Sunrise – Haiku

12-6 Sunrise

Blazing horizon

Invites hope for the new day;

Illuminates me.

~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-

There are many repetitious things in life that make me weary, but witnessing a glowing sunrise never gets old. My favorite sunrises are those I experience without the obstruction of houses or buildings (we sure do know how to ruin a perfect horizon!)

A sunrise, especially on a cloudy day, can be like nature’s version of fireworks, minus the startling noises.  I can’t help but stare when the sky looks almost like it’s on fire.  Gradually, the blaze chases away the shadowy darkness and clears my foggy mind.

Sometimes all it takes is a new day to give me a different outlook .

***

I won’t have computer access again this weekend, so I’ll catch up on reading and comments next week.  I hope you have a beautiful Friday and weekend! 

24 thoughts on “Sunrise – Haiku

    • jannatwrites December 6, 2013 / 12:16 PM

      Thanks, UBU! I’m working, but I’m also spending some time with my parents (kids are super-excited!)

  1. Catherine Johnson December 6, 2013 / 7:36 AM

    So much in life is weary. Maybe we need a new mindset. Weary is wonderful! 😉

    • jannatwrites December 6, 2013 / 12:18 PM

      Our minds are powerful – we have the choice on how to approach weary 🙂 Glad you stopped by, Catherine!

  2. Imelda December 6, 2013 / 9:57 AM

    Lovely. 🙂

    I have yet to see a proper sunset or sunrise scene.
    Happy weekend.

    • jannatwrites December 6, 2013 / 12:20 PM

      When I lived in Phoenix, I didn’t bother looking for sunrise/sunsets because there was too much in the way. I’m finding that the best sunrises/sunsets are on the open road.

  3. Debbie December 6, 2013 / 12:12 PM

    How wonderful! We seem to get better-looking sunsets, for some reason. Because it’s been soooo grey and dreary here for days on end, I was especially glad to see your sunrise. Have a super weekend!

    • jannatwrites December 6, 2013 / 12:26 PM

      I’m sorry you’ve had gray skies, Debbie. I’m happy to share my sunrises/sunsets…Arizona can have some pretty good ones!

      We had a cloudy day or two, now we just have cold and sunny. (It was 24 degrees when I sent my younger son off to the bus. Brrrr!)

      I hope you have a wonderful weekend!!

  4. newwhitebear December 6, 2013 / 12:53 PM

    A beautiful haiku.
    Compliments.
    A happy weekend

    • jannatwrites December 9, 2013 / 12:03 AM

      Thank you so much for reading, Newwhitebear 🙂

  5. J. Milburn December 6, 2013 / 11:38 PM

    Wonderful haiku. I feel much the same way about sunrises, although I enjoy a good sunset as well. Have a great weekend!

    • jannatwrites December 9, 2013 / 12:06 AM

      Thanks, J.! I like sunsets as well. If I had to pick a favorite (sunrise or sunset) I don’t believe I could. But sunrises are easier to catch this time of year than in the summer time 🙂

    • jannatwrites December 9, 2013 / 12:07 AM

      I haven’t heard from anyone yet who doesn’t enjoy them, Kathy. Hmmm…maybe this is the one thing people can agree on? 🙂

  6. vishalbheeroo December 7, 2013 / 1:32 PM

    Beautiful and amazing Haiku. Have an awesome week end:)

    • jannatwrites December 9, 2013 / 12:07 AM

      Thanks, Vishal! I appreciate you stopping by. Hard to believe the weekend is already over.

  7. pattisj December 7, 2013 / 3:50 PM

    Sunsets never get old. I rarely see sunrises, but once in awhile I’ve been up that late– (early?) Enjoy your weekend. That’s a lovely shot. It’s hard to find an uncluttered view here–we don’t have the real estate with the “perfect” view.

    • jannatwrites December 9, 2013 / 12:09 AM

      Haha, I don’t have the perfect view from my house, either. This one was captured on my drive to work one morning. On a good day, I’ll get to see both the sunrise and sunset 🙂

  8. agjorgenson December 8, 2013 / 8:06 PM

    Agreed! My wife;s maternal grandparents committed themselves to meeting on the veranda at each day’s sunset. What a lovely way to mark each day!

    • jannatwrites December 9, 2013 / 12:11 AM

      I like that tradition, Allen. There is something magical about the rising and setting of the sun. Sometimes it’s so pretty, I nearly forget to raise my camera to capture it 🙂

  9. Robin Leigh Morgan June 30, 2014 / 6:36 PM

    I love the picture you’ve selected for your Haiku for this week … it fits it perfectly. At the same time your picture and Haiku reminds me of some “advice” give to sailors of yore.

    Sunrise

    Color morning sun
    Tell sailors their day ahead
    Red says take warning.

    • jannatwrites June 30, 2014 / 10:35 PM

      The desert makes a great scene for colorful sunsets (especially during monsoons when the air is dusty.) I do remember seeing that sailor advice. Looks like you’re catching up on my haiku posts 🙂

Got an opinion? Share it!

