the feasibility of looking glass ties.  It made sense back in the haze; the same one everyone else lived in.  Inseparable since sixth grade, I left Lucy in June, five days after graduation.  I kissed her goodbye and promised to visit.  Weeks turned into months, months into years.  I saw her only a few times.  I was a coward and Lucy reminded me of my own mortality. 

Some things can’t be undone.  Lucy didn’t wait around for me. 

She licks my cheek, startling me into the present.

My wife says Lucy is a mid-life crisis.  If that’s the case, like everything else, I’m a little late.  It’s taken me thirty-eight years, but I aim to learn from my past mistake.  She says it’s creepy to name a dog after a beloved pet, but I argue it’s no different than naming our children in honor of dead relatives.

“Ready to go to the park, girl?”

She wags her tail and leads me to the leash drawer.  I clip the rhinestone-adorned leash to her collar.  I check my laces, slip the buds into my ears, and power on my iPod.  A grin slides across my face when “Lucy In The Sky With Diamonds” plays.  I remember my first Lucy- this was our song all those years ago.

Some things can’t be forgotten.

“Come on, Lucy!”  I say as I step off the porch and break into a trot.  She flanks me with ease.  Her ten-month-old shoulder muscles ripple, reminding me of her namesake yet again.

I think it’s a sign.

I believe Lucy has forgiven me, and now I need to do the same.

~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-

This is my response to the Speakeasy weekly prompt which is to write a piece in 750 words or less including (1) the sentence “Some things can’t be forgotten” anywhere, and (2) some kind of reference to the Elton John song, “Lucy in the Sky with Diamonds.”

Thank you to everyone who read and enjoyed my story last week (32nd Day) enough to vote for it – it came in first place in the popular vote.  What a lovely surprise!

This challenge is open to anyone, and the more the merrier. If you’re interested in giving it a try, click the badge below to check out the complete guidelines.

speakeasy2

 

 

39 thoughts on “Lucy – Speakeasy #144

  1. vishalbheeroo January 13, 2014 / 1:45 AM

    Beautiful story and absolutely well written, Jannat:)

    • jannatwrites January 13, 2014 / 10:13 AM

      Thanks so much for reading, Vishal! We’ll see if it’s a unique enough take to be remembered 🙂

  2. nrhatch January 13, 2014 / 7:28 AM

    Lovely write, Janna. And congrats on last week’s win!

    • jannatwrites January 13, 2014 / 10:14 AM

      Thanks, Nancy! It’s always a surprise when something places because most of the time I don’t. Good thing winning isn’t why I write, haha 🙂

  3. Lala Rukh January 13, 2014 / 7:32 AM

    That is such an interesting story. I loved both the Lucys 😛 The later one the most 😛 Love the spray of romance in the first lines. Many Congrats for the win last time, My vote was for you 🙂 Love xx

    • jannatwrites January 13, 2014 / 10:17 AM

      Your comment made me smile, Lala! I was hoping to fool the reader into thinking the Lucy from his past was an old flame in the beginning, until the dog angle was revealed. I like the second Lucy, too. I hope she helps him free his guilt.

      Thanks so much for your support in reading and commenting on my writing. And thank you for voting for mine last week 😛

      • Lala Rukh January 15, 2014 / 7:34 AM

        My pleasure beautiful 🙂

  4. Debbie January 13, 2014 / 8:51 AM

    Well written, Janna — I think the new Lucy is a keeper!

    • jannatwrites January 13, 2014 / 10:27 AM

      I think so, too. I think she can help him heal. Thanks for reading, Debbie!

  5. Sean January 13, 2014 / 11:28 AM

    This was fun to read. I enjoy how you write as it keeps one thinking of what is coming up next. My in-laws did the same thing with their dog. It’s name was Daisy as were all the other dogs before. I guess it makes it easier to remember the name if there is only one. There’s a joke about that and children’s names in the family. It is easy to call them all in when you just have to say one name and they all come running because they don’t know which one you are talking about. Take care and enjoy the time pondering.

    • jannatwrites January 13, 2014 / 11:24 PM

      I’m glad you liked the story, Sean! I knew someone who got a black kitten and a white kitten and named them Pepper and Salt. They had a pair by the same name several years before. I’m not sure I could do that. Now, naming the kids with the same names… that’s genius! 🙂 Thanks for stopping by to read and share your comment!

  6. James Bulls January 14, 2014 / 4:27 AM

    Cute story 🙂 Up until the reveal, you totally had me thinking Lucy was a person and not a dog. And great job working the video prompt into the story!

    • jannatwrites January 15, 2014 / 10:55 PM

      I’m glad it wasn’t too obvious. Thanks for reading, James!

  7. ranu802 January 14, 2014 / 5:33 AM

    It’s a wonderful story Janna. You really are gifted. All my best wishes go to you.

    • jannatwrites January 15, 2014 / 10:55 PM

      Thank you, Ranu802… I appreciate you reading – and thanks for the kind words 🙂

  8. 40 Stories for 40 January 14, 2014 / 9:31 AM

    That was very sweet! I think everyone who has a dog thinks this way!

    • jannatwrites January 15, 2014 / 10:56 PM

      The relationship with a beloved pet is a special connection. Thanks for reading, 40 Stories!

  9. diannegray January 14, 2014 / 1:14 PM

    This is a lovely story, Janna. Made me smile 🙂

    • jannatwrites January 15, 2014 / 10:57 PM

      I’m glad, Dianne! It’s good to see you back online – thanks for dropping by 🙂

  10. Suzanne January 14, 2014 / 6:06 PM

    Aw, this is so lovely and a little bit bittersweet. It reminds me of my first dog, who couldn’t move to the city with me when I went away to school. He was such an awesome dog and I sometimes wish I’d known then everything I know about dogs now. Great take on the prompts Janna! 🙂

    • jannatwrites January 15, 2014 / 10:59 PM

      Thanks, Suzanne! I’m glad you could relate to the story .

      I had to leave my childhood cat when I went to college. I felt guilty because I’m sure she didn’t understand why I left her, but it wouldn’t have been fair to take her and have her spend so much time alone.

  11. J. Milburn January 14, 2014 / 9:27 PM

    Very sweet story. Count me among those fooled until you revealed he was thinking about a childhood, although looking at the pictures in your sidebar, I shouldn’t have been surprised 😉 Well done!

    • jannatwrites January 15, 2014 / 11:00 PM

      I’m so glad you didn’t catch on too soon, J. Yeah, there’s a lot of animals in our house…I’m a sucker for animals 🙂

  12. znjavid January 14, 2014 / 10:36 PM

    That was a tricky bit of writing! Enjoyed it thoroughly.

    • jannatwrites January 15, 2014 / 11:00 PM

      Thanks, Znjavid – I’m glad you liked the story!

  13. Eleenie January 15, 2014 / 2:46 AM

    A wonderfully written story, I really enjoyed it.

    • jannatwrites January 15, 2014 / 11:01 PM

      I’m glad you enjoyed the story, Eleenie – thanks for reading it!

  14. mandyblake95 January 15, 2014 / 7:30 AM

    Great story Janna, I didn’t see Lucy as a dog coming.

    • jannatwrites January 15, 2014 / 11:02 PM

      I’m relieved that it seems I pulled it off. Thanks for reading, Mandy!

  15. pattisj January 15, 2014 / 11:49 AM

    Another great story. Congrats on the win!

  16. Valerie Milton January 15, 2014 / 5:49 PM

    Janna, this is a sweet and surprising story. I didn’t expect Lucy to be a dog. Nicely told, and very believable.

    • jannatwrites January 15, 2014 / 11:03 PM

      I appreciate your comment, Valerie…it’s nice to have reassurance that it worked. Thanks for reading it!

  17. Justice January 16, 2014 / 6:07 AM

    Another great one from you 🙂 So well done!

    • jannatwrites January 18, 2014 / 9:36 AM

      Thanks, Justice. I’m glad you stopped by to read it.

  18. EagleAye January 16, 2014 / 5:51 PM

    Aw, this is really lovely. I think he’s found peace with his past mistakes. Good for him.

    • jannatwrites January 18, 2014 / 9:40 AM

      I like to think he did, EagleAye! I’m glad you stopped by to read it.

Got an opinion? Share it!

