Winter Wonderland – Speakeasy #139

12-9 Winter Wonderland

Five-year-old Rachael had fallen asleep in her mom’s lap in front of the fireplace.  Bing Crosby- Grandpa’s favorite- played in the background.   When silence crackled from the old record, her mom sniffled and nudged the girl awake.  “Time for bed, kiddo.”

She slid off her mom’s lap and shuffled her slippered feet all the way to her room; her mom’s footsteps close behind.  She climbed into bed and let her mom pull the covers to her chin.  “Love you, Mommy.”

“I love you, too.”

Rachael giggled when the kiss tickled her cheek.  “Sweet dreams.”  Her mom paused at the doorway before shutting off the light.

An Ariel nightlight cast a glow from on the wall across from her bed.  She stared into the shadows around the illuminated rocking chair and waited.  Finally, her eyelids grew heavy and sleep took over.

A warm breeze like fingertips brushed Rachael’s cheek and her eyes fluttered open.  She smiled when she saw him sitting in the rocking chair.

“Lil’ one, you’ll never guess who I saw today.”  He moved to the edge of her bed.

“Who?”

“Let me tell you how it happened.  We were roasting chestnuts over the open fire.  No, wait… I think we were riding on a one horse open sleigh pulled by none other than a certain red-nosed reindeer.  Yes, I believe that was it…”

She laughed.

He rubbed his chin and shook his head.  “Anyway, we were laughing all the way and there he was, dancin’ like a circus clown all through the meadow!”

Rachael’s eyes widened.  “Who?”

He laughed.  “Wants to think he’s Parson Brown, but he’s Frosty the Snowman, of course!  Why, he frolicked about until Mrs. Frosty pulled him inside.”

“Tell me more!  More!”

“Dear, it’s time to let the child sleep.”  The white-haired woman touched his arm.

“You’re here, too!” Rachael squealed.

He leaned forward and whispered, “Mrs. says it’s time, so I’d better go.”  He winked.

She reached out to hug him, but grasped air instead.

“Are you okay?”  Her mom asked from the doorway.

Rachael sighed and flopped back into her pillow.  “Grandpa told the best stories.”

Her mom sat on the edge of her bed.  “Yes.  Yes, he did.”  She ran her fingers through Rachael’s hair.

“He told me a silly Frosty story tonight.”

Her fingers paused.  “Sometimes dreams feel real.  I just woke from a dream where I saw him waving from a sleigh pulled by Rudolph.  Silly, right?”  She followed Rachael’s gaze to the rocker swaying in the corner.

Rachael wiggled her fingers at Grandpa before Grandma pulled him away.  She yawned.  “I think heaven’s a winter wonderland, an’ Grandma’s Mrs. Frosty.”

Warmth spread throughout the room and Rachael watched as Grandpa smudged a tear from her mom’s cheek.

She gasped.  “Dad…”

“Grandpa says g’night, Mommy.”

~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-

This is my response to this week’s Speakeasy writing prompt, which is to write a piece in less than 750 words using “Grandpa told the best stories” anywhere, and make some kind of reference to Bing Crosby’s Winter Wonderland.

The prompt is open to anyone, so if you’re inspired to write, click the badge below to check out the complete guidelines.  On Tuesday, we’re open to post the link to our stories, so you have some time to write away 🙂

speakeasy2

43 thoughts on “Winter Wonderland – Speakeasy #139

  1. Bastet December 9, 2013 / 3:03 AM

    Lovely story! Thanks for this sweet visit Janna.

    • jannatwrites December 9, 2013 / 10:57 AM

      Thanks so much for reading, Bastet! I’m glad you enjoyed the story 🙂

  2. Anja December 9, 2013 / 4:12 AM

    Such a heart warming tale. It is amazing how the Christmas season makes us pull out cherished memories.

    • jannatwrites December 9, 2013 / 10:57 AM

      Yes, there is something special about Christmas, Anja 🙂 Thanks for reading!

  3. nrhatch December 9, 2013 / 8:26 AM

    Wonderful, Janna! If you’re up for it . . . Susanna’s Holiday Contest starts today. 😀

    • jannatwrites December 9, 2013 / 11:00 AM

      Thanks, Nancy! I stopped by her site and read it but so far, I’m blank. We’ll see if anything forms…if not, I’ll have to sit this one out. (Come on, brain….come on!)

  4. Debbie December 9, 2013 / 8:47 AM

    Janna, you spin the BEST stories — love this one, though it brought a few tears to my eyes!

    • jannatwrites December 9, 2013 / 11:01 AM

      Thanks for the huge compliment, Debbie! I’m glad you enjoyed the story.

  5. Sean December 9, 2013 / 10:03 AM

    This was a good story especially for this time of year. I do also like some Bing Crosby, nothing like the sounds he could produce. It’s always a wonderful feeling to be able to feel the love and warmth from the people who love you, passed or not. thank you for the story.

    • jannatwrites December 9, 2013 / 11:08 AM

      Bing Crosby does have a nice voice, Sean. You said that well – the holidays have a way of making us feel the love 🙂

  6. Eric Alagan December 9, 2013 / 5:21 PM

    A warm embrace of a story – very apt for this season. You wrote this well, Janna dear.

    • jannatwrites December 9, 2013 / 11:55 PM

      Thanks, Eric! Certainly not the adventure and intrigue of your stories, but I’m glad you stopped by to read it 🙂

  7. J. Milburn December 9, 2013 / 7:07 PM

    Beautiful work, Janna! There’s really nothing more I can add, I’m just in awe 🙂

    • jannatwrites December 10, 2013 / 12:00 AM

      Wow, thanks, J.! I had some trouble getting the ending worked out on this one, so I’m glad it seems to have worked.

  8. Justice December 9, 2013 / 7:27 PM

    So touching and sweet. You can definitely feel the warmth of holidays (and happy family memories) in this piece. Well done.

    • jannatwrites December 10, 2013 / 12:01 AM

      I’m glad that comes through, Justice! This time of year, I tend to think more of my grandparents…they might not be here, but they are still with the family.

  9. pattisj December 9, 2013 / 10:02 PM

    What a sweet Christmas story.

  10. Stacie December 10, 2013 / 1:52 PM

    This is just beautiful Janna, I loved it!!!

    • jannatwrites December 10, 2013 / 11:17 PM

      Thank! I appreciate you reading, Stacie!

  11. Shailaja V December 11, 2013 / 2:44 AM

    Beautiful Janna! I first thought it was Santa Claus and then towards the end, the twist left me breathless. Well done!

    • jannatwrites December 12, 2013 / 9:59 AM

      That’s funny, because it crossed my mind to make him Santa but I decided against it. I’m glad I did if that was anticipated 🙂 Thanks for reading, Shailaja!

  12. ranu802 December 11, 2013 / 6:33 AM

    Thank you for this lovely story.

  13. ym1611 December 11, 2013 / 11:59 AM

    Way to go Janna!
    Beautiful 😀
    I love how they both dreamt of something similar 😀

    • jannatwrites December 12, 2013 / 10:07 AM

      I appreciate you reading the story, YM!

  14. Suzanne December 12, 2013 / 8:07 AM

    Aw, what a lovely story! Bittersweet, but full of warmth and hope. Excellent work!

    • jannatwrites December 12, 2013 / 10:13 AM

      I appreciate you taking time to read it, IOL!

  15. mandyblake95 December 12, 2013 / 2:30 PM

    I was expecting dream garndparents, but ghost grandparents….perfect ending.

    • jannatwrites December 12, 2013 / 9:32 PM

      Thanks, Mandy! I’m fascinated by dreams and ghosts so occasionally I attempt to write with those elements.

  16. Karen December 13, 2013 / 11:25 AM

    Great story, Janna! I really enjoyed the way you wrote the dialogue, and I loved the ending.

    • jannatwrites December 13, 2013 / 3:20 PM

      Thanks so much, Karen! I appreciate you taking time to read it 🙂

  17. tedstrutz December 14, 2013 / 12:36 PM

    What a sweet Christmas ghost story, JannaT… very clever story Grandpa told.

    • tedstrutz December 14, 2013 / 12:38 PM

      p.s. this line reminded me of my sleepy daughters so many years ago…shuffled her slippered feet all the way to her room… thank you.

      • jannatwrites December 15, 2013 / 11:43 PM

        I’m glad that sparked some memories, Ted. My younger son still shuffles…my eleven-year-old, not so much 🙂

  18. pattyabr December 29, 2013 / 2:48 PM

    I really like it. Great way to work it in the story.

    • jannatwrites December 29, 2013 / 10:25 PM

      Thanks, Patty! I’m glad you enjoyed the story 🙂

Got an opinion? Share it!

