Goodbye (For Now)

 

Goodbye... until next year!
Goodbye… until next year!

I’m posting this photo in response to Jeanne @ Nolagirlatheart’s weekly photo prompt.  The subject this week is “goodbye.”  She chose to post a sunset photo, which is the perfect goodbye and so hard not to copy, but as I started un-decking the halls last night, I had this idea.

**********

I love decorating for Christmas.  Memories flood in when I unbox the tree ornaments of years past, dust off the snow globes, and string enough lights to temporarily double our carbon footprint.  When the season is over, I pack everything away with a little sadness.  I try to do this by the beginning of the year, which is harder to do when it doesn’t fall on a weekend.  Waiting any longer feels like I’m trying to hang on to the past.  I don’t flip through my yearbook pining for younger days, or read old love letters fantasizing about old flames, so I will embrace the present (and future) here, too.

After everyone went to bed, I had the feeling of being watched as I erased our traces of Christmas.

Why do I feel like somebody's watching me?
Why do I feel like somebody’s watching me?

Yeah, it felt kind of like this.

As I untied the 79 bows from our stair spindles and dropped them in the bag, I couldn’t shake the feeling.  Even though I was sober (maybe spiced eggnog would’ve helped?) the feeling only grew stronger.

Nope, nothin' to see here...
Nope, nothin’ to see here…

I guess it was all in my head.

Or, maybe I was the subject of covert stalking (cats, FBI agents, and serial killers do this.)  It couldn’t have had anything to do with me removing all bright red cat toys!  In retrospect, purchasing red bows with bells was probably not the best idea, but I’ll still put them up next year.  Even kitties should enjoy the festivity of the season.  Besides, it’s an inexpensive distraction from the allure of the always-fascinating Christmas tree 🙂

Oooh, pretty!  And they make noise when you swat them!
Oooh, pretty! And they make noise when you swat them!

I’m here typing this on Thursday morning, so I can rule out being watched by the FBI or a serial killer.

Or… maybe they’re coming back tonight.  In that case, this post title will become an eerie premonition to my fate.  But wait.  “For now” implies I’ll return… I don’t want to be a ghost blogger.

Gulp.

Whoa there, imagination!  Two days into it, I think it’s safe to say we’re all saying our final goodbyes to 2013, with our feet steadying in the New Year.  Apparently, I’m carrying through my paranoia and odd sense of humor into the New Year.  Life is better when enjoyed with old friends, right?  😛 I hope yours is off to a fabulous start!

Do you look forward to the new year, or miss the one that just ended?

38 thoughts on “Goodbye (For Now)

  1. suzicate January 2, 2014 / 10:13 AM

    Happy New Year…and be thankful you really didn’t have to untie 79 bows…I’d still be tired from tying them in the first place!

    • jannatwrites January 3, 2014 / 9:39 PM

      Haha, true enough! But some of the twisty ties were difficult to undo 🙂 I hope you have a happy new year too, Suzicate!

  2. Kathy Combs (@Kathy29156) January 2, 2014 / 10:20 AM

    Happy New Year! I always hate taking down the decorations and clearing away any signs of Christmas and festivity. The house looks so bland without it.

    • jannatwrites January 3, 2014 / 9:41 PM

      I agree, Kathy. But I guess if we left them up all the time they wouldn’t feel special anymore. I hope your new year is off to a wonderful start!

  3. paulmclem January 2, 2014 / 10:51 AM

    We took our decorations down today and a small part of me was sad. I genuinely think as I get older I am starting to like Christmas more. I suspect this is partly down to the aging process i.e. each Christmas gone is one less I’ll see. That said at 46 I’d hope to have a good few more!

    • jannatwrites January 3, 2014 / 9:43 PM

      I hope you have many more Christmases to enjoy, Paul! We finally got our outdoor decorations packed away today, so we’re done 🙂

  4. nolagirlatheart January 2, 2014 / 11:13 AM

    JannaT, we are on the exact same page of the book…I to am packing up the yule tide and taking photos as I go…This Christmas came and went entirely too fast, so I might as well getrdone and get on with this exciting new year. Thanks for joining in on the weekly photo challenge…Happy New Year!

    • jannatwrites January 3, 2014 / 9:52 PM

      The season did seem to fly by this year, Jeanne. We didn’t even get our tree decorated until the end of the first week of December. Thanks for hosting the photo challenge- I’ve never tried one of them before (it was fun!)

  5. Sean January 2, 2014 / 11:28 AM

    Aw yes, the infamous lurking of cats in the shadows. I did manage to have one use me as a tree last night, it was quite surprising to say the least. I am looking forward to this new year and the triumphs and tribulations it brings. I’m looking to maybe start anew and see where that takes me. It will be an interesting year to say the least. thanks

    • jannatwrites January 3, 2014 / 9:57 PM

      Oooh, that’s rough, Sean. I haven’t been a tree yet, but my leg doubled as a scratching post once 😯 I hope your changes in the coming year are fulfilling. Change can be scary, but it can also be rewarding, too 🙂

  6. vishalbheeroo January 2, 2014 / 12:28 PM

    Hey, absolutely amazing pics..don’t lose heart Xmas will come soon:)

    • jannatwrites January 3, 2014 / 10:00 PM

      Haha…only what, 362 days to go? Glad you liked the photos, Vishal. I took them with my cell phone, mostly because I was too lazy to get my ‘real’ camera 🙂

  7. Debbie January 2, 2014 / 12:33 PM

    I don’t take down our decorations until Epiphany (Jan. 5 this year). My late aunt used to claim it was bad luck to do so. I don’t know if that’s true, but I have no intention of testing Fate! So we still have a “little bit of Christmas” around here.

    I love your kitty toys! Dallas never messes with the decorations, the tree, presents, anything. It’s almost like he’s oblivious to the whole thing. Kitties are a bit more curious, aren’t they?!

    • jannatwrites January 3, 2014 / 10:08 PM

      I hadn’t heard about such bad luck, Debbie. Hmmm…maybe that’s what’s happened to my life! Only kidding, but it’s safer not to push your luck.

      Dallas is a good dog. Yes, kitties are super-curious. My thirteen-year-old cat doesn’t care much any more, but the younger ones still LOVE it 🙂

  8. Lance January 2, 2014 / 12:46 PM

    Happy New year, Janna

    I’m looking forward to 14…it feels like a big one for me and my family

    • jannatwrites January 3, 2014 / 10:09 PM

      Thanks, Lance! I hope this year is big for you and your family in the best way 🙂

    • jannatwrites January 3, 2014 / 10:10 PM

      Thanks, Newwhitebear – I hope you have a happy new year, too!

  9. nrhatch January 2, 2014 / 1:06 PM

    Some years it’s harder to say good-bye to our Santas than other years. This year, I packed the Christmas trunk on 12/28 (the earliest ever). We still have our 3 foot tree out since it doesn’t fit in the trunk.

    And, like your kitties, Tigger is always involved in the packing up process ~ boxes, and bags, and tissue paper, oh my!

    • jannatwrites January 3, 2014 / 10:13 PM

      That is early, Nancy! Must be a kitty thing, to “help” get Christmas packed away. What would we do without their assistance? 🙂

  10. nrhatch January 2, 2014 / 1:08 PM

    And your tote photo is a GREAT take on the theme ~ you’re a neat packer too. And you have a great imagination, filled with humor (and just the right touch of paranoia). :mrgreen:

    • jannatwrites January 3, 2014 / 10:14 PM

      Oh, thanks! I was impressed that it actually occurred to me to do that for a prompt…I’m usually stumped by photo prompts. Thanks for your support of my imagination/humor… sometimes it feels like I’m the only one laughing, Nancy 🙂

  11. GodGirl January 2, 2014 / 2:36 PM

    Haha, this made me smile, especially the photos of the curious cat.
    I always find Christmas produces a cocktail of emotions due to my unrealistic expectations. I’m usually keen to pack the decorations away as soon as possible so I can get back to normal life, where I can roughly predict what’s going to happen 🙂

    • jannatwrites January 3, 2014 / 10:21 PM

      Oh yes, the kitties were both curious about what I was doing with the red toys! Your comment about the decorations is interesting, GodGirl. I hadn’t thought about it, but the holidays are a huge disruption in routine, so normalcy would be welcome. I hope your new year is off to a wonderful start!

  12. chlost January 2, 2014 / 4:56 PM

    Oh, you are so much more organized than I. We have the holiday things down, in boxes, but they are nowhere as neatly packed as yours. I get to the point that I virtually toss them into the totes and shove them into the basement.

    Happy New Year. A fresh page is always exciting.

    • jannatwrites January 3, 2014 / 10:25 PM

      I am a bit particular about how the bins are packed. For everything to fit, it has to be put together like a puzzle. I can relate to the urge to just throw everything into totes, though 🙂 I hope 2014 is a good year for you, Chlost!

  13. Eric Alagan January 2, 2014 / 5:25 PM

    Lisa and I do the same – taking down the Christmas decor – today. But Lunar (Chinese) New Year is peeping round the corner and due later this month – so this weekend up goes all the (predominantly) red and gold decor 🙂

    I’m somewhat like you Janna, prefer the present and future rather than dwelling on the past. The past, the past is experience, joy, sorrow and learning – not something to drag around.

    All good wishes,
    Eric

    • jannatwrites January 3, 2014 / 10:31 PM

      Ooh, another holiday to decorate for! (and remove decorations for…)

      Here’s to living in the present, Eric! I hope you have a happy new year (and Chinese New Year!)

  14. philosophermouseofthehedge January 2, 2014 / 7:31 PM

    Erasing Christmas – that’s what it felt like this year. Put it off much longer than usual. Probably because it was so cold and grey instead of sunny. Sun? Quick get things done and go outside and play!
    Onward into 2014 anyway!

    • jannatwrites January 3, 2014 / 10:34 PM

      The weather does affect us greatly, Phil. We finished putting away our outdoor decorations tonight…just a nick of time, too because once the sun went down it was cold!

  15. Diane Turner January 3, 2014 / 12:54 AM

    Great photos! Cats make wonderful subjects. Happy New Year, Janna.

    • jannatwrites January 3, 2014 / 10:35 PM

      Thanks, Diane! I take tons of photos of the cats but don’t post them very often. I wouldn’t want everyone to know that I really am a crazy cat lady 🙂 I hope your new year is off to a happy start!

  16. Imelda January 3, 2014 / 7:48 AM

    Happy new year, Janna. Ah…goodbyes are always difficult, aren’t they?

    • jannatwrites January 3, 2014 / 10:36 PM

      Yes, Imelda…but a bit easier when it’s only temporary 🙂

  17. Sandra January 8, 2014 / 1:54 PM

    We don’t take down our holiday stuff til we absolutely have to (so, not yet). I just like seeing them, festive and pretty. We will clear them out this weekend, I guess. I feel like I’m lazy, but no one else is complaining. When we wait this long, the goodbye seems less sad, since we’re already so far into the New Year. Ha! Happy New Year!

    • jannatwrites January 8, 2014 / 8:49 PM

      You’ll like this then, Sandra – my parents left their Christmas tree up for two years! As a joke, we started decorating it each month- like putting flags on it in June/July, Shamrocks for March (St. Patrick’s Day), etc. It was fun and the kids liked it, too! I say, leave up the decor as long as you still enjoy the magic of it.

  18. pattisj January 11, 2014 / 10:48 PM

    Love the cat photos, too funny. How sweet they had their own decorations this year, I’ll bet there were a lot of jingle bells being played. I’m looking forward to the new year–look at that! It’s already the 12th!

    • jannatwrites January 12, 2014 / 9:41 PM

      The bows (and bells) did provide lots of entertainment for them! I can’t believe it’s already the 12th. We’ve survived the new year and my younger son’s birthday, so now we can relax a bit 🙂

Got an opinion? Share it!

