Catharsis – Speakeasy #136

???????????????????????????????

The smell

of smoke

lingered

in the air.

Smoldering embers,

catharsis for

my soul-

my only

hope.

Counterpart to

Enitharmon,

your words

disguised

lust and guile;

falsehoods

that lured me

into your conjured

darkness.

Part of me rested

on the glowing coals,

powdery ash-

remnants

of your deceit,

that snared my

unsuspecting

heart.

Misled;

misguided,

I found truth

in what I wanted

to believe.

Older,

but deserted

by the elusive

Wiser, perhaps

irreparably

broken,

scarred-

branded,

I fear

I will forever

endure taunting

memories, and

bear the cursed

misery of

a traitorous heart

that cannot

(or will not)

forget.

~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-

This is my response to the Speakeasy prompt, which was to write a fictional piece in less than 750 words using “The smell of smoke lingered in the air.” as the first line and make some sort of reference to William Blake’s painting, The Night of Enitharmon’s Joy. I considered adding some explanation here, but decided I’d rather not ruin your interpretation of the poem.

I did poetry this week because in a comment I made on Calamity Rae’s poetic response last week (which came in third place, by the way), I said I’d write my next response in poetry form.  So I did 🙂

This writing prompt is open to anyone up for the challenge, so click on the badge below to check out all the details!

speakeasy2

33 thoughts on “Catharsis – Speakeasy #136

  1. Eric Alagan November 18, 2013 / 4:02 AM

    Trying to grasp smoke – as elusive as false love

    • jannatwrites November 18, 2013 / 7:11 AM

      So true, Eric! Thanks for taking time to read and share your wise comment 🙂

    • jannatwrites November 18, 2013 / 7:11 AM

      Thanks, Yarnspinnerr! I think I spent as much time on the formatting as I did writing it 🙂

      • yarnspinnerr November 18, 2013 / 7:58 AM

        I envy your skills.

        Most Welcome 🙂

        • jannatwrites November 18, 2013 / 5:31 PM

          Thanks, Yarnspinnerr!

  2. nrhatch November 18, 2013 / 7:01 AM

    Lovely, Janna. And spooky too ~ this is the third reference to Blake I’ve seen in 24 hours:

    Joss ~ To see a World in a Grain of Sand And a Heaven in a Wild Flower

    The Mentalist ~ Tyger Tyger, burning bright, / In the forests of the night; / What immortal hand or eye, / Could frame thy fearful symmetry?

    And now The Night of Enitharmon’s Joy

    • jannatwrites November 18, 2013 / 7:14 AM

      That is strange, Nancy. I wonder if it’s because William Blake’s birthday is in November? Thanks for stopping by to read it!

  3. ImeldaImelda November 18, 2013 / 9:59 AM

    Very creative presentation, Janna. Isn’t it true – long after one has forgiven something, a memory of the event remains even when the pain is no longer there.

    • jannatwrites November 18, 2013 / 5:33 PM

      Memories don’t really go away. Thank goodness this is fiction for me though, Imelda!

    • jannatwrites November 18, 2013 / 5:44 PM

      Thanks so much, Kathy. I really appreciate you stopping by to read it 🙂

  4. Diane Turner November 19, 2013 / 12:27 AM

    Form and images together in your brilliantly written piece. Even with forgiveness, an empty pain remains, and therefore to forget is not an option. How true. Thanks for sharing.

    • jannatwrites November 19, 2013 / 3:42 PM

      Thanks so much for reading, Diane. I like reading your reaction/interpretation of what I’ve written 🙂

  5. mandyblake95 November 19, 2013 / 6:42 AM

    “I fear I will forever endure taunting memories” – I love it.

  6. tedstrutz November 19, 2013 / 10:54 AM

    Wow! Look at you, Miss Fancy Pants… a poem in the shape of a wisp of smoke!!! I am truly impressed. And a nice poem too boot. I remember you telling Calamity you would do a poem. You are true to your word.

    • jannatwrites November 19, 2013 / 3:47 PM

      Hahaha! You crack me up, Ted 🙂 I was hoping someone else would see a wisp of smoke. It didn’t start out that way when I wrote it but I kept changing the format. I wanted to keep my word…so glad the prompt ‘fit’ with poetry this time.

  7. Calamity Rae November 19, 2013 / 3:12 PM

    I love what you did with this, Janna. Very creative!!

    • jannatwrites November 19, 2013 / 3:49 PM

      Thanks, Calamity! I appreciate you reading it 🙂

  8. Takei Inspired November 19, 2013 / 8:37 PM

    Well done! I really enjoyed reading this 😀

    • jannatwrites November 19, 2013 / 8:50 PM

      Thanks so much for taking time to read my poem, Takei Inspired!

  9. Stacie November 20, 2013 / 8:07 AM

    This is so very clever Janna. The words are beautiful, and I just love the visual.

    • jannatwrites November 20, 2013 / 11:39 PM

      Thanks, Stacie. I’m glad you enjoyed the poem!

    • jannatwrites November 20, 2013 / 11:40 PM

      Thanks so much for reading, Christina!

  10. Suzanne November 20, 2013 / 10:18 AM

    So beautiful! And such a clever form. I love this line: “Part of me rested on the glowing coals, powdery ash–remnants of your deceit” – gorgeous and intense. Nice job with the prompts!

    • jannatwrites November 21, 2013 / 12:00 AM

      I appreciate your feedback, Suzanne!

  11. Jyothi Nair November 20, 2013 / 10:08 PM

    Brilliant and beautiful. Both for the eye and the soul. 🙂

    I attempted a poem too this time. 🙂

    • jannatwrites November 21, 2013 / 12:01 AM

      What a nice comment, Jyothi – thank you 🙂

  12. Anja November 21, 2013 / 4:33 AM

    Brilliant and lovely writing then the added feel and movement of the words. I love it!!!!

    • jannatwrites November 21, 2013 / 8:27 PM

      Thanks, Anja! I’m so glad you enjoyed the poem 🙂

Got an opinion? Share it!

