Pushing Tushes

Youth isn't just for the young!
Youth isn’t just for the young!

Kendra hadn’t been this nervous since her first date… in 1979.  Newly divorced after twenty-eight years of marriage, it pretty much was her first date.  She shifted her bra to lift her breasts where she thought they should be, but gravity turned out to be stronger than expensive Victoria’s Secret technology.  She turned her back to the mirror and threw a glance over her shoulder; fingers crossed the stone-studded pockets complimented her tush.

She sighed.  Pushing fifty, her body didn’t fit the twenty-year-old image in her mind.  The full-length mirror was the only one bold enough to confront her with the truth.  She applied her lipstick, perhaps too red for her age but she wore it anyway.

Kendra slid into her red cowboy boots.  (Red made her feel vibrant.  Her friends called it the “red attitude.”)  She grabbed her keys and hummed a country tune as she headed to her car.  Ten minutes later, she pulled into Mr. Lucky’s parking lot.  She strutted through the barn doors and saw Brad waiting inside.

“Wow, you look beautiful.”

“And you look great, too.  New shirt?”

He sucked his belly in, but it still hid the top of his belt buckle.  He grinned.  “I bought it just for tonight.”  Brad held his elbow out in a dramatic gesture.  “Would the most gorgeous woman in the house like to join me in the Tush Push?”

Kendra saw the line dance in full swing when she looked over his shoulder.  She slid her arm through his elbow.  “Come on, my two-stepping prince.  Let’s show ‘em how it’s done!”

He gave her a twirl.  In that moment, she felt better than twenty-one.

~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-

TrifectaPicture11-1This story might be a little corny, but it has some truth for me.  Sometimes I forget that youth isn’t reflected in the mirror.  It isn’t until I let go of how I look (or rather, how differently I look than I did twenty years ago)  that I’m able to feel free and happy.  (Oh, and I love red, but don’t wear red lipstick :))

This is also  my response to Trifecta’s weekly writing prompt, which is to write a 33 to 333 word piece using the following word/definition:  TUSH:  buttocks (slang)

Remember, the challenge is open to anyone, so if you’re so inspired, please write your own response and link it up on Trifecta’s site!

Thanks so much for reading.  Have a beautiful week!!

71 thoughts on “Pushing Tushes

  1. mandyblake95 December 2, 2013 / 9:25 AM

    I don’t know what the tush push is, but I would love to see it. Great job.

    • jannatwrites December 2, 2013 / 9:37 PM

      I might be showing my age here, Mandy 🙂 I don’t know when it was developed, but the Tush Push is a country line dance that someone tried to get me to do in the early 1990s. I never did it because I have zero coordination (if you’re curious and want to see what it looks like, there are videos on You Tube, if you search for Tush Push.)

      • mandyblake95 December 2, 2013 / 10:16 PM

        Thank you so much, I don’t know why my brain froze and I didn’t even think of looking for a video of the this dance…I just watched it and it’s the cutest dance ever(and one I’m also too uncoordinated to try), but the video started with the best blue grassy sounding song ever, “Well there’s a bar down on the corner, with a strange philosophy. The only waitresses they hire, are as ugly as can be.” That song was the best thing that happened to me all day.

        • jannatwrites December 2, 2013 / 11:34 PM

          That is a funny song, Mandy! Glad you liked the song and the dance, too. For some reason, the name has always made me giggle… I couldn’t resist mentioning since ‘tush’ was the word of the week 🙂

  2. nrhatch December 2, 2013 / 9:32 AM

    Well done! We do best when we view the image in the mirror as a mirage . . . covering our truth and youth within. 😀

    • nrhatch December 2, 2013 / 9:33 AM

      oops . . . truth and youth

    • jannatwrites December 2, 2013 / 9:41 PM

      Thanks, Nancy! The mirror tends to stretch the truth, or not tell the whole story 🙂

  3. Catherine Johnson December 2, 2013 / 12:33 PM

    Fun!

  4. Debbie December 2, 2013 / 1:05 PM

    Perhaps even the very old have frozen their self-images at the age they feel? This is a fun one — not corny at all. And I’m with you in liking red but not red lipstick!

    • jannatwrites December 2, 2013 / 9:44 PM

      It’s good to know you didn’t find it corny, Debbie! Some people can pull red lipstick off, but I just don’t think I’m one of them 🙂

    • jannatwrites December 2, 2013 / 9:45 PM

      Thanks so much for reading, UBU! Beauty exudes from within 🙂

        • jannatwrites December 4, 2013 / 10:05 AM

          Red is awesome! It makes me sad when I see women in all black because it’s supposed to be slimming. Color is fabulous 🙂

  5. GodGirl December 2, 2013 / 1:56 PM

    The word ‘tush’ is so fitting for these characters 🙂 I love the way you portray the effect of old age, and their determination to push through the mis-match between how they look and how they feel.

    • jannatwrites December 2, 2013 / 9:48 PM

      You “get” where I was at when I wrote this. I wanted it to come across that neither of them were model perfect, but they each liked what they saw. We tend to be hypersensitive to our flaws, so it’s good to know others are more accepting! Thanks for reading, GodGirl 🙂

  6. Tessa December 2, 2013 / 4:27 PM

    Tush push? Hilarious! 🙂

    • jannatwrites December 2, 2013 / 9:49 PM

      That dance name has always cracked me up, Tessa!

  7. Valerie December 2, 2013 / 5:59 PM

    I love this. Wisdom may come with age, but age is totally just an attitude, as our sassy miss Kendra illustrates so well:) Great writing, Janna!

    • jannatwrites December 2, 2013 / 9:51 PM

      I appreciate you reading, Valerie! I’m forty, but I hope at fifty, I’ll still go for the red 🙂

    • jannatwrites December 2, 2013 / 9:52 PM

      Glad you can relate, Kathy! Aging is harder than it seems 🙂

  8. Glynis December 2, 2013 / 9:19 PM

    LOL!!! Lovely, I’m pushing pass a certain age and this was wonderful to read. We aren’t done just yet and love is still in the air. Great!

    • jannatwrites December 2, 2013 / 9:53 PM

      We may not look young, but we can still be youthful on the inside, Glynis 🙂 Thanks for stopping by to read the story!

  9. Eric Alagan December 3, 2013 / 2:44 AM

    When it hits ya, it hits ya – enjoy and stop fretting about age 🙂

    • jannatwrites December 4, 2013 / 9:47 AM

      Focusing on age isn’t good for one’s state of mind. My husband and I have a rule – on birthdays we only use one candle. Using one for each year would just be depressing (and a fire hazard, too :)) Thanks for stopping by, Eric!

  10. KymmInBarcelona December 3, 2013 / 5:54 AM

    Step away from the full-length mirror!!!
    Hahaha. The Tush Push is a riot – I missed the line-dancing craze (fortunately for other line dancers). My era was the Hustle : (
    Red is an excellent affirming color (see The Bloggess’ traveling red dress)!

    • jannatwrites December 4, 2013 / 9:51 AM

      Haha! Your comment cracked me up, Kymm! Line dancing looks really cool – for people that can count steps and follow directions well. Red is awesome – when I’m sick and want to lounge around in baggy sweats, I put on my favorite jeans and a red sweater instead.

  11. atrm61 December 3, 2013 / 12:08 PM

    How very cute and as a 50 something feeling like a twenty something,I know how it feels too,lol!A great piece Janna and loved how you used the prompt:-)

    • jannatwrites December 4, 2013 / 9:52 AM

      Thanks, Atreyee! I turned 40 this year and I already recognize the discrepancy between how I feel and how I look…I expect it will only get worse 🙂

      • atrm61 December 5, 2013 / 1:12 PM

        40-ahh-so young!:-)But I don’t mind the 50s- as yet-no idea what the future holds though but am not going to worry about that and spoil my present 🙂

        • jannatwrites December 6, 2013 / 12:13 PM

          Great philosophy, Atreyee. No need to waste the present worrying about what may be!

        • atrm61 December 6, 2013 / 12:54 PM

          As long as I can continue to believe in it Janna:)Rest all is up to God and fate

        • jannatwrites December 9, 2013 / 12:03 AM

          True enough, Atreyee!

    • jannatwrites December 4, 2013 / 9:53 AM

      Thanks so much for reading, Munchkin…glad you liked it 🙂

  12. Michael December 3, 2013 / 3:49 PM

    I was wondering how you were going to use this week’s word… 🙂

    • jannatwrites December 4, 2013 / 9:55 AM

      I hope it worked, Michael! It wasn’t one that felt all that natural using, but I gave it my best (although I’ve seen many others do it better) Oh well 🙂

  13. J. Milburn December 3, 2013 / 6:14 PM

    I’ve done the Boot Scootin Boogie, but I must have missed the Tush Push. Or I killed those brain cells at the same time the memories would have been formed 😉 Great story, Janna!

    • jannatwrites December 4, 2013 / 9:56 AM

      Oh, I love the Brooks & Dunn song, Boot Scootin Boogie.. never done the dance, though! I only know the Tush Push because in college, my date suggested we try it. I suggested we have iced tea and watch 🙂

    • jannatwrites December 4, 2013 / 9:57 AM

      I’m glad I’m not the only one, Kelly. I try not to linger in front of the mirror 🙂 Thanks for reading!

  14. TMW Hickman December 3, 2013 / 9:02 PM

    Who needs red lipstick when you have red boots? This was wonderful–and it spoke to me. I also have trouble looking at myself in the mirror and just accepting what I see. Something for me to work on!

    • jannatwrites December 4, 2013 / 10:01 AM

      Tina, I’d actually like to have a red pair of cowboy boots 🙂

      I’m glad you could relate to the story, but here’s the deal: we are more critical than anyone else. I need to work on being okay with me, too!

  15. Momo December 3, 2013 / 10:41 PM

    Oh I loved this, Janna. So fun and hopeful. I love the red attitude. And the fact that the bar is called Mr. Lucky’s cracked me up. Great job!

    • jannatwrites December 4, 2013 / 10:02 AM

      There actually was (maybe still is?) a club in Phoenix by that name. I never went because it was too rowdy for my tastes 🙂 I’m glad you stopped by to read the story, Momo – thanks!

  16. Gina December 4, 2013 / 9:21 AM

    Tush Push??? I love it. I totally get the mental versus physical age because I’m exactly there! I love the end…”Let’s show ’em how it’s done!” That is right!!!

    • jannatwrites December 4, 2013 / 10:04 AM

      There seriously is a dance by that name – couldn’t make that up 🙂

      Good thing we don’t feel our age – that’s something to be thankful for! Thanks for reading, Gina.

  17. Tara R. December 4, 2013 / 10:55 AM

    Ahh… to still be young at heart, and wearing red cowboy boots.

  18. EagleAye December 4, 2013 / 3:35 PM

    Charming story. I enjoyed this.

    • jannatwrites December 5, 2013 / 12:07 AM

      Thanks, EagleAye – glad you liked the story!

  19. steph December 4, 2013 / 5:29 PM

    I love this piece. It made me smile. I loved your description of putting her boobs where she thought they ought to go. And the lovely ending. Really well done. 🙂

    • jannatwrites December 5, 2013 / 12:12 AM

      Thanks for reading and for taking time to point out what you liked best in the story, Steph! I like to think they had a wonderful evening dancing 🙂

  20. Lance December 4, 2013 / 7:47 PM

    what steph said….that description of pushing her boobs and getting herself together was great. It made me get into her character.

    This is a really rich character piece.

    • jannatwrites December 5, 2013 / 12:14 AM

      Your comment about this being a character piece made me happy. Historically, characterization has been a weak point for me, so over the last year and a half, I’ve been trying to pay more attention to the personal details. Thanks for reading, Lance!

  21. pattisj December 4, 2013 / 8:46 PM

    Now that’s a warm-the-heart story. I know the reflection in the mirror part all too well. I’ve heard of the Tush Push, but don’t think I’ve tried that one. I like your new photo–looks like you found some snow.

    • jannatwrites December 5, 2013 / 12:18 AM

      Maybe you should try the Tush Push…if Kendra can do it, you can too 🙂 We did find snow a couple weeks ago, Patti. Only a dusting where we live, but we drove a little bit and found the perfect place for our family picture that I’m sending with our Christmas cards. (Oh yeah, I need to finish those…)

  22. Draug419 December 4, 2013 / 9:36 PM

    haha aww I bet they work out!

  23. Jo-Anne Teal (@jtvancouver) December 5, 2013 / 2:24 AM

    Janna – adored this story and the fact that he had spruced up just like she had. The little detail about him sucking in his stomach tells us so much. Really, really a terrific write!

    • jannatwrites December 6, 2013 / 11:59 AM

      I’m glad you liked the story, Jo-Anne! I’m glad that came through – I’d wanted to to be clear neither of them were model-perfect, but they didn’t need that to have fun 🙂

  24. trifectawriting December 5, 2013 / 5:59 PM

    Oh my gosh, you guys are giving me goosebumps this weekend. This was just lovely. I have an aunt who is going through the whole dating thing at the age of 60. This reminded me so much of her. (But your character is far more likeable. Shhhh.) Thanks for linking up.

    • jannatwrites December 6, 2013 / 12:15 PM

      Haha…your secret’s safe with me! I’m glad you liked the story and could relate it to someone you know 🙂

  25. joetwo December 6, 2013 / 5:33 AM

    Cool! Nice one!

Got an opinion? Share it!

