Webs and Wisdom – Haiku

12-10 Web

Silken trap glistens

Intricate web, an art form

Delicate thread… waits.

*

*

12-10 Trees

Perspective resides

Above treetops, grazing clouds-

Reminds, “I am small.”

~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-

I don’t know about you,  but nature has a way of bringing things into perspective.  When I think I’m the master of my world, a walk among the pines reminds me of how small my world really is, and that much of what I think I have figured out is an illusion.  A lot of little worlds make up our world, as I see when I come across a bird’s nest, a snake’s hole (I don’t go poking around those!) or a spider’s web.  I have the ability to destroy their worlds if I’m not careful, but really, in the forest- their world- I’m quite small.

I appreciate you taking time to read my rambling thoughts on this Wednesday.  Have a beautiful week!

40 thoughts on “Webs and Wisdom – Haiku

  1. Catherine Johnson December 11, 2013 / 5:05 AM

    Love the delicate nature of these, Janna!

  2. suzicate December 11, 2013 / 5:16 AM

    Nature does have a way of bringing things in perspective. All parts, even the smallest and most intricate are important. Love looking up at the treetops; great photo!

    • jannatwrites December 12, 2013 / 10:01 AM

      Thanks, Suzicate. I figured you might have the same reaction to nature 🙂 I’m glad you like the treetops…I took a few like that one day.

  3. Debbie December 11, 2013 / 7:40 AM

    Love the photo of looking up into those tall pines, Janna — it really conveys how small we are (and how immense the world we live in!)

    • jannatwrites December 12, 2013 / 10:02 AM

      That’s exactly what I hoped it would depict, Debbie! I saw all the trees around us, but until I stood beneath one and looked up, I didn’t realize just how tall they really were 🙂

  4. nrhatch December 11, 2013 / 9:48 AM

    Beautiful pairs of poems and pics, Janna.

    While you’re in the mood for Haiku . . . consider entering the Haiku Monday challenge. ‘m hosting it this week and have only had 3 submissions. That will make judging easy, but . . .

    • jannatwrites December 12, 2013 / 10:04 AM

      Thanks, Nancy! I checked out the challenge yesterday and my mind is totally blank. Same with Susanna Hill’s Christmas story contest. Inspiration is playing hide and seek and I’ve not found…but if I do, I’ll certainly give them a shot 🙂

    • jannatwrites December 12, 2013 / 10:07 AM

      I’m glad you stopped by and liked the haiku, Kathy!

  5. Diane Turner December 11, 2013 / 3:25 PM

    Brilliant! Thanks for sharing.

    • jannatwrites December 12, 2013 / 10:08 AM

      And thanks (as always) for reading, Diane!

  6. Eric Alagan December 11, 2013 / 5:48 PM

    “A lot of little worlds make up our world”

    How very true, Janna – and so insightful.

    Peace,
    Eric

    • jannatwrites December 12, 2013 / 10:10 AM

      Thanks for reading, Eric. Some of these little worlds, I’m content ignoring (like some of the bugs/insects that creep me out if I think about them too much 🙂 )

  7. Widdershins December 11, 2013 / 7:37 PM

    Wonderful and profound rambling thoughts.

    • jannatwrites December 12, 2013 / 10:10 AM

      Sometimes my ramblings make at least a little sense 🙂 Thanks for reading, Widdershins!

  8. Sean December 12, 2013 / 8:46 AM

    This reminds me of Horton Hears a Who. We are so small compared to a lot of things but gigantic compared to other things. It’s when we really look at the perspective of where and how we fit into the world that we can make a difference. Although it seems to always happen when walking through woods is to encounter a web usually when it wraps around your face and then you freak out and flail widely trying to get it off you. thanks

    • jannatwrites December 12, 2013 / 10:12 AM

      Haha! I’ve ended up with a few webs in my face, Sean. It is a nasty feeling (and of course I squeal and flail wildly, but it does nothing more than make my kids snicker at me.)

      • Sean December 13, 2013 / 12:28 PM

        Somehow I can see you doing that and your boys, after they stop chuckling, saying that it is just a spider web, then probably try to do something to make it feel like a spider is crawling on you. Enjoy your time and be safe.

        • jannatwrites December 13, 2013 / 3:22 PM

          Oh yes, they’ve done the crawly bug thing on me and it is freaky! We were hiking one time and my older son tickled my neck with a leaf and I got really mad at him. He was cracking up…must be a boy thing 🙂

  9. Lance December 13, 2013 / 7:20 AM

    love that last line….it’s so perspective shaping

    • jannatwrites December 13, 2013 / 3:19 PM

      Thanks for reading, Lance! I do feel small in that world 🙂

  10. Carl D'Agostino December 13, 2013 / 7:34 AM

    Spider webs certainly are an art form. Not for the victim of course.

  11. pattisj December 15, 2013 / 11:03 PM

    Nice web capture. That’s a great shot, way up to the tree tops.

    • jannatwrites December 15, 2013 / 11:46 PM

      Thanks, Patti! I haven’t taken many photos lately, so I hope I don’t run out of photos to post 🙂

  12. agjorgenson December 16, 2013 / 8:30 PM

    I’m not sure which I like better, the photos or the poems… but why not both equally?

    • jannatwrites December 16, 2013 / 11:50 PM

      Thanks so much for the kind words, Allen! I’m glad they seem to work well together.

  13. unawarebutunderlined December 20, 2013 / 7:55 AM

    This is just beautiful intricate in its simplicity 🙂 cheers to you beautiful one!

    • jannatwrites December 22, 2013 / 2:53 AM

      I never wrote much haiku until a couple months ago. Thanks for reading, UBU!

  14. pattyabr December 29, 2013 / 2:18 PM

    I love the pics that accompany the haiku

  15. Robin Leigh Morgan June 30, 2014 / 6:27 PM

    Even in beauty there is death, Like the analogy you’ve presented here.

    Webs and Wisdom

    Invisible trap
    Wait for unsuspecting fly
    Patience is needed.

    • jannatwrites June 30, 2014 / 10:36 PM

      Nice haiku 🙂 Patience and skill make for success in this case, Robin! I saw another giant web on Saturday but the lighting didn’t make for a good photo.

      • Robin Leigh Morgan June 30, 2014 / 11:31 PM

        THANKS for the compliment Janna. I’m starting to compile all the Haikus I’ve written so far. Planning to an anthology of about 400 of them. So if you know of any other sites with Haikus please let me know – – I’d appreciate it.

        • Robin Leigh Morgan July 1, 2014 / 4:26 AM

          THANKS for the link to Kathy’s site…There I found a site dedicated to Haikus where each Sunday a new prompt word is given and you post links back to your blog[s] for comments. http://www.haikuhorizons.wordpress.com

          A few more of these site and I’ll have my anthology of Haikus finished in about four months.

        • jannatwrites July 4, 2014 / 4:32 PM

          I’m glad you found what you needed, Robin. Good luck with your collection!

Got an opinion? Share it!

