Grateful Illumination

11-28 Clouds Snow

Clouded by the myth of what I cannot do,

or do not have,

I settled in the bleakness

of absence.

Backwards thinking

turned me blue,

closed my eyes-

until grateful found my heart.

Now,

I’m filled with appreciation of

childrens’ laughter,

ice in my tea,

cats purring in my ear,

dogs’ devotion at my feet,

crickets chirping at night,

crisp evening air,

sun setting behind pines,

the blessing of God’s grace,

finding peace

from shadows in my mind,

searching my soul

for the light

that was always there,

but I forgot to behold.

11-28 Clouds Light

I wrote this a couple months ago after I started to come out of a funk.  The crisp evening air is now “cold” but grateful fits as we celebrate Thanksgiving here in the U.S.

I have one more addition to my grateful list:  Holly.  We met for lunch after not seeing each other for over twenty years.  In fact, we didn’t have any sort of contact until about a year ago when a strange twist put us in touch again.  Perhaps we will have a chance to meet up again in the future.

Once again, I’ll be away from the computer for a few days, so I’ll catch up with comments and blog reading over the weekend.  I hope you have a beautiful Thanksgiving.  If you don’t celebrate, I hope you feel the warmth of grateful on this Thursday.

23 thoughts on “Grateful Illumination

  1. Catherine Johnson November 28, 2013 / 3:16 AM

    Lovely poem, Janna! How wonderful to catch up with an old friend. Happy Thanksgiving!

    • jannatwrites November 28, 2013 / 1:41 PM

      Thanks, Catherine! We didn’t get to visit very long, but maybe next time 🙂

  2. nrhatch November 28, 2013 / 6:09 AM

    I’ve enjoyed reading several gratitude lists this morning. Enjoy your time awa’

    • jannatwrites November 28, 2013 / 1:42 PM

      Thanks, Nancy! We’re about to hit the road for a couple days of crazy 🙂

  3. Debbie November 28, 2013 / 1:41 PM

    Have a lovely break, Janna! We all deserve time away, now and then. I’m glad you were able to reestablish a friendship — that’s certainly something to be grateful for, Thanksgiving or any other day!

    • jannatwrites November 28, 2013 / 1:44 PM

      Thanks for stopping by, Debbie! The next several weekends are going to be offline for me. Between a weekend of work, and appointments in Phoenix and then Christmas coming, I may not have a routine back until January 🙂

    • jannatwrites November 30, 2013 / 7:34 PM

      Thanks, Phil! We had a good time, but it’s so nice to be home 🙂

  4. Lance November 29, 2013 / 12:35 PM

    charming with a capital CH

    I liked it a lot

    • jannatwrites November 30, 2013 / 7:35 PM

      Thanks, Lance! I didn’t know if this one would see the ‘light’ of day – never seemed the right time to post it 🙂

  5. pattisj November 29, 2013 / 10:16 PM

    How nice you’ve reconnected with a friend after all these years. I liked your poem, A LOT. Nice work. You are an amazing writer, taking on every opportunity to play with words.

    • jannatwrites November 30, 2013 / 7:39 PM

      I’m glad you enjoyed the poem, Patti! Unfortunately, I didn’t have a chance to write over the last few days (I had a dog in my lap in the car, and too much activity at my mother-in-law’s…there is always tonight and tomorrow, though 🙂

      P.S. I appreciate your compliment and kind words!

  6. Diane Turner November 29, 2013 / 11:48 PM

    Yay for your reconnection. Captures are gorgeous, as usual. Thanks for sharing.

    • jannatwrites November 30, 2013 / 7:39 PM

      Thanks so much, Diane – I appreciate you reading. Hope you had a wonderful Thanksgiving!

  7. Kathy Combs (@Kathy29156) December 1, 2013 / 9:22 AM

    This is lovely. It is always great to rediscover anew how blessed we are and how the little things make our lives sparkle.

    • jannatwrites December 1, 2013 / 8:13 PM

      I’m glad you stopped by, Kathy. I hope you had a wonderful Thanksgiving!

  8. Buddy December 1, 2013 / 12:14 PM

    Thanks for sharing! Gratitude is an amazing thing!

    • jannatwrites December 1, 2013 / 8:14 PM

      Gratitude IS amazing! Thanks for reading and sharing your comment, Buddy 😛

  9. Carl D'Agostino December 15, 2013 / 7:24 PM

    Clouded by the myth of what I cannot do,

    If we can see it is a myth we are free

    • jannatwrites December 15, 2013 / 11:45 PM

      Very true, Carl! Thanks so much for reading 🙂

Got an opinion? Share it!

