Let Go

12-27 Brid

Most days

you don’t cross my mind,

but today,

I’m stuck on “why?”

I’ve no choice

but to re-forgive-

to free my past

so I can live.

I’m angry

with my heart

for caring, wondering

how you are.

The burden

takes its toll,

threatens to erode

my peaceful soul.

I’ve answers

to questions I’ll never know;

just like you,

I’ll have to let go.

~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-

I wrote this poem on December 23rd, during my offline time.  When I typed the poem tonight, it struck me that it can be interpreted so differently than what I felt when I wrote it.  It is not a poem about a past romance or anything like that, so my husband can breathe a sigh of relief 🙂

This poem bares my heart, and makes me feel vulnerable.  It’s me without the thin veil of fiction.  My first inclination was to put it in my “poetry” folder where my poems gather virtual dust (I don’t go back and read them.)

I decided to share it in case I’m not the only one who struggles with forgiveness.  For some reason, I expected forgiveness to be a one-time, lifetime freedom pass, so it’s always disappointing when I find out I’m plagued by a familiar weight.

I’m not big on New Year’s resolutions.  I think “now” is a great time to let the burden go (again.)

30 thoughts on “Let Go

  1. Eleni December 27, 2013 / 11:32 PM

    So true, there’s no time like the present 🙂

    • jannatwrites December 29, 2013 / 10:28 PM

      Better not to put things off 🙂 Thanks for reading, Eleni!

  2. Diane Turner December 28, 2013 / 12:55 AM

    “Re-forgive” ah! The frustration at having whatever the issue was resurface unbidden. It twists my belly in knots. Great piece. Thanks for sharing.

    • jannatwrites December 29, 2013 / 10:29 PM

      I’m glad you stopped by to read it, Diane. Thank you 🙂

  3. Eric Alagan December 28, 2013 / 1:22 AM

    Every day is a right day to start anew, I reckon. But it’s also easier said than done – that too, I reckon to be true.

    • jannatwrites December 29, 2013 / 10:29 PM

      Easier said than done is right, Eric. It’s a daily challenge sometimes!

  4. nrhatch December 28, 2013 / 6:11 AM

    I think that’s what trips many up, Janna ~ the idea that we have to forgive ourselves and others as many times as it takes. But it’s worth it ~ it’s so liberating to stop carting around a wheelbarrow of resentment, regret, and guilt.

    How refreshing
    the whinny of a pack horse
    fully unloaded!
    ~ Classic Haiku

    • jannatwrites December 29, 2013 / 10:30 PM

      Wonderful haiku you shared, Nancy. Here’s to lightening the wheelbarrow load 🙂

  5. vishalbheeroo December 28, 2013 / 6:39 AM

    Indeed ur husband is breathing free..haha love this absolutely soulful and flawless poem, Jannat:)

    • jannatwrites December 29, 2013 / 10:31 PM

      Thanks for reading, Vishal. I appreciate your kind/supportive words 🙂

    • jannatwrites December 29, 2013 / 10:31 PM

      Thanks, Newwhitebear – I wish you the best for the New Year, too 🙂

  6. Imelda December 28, 2013 / 9:16 AM

    Beautiful photo and poem, Janna. 🙂 Happy blessed new year to you and your family.

    • jannatwrites December 29, 2013 / 10:32 PM

      Thanks, Imelda! I hope you have a happy new year, too 🙂

  7. Tessa December 29, 2013 / 4:30 PM

    Certain things I cannot forgive, I’ve tried.

    • jannatwrites December 29, 2013 / 10:33 PM

      Sometimes forgiveness comes slowly, Tessa. It can take years. It’s not fair that someone can wrong us and by holding onto it, we hurt ourselves (not them.)

  8. Rachel December 29, 2013 / 6:35 PM

    “I’ve answers to questions I’ll never know” – simply beautiful!

    • jannatwrites December 29, 2013 / 10:34 PM

      Thanks, Rachel! I appreciate you reading this.

  9. agjorgenson December 29, 2013 / 7:01 PM

    Thanks for baring what you have been bearing. it is hard to let go, and it is a process. My hope is that your find that giving your feelings voice has helped. I know it helps me.

    • jannatwrites December 29, 2013 / 10:35 PM

      Thanks for your comment, Allen. Writing it down does help to let go 🙂

  10. Kir Piccini December 30, 2013 / 7:49 AM

    I’ve read it more than once, more than twice. I kept it in my email…and I love it and hate it equally. Mostly because it speaks to feelings I have, deep down.

    I do love the way you write and share Janna…hoping your Christmas was Merry & Bright.

    • jannatwrites December 31, 2013 / 5:53 PM

      It’s nice to know that I’m not alone in these feelings, but I’m sorry you can relate. If that makes any sense! I appreciate you reading and sharing your reaction, Kir. I hope you have a happy new year!

  11. Sandra December 31, 2013 / 1:02 PM

    I’m glad you’re going to let go and be free. It’s a lot harder to do than one would think. It’s great advice for me, too. Thank you for sharing this!

    • jannatwrites December 31, 2013 / 5:53 PM

      Yes, it can be a difficult/slow process. Thanks so much for reading, Sandra!

  12. clarbojahn December 31, 2013 / 3:35 PM

    Janna? May I have this poem for my memoir? I’ll be working on it this coming year and would love to use it in there. Credit goes to you of course! Let me know in the comments. we both blog at wordpress. 🙂

    • jannatwrites December 31, 2013 / 5:50 PM

      Clar, I’m honored that you related enough to it to want to include it in your memoir. I’d be thrilled for you to use it. If you need a last name to go with the credit, let me know and I can email it to you.

      Thanks again – this was a personal poem, so I’m glad that you (and maybe others) can find personal meaning in it.

      • clarbojahn December 31, 2013 / 7:23 PM

        Yes, Janna, it meant a lot to me. Please do email me at Cbowmanjahn at yahoo dot com. I will look forward to hearing from you. And getting a last name. Thanks so so much for sharing it with me. 🙂

        • jannatwrites January 1, 2014 / 12:27 AM

          I sent the email, Clar! I’m happy to share it 🙂

  13. Sarah Ann February 3, 2014 / 12:26 PM

    I’m coming to this so late but want to thank you for posting it. Your poem really touched me, as you’ve summed up the feelings I have occasionally about a failed long-term friendship. ‘I’m stuck on “why?”’ – so true, so heartfelt.

    • jannatwrites February 3, 2014 / 9:09 PM

      I’m glad you could relate to it, Sarah Ann. It kind of helps to know that others have felt this way, as well 🙂

Got an opinion? Share it!

