First Snowy Winter

01-08 Snow on leaves

magical wonder

lightly dusts branches and leaves-

Frees youth from worn hearts.

01-08 Snow on trail

I feel like a kid again.  Trust me, at 40, there’s not much that makes me forget my slower step or aging skin, but waking up to a dusting of fresh snow does just that.  This is the first winter in twenty-five years where I have a real chance to wake up to snow.   Watching my sons’ excitement and anticipation for more snow makes it even more fun for me.

My husband, a life-long resident of Phoenix, has never experienced a real winter.  The excitement affects him, too.  He’s been at the window as much as the kids!

I have a feeling snow would cease to be magical when the fallen amount is measured in feet rather than inches.  This is why we still live in Arizona 🙂

I’ll leave you with a photo of our Arizona Snowman, made of twisted wires and lights.  He gathered some snow, but as far as I can tell, he didn’t come to life.  Now that would’ve been a fun blog post!

01-08 Snowman

29 thoughts on “First Snowy Winter

  1. suzicate January 8, 2014 / 5:57 AM

    Did you really get a dusting of snow there? We haven’t gotten any here yet. I adore your wire snowman!

    • jannatwrites January 8, 2014 / 8:33 PM

      We got the dusting a few days before Christmas, Suzicate. None since then- just cold 🙂 I thought the snowman was cute, too!

  2. Lala Rukh January 8, 2014 / 8:42 AM

    I have never seen a snow fall ever Janna 😦 That’s one of my biggest wish to see it. We live in a warm area where we can never think of waking up to anything else other than sunshine 🙂 I just Loved you excitement 😉

    • jannatwrites January 8, 2014 / 8:37 PM

      I hope you do get to experience it sometime, Lala! It really is pretty. (Not so much after it starts to melt and turns into an icky slush.)

      • Lala Rukh January 9, 2014 / 2:09 AM

        Lol I can’t imagine that 😉

  3. Debbie January 8, 2014 / 9:07 AM

    ‘Just a dusting’ is the right amount of snow, Janna. More than that becomes an aggravation and a nuisance! Love your “Frosty,” too.

    • jannatwrites January 8, 2014 / 8:39 PM

      As I child, I lived in Denver for a couple years – it had the most snow of places I lived, but I didn’t have to shovel it or drive in it! I agree that a dusting is nice – enough to make it pretty 🙂 Thanks for stopping by, Debbie!

    • jannatwrites January 8, 2014 / 8:44 PM

      That was cool – she took wonderful photos! The lows are in the low 30’s right now, so maybe in a week or two the temps will drop down again. Thanks for sharing the link, Nancy 🙂

  4. vishalbheeroo January 8, 2014 / 10:07 AM

    Breath-taking pictures, Jannat. Saw the chilling winter where hot water turned into snow on TV. Must be very chilling..hehe

    • jannatwrites January 8, 2014 / 8:45 PM

      Some places are getting quite the chill right now, Vishal. Thankfully, it has stayed pretty mild where I’m at.

  5. Catherine Johnson January 8, 2014 / 4:08 PM

    That looks beautiful! It’s certainly deeper here.

    • jannatwrites January 8, 2014 / 8:55 PM

      Aren’t you in Canada, Catherine? I imagine there would be a lot more snow there!

  6. Eric Alagan January 8, 2014 / 5:31 PM

    Lovely to have the child within surface 🙂

    • jannatwrites January 8, 2014 / 8:55 PM

      Sometimes she shows herself, Eric…not that often, though!

    • jannatwrites January 8, 2014 / 11:46 PM

      😛 Not nearly the amount of snow you get, Widdershins, but enough to enjoy the excitement of it all!

  7. Imelda January 9, 2014 / 3:30 PM

    Your wire snowman is lovely. It is nice to see magic through your eyes. 🙂

    • jannatwrites January 9, 2014 / 8:28 PM

      Thanks, Imelda! We were able to get the snowman on sale, which I was happy about 🙂

  8. Kathy Combs (@Kathy29156) January 9, 2014 / 3:51 PM

    I love your wire snowman! So cool!! I have lived in Indiana all my life and snow is pretty commonplace this time of year. Actually I would wonder why if it weren’t snowing in January! ♥ But then I am the odd bird that likes snow. I could do without the -40 degree windchill…but snow? Love the snow!

    • jannatwrites January 9, 2014 / 8:30 PM

      Ooh, that’s cold! I like snow, too, but I figured it’s just because I haven’t had the hassle of living in it. Time will tell if I still like it (I think I will 🙂 ) I hope you get your fill of snow this winter, Kathy!

  9. Sandra January 9, 2014 / 6:39 PM

    A dusting of snow is nice. A few inches of fresh snow is great for snow-playing. Any more than that, you’d be where I am. I’m so glad you got some snow and felt like a kid again, along with the rest of your peeps!

    • jannatwrites January 12, 2014 / 10:01 PM

      The kids are constantly checking the weather for the next chance of snow (none expected in the next ten days!) Thanks so much for stopping by to catch up. Hope you had a peaceful weekend!

  10. pattisj January 11, 2014 / 11:01 PM

    A dusting of snow–like icing on a cake–just enough to make it interesting.

  11. Robin Leigh Morgan June 29, 2014 / 11:06 PM

    Here’s another one of my retro comments. I liked reading yours this week because living in the city I never really got the chance to see newly fallen snow the way you’ve described. So in my response Haiku I’m going to respond to what I believe you and others who live in private homes would enjoy doing.

    First Snowy Winter
    What child can’t recall
    Pure white flakes now on the ground
    Snow angels must make.

    • jannatwrites June 30, 2014 / 10:30 PM

      I loved making snow angels as a child, Robin. However, now, I refrain because standing up isn’t nearly as as easy as it used to be! We didn’t get much snow this year, but next year perhaps my kids will get to this.

Got an opinion? Share it!

