3-Word Resolution

Learn, not dwell.

~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-

TrifectaPicture11-1This is my response to Trifecta’s writing prompt:

Michael Hess inspired us with his three word New Year’s resolution – just be nice.  We’re asking for your own resolutions in just three words.  Make it count; we’ll be checking back in come 2015.

The Trifecta challenge is open to all.  If you want to submit your own response, click on the Tricycle image to check out the challenge and submit your link.

~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-

As someone who doesn’t make new year’s resolutions, I sure came up with a bunch of chicken-scratch about what I’d like to change or improve about myself.  Boiling it down to three words was admittedly difficult!

I settled on these three words because I have a tendency to fixate on my mistakes.  Instead of acknowledging them and moving on, I’ll remind myself of them and focus on them until the exercise drains my confidence.  This year, I want to make my mistakes (they will happen), learn how I could’ve handled differently, then pick up with life without looking over my shoulder.

Hope you have a happy start to the new year!

 

87 thoughts on “3-Word Resolution

  1. vishalbheeroo December 30, 2013 / 12:43 PM

    As they say make new mistakes and learn from them. I never succeed with resolutions. Happy New Year:)

    • jannatwrites December 30, 2013 / 11:34 PM

      I don’t have good luck with resolutions, either, Vishal. Have a happy 2014 anyway 🙂

  2. Kir Piccini December 30, 2013 / 1:25 PM

    what is that old adage? “My head knows, if only someone could tell my heart.”
    it’s a good resolution, it’s a GOOD way to live, to make the most of this life.
    My I hope is that I can do that too.

    HAPPY NEW YEAR Janna.

    • jannatwrites December 30, 2013 / 11:39 PM

      We can at least do better, right? I hope you have a happy new year, too, Kir. I’m really glad to have met you through the Trifecta challenges. You are a kind person.

  3. The Real Cie December 30, 2013 / 1:27 PM

    Sometimes I learn, but I am absolutely rubbish at the “not dwell” part.

    • jannatwrites December 30, 2013 / 11:44 PM

      I’m not so good at the not dwelling part, either, Cie. Maybe this year will be better.

    • jannatwrites December 30, 2013 / 11:45 PM

      Thanks, Bjorn. It’s all about what I do with the mistakes I make 🙂

    • jannatwrites December 30, 2013 / 11:46 PM

      “Do” – like that, Carl. Hope you have a happy new year, too 🙂

  4. nrhatch December 30, 2013 / 3:23 PM

    Live, Love, Laugh
    Be Here Now

    Happy New Year!

    • jannatwrites December 30, 2013 / 11:47 PM

      Be here now – that sounds like “you”, Nancy. I think you’ve written that on some of your posts 🙂 Hope you have a happy new year, too 🙂

  5. Lance December 30, 2013 / 3:53 PM

    great advice and I wish I good do it, better

    • jannatwrites December 30, 2013 / 11:48 PM

      I need to get better too, Lance. Mistakes happen, but I need to let them go.

  6. theinnerzone December 30, 2013 / 4:18 PM

    Words of wisdom, Janna – happy 2014!

    • jannatwrites December 30, 2013 / 11:49 PM

      Thanks, Theinnerzone. Hope you have a happy new year, too!

  7. Eric Alagan December 30, 2013 / 4:38 PM

    Like you, Janna, I too don’t make new year’s resolutions – as change can be embraced any time.

    This sounds very apt for me too – Learn, not dwell.

    Happy New Year and may all things surround and keep you and family healthy, happy and wealthy 🙂

    • jannatwrites December 30, 2013 / 11:52 PM

      I agree that change is good to do any time, Eric. I hope you have a happy new year, too!

  8. deanabo December 30, 2013 / 4:50 PM

    If only I could make myself do this.

    • jannatwrites December 30, 2013 / 11:53 PM

      It’s hard, Deanabo. Hope you have a happy new year!

  9. Diane Turner December 30, 2013 / 4:52 PM

    Perfection. Now about the implementing part….hmm

    • jannatwrites December 30, 2013 / 11:56 PM

      Doing it is easier said than done! Glad you stopped by, Diane… hope you have a wonderful new year!

  10. Valerie December 30, 2013 / 7:30 PM

    I need to do this as well-and I need to learn how to move on, let go, etc. I’m loving all of the wisdom this week. Yours is another resolution I’m adding to my list.

    • jannatwrites December 30, 2013 / 11:59 PM

      It’s comforting to know I’m not the only one who dwells too much. Thanks for reading, Valerie!

  11. Momo December 30, 2013 / 10:53 PM

    Such poetry in your three words, Janna. And a very sage and useful reminder. 🙂

    • jannatwrites December 31, 2013 / 12:00 AM

      Thanks, Momo. It really was hard to pick just three words. (I guess that’s the point, eh? 🙂 )

    • jannatwrites December 31, 2013 / 12:01 AM

      Either that, or wishful thinking, Barbara 🙂

  12. nadig7 December 31, 2013 / 12:03 AM

    I for one always dwell , sulk and scold myself and then learn.
    Well i have to do the learn part first now 🙂
    Thank you so much , Jannat 🙂

    • jannatwrites January 1, 2014 / 12:00 AM

      Dwelling is easier than learning, Nadig 🙂 Thanks for stopping by!

  13. Mike December 31, 2013 / 8:31 AM

    A great resolution. I hope 2014 is a year of learning for you.
    Happy New Year.

  14. J. Milburn December 31, 2013 / 9:39 AM

    Yet another I need to use myself! Great resolution, Janna. Have a great New Year!

    • jannatwrites January 1, 2014 / 12:01 AM

      That’s what’s happening as I read others’ resolutions. Looks like I’ll be busy next year 🙂 Thanks for reading, J.!

  15. TMW Hickman December 31, 2013 / 9:58 AM

    A perfect resolution, one that I need to work on, too! Can I borrow? 🙂

    • jannatwrites January 1, 2014 / 12:02 AM

      Absolutely, TMW! Maybe this year, I’ll dwell less, learn more 🙂

    • jannatwrites January 1, 2014 / 12:03 AM

      That’s a nice three-word response, Whimsygizmo!

  16. KymmInBarcelona December 31, 2013 / 10:58 AM

    Yup, learning is tough to do when you’re dwelling.
    Happy New Year, Janna!

    • jannatwrites January 1, 2014 / 12:04 AM

      Sure is, Kymm! I hope you have a happy new year, too 🙂

  17. Sandra December 31, 2013 / 1:17 PM

    I’m getting better at doing this, though I still need a reminder from time to time. Thanks for these wonderful 3 words!

    • jannatwrites January 1, 2014 / 12:05 AM

      Age helps a lot of things, Sandra! I’m better, too, but still have a ways to go 🙂

  18. Debbie December 31, 2013 / 1:52 PM

    Sounds like excellent advice, Janna — for ALL of us! Happy New Year!

    • jannatwrites January 1, 2014 / 12:05 AM

      Thanks, Debbie – I hope your new year is happy, too 🙂

    • jannatwrites January 1, 2014 / 12:06 AM

      Thanks, Kathy! Now, to follow it 🙂

  19. GodGirl January 1, 2014 / 2:02 AM

    Hehe – I suppose all great artists tend towards perfectionism. I hope you’ll embrace the learning that comes from taking risks and making mistakes in the year ahead.
    Speaking of our mistakes, I found this quote today that I liked:

    “I hope that in this year to come, you make mistakes.
    Because if you are making mistakes, then you are making new things, trying new things, learning, living, pushing yourself, changing yourself, changing your world. You’re doing things you’ve never done before, and more importantly, you’re Doing Something.”
    (Neil Gaiman’s Journal)

    Here’s to all that the year brings us – and all that we bring to the year 🙂

    • jannatwrites January 2, 2014 / 12:09 AM

      Wow, that is an awesome quote! Thanks so much for sharing it, GodGirl… it puts mistakes in perspective. While I’m not striving for perfection, I do want to be kinder to myself when those mistakes do happen 🙂

  20. Cobbie's World January 1, 2014 / 3:40 PM

    Hard to top a Neil Gaiman quote but, what the heck, here goes: it is so easy to become paralyzed by the fear of failure, of making mistakes, large and small. What takes much wisdom and strength is to respect the nature of mistakes and treat them as opportunities to gain new insight and understanding. Easier said than done, for sure. I wish you well in your quest for fulfillment in 2014. Happy New Year to you. 🙂

    • jannatwrites January 2, 2014 / 12:24 AM

      Thanks for reading and sharing your thoughtful comment, Cobbie. Mistakes are opportunities and good can come of them. Unfortunately my tendency (since childhood) has been to internalize them as failures, which has made me less apt to stretch out of my comfort zone. That’s something I hope to improve on in the coming years (that’s more than a year’s work there!)

  21. C.C. January 1, 2014 / 10:51 PM

    Dwelling is like slipping into a ditch….easy to do, but so exhausting to reverse.Your resolution reminds me of one of my favorite poems, “Autobiography in Five Short Chapters” by Portia Nelson: http://www.dwlz.com/Motivation/tips26.html

    • jannatwrites January 2, 2014 / 12:26 AM

      So true, C.C. Hadn’t thought about the ditch analogy but it totally fits. I read the poem you linked – I found it humorous, mostly because it often takes me making the mistake several times to change (or walk down a different street 🙂 )

  22. Anne Chia January 1, 2014 / 11:20 PM

    Good plan! I tend to overflog events that I should learn from as well. I’ll play the events over and over in my head until I am a nervous wreck! Good resolution to have, I am adopting it as well 🙂

    • jannatwrites January 2, 2014 / 12:31 AM

      The instant reply is maddening. (Reminds me of a line in one of my favorite songs, “Mistakes are running through my mind, and i relive my days in the middle of the night” – I do this!) I’m glad you can relate, and I hope you can overcome this in 2014.

    • jannatwrites January 3, 2014 / 8:56 PM

      Thanks, Marie… now let’s see if I actually do it 🙂

  23. Bryan Ens January 2, 2014 / 5:56 AM

    I tend to dwell too much on past mistakes as well. Good advice as well as good resolution!

    • jannatwrites January 3, 2014 / 8:59 PM

      Thanks, Bryan. It’s good to know I’m not the only one who does this!

  24. katiemiafrederick January 2, 2014 / 7:49 AM

    Well ya know there are so many things to learn in life..but now that i go past middle age and can finally get away from a desk and all of that ..now that i am retired…

    What i find the best..is to explore learning in other types of intelligence like movement..and existential ways..and more music and the arts and all of that..

    But what makes me the happiest of all ..now ..that i am truly free..is just to dance and even trance..in my back yard..barefoot learning that love again like a child of mother nature…

    Greater than the child that was once me..

    So when i see a child in a store..spinning around and being free..learning to be the human they were meant to be..and they are held back to conform to the illusions of culture the way people want that to be…

    I only hope that one day2..they can retire from that illusion..

    And Truly learn to be free….So happy New year..and a free one to ya..2….

    • jannatwrites January 3, 2014 / 9:08 PM

      Freedom to learn (and from the desk) is a wonderful thing. We should all be lucky enough to experience that freedom. Thanks for reading and sharing your thoughts, Katiemiafrederick.

  25. trifectawriting January 2, 2014 / 9:40 AM

    Oh this is so wise. I like this. This is also a nominee for my fridge. Happy Hew Year! Thanks for linking up and don’t forget to come back and vote!

    • jannatwrites January 3, 2014 / 9:13 PM

      Thanks – glad you liked it. Happy new year to you, too!

  26. clarbojahn January 2, 2014 / 10:41 AM

    I have a one word resolution that I brainstormed about:; transformation.. My year in 2014 is going to be all about transformation. Thanks for letting me add this in here. The more I say it the more it becomes part of me.

    • jannatwrites January 3, 2014 / 9:14 PM

      Transformation is a good summation – especially when where we are isn’t where we want to be. I hope you embrace it in the coming year, Clar!

  27. Tara R. January 2, 2014 / 11:40 AM

    Yes! We have to learn to let go, only then can we truly move forward.

  28. Darcy January 2, 2014 / 11:43 AM

    As a teacher, these are three words I should impress upon my students more; as a master at dwelling on the “coulda, shoulda, woulda,” I should impress these upon myself. Excellent resolution!

    • jannatwrites January 3, 2014 / 9:23 PM

      Thanks, Darcy! It’s so easy to slip into over-thinking mistakes.

  29. Suzanne January 2, 2014 / 12:17 PM

    Such a good resolution, Janna! A friend once told me “it’s only a mistake if you repeat it” – anything else is simply an opportunity to learn. All my best wishes for an awesome 2014!

    • jannatwrites January 3, 2014 / 9:24 PM

      I like that – smart friend you have. I wish you the best for 2014, too, Suzanne!

  30. margitsage January 2, 2014 / 3:20 PM

    That’s a good one! 🙂 Good luck with it!

  31. girlinjammies January 2, 2014 / 5:12 PM

    What a powerful resolution. Who are we if we don’t learn from our mistakes!

  32. Sun January 3, 2014 / 9:10 AM

    dwelling can be a problem for me too…this is perfect. thanks! ☺

    • jannatwrites January 3, 2014 / 9:27 PM

      Thank you for reading, Sun. I hope the coming year is more learning than dwelling for us 🙂

  33. unawarebutunderlined January 3, 2014 / 3:06 PM

    Janna, I see you as such a gentle soul. Something tell me that you are being harder on yourself than you are towards others…you have been one of the biggest gifts to me in our Trifecta family. Your words of encouragement have kept me going when I also could have easily beat myself up in regards to mistakes. I so encourage you to speak the blessings that you give out to yourself, especially before going to sleep. You my sweet friend are golden and a gift to all you touch. Cheers to your 2014.

    • jannatwrites January 3, 2014 / 9:37 PM

      Thank you for your kind words, UBU… you make me blush! I’m glad you’ve found encouragement in my words. It lifts me up to know this. I look forward to reading what you share in the coming year – I hope it’s a wonderful one for you!

      • unawarebutunderlined January 4, 2014 / 5:03 AM

        You are welcome. Looking forward to reading more of you…and hearing your positive talk to others spoken to yourself too 🙂

  34. Ivy (Mommy Dourest) January 4, 2014 / 12:11 AM

    Ugh! I can so relate to this, Janna. What a great choice–and good advice for those of us who tend to be our worst critics.

    Happy 2014!

    • jannatwrites January 5, 2014 / 9:15 AM

      Thanks, Ivy! I appreciate you reading. Hope your new year is off to a great start!

  35. Deborah January 4, 2014 / 4:42 AM

    At another level, you can learn to dwell with yourself, while embracing the strengths and the weaknesses. They are all part of who we are. It’s easier to learn from things that we don’t disdain. Best wishes for the new year and for finding a way to celebrate all of your moments. 🙂

    • jannatwrites January 5, 2014 / 9:15 AM

      Thanks, Deborah! Time will tell what the new year has in store 🙂

Got an opinion? Share it!

