A Boy’s Heart

11-18 FR 300 Leaves

Eyes wide,

arms stretched,

Overwhelming desire

to touch what is out of reach.

Wonder,

companion to

a young boy’s heart,

propels his infinite curiosity.

I pray

his desire to know

this sometimes tumultuous

world will survive insurmountable adversity.

In contrast

To the captured firefly,

I hope the search for endless “whys?”

Shuns pervasive complacency rooted in our society.

In truth,

his pure joy of discovery

illuminates my often cynical view, carved by

murky undercurrents flowing through earliest memories.

~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-

TrifectaPicture11-1Inspired by my sons, this is my response to Trifecta’s weekly prompt, which is to write a 33-333 word piece using the following word/definition:

COMPANION (noun) – 3. a.:  one that is closely connected with something similar; b.:one employed to live with and serve another

The challenge is open to everyone, so click on the link above to check out other responses- or even better, submit your own!

Now, for an update.  Several weeks ago, my piece, Love Story, was voted first place and for that, I won a $33 Barnes and Noble gift card.  I finally made it to the store last weekend (yay!) so I can give the promised rundown on what bought.  I got books for the kids for Christmas (we always get them some kind of book.)  And I’m super excited because I really think they will like my choices this year.

Something for the kids...and me, too!
Something for the kids…and me, too!

My older son bought a used guitar with his birthday money, so I selected a guitar book/dvd for him.  My younger son loves helping in the kitchen, so I picked a kids cookbook so he can choose meals and lead the cooking (I’ll be his assistant :))  Oh, and of course, I picked up a couple books for me!

Now, I had to laugh, because the transaction was so suited to Trifecta.  I paid with my $33 card and my balance was a giggle-producing $13.33!

A balance due any Trifectan could appreciate...
A balance due any Trifectan could appreciate…

Thank you so much to everyone who read and voted for my story that week.  And a huge “THANK YOU” to the editors for the lovely incentive to celebrate the 99th challenge!

78 thoughts on “A Boy’s Heart

  1. bwcarey November 18, 2013 / 9:50 AM

    children grow up using the experiences around them, lucky for some, not so for others, your poem is real emotion on a page,

    • jannatwrites November 18, 2013 / 5:32 PM

      Thanks for reading and sharing your thoughts, Bwcarey. True, some experiences are good, others not so much.

  2. ImeldaImelda November 18, 2013 / 9:57 AM

    I love your poem and picture, Janna. I second your wish that children do not lose their sense of wonder as they grow up.

    • jannatwrites November 18, 2013 / 5:32 PM

      I know they will a bit, but maybe they’ll be able to hold on to some. Thanks for reading, Imelda!

  3. Debbie November 18, 2013 / 10:04 AM

    Well done, Janna — both the poem AND the shopping expedition! Always good to score those Christmas presents early. And kudos for buying books — at that age, Domer would have preferred toys, but now he sees the wisdom of the printed word. Whew!

    • jannatwrites November 18, 2013 / 5:34 PM

      The kids aren’t always thrilled with books, but I try to find something they’ll find interesting. Unfortunately, it’s gotten to the point we can’t afford the toys they want, Debbie!

  4. Catherine Johnson November 18, 2013 / 10:36 AM

    Congrats, Janna! Lovely poem and story.

    • jannatwrites November 18, 2013 / 5:35 PM

      Thanks, Catherine. I appreciate you stopping by!

    • jannatwrites November 18, 2013 / 5:36 PM

      Thanks, Phil! They have such imaginations and dreams at this age.

  5. nrhatch November 18, 2013 / 12:03 PM

    Lovely post, Janna. I used to jump like that every time I walked through a doorway . . . just to see if I could touch the frame! Maybe I should start doing it again. Great balance!

    Love your book picks. I had a kids cookbook as a kid and LOVED picking ideas from it to make manifest in the kitchen. I still love cookbooks. And food!

    I taught myself the guitar in HS. Like much of life mastery, it took lots of practice to perfect the chords. Eventually, my fingers knew exactly where they were expected to be as a changed from one chord to the next.

    Great picks.

    • jannatwrites November 18, 2013 / 5:37 PM

      Thanks, Nancy! I’ve thought I had good picks before and I was wrong…but this time, I really think I got it 🙂 I’ll do an update after-the-fact!

  6. Momo November 18, 2013 / 12:17 PM

    Beautiful piece, Janna. And the photo is a perfect match for it. I loved the whole piece, but the last line especially drew me in. …carved by murky undercurrents flowing through earliest memories. Wow.

    • jannatwrites November 18, 2013 / 5:39 PM

      Thanks, Momo! I actually wrote this based on the picture, which was taken a couple months ago. I’m glad you liked the last line.

  7. Lance November 18, 2013 / 12:31 PM

    I like the sweetness and hearty expressions

    This was so warm, cozy and interesting.

    • jannatwrites November 18, 2013 / 5:39 PM

      Thanks, Lance! I’m glad you enjoyed the poem 🙂

  8. Valerie November 18, 2013 / 12:53 PM

    I loved this so, so much, Janna. I think of my daughter-almost ready to face the big wide world on her own, and I can’t write much more or my tears will flood your blog:) xx

    • jannatwrites November 18, 2013 / 5:40 PM

      Good thing you didn’t cry, Valerie 🙂 It does make me feel good that you could relate to the sentiments of the poem!

  9. Diane Turner November 18, 2013 / 3:37 PM

    Beautiful. As the mom of 2 grown boys, I especially appreciate the rewind to “back when.”
    Curiosity and joy are the weft of that precious time. Thanks for sharing.

    • jannatwrites November 18, 2013 / 5:42 PM

      I’m glad it brought back memories, Diane! Thanks so much for reading and sharing your comment 🙂

  10. anmol(alias HA) November 18, 2013 / 4:15 PM

    A very wise write. I especially liked the ending. Well-penned. 🙂

    • jannatwrites November 18, 2013 / 5:42 PM

      Thanks, Anmol…I’m so glad you stopped by to read it and liked it 🙂

  11. Tessa November 18, 2013 / 4:16 PM

    My son is interested in the odd/weird things going on in the weird. He is 27 though.

    • jannatwrites November 18, 2013 / 5:43 PM

      There are some strange things in this world. As long as they don’t pull us in too far, it’s okay, Tessa!

  12. Eric Alagan November 18, 2013 / 5:12 PM

    Cynicism is quite often rooted in repetitive disappointments with people and I don’t believe a dose now and then is bad.

    • jannatwrites November 18, 2013 / 5:44 PM

      True enough, Eric. Broken trust and disappointments make us a little more guarded…we shouldn’t leave ourselves completely open.

  13. Kathy Combs (@Kathy29156) November 18, 2013 / 5:37 PM

    Congratulations on your win. It was well deserved. I think you perfectly captured not only a boy’s heart but any child’s heart. You are a brilliant writer! ♥

    • jannatwrites November 18, 2013 / 5:46 PM

      You’re right, Kathy – I think this would be true for any child. (Since I have only boys, and a photo to go with, I decided to go that route :)) I appreciate you taking time to read…and thank you for your kind words!

  14. Draug419 November 18, 2013 / 6:58 PM

    This is great work!

  15. agjorgenson November 18, 2013 / 8:40 PM

    We could all use more “pure joy of discovery”. I’m glad you are able to soak it in from time to time.

    • jannatwrites November 19, 2013 / 3:40 PM

      It would be nice, Allen. If we can recapture moments, I guess we’re doing okay 🙂

  16. J. Milburn November 18, 2013 / 8:53 PM

    Great poem, and it echoes my own sentiments toward my boys. Wonderful work!

    • jannatwrites November 19, 2013 / 3:41 PM

      Thanks, JM. I’m glad you could relate to it 🙂

  17. KymmInBarcelona November 19, 2013 / 4:49 AM

    Sweet opening line! Does us good to remember when that was true of all of us.
    Love the pyramide form, too.
    Thanks for sharing your “bounty”!!! (And I got a giggle from the change, too.)

    • jannatwrites November 19, 2013 / 3:43 PM

      Thanks, Kymm! I’m glad you liked the format! (And that I’m not the only one who chuckled at $13.33 :))

  18. MOV November 19, 2013 / 8:00 AM

    brings me right back to that fun innocence of childhood and being outside. nice take on the prompt!

    best,
    MOV

    • jannatwrites November 19, 2013 / 3:44 PM

      We didn’t know it, but they were simpler times 🙂 I appreciate you taking time to read my poem, MOV!

      • MOV November 20, 2013 / 9:32 PM

        Of course!! You are brilliant and I love reading your work.

        • jannatwrites November 21, 2013 / 12:05 AM

          Thanks so much, MOV!

  19. injaynesworld November 19, 2013 / 9:27 AM

    This poem is like exquisitely woven lace, and so heartfelt and moving. I wish I could recall that time of innocence and wonder for myself. Congratulation on winning the B & N gift card. Great choices.

    • jannatwrites November 19, 2013 / 3:45 PM

      I think your comment is much more beautiful than my poem, Jayne – thank you!

  20. steph November 19, 2013 / 1:37 PM

    I hope the same for his endless ‘whys.’ To shun that complacency. How passive we have become. Lovely poem, Janna. And how hilarious that your part of the purchase was 13.33. Awesome!

    • jannatwrites November 19, 2013 / 3:48 PM

      Passive is scary because things change and no one says, “hey, wait a minute…” Glad you got a kick out of $13.33, too, Steph!

  21. Glynis November 19, 2013 / 3:42 PM

    Janna this was wonderful! I have a younger brother and he would often follow me around with like you penned, ‘ the pure joy of discovery.’ This lovely poem reminded me that I’m not as old as I thought as long as I still remember I can jump up and touch a door frame to stay young in heart …… LOL! Thank you!

    • jannatwrites November 21, 2013 / 12:07 AM

      I’m glad this brought back memories for you, Glynis! Here’s to jumping up to touch door frames 🙂

  22. Jennifer Dillon November 19, 2013 / 7:09 PM

    Oh, how interesting. Particularly in the last stanza, with the implication of a darker childhood for the narrator. And as an educator this line sang for me:

    I hope the search for endless “whys?”

    Shuns pervasive complacency rooted in our society.

    Indeed.

    • jannatwrites November 19, 2013 / 8:50 PM

      Thanks for reading and sharing your thoughts, Jennifer. Complacency is dangerous. I hope we all strive to fight it.

  23. lumdog November 20, 2013 / 9:25 AM

    I love how children (and some grownups) can open our eyes and you’ve captured this so well.

  24. Polysyllabic Profundities November 20, 2013 / 7:10 PM

    Beautiful once again. Your writing really inspires me. And congrats on your win and your shopping spree…..I love the balance owing. 😉

    • jannatwrites November 21, 2013 / 12:09 AM

      What a nice comment, Susan – thank you! I’m sure the lady at B&N was confused as to why I was giggling as I handed over my card to pay the balance 🙂

  25. TNT November 20, 2013 / 7:18 PM

    The fact that you free-versed this it retains a natural rhythm shows you have it. Anthony Burgess said he wrote from the ear, and this feels written from the gut but still pleasantly musical to read. The stanzas built off each other: wide–stretched–desire–wonder. It’s as if the end of each line builds the over all feeling of what it’s like to be a child. A Catcher in the Rye like message in your own voice. Thanks for the read!

    • jannatwrites November 21, 2013 / 12:13 AM

      Thanks so much for taking time to read and offer your comment/thoughts on my poem, TNT. I’m pleased that you found it flowed well as you read it 🙂

    • jannatwrites November 21, 2013 / 12:13 AM

      Thanks for reading, Bjorn! I’m glad you stopped by 🙂

  26. yarnspinnerr November 21, 2013 / 7:32 AM

    Wonder,

    companion to

    a young boy’s heart,

    Why did I not hink of it?

    Loved this one 🙂

    • jannatwrites November 21, 2013 / 8:30 PM

      I’m so glad you liked it, Yarnspinnerr…thanks for reading!

  27. Lauren November 21, 2013 / 9:18 AM

    Beautiful piece! I can see the hope.

    • jannatwrites November 21, 2013 / 8:33 PM

      Thanks, Lauren! I do have hope for my boys 🙂

  28. Ivy (Mommy Dourest) November 21, 2013 / 9:44 AM

    This is lovely, Janna. I especially liked this line:

    “I pray his desire to know this sometimes tumultuous world will survive insurmountable adversity.”

    Well done!

    • jannatwrites November 21, 2013 / 8:46 PM

      I’m glad you liked the poem, Ivy. Thanks for taking time to read and share your favorite line!

  29. Gina November 21, 2013 / 9:56 AM

    Ahhhh! Innocent wonder. There is nothing like that feeling (actually, we don’t even realize it when we have it but we can see it in someone else). This is a beautiful portrayal of childhood. “his pure joy of discovery”. I want that feeling back! Gorgeous…

    • jannatwrites November 21, 2013 / 8:54 PM

      That is so true, Gina – we don’t realize it until it goes away! (And then we sit here thinking we’re all old because we wistfully remember those days…okay, maybe that’s just me :))

  30. September Dreams November 21, 2013 / 11:45 AM

    The spark of curiosity has been captured so beautifully by you Janna. Lovely poem!

    • jannatwrites November 21, 2013 / 8:58 PM

      Thanks for reading, September Dreams. I’m glad you stopped by to read it!

  31. unevenstevencu November 21, 2013 / 6:17 PM

    Neat treelike form paired with the picture

    • jannatwrites November 21, 2013 / 8:59 PM

      Thanks for noticing the format, Unevensteven 🙂

  32. trifectawriting November 21, 2013 / 8:03 PM

    Wonder, companion to a young boy’s heart – wow, I love this.
    So glad you won the $33. Looks like a great haul!

    • jannatwrites November 21, 2013 / 9:02 PM

      I’m glad you like the poem. It came to me as I looked at the photo and remembered our day in the forest.
      Thanks again for the gift card…that was so awesome!!

  33. GodGirl November 22, 2013 / 4:14 AM

    You capture so much about boys’ natural curiosity here. I love the way the poem is in the shape of a tree too!

    • jannatwrites November 22, 2013 / 8:10 AM

      I appreciate you reading, GodGirl. My sons want to know everything about, well… everything 🙂

  34. pattisj November 25, 2013 / 1:23 PM

    Nicely written and captured in photo, too. Congrats on winning!

  35. pattyabr December 1, 2013 / 6:17 PM

    If he loves it and sees it as a challenge to conquer he will succeed! Great!

    • jannatwrites December 1, 2013 / 8:18 PM

      Thanks so much for reading, Patty! I think they can accomplish much they put their minds to 🙂

Got an opinion? Share it!

